Narwhal (Monodon monceros)

Narwhal

ligne décoration
  • ID number

    Unknown

  • Sex

    Male

  • Year of birth

    Unknown

  • Known Since

    2016

Its distinctive traits

The narwhal is distinguished by its dark speckled colouration that contrasts with the almost uniform white colouring of the belugas with which it is found. Another difference compared to belugas is its “tusk”, which is in fact a clearly visible left incisor.

2017
2018
2019
2020
2020
2020

Its story

Since 2016, this juvenile male narwhal has been swimming together with St. Lawrence belugas. Native to the Arctic, over 1,000 km from the St. Lawrence, this animal is far from its natural habitat. Did it lose its way? Was it fleeing a predator for too long and unable to find its way back home? Was it following prey? Or, is it simply adventurous by nature? In any case, the narwhal seems to have found a welcoming community with the belugas in the St. Lawrence. Whenever it is sighted, it is always swimming in the company of these white whales. You want to follow its adventure? Adopt him!

Adopt the narwhal!

Contribute to scientific research on whales by making a donation.

Fond amassé pour l'adoption
40%

Sponsors

Marine Baillie: D’Artagnan, as suggested by many, would fit naturally

Julie Beaurivage: I suggest D’Artagnan

Chloé Fournier

Sofi Plamondon, writer: Narvala

Julie Hins: long live to Excalibur

Mathilde et Clémence Marcil: We suggest Arcane – synonym of mysteries and magic. We dream of having the privilege to see Arcane in our waters!

Alex Martin: D’Artagnan!

Alexandre St-Germain Lapointe

Claudiu Suciu: Je suggère Tugalik.

Marie Poulin: Pinocchio, aventureux et téméraire tout comme le pantin de l’histoire, l’un avait un grand nez et l’autre une grande dent

Mathilde Legault

Louis Félix Coydon: Name suggested by my son who adores narwhals since childhood: Mėgalodon because it means “big tooth”. We tried to spot it in 2019 on the shores of the Paradis marin among a dozen belugas. It was wonderful!

Noémie Boivin

Marie-Eve Desnoyers

Cathy Faucher, illustrator and author: It is a pleasure for me to put my art to the benefit of the protection of the whales of the St-Lawrence. I suggest Nordet as a name, like the wind that comes from the north. This narwhal takes us by surprise like the wind. It is my pleasure to make a donation in his honor. He brings a new breath to the St. Lawrence beluga community. Let’s salute this living together!

Marie-Philip Dufour

Alexandre Paradis-Michaud

Cynthia Price: Linnaeus – Carl Linnaeus originally described the species in 1758. This donation is being made in recognition of Marie-Ève Muller’s work with the GREMM, her great relationship with the summer community and her love for the whales!

Mylie Chong: I suggest Kigut (tooth in inuktitut)

Théodore-Archibald Rivard Laurent

Paula Maranon: I suggest Jet le Narval

Marwan Valois: I am 6 years old and I would like the narwhal to be called Arc-en-ciel (Rainbow) because they both make me very happy and put happiness in my heart.

Nathalie Paquette: Phil for philanthropy! Very excited about this unique adoption!

Narwhals and belugas: cold-water cousins

The narwhal and the beluga are the only two species in the family Monodontidae, a suborder of toothedwhales. These two species inhabit arctic and subarctic regions and have a circumpolar distribution, meaning they are found all around the North Pole. Being closely related, belugas and narwhals share certain characteristic traits such as the absence of a dorsal fin on their back. Instead, they have a dorsal ridge, which may be an adaptation to life in cold water. In fact, in most cetaceans, the blubber-less dorsal fin is known to be used to evacuate heat. In Monodontidae species, the smaller and stronger dorsal ridge is believed to be used notably to break through the ice in order to reach the surface.

Measuring between 3.95 m and 5.5 m, adult narwhals are about the same size as belugas. Additionally, males feature a long protruding tooth, which can add up to 3 m!

As with belugas, narwhals’ colouring changes over time. The skin turns paler with age and the speckled spots on the back change over time.

Both belugas and narwhals are gregarious and highly social, meaning they are most often seen in groups. For these two species, females experience menopause and grandmothers are believed to play a role in caring for young and transferring knowledge.

