Seal pups harassed on the beaches, discovery of pinniped carcasses along the shores, vagrant minke whales in Montréal: these are just a few of the cases that kept the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) busy this spring. Whales Online takes stock.

Harassment and carcasses

The harbour seal pupping season is often a busy period for the network. Between May and June, local residents and visitors to the region are often concerned when they observe a young seal alone on the beach. The QMMERN has therefore been receiving a large volume of calls. Sometimes these are from citizens worried about seeing an animal all alone, or reports of seals being harassed by well-meaning passers-by.

 

Yet most of the time, these young pinnipeds do not need any help.. One should keep a distance of at least 50 metres from the seals and contact the Network at 1-877-722-5346 if the animal is injured or in a place that interferes with human activities.

In addition to helping live animals, the Network is also responsible for documenting marine mammal carcasses. When carcasses are reported, volunteers or team members travel to the scene to document the situation and collect data on the individual as well as to understand the causes of the standings. One of the network’s role is thus to act as a watchdog and monitor all the elements likely to affect marine mammals.

Between January 1 and June 15, 2022, some fifty seal carcasses were identified by the QMMERN. To understand this abnormally high mortality, samples were taken from individuals that had recently become stranded. One of the hypotheses being considered is that the avian flu epidemic currently affecting seabirds in the St. Lawrence might also be having an impact on seals. However, no analysis has thus far been able to confirm this hypothesis.

What about belugas?

Four beluga carcasses were also reported and examined this spring. Some of them were even brought to the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine of Saint-Hyacinthe to undergo a necropsy in the hope of gaining further insight into the causes of the animal’s death. If you happen to find a marine mammal carcass, you should contact the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network at 1-877-722-5346. Above all, do not touch it due to the risk of contracting a zoonosis, a type of disease that can be transmitted from animals to humans.

Montréal hosts minke whales

Impossible to look back on the spring of 2022 without mentioning the unusual discovery of two minke whales in Montréal waters in May . These animals struck a sensitive chord in many a citizen and raised a number of questions . The presence of these two cetaceans resulted in a great deal of work for the Network, whether it be to develop a response and monitoring plan, collect information on the individuals’ respective conditions, or track the overall situation.

On May 26, a minke whale carcass was observed in Contrecoeur. The following day, it was towed and transported to Saint-Hyacinthe, where Dr. Stéphane Lair was able to perform a necropsy. Although it could not be identified with certainty, there’s a good chance that it was one of the two individuals from Montréal. This past spring, a total of four minke whale carcasses were found. Even if we do not know what prompted the two individuals from Montréal to venture up the St. Lawrence River, they have certainly contributed to raising public awareness of marine mammals.

Marine Mammal Emergencies - 23/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Harbour Seals in St. Lawrence Affected by Avian Flu

Last June, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) received an abnormally high number of reports of dead or…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 2/8/2022

Entangled Humpback – A Chronicle

On Wednesday, July 13, a humpback whale was spotted off the coast of Les Escoumins accompanied by a calf that…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 26/7/2022

A Day in Good Company

On Sunday, July 3, a minke whale carcass was found on Île Vertein Quebec’s Bas-Saint-Laurent region. This is practically the…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 14/7/2022

Des petits phoques harcelés sur les plages, des carcasses de pinnipèdes retrouvées le long des rives, des petits rorquals qui s’aventurent à Montréal : voilà certains des cas qui ont occupé le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) ce printemps. Baleines en direct fait le point.

Harcèlement et carcasses

La période des naissances chez les phoques communs est souvent chargée pour le réseau. Entre mai et juin, les riverains et visiteurs de passage sont souvent préoccupés lorsqu’ils observent un jeune phoque seul sur la plage. Le RQUMM reçoit donc de nombreux appels. Il s’agit parfois de gens inquiets de voir l’animal seul, ou de signalement de phoques harcelés par des passants animés de bonnes intentions.

 

Pourtant, la plupart du temps, ces jeunes pinnipèdes n’ont pas besoin d’aide. Il faut conserver une distance de 50 mètres minimum avec les phoques et contacter le Réseau au 1 877 722-5346  si l’animal est blessé, ou dans un lieu  gênant les activités humaines.

En plus de venir en aide aux animaux vivants, le Réseau est aussi responsable de documenter les carcasses de mammifères marins. Lorsque des carcasses sont signalées, des bénévoles ou des membres de l’équipe se déplacent sur les lieux pour documenter la situation et recueillir des données sur l’individu ainsi que pour comprendre les causes d’échouages. L’un des rôles du réseau est ainsi d’agir comme une vigie et de surveiller l’ensemble des éléments susceptibles d’affecter les mammifères marins.

Entre le 1er janvier et le 15 juin 2022, une cinquantaine de carcasses de phoques a été répertoriée par le RQUMM. Pour comprendre cette mortalité anormalement élevée, des échantillons ont été prélevés sur des individus échoués depuis peu de temps. L’une des pistes envisagées est que l’épidémie de grippe aviaire, qui affecte actuellement les oiseaux marins autour du Saint-Laurent, pourrait aussi toucher les phoques. Cependant, aucune analyse n’a pu confirmer cette hypothèse jusqu’à maintenant.

Et les bélugas ?

Quatre carcasses de bélugas ont aussi été signalées et examinées ce printemps. Certaines d’entre elles ont même été apportées à la faculté de médecine vétérinaire de Saint-Hyacinthe pour procéder à une nécropsie, afin de connaitre plus en profondeur les causes de la mort de l’animal. Si vous trouvez une carcasse de mammifère marin, vous devez contacter le Réseau québécois d’urgence mammifères marins au 1 877 722-5346. Il ne faut surtout pas y toucher, au risque de contracter une zoonose, un type de maladie transmissible aux humains par les animaux.

Montréal reçoit des petits rorquals

Impossible de faire un retour sur le printemps 2022 sans mentionner la