Sometimes you have to get up at the crack of dawn if you want to be rewarded with exciting observations. This is what happened on May 25 to a passionate photographer at Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes. For her, getting up before first light meant seeing a humpback whale, a sighting made all the more striking by the colours of the rising sun reflecting off the glistening water. Capturing these images with her camera on this beautiful morning was ample compensation for the 3:45 a.m. wake-up call!

A little later that day, the same observer also had the chance to see 3 or 4 minke whales as well as a lone humpback heading toward Les Escoumins. She also spied a mother beluga and her calf, not to mention a large gathering of belugas later on to cap off this amazing day of marine mammal watching. “It was a day full of surprises!” she exclaims.

A beluga whale sighting is always appreciated!
A beluga whale sighting is always appreciated! © Julie Deschêne
A minke whale
This week, minke whales were observed everywhere on the St. Lawrence. © Julie Deschênes
A humpback whale in the morning colors.
A humpback whale in the morning colors. © Julie Deschênes

In the early morning of June 1, two minke whales, one humpback, numerous porpoises, a beluga and a good fifty or so harp seals were seen at the same place.

Minke whales along the coast

In the North Shore (Côte-Nord) region, near Franquelin, marine mammals are being observed offshore. Minke whales have been abundant all week, and the spout of a humpback was even seen on the horizon on May 31. Near Sept-Îles, a volunteer from the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network observes a minke whale just before responding to a call.

Almost daily, minkes, humpbacks, fins and belugas have been dazzling visitors to the Tadoussac dunes. Farther offshore, near Prince Shoal, about 20 harp seals were seen on May 31. “They were heading for the gulf! There was a fin whale and grey seals, too! Then on Sunday I saw minke whales,” exclaims one die-hard observer. On Tuesday, May 31, a humpback whale breached off the coast. Even if seeing a multi-tonne whale hurl itself out of the water is an awe-inspiring experience in itself, these acrobatics are not performed for pure entertainment. Communication between individuals, cleansing of parasites, play or seduction… a number of hypotheses have been put forward.

 

A somewhat special beluga

During a cruise around the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, lucky visitors are treated to one humpback whale, several minke whales and two belugas. One of them appears to have a deformed back; it was identified by GREMM researchers as DL2450 a.k.a. ‘Néo,[DA1] ’ a well-known male in the region. Ever since he was first observed in 2005, this bull has been sighted almost every year. It should be pointed out that its deformed spinal column combined with the black dots on its right flank makes it easy to recognize. This facilitates the photo-identification process.

Its curved back may be due to any number of reasons. It could be genetic or the result of a traumatic event such as a collision with a ship. Néo is not the only beluga with a distinctive deformation. There is also Pascolio, a female who was first encountered in 1985, and Scolio, another well-known individual. Ultimately, the cause of this particularity remains unknown, but the number of individuals afflicted is a source of intrigue for researchers.

On the other side of the river

In Gaspésie, a few humpbacks have been reported near the shores of Cloridorme. In the heart of the gulf, off the coast of the Magdalen Islands, a meticulous observer spots two minke whales in the choppy seas. Marine mammal enthusiasts have their eyes on the horizon in search of the backs or tails of whales. From the coast, others are keeping their eyes peeled for the small heads of pinnipeds.

CIMM team well received

The CIMM’s summer crew received a warm welcome from the belugas of the St. Lawrence. Several individuals paid a visit to Tadoussac Bay early in the week, while a few groups were seen swimming up and down the Saguenay to the rhythm of the tides. Amongst the naturalists in the making, some took the opportunity to scan the bay with their binoculars in search of white backs while others were ecstatic about this first sighting of the season. And we wish them many more!

Observation of the Week - 2/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

A Funny Coincidence

Belugas took full advantage of their first day of calm in the Saguenay Fjord. Many light-coloured backs were present in…

|Observation of the Week 23/6/2022

Action Near the Coast

From the small harbour porpoise to the titanic blue whale: the wide range of sightings offered by the St. Lawrence…

|Observation of the Week 16/6/2022

Humpbacks Stealing the Show!

Exuberant, splashy, and ubiquitous, humpback whales sometimes tend to turn our attention away from other cetaceans. And not only when…

|Observation of the Week 9/6/2022

Parfois, il faut se lever tôt pour faire des observations extraordinaires. C’est ce qui est arrivé à une photographe passionnée, au cap de Bon-Désir, aux Bergeronnes, le 25 mai dernier. Être debout avant l’aurore s’est traduit pour elle par l’observation d’un rorqual à bosse, agrémentée des couleurs du soleil levant se reflétant sur l’eau scintillante. De quoi récompenser un réveil a 3h45 et produire de magnifiques clichés.