Despite their similarities and overlapping ranges, narwhals and belugas are not typically seen together. Researcher Marianne Marcoux, narwhal specialist at Fisheries and Oceans Canada says: “I once observed a beluga swimming amongst a group of narwhals in Eclipse Sound (Translator’s note: now known as Tasiujaq).Belugas and narwhals have been seen together during their spring migration in Navy Board Inlet, but these encounters are believed to be of short duration. One of the few places in Canada where the respective ranges of narwhals and belugas overlap is in northwest Hudson Bay. Narwhals and belugas share the same waters, but don’t necessarily intermingle.” Thus, the two species are not frequently seen together.

Can the narwhal communicate with belugas?

It is quite possible that the narwhal will come to understand the belugas and to make itself understood. Researcher Valeria Vergara, affiliated with Ocean Wise and collaborator for the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM), is an expert in beluga communication. “I have little doubt that narwhals and belugas can communicate well with each other. The only published paper about narwhal contact calls indicates that they produce very similar contact calls as belugas do. The author [Ari Shapiro] sent me audio clips of his two tagged narwhal, and I was able to verify by ear that at least their contact calls are very similar to the contact calls produced by belugas,” she explains.

Contact calls are an element of communication that are believed to be used to identify the individual producing the sound, much like when we introduce ourselves before speaking into a walkie-talkie.

Valeria Vergara adds, “I know from chatting with other researchers that work with recordings in areas that are frequented by both species that it is often difficult to tell both species apart acoustically. This is not surprising, given their close taxonomic relationship and the fact that they have evolved in similar environments.” Will marine mammal communication specialists in the St. Lawrence such as Valeria Vergara or Yvan Simard from Fisheries and Oceans Canada recognize the narwhal in the recordings made here? Stay tuned!

Were any researchers familiar with this narwhal when it was still in the Arctic?

Narwhal photo-ID projects are rare. As part of a study carried out in the Arctic, researchers Marianne Marcoux (Fisheries and Oceans Canada) and Marie Auger-Méthé (Dalhousie University) relied on notches in the animals’ dorsal ridge to differentiate them. Indeed, the colour pattern in narwhals changes over the years – unlike blue whales, for example, whose speckled mosaics are permanent. However, the two researchers have not been able to identify the St. Lawrence narwhal amongst those featured in their catalogue.

A horn? A tooth? A tusk?

No, it’s not a unicorn horn, but rather a tooth growing through the narwhal’s upper lip! The species’ scientific name, Monodon monoceros, can be translated as “one tooth, one horn”. Narwhals usually have just two teeth, one of which is twisted in shape and can grow up to 3 m long in adult males. Rarely, some narwhals will show both teeth protruding out of their lip, with one often being shorter than the other. This characteristic tooth or tusk is found in males and occasionally in females. At the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre, visitors can observe and touch a narwhal tusk measuring 176 cm long and weighing nearly 7 kg.

“Our” narwhal still has a relatively small tusk, a sign that it has not yet reached sexual maturity. Nevertheless, its tusk has gotten longer since 2016 and continues to grow every year.

What is the purpose of this tusk?

Assumptions vary and it is possible that it performs multiple functions. Analysis of narwhal teeth has shown that they contain millions of nerve endings, which might allow the animal to sense water pressure, salinity and temperature, or perhaps even to detect prey. In a very dark, often ice-covered environment, the tusk might therefore serve as a sort of “flashlight”, allowing the animal to locate holes in the pack ice where it can surface to breathe.

On one occasion in 2017, researchers were able to film narwhals stunning prey with their tusks. This behaviour had previously been reported by Inuit, but had never been documented. However, it is not known how common such a hunting technique might be.

The tusk may also be a highly valued attribute by females and thereby play a role in determining which males get to reproduce.

Marks and scars in males suggest that the tusk may also be used in sparring. However, no researcher has ever documented such fighting and even the Inuit do not seem to have ever witnessed such displays of combat. However, it should be noted that observations in the Arctic are complicated by ice and darkness for much of the year. Young males are often seen clashing tusks during the summer months. Is this their way of showing off their fighting spirit? A means of communication?

There are still many mysteries surrounding the famous tusk of this “unicorn of the sea”.

Could the narwhal potentially mate with a beluga?

Indeed, a Danish research team was able to confirm in 2019 that at least one narwhal-beluga hybrid has lived to adulthood. Published in Scientific Reports, this study was even able to demonstrate–through an analysis of DNA taken from the skull–that the male offspring was born to a female narwhal and a male beluga.

The story behind this discovery begins in 1990, when a Danish scientist noticed a strange skull on the roof of an Inuk man’s home in western Greenland. The shape of the skull resembles that of a beluga or narwhal, but not the dentition. The teeth are more numerous than those of the narwhal but less than those of the beluga; further, they are more angled and some of them are twisted like the left canine of the narwhal. The Inuk held on to this skull, but during his subsistence hunt he observed two other individuals similar to the one the skull belonged to. According to the description provided to the researcher, the whale was grey, of adult size, and had no dorsal fin, pectorals similar to those of a beluga and a narwhal-like tail. The researcher takes the skull back to the Natural History Museum of Denmark at the University of Copenhagen, where it remains to this day. Then, in 2019, researchers finally have access to the technology they need to confirm the hybrid hypothesis. Using stable isotopes, they are also able to study the animal’s diet, which differs from that of narwhals and belugas in its region. Why so? Possibly because of its odd teeth, it was better able to search for prey on the seabed. Despite its singularity, the whale was able to survive to adulthood.

Let’s return to the St. Lawrence. Here, the narwhal present amongst the belugas is a male, unlike the aforementioned case in Greenland. Is hybridization possible in this direction? At the present time, the narwhal has probably not yet reached sexual maturity. This will occur around the age of 11 to 13 years, a few years later than in females. Will female belugas be interested in him then? Is he fertile? Will interbreeding be possible? To be continued!

Narwhal at risk or not?

The status of the narwhal is considered to be “of concern” by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). Accelerating climate change is disrupting their habitat and the distribution of their prey, in addition to increasing shipping traffic in a region that until quite recently was rather quiet. For the estimated 160,000 narwhals in Canada, mitigating climate change is essential to preserving the quality of their habitat.

On the other hand, even if the narwhal is not endangered in the St. Lawrence, “our” individual is currently being observed with belugas which, in turn, represent an endangered population. So, regardless of where you are in the Estuary, a minimum distance of 400 metres should be maintained with belugas and, in turn, the narwhal.

Observations history in the Estuary

2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021

Years in which the animal was not observed Years in which the animal was observed

Latest news

The St. Lawrence narwhal has been seen for a sixth consecutive year! Its presence was confirmed for the first time this summer in mid-July, off Basque Island. Since then, it has been observed at least four times. This mysterious narwhal seems to have truly made the St. Lawrence beluga population its own. Until now, it has been observed mainly in large herds of juveniles. Lately, thanks to the capture of images by drones, we have been able to see him interacting with his fellow belugas. Among other things, he was performing and receiving pelvic projections, a common sexual social behavior between young adults. Is this a sign that he is well integrated into the beluga society? It is hard to say, since the composition and function of the herds of young adults are still unknown to researchers. Could these herds of juveniles be a “beluga whale nursery”, a place where males who have left their maternal community prepare themselves for adult life? In fact, the story of this young narwhal could tell us a lot about the social life of belugas. Thanks to its speckled skin and its tusk, it can easily be distinguished from its new companions. It can therefore serve as a reference point and a comparison when studying the behaviour of the belugas in its group.

On August 4, a speckled back contrasts with the white backs of belugas swimming below the Pointe-Noire land observation platform in Baie-Sainte-Catherine. Laurence Tremblay, a research assistant of the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM), aims her camera lens at the group. Thanks to her focus, she manages to snap the narwhal’s picture!

Belugas and narwhal are stirring near the surface. Their bodies brush against each other, almost jostling one another. The narwhal’s twisted left canine rises into the air. In an adult narwhal, this tooth can reach a very respectable 2.5 metres long! But the narwhal that has been swimming in the St. Lawrence since 2016 does not yet boast such a large tusk.

Belugas pound the narwhal using a behaviour known as “pelvic thrusting”. Is this their way of practising for breeding? A sort of “handshake” amongst members of the same clan? A movement that is simply pleasant to perform? This is the kind of not-so-straightforward question that interests GREMM’s research team.

On August 5, the narwhal was seen in Baie-Sainte-Marguerite, Sacré-Coeur.

By Camille Bégin Marchand

The narwhal has been identified again this year on several occasions. It does not have a code, as it is the first of its kind to have been photo-identified in the Estuary. The narwhal is distinguished by its dark speckled colouration that contrasts with the almost uniform white colouring of the belugas with which it is found. Another difference compared to belugas is its “tusk”, which is in fact a clearly visible left incisor. Still relatively short, this tooth does not often emerge out of the water. The size of the tooth indicates that it is probably a juvenile. Research assistants employed by GREMM compared photos of both flanks of the individual observed this year with photos taken the previous two years. As the narwhal’s colouration evolves from year to year, it is generally the notches in its dorsal ridge that make it possible to identify it. In the case of this individual, the spots near the neck and around the ridge were still present and confirmed that this is indeed the same narwhal observed since 2016. For the time being, we have not yet determined whether or not the narwhal is being seen with the same belugas each year or at every sighting.

The narwhal and the beluga are the only two species that belong to the family Monodontidae, a suborder of toothed whales. The narwhal has just one tooth that grows in a spiral and can measure up to 300 cm in adult males. This diagnostic tooth is found in males and occasionally in females. At the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre, visitors can observe and touch a narwhal tooth measuring 176 cm long and weighing nearly 7 kg. Narwhals and their beluga cousins share a few characteristic traits. These two species live in the Arctic and subarctic regions and have a circumpolar distribution, i.e. all around the North Pole. They are characterized by the lack of dorsal fin on their back; instead, they have a dorsal ridge, which may be an adaptation to life in cold water. In fact, the dorsal fin in cetaceans, which is devoid of blubber, is known to be used to evacuate heat. In Monodontidae species, the dorsal ridge is believed to be used notably to break the ice in order to reach the surface.

Highly social and gregarious animals, belugas and narwhals are most often seen in groups. To date, no beluga-narwhal hybrid has ever been confirmed. In the late 1980s, a skull discovered in western Greenland belonging to a toothed whale raised hypotheses in the community, but no definitive conclusion could be drawn.

By Audrey Tawel-Thibert

For this issue, we push the boundaries of the typical Whale Portraits content on the occasion of the confirmed presence of a special visitor: the stray narwhal spotted last summer is back in the Marine Park! It was by complete chance that the animal was photographed last August 20 off Pointe-Noire. Our research assistant had taken a few shots of a herd of about six belugas passing by, and he was examining his photos when his colleague on board also noticed an animal that stood out with its dark, speckled mantle. The doubts were quickly dispelled: it was indeed a narwhal!

Narwhal photo-ID projects are rare. In an Arctic study, researchers Marianne Marcoux (Fisheries and Oceans Canada) and Marie Auger-Méthé (Dalhousie University) relied on notches in the animals’ dorsal crests to differentiate them, as colour patterns in narwhals evolve over the years – unlike blue whales for example, whose speckled mosaics are permanent.

Getting back to our exceptional visitor, we had to scrutinize its pigmentation pattern to validate that it was the same individual as the one documented last year: the distinctive marks around the animal’s head and neck were used as a reference, as they have remained unchanged over the past year. “We do not have a catalogue of narwhals, despite the fact that they are abundant in Canada (150,000). Furthermore, narwhals do not exhibit much genetic diversity, so it is not possible to use genetics to determine where this narwhal comes from,” says Marcoux.

“It will take other series of photographs to ensure monitoring of the animal over the long-term”, adds GREMM Scientific Director Robert Michaud. It should be noted that, although it might be tempting to go take a peek at our special guest, the latter seems to have been adopted by a group of belugas. This means that no breach of regulations can be justified by the presence of the narwhal. The minimum distance of 400 m between boats and belugas – even if accompanied by the narwhal – remains in force. Thank you for helping to protect this endangered population!

Narval (Monodon monceros)

Narval

ligne décoration
  • Numéro d’identification

    Inconnu

  • Sexe

    Mâle

  • Naissance

    Inconnue

  • Connu depuis

    2016

Traits distinctifs

Pour distinguer le narval des bélugas, on peut noter sa peau mouchetée et sa grande dent torsadée. Pour le reconnaitre année après année, il faut observer les agencements des taches sur son dos et son cou. Attention! Le patron de coloration des narvals évolue avec le temps, ce qui pourrait le rendre plus difficile à identifier hors de tout doute au fil des ans.

Son histoire

Depuis 2016, ce narval mâle juvénile nage parmi des bélugas du Saint-Laurent. Venu de l’Arctique, à plus de 1000 km du Saint-Laurent, il est bien éloigné de son habitat naturel. S’est-il perdu? A-t-il fui un prédateur trop longtemps et n’a pas retrouvé son chemin? A-t-il suivi des proies? Ou encore, a-t-il simplement un tempérament explorateur? Dans tous les cas, le narval semble avoir trouvé une société d’accueil : celle des bélugas du Saint-Laurent. À chaque observation, il est toujours en compagnie d’autres bélugas.

2017
2018
narval nageant sur le dos
2020
dent de narval
2020
narval avec bélugas
2020
2019
2019

Narval et béluga, des cousins venus du froid

Le narval et le béluga sont les deux seules espèces qui font partie de la famille des monodontidés, dans le sous-ordre des baleines à dents. Ces deux espèces vivent dans les régions arctiques et subarctiques et ont une distribution circumpolaire, c’est-à-dire tout autour du pôle. Cousins, les bélugas et les narvals partagent des traits caractéristiques comme l’absence de nageoire dorsale sur le dos. Ils ont plutôt une crête dorsale qui serait peut-être une adaptation à la vie en eau froide. En effet, chez la plupart des cétacés, la nageoire dorsale, dépourvue de couche de graisse, est reconnue pour servir à évacuer la chaleur. Plus petite et plus solide, la crête dorsale des monodontidés servirait entre autres à casser la glace afin de remonter à la surface.

À l’âge adulte, un narval mesure environ la même taille que celle d’un béluga, soit de 3,95 m à 5,5 m. À cette longueur s’ajoute, chez le mâle, celle de la dent protubérante, qui peut mesurer jusqu’à 3 m!

Comme chez les bélugas, la couleur des narvals évolue avec le temps. La peau pâlit avec l’âge et les taches mouchetées sur son dos se modifient.

Les bélugas comme les narvals sont très sociables. Grégaires, on les voit plus souvent en groupe. Pour ces deux espèces, les femelles vivent la ménopause et les grands-mères auraient un rôle à jouer dans les soins aux petits et la transmission de savoirs.

Malgré leurs ressemblances et leur proximité, on ne croise habituellement pas les narvals et les bélugas ensemble. La chercheuse Marianne Marcoux, spécialiste des narvals chez Pêches et Océans Canada raconte : «J’ai déjà observé un béluga qui nageait au milieu d’un groupe de narval dans le détroit Éclipse. Les bélugas et les narvals ont déjà été observés ensemble durant leur migrationdu printemps dans le bras Navy Board, mais on croit que ces rencontres sont temporaires. Dans le nord-ouest de la baie d’Hudson, c’est un des rares endroits où la distribution des narvals et des bélugas au Canada se chevauche. Les narvals et les bélugas sont à proximité, mais ne se mélangent pas nécessairement.» Ainsi, les mélanges des deux espèces ne sont pas fréquents.

Le narval peut-il communiquer avec les bélugas?

C’est fort possible que le narval parvienne à comprendre les bélugas et à se faire comprendre. La chercheuse Valeria Vergara, affiliée à l’organisme Ocean Wise et collaboratrice du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM), est spécialiste de la communication chez les bélugas. «J’ai peu de doutes que les narvals et les bélugas puissent bien communiquer entre eux. Il n’y a qu’un seul article scientifique publié sur le sujet, et il indique que les cris de contact chez les narvals sont très similaires à ceux des bélugas. J’ai pu entendre les enregistrements pris par l’auteur de l’article Ari Shapiro et j’ai vraiment pu reconnaitre les similitudes», explique-t-elle.

Les cris de contact sont un élément de communication qui servirait à identifier l’animal qui émet le son, un peu comme lorsqu’on utilise un talkie-walkie, on se nomme avant de parler.

Valeria Vergara ajoute que «les chercheurs qui travaillent dans des secteurs où les deux espèces cohabitent ont souvent de la difficulté à distinguer les deux espèces sur les enregistrements passifs, où aucune observation visuelle n’est faite. Ce n’est pas très surprenant, étant donné leur proximité taxonomique et le fait qu’ils ont évolué dans un environnement similaire.» Est-ce que les spécialistes de la communication des mammifères marins dans le Saint-Laurent comme Valeria Vergara ou Yvan Simard de Pêches et Océans Canada reconnaitront le narval dans les enregistrements faits ici? À suivre!

Est-ce que des chercheurs connaissaient ce narval dans l’Arctique?

Les projets de photo-identification de narvals sont rares. Dans le cadre d’une étude en Arctique, les chercheuses Marianne Marcoux (Pêches et Océans Canada) et Marie Auger-Méthé (Université Dalhousie) se sont fiées aux entailles dans la crête dorsale des animaux pour les différencier. En effet, le patron de coloration évolue chez les narvals avec les années — contrairement au rorqual bleu par exemple, chez qui les mosaïques mouchetées sont permanentes. Néanmoins, les deux chercheuses n’ont pas retrouvé le narval du Saint-Laurent parmi les narvals présents dans leur catalogue.

Une corne? Une dent? Une défense?

Non, ce n’est pas une corne de licorne, mais bien une dent qui pousse à travers la lèvre supérieure du narval! Le nom latin du narvalMonodon monocerossignifie d’ailleurs «une dent, une corne». Le narval n’a habituellement que deux dents, dont une seule qui pousse en torsade et peut mesurer jusqu’à 3 m chez le mâle adulte. Quelques rares narvals verront leurs deux dents pousser hors de la lèvre, et souvent une sera plus courte que l’autre. Cette dent caractéristique, aussi appelée défense, est trouvée chez les mâles, et à l’occasion chez les femelles. Au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins, on peut soulever une dent de narval de 176 cm et de 15 livres (6,8 kilos).

«Notre» narval a encore une relativement petite dent, signe qu’il n’a pas encore atteint la maturité sexuelle. Elle a tout de même grandi depuis 2016, et pousse chaque année davantage.

À quoi sert cette dent?

Les hypothèses varient et il est possible que sa fonction soit multiple. L’analyse de dents de narval a montré des millions de terminaisons nerveuses, ce qui pourrait permettre au narval de sentir la pression, la salinité et la température de l’eau ou encore de détecter des proies. Dans un milieu très noir, souvent recouvert de glace, la dent pourrait donc servir de «lampe de poche», permettant de trouver un trou dans le couvert glacé pour respirer.

À une occasion, en 2017, des chercheurs ont pu filmer des narvals en train d’assommer des proies avec leur dent. Cette technique avait déjà été rapportée par des Inuits, mais n’avait pas encore été documentée. Toutefois, on ne sait pas à quel point cette façon de chasser est commune ou non.

La dent peut aussi être un attribut apprécié des femelles et favoriser la reproduction de certains mâles. Elle pourrait même percevoir des changements hormonaux chez les femelles.

Des marques et cicatrices sur les mâles montrent que la dent pourrait aussi servir à des combats. Toutefois, aucun chercheur n’a documenté de tels échanges et même les Inuits ne semblent pas avoir jamais assisté à de telles démonstrations d’agressivité. Par contre, il faut garder en tête que les observations dans l’Arctique sont rendues compliquées par les glaces et la noirceur une bonne partie de l’année. Les jeunes mâles sont souvent observés croisant leur dent durant la saison estivale. Une façon de pratiquer leur combattivité? De communiquer?

Il reste encore bien des mystères autour de la fameuse dent de la licorne des mers.

Le narval pourrait-il se reproduire avec un béluga?

Une équipe de recherche danoise a pu confirmer en 2019 qu’au moins un hybride narval-béluga a bel et bien déjà vécu. Publiée dans Scientific Reports, cette étude a même pu démontrer grâce à l’analyse de l’ADN sur le crâne que l’individu mâle était né d’une femelle narval et d’un mâle béluga.

L’histoire de cette découverte commence en 1990, alors qu’un chercheur danois remarque un crâne étrange sur le toit de la maison d’un Inuit dans l’ouest du Groenland. La forme du crâne rappelle celle du béluga et du narval, mais pas celle de la dentition. Les dents sont plus nombreuses que celles du narval et moins nombreuses que celles du béluga, elles sont aussi plus inclinées et certaines sont torsadées, comme la canine gauche du narval. L’Inuit a conservé ce crâne, mais lors de sa chasse de subsistance, il a observé deux autres individus semblables à celui à qui le crâne appartenait. Selon la description qu’il a donnée au chercheur, la baleine était grise, de taille adulte, sans nageoire dorsale, avec des pectorales similaires à celles des bélugas et une queue de la forme de celle d’un narval. Le chercheur ramène le crâne au Musée d’histoire naturelle du Danemark, à l’Université de Copenhague, où il est conservé. Puis, en 2019, les chercheurs ont enfin accès à la technologie nécessaire pour confirmer l’hypothèse d’un hybride. Ils ont aussi pu étudier à l’aide des isotopes stables la diète de l’animal, qui diverge de celles des narvals et des bélugas de sa région. Pourquoi? Possiblement à cause de son étrange dentition, il était plus apte à chercher des proies au fond de l’eau. Malgré sa différence, la baleine a pu vivre jusqu’à l’âge adulte.

Revenons au Saint-Laurent. Ici, le narval présent parmi les bélugas est un mâle, donc l’inverse du cas au Groenland. Est-ce qu’une hybridation est possible dans ce sens? Pour le moment, le narval n’a probablement pas atteint sa maturité sexuelle. Celle-ci surviendra autour de l’âge de 11 à 13 ans, quelques années après celle des narvals femelles. Est-ce qu’à ce moment-là, les femelles bélugas s’intéresseront à lui? Est-il fertile? Est-ce qu’une hybridation sera possible? À suivre!

Narval en péril ou non?

Le narval n’est pas nécessairement en danger ici.

La situation de l’espèce «narval» est considérée comme préoccupante pour le Comité sur les espèces en péril au Canada. L’accélération des changements climatiques perturbe leur habitat, la répartition de leurs proies, et augmente le trafic maritime dans un secteur qui en était jusqu’à très récemment exempt. Pour les 160 000 narvals estimés au Canada, la lutte contre les changements climatiques est essentielle à la qualité de leur habitat.

Par contre, même si le narval n’est pas en péril dans le Saint-Laurent, «notre» narval est actuellement observé auprès de bélugas qui, eux, forment une population en voie de disparition. Ainsi, peu importe où vous êtes dans l’estuaire, une distance minimale de 400 mètres doit être maintenue avec les bélugas, et donc avec le narval.

Historique des observations dans l’estuaire

2016
2017
2018
2019
2020

Années pendant lesquelles l’animal n’a pas été observé Années pendant lesquelles l’animal a été observé

Dernières nouvelles issues des publications Portrait de baleines

Un dos moucheté contraste avec la blancheur des bélugas nageant devant le site d’observation terrestre Pointe-Noire, à Baie-Sainte-Catherine, le 4 aout. L’assistante de recherche du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM), Laurence Tremblay, pointe la lentille de sa caméra sur le groupe. Grâce à sa focalisation, elle croque le portrait d’un narval!

Les bélugas et le narval s’activent près de la surface. Les corps se frôlent, se touchent, se bousculent presque. La canine gauche torsadée du narval s’élève dans les airs. Chez un narval adulte, elle peut atteindre la taille respectable de 2,5 mètres! Mais le narval qui nage dans le Saint-Laurent depuis 2016 n’en a pas encore une aussi grande.

Des bélugas donnent des coups de bassin au narval, un comportement appelé en anglais «pelvic thrust». Est-ce que cette accolade pelvienne est une pratique à la reproduction? Une forme de «poignée de main» pour une clique de bélugas? Un mouvement tout simplement agréable à effectuer? Voilà le genre de question pas si facile à élucider qui intéresse l’équipe de recherche du GREMM.

Le 5 aout, le narval est observé dans le parc national du Fjord-du-Saguenay, dans la baie Sainte-Marguerite.

Par Camille Bégin Marchand

Le narval a encore été identifié cette année à quelques reprises. Il n’a pas de code, car il s’agit du premier individu de son espèce ayant été photo-identifié dans l’estuaire. Le narval se distingue par sa coloration sombre mouchetée qui fait contraste à la coloration blanche quasi uniforme des bélugas avec lesquels il se trouve. Autre différence avec les bélugas : sa «défense», qui est en fait l’incisive gauche bien visible. Cette dent encore courte n’émerge pas souvent hors de l’eau. La taille de la dent indique qu’il s’agirait probablement d’un juvénile. Les assistants de recherche du GREMM ont comparé les photos des deux flancs de l’individu observé cette année avec les photos des deux dernières années. La coloration évoluant chaque année chez le narval, ce sont généralement les entailles dans la crête dorsale qui permettent de l’identifier. Dans le cas de cet individu, les taches près du cou et autour de la crête étaient encore présentes et ont permis de confirmer qu’il s’agit bien du même narval observé depuis 2016. Pour l’instant, nous n’avons pas encore regardé si le narval est vu avec les mêmes bélugas chaque année ni à chaque observation.

Le narval et le béluga sont les deux seules espèces qui font partie de la famille des monodontidés, dans le sous-ordre des baleines à dents. Le narval n’a qu’une seule dent qui pousse en torsade et peut mesurer jusqu’à 300 cm chez le mâle adulte. Cette dent caractéristique est trouvée chez les mâles, et à l’occasion chez les femelles. Au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins, on peut soulever une dent de narval de 176 cm et de 15 livres (6,8 kilos). Cousins, les bélugas et les narvals partagent des traits caractéristiques. Ces deux espèces vivent dans les régions arctiques et subarctiques et ont une distribution circumpolaire, c’est-à-dire tout autour du pôle Nord. Ils sont caractérisés par l’absence de nageoire dorsale sur le dos. Ils ont plutôt une crête dorsale qui serait peut-être une adaptation à la vie en eau froide. En effet, la nageoire dorsale chez les cétacés, dépourvue de couche de graisse, est reconnue pour servir à évacuer la chaleur. Cette crête dorsale chez les monodontidés servirait entre autres à casser la glace afin de remonter à la surface.

Les bélugas et les narvals sont très sociables. Grégaires, on les voit plus souvent en groupe. Jusqu’à maintenant, aucun hybride de béluga et de narval n’a été confirmé. Vers la fin des années 80, un crâne découvert dans l’ouest du Groenland appartenant à une baleine à dent a soulevé des hypothèses dans la communauté, mais aucune conclusion n’a pu être émise. [Mise à jour 2020: cette découverte a pu être confirmée, il y a bel et bien un hybride narval-béluga]

Par Audrey Tawel-Thibert

Pour ce numéro, la formule conventionnelle de Portrait de baleines est assouplie à l’occasion de la présence confirmée d’un visiteur tout particulier : le narval en cavale aperçu l’été dernier a pointé le bout de sa dent dans le parc marin ! C’est tout à fait par hasard que l’animal fut photographié le 20 aout dernier, au large de Pointe-Noire. Notre assistant de recherche avait pris quelques clichés d’un troupeau d’environ six bélugas qui passait par là, et il en était à examiner ses photos lorsque sa collègue elle aussi à bord a remarqué un animal qui contrastait par sa robe sombre et mouchetée. Les doutes furent rapidement dissipés : c’était bien un narval !

Les projets de photo-identification de narvals sont rares. Dans le cadre d’une étude en Arctique, les chercheuses Marianne Marcoux (Pêches et Océans Canada) et Marie Auger-Méthé (Université Dalhousie) se sont fiées aux entailles dans la crête dorsale des animaux pour les différencier, puisque le patron de coloration évolue chez les narvals avec les années – contrairement au rorqual bleu par exemple, chez qui les mosaïques mouchetées sont permanentes.

«Il faudra d’autres séries de photos pour un suivi à long terme de l’animal», ajoute Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM. Soulignons au passage que, bien que la tentation puisse être grande d’aller jeter un œil à notre hôte tout spécial, ce dernier semble s’être greffé à un groupe de bélugas. Cela signifie qu’aucune entorse au respect des mesures prescrites ne saurait être justifiée par la présence du narval. La distance minimale de 400 m entre les embarcations et les bélugas – même si le narval les accompagne – demeure obligatoire. Merci de protéger cette population en danger !

Pour revenir à notre visiteur exceptionnel, il a fallu scruter le patron de pigmentation pour valider qu’il s’agissait du même individu que celui documenté l’an dernier : les marques distinctives autour de la tête et du cou du narval ont servi de référence puisqu’en un an, elles sont restées inchangées. « Nous n’avons pas de catalogue de narvals. Il y en a beaucoup au Canada (150 000). De plus, les narvals n’ont pas beaucoup de diversité génétique, alors ce n’est pas possible d’utiliser la génétique pour déterminer d’où vient ce narval », précise Dre Marcoux.