Menopause is a rather rare phenomenon. And yet a study published in Scientific Reports reveals that the females of two species of cetaceans – the beluga and the narwhal – join the ranks of the select menopausal club that includes short-finned pilot whales, killer whales and… humans! In all these species, females live many years after their reproductive system has gradually stopped functioning.

Measuring menopause

The first major question for researchers is which species of cetaceans actually experience menopause. To answer this question, Samuel Ellis and his team (Exeter University, England) count the ovarian follicles produced during ovulation. Whales are unusual in that they do not degrade them completely. One can therefore quantify ovarian activity based on the number of follicles of a female at a given age.

Out of 72 cetacean species studied (excluding killer whales, where menopause is already well documented), the research team has observed menopause in belugas, narwhals and short-finned pilot whales. In these species, after a certain age the number of follicles produced decreases and the reproductive cells begin to deteriorate. Reproductive cells therefore age faster than cells in the rest of the body.

But are menopausal cetaceans numerous? If we surveyed a population in the wild, how many would we find? The results of the study indicate that females have a significant post-reproductive lifespan. In narwhals, it is calculated that half of all females survive after their reproductive functions stop, at which time they are over 40 years old! By comparison, it is estimated that several thousand years ago, before the advent of modern medicine, approximately 40% of women lived for several years after menopause.

Why menopause?

In killer whales, the role of a female within the group in which she lives varies with her age. While young animals have the responsibility of producing offspring, older individuals, which can no longer reproduce, help others instead. Mothers and grandmothers will lend a hand for the well-being of their social group, thereby bringing added value to the unit. It is observed that menopause persists in a population when there is a balance between the cost of ceasing to reproduce and the benefits that can be offered to the rest of the group.

If menopause has spread to a number of species of cetaceans, it is probably thanks to a demographic structure where individuals within a group maintain strong ties throughout their lives.

News - 27/8/2018

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin writes for Whales Online since 2018, when she did an internship in scientific journalism at GREMM. Equally at ease whether engaged in scientific research or scientific outreach, she is currently completing her Master's degree in biology at the Université du Québec à Montréal and a certificate in journalism at the Université de Montréal. Jack-of-all-trades, Aurélie has a wide range of interests, from whales to dinosaurs to schools of krill!

Recommended articles

A Fourth Generation Humpback Calf!

Good news! Aramis, daughter of the famous humpback whale Tic Tac Toe, recently gave birth to her very first documented…

|News 26/3/2020

Using Barnacles to Reconstruct Ancient Whale Migrations

Whales, which have been around for roughly 30 million years, are estimated to have reached their current size 4.5 million…

|News 19/3/2020

Slower boats, quieter boats?

In 2017, Ruth Joy and her team (ECHO) conducted a study on the correlation between speed limit reductions and noise…

|News 19/3/2020

La ménopause est un phénomène plutôt rare. Et pourtant une étude publiée dans Scientific Reports révèle que les femelles de deux espèces de cétacés – le béluga et le narval – s’ajoutent aux rangs du club sélect des ménopausées qui regroupe le globicéphale du Pacifique, l’épaulard et… l’humain! Chez toutes ces espèces, les femelles vivent de nombreuses années après que leur système reproducteur a graduellement cessé de fonctionner.

Mesurer la ménopause

La première grande question des chercheurs est de savoir quelles espèces de cétacés ont bel et bien une ménopause. Pour y répondre, l’équipe de Samuel Ellis de l’Université Exeter, en Angleterre, dénombre les follicules ovariens produits lors de l’ovulation. Les baleines ont la particularité de ne pas les dégrader complètement. On peut donc quantifier l’activité ovarienne avec le nombre de follicules d’une femelle à un âge donné.

Sur 72 espèces de cétacés étudiées (en excluant l’épaulard où la ménopause est déjà bien documentée), l’équipe de recherche observe la ménopause chez le béluga, le narval et le globicéphale du Pacifique. Chez ces espèces, après un certain âge, le nombre de follicules produits diminue et les cellules reproductrices commencent à se détériorer. Les cellules reproductrices vieillissent donc plus vite que les cellules de tout le reste du corps.

Mais les cétacés en ménopause sont-elles nombreuses? En recensant une population naturelle, combien en trouverions-nous? Les résultats de l’étude indiquent que les femelles survivent de façon significative à la ménopause. Chez le narval, on calcule que la moitié des femelles survivent après l’arrêt de leurs fonctions reproductrices, alors qu’elles ont plus de 40 ans! Par comparaison, on estime qu’il y a plusieurs milliers d’années, avant l’avènement de la médecine moderne, 40% des femmes vivaient plusieurs années après la ménopause.

Pourquoi la ménopause?

Chez les épaulards, le rôle d’une femelle au sein du groupe dans lequel elle vit varie selon son âge. Alors que les jeunes ont la responsabilité de produire des descendants,  les plus vieilles, pour qui la reproduction est terminée, vont plutôt aider les autres. Mères et grand-mères vont donner un coup de main pour le bien de leur groupe social, amenant une plus-value au groupe. On constate que la ménopause persiste dans une population lorsqu’il y a un équilibre entre le cout à cesser de se reproduire et l’aide qu’on peut apporter au groupe.

Si la ménopause s’est répandue chez plusieurs espèces de cétacés, ce serait grâce à une structure démographique où les individus d’un groupe gardent de forts liens de proximité tout au long de leur vie.

Actualité - 27/8/2018

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin est rédactrice pour Baleines en direct depuis l’été 2018. Aimant autant faire de la science qu’en parler, elle complète sa maitrise en biologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal ainsi qu’un certificat en journalisme à l’Université de Montréal. Sur les ondes de CISM 89,3 FM, elle coanime l’émission de vulgarisation scientifique Le Lab. Aurélie est touche-à-tout et s’intéresse autant aux baleines qu’aux dinosaures en passant par les bancs de krill!

Articles recommandés

Consultation publique sur le bruit marin: exprimez-vous!

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada organise une consultation publique relative à l’impact des bruits dans les…

|Actualité 20/10/2020

Hybride rorqual commun-rorqual bleu: un nouvel enjeu pour la conservation ?

L’existence des hybrides issus du croisement entre les deux plus gros animaux du monde — soit le rorqual commun et…

|Actualité 28/9/2020

Semaine de la culture scientifique: la biodiversité à célébrer!

Avez-vous pris récemment quelques minutes pour observer un coin de verdure dans votre quartier? Si vous tentiez de compter les…

|Actualité 22/9/2020