Un peu plus tard dans la journée, la même observatrice a aussi la chance d’apercevoir 3-4 petits rorquals ainsi qu’une baleine à bosse se dirigeant vers les Escoumins. Elle remarque également une mère béluga et son veau, et pour conclure cette journée de rêve consacrée à la contemplation des mammifères marins, c’est tout un groupe de bélugas qui régale l’observatrice. «C’était une journée pleine de surprises!», raconte-t-elle.

Une observation de béluga est toujours appréciée! © Julie Deschêne
Un petit rorqual
Cette semaine, les petits rorquals sont observés partout sur le Saint-Laurent. © Julie Deschênes
Un rorqual à bosse dans les couleurs du matin
Un rorqual à bosse dans les couleurs du matins. © Julie Deschênes

En début de matinée du 1er juin, deux petits rorquals, un rorqual à bosse, de nombreux marsouins, un béluga et une bonne cinquantaine de phoques du Groenland sont aperçus au même endroit.

Des petits rorquals le long de la côte 

Sur la Côte-Nord, au niveau de Franquelin, des mammifères marins sont observés au large. Les petits rorquals sont présents à foison toute la semaine, et le souffle d’un rorqual à bosse est même aperçu à l’horizon en date du 31 mai. À proximité de Sept-Îles, une bénévole du Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins observe un petit rorqual juste avant de répondre à un appel.

Petits rorquals, rorquals à bosses, rorquals communs et bélugas émerveillent les promeneurs arpentant les dunes de Tadoussac presque tous les jours. Plus au large, à proximité du haut-fond Prince, une vingtaine de phoques du Groenland sont aperçus le 31 mai. «Ils se dirigeaient vers le golfe! Il y avait un rorqual commun et des phoques gris aussi! Puis dimanche j’ai vu des petits rorquals», s’exclame une observatrice passionnée. Mardi, 31 mai, un rorqual à bosse breach même au large de la côte. Même s’il y a de quoi être épaté par une baleine de plusieurs tonnes sautant hors de l’eau, ces acrobaties n’ont pas comme objectif de ravir les spectateurs. Communication entre les individus, nettoyage de parasites, jeu ou séduction, plusieurs hypothèses sont possibles.

Un béluga un peu spécial 

Lors d’une croisière dans le parc marin du Saguenay – Saint-Laurent, des visiteurs chanceux observent un rorqual à bosse, plusieurs petits rorquals et deux bélugas. L’un d’entre eux semble avoir une malformation au niveau de son dos. Identifié par les chercheurs du GREMM, il s’agit de DL2450 dit «Néo», un mâle bien connu de la région. Depuis sa première observation en 2005, ce béluga à la colonne vertébrale déformée est observé presque chaque année. Il faut dire que sa morphologie particulière combinée aux points noirs présents sur son flanc droit le rend facile à remarquer et à reconnaitre.  Ce qui rend plus facile le processus de photo-identification.

Les origines de son dos courbé peuvent être multiples. Il pourrait être d’origine génétique ou provenir d’un évènement traumatique, comme la collision avec un navire. Néo n’est pas le seul à posséder une malformation caractéristique. Il y a aussi Pascolio, une femelle qui avait été rencontrée pour la première fois en 1985 et Scolio un autre béluga bien connu. Au final, la cause de cette particularité demeure encore inconnue, mais la quantité d’individus concernés intrigue les chercheurs.

De l’autre côté du fleuve

En Gaspésie, on remarque quelques rorquals à bosse à proximité de la côte de Cloridorme. Au cœur du golfe, au large des iles de la Madeleine, un observateur méticuleux aperçoit deux petits rorquals dans la mer agitée. Les amateurs de mammifères marins ont un œil sur l’horizon pour tenter d’apercevoir des dos ou des queues de baleines. Depuis la côte, d’autres cherchent des petites têtes de pinnipèdes.

Une équipe bien accueillie 

L’équipe estivale du CIMM a été bien accueillie par les bélugas du Saint-Laurent. Plusieurs individus sont venus faire un tour dans la baie de Tadoussac en début de semaine, et plusieurs groupes ont été aperçus remontant et descendant la rivière Saguenay au rythme des marées. Parmi les naturalistes en devenir, certains en ont profité pour scruter la baie à travers leurs jumelles à la recherche des dos blancs alors que d’autres s’extasiaient devant cette première observation de la saison. Qui en comptera bien d’autres, on leur souhaite!

Observations de la semaine - 2/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

«La saison peut définitivement commencer»

Des histoires d’amour se développent parfois entre certaines baleines et les naturalistes qui les observent. Pour Renaud Pintiaux, naturaliste et…

|Observations de la semaine 30/6/2022

Une drôle de coïncidence

Les bélugas ont su profiter pleinement de leur première journée de quiétude dans le fjord du Saguenay. De nombreux dos…

|Observations de la semaine 23/6/2022

De l’action près des côtes

Du petit marsouin commun au titanesque rorqual bleu : l'immense palette d'observation qu'offre le Saint-Laurent n'est pas réservée aux navigateurs. Les…

|Observations de la semaine 16/6/2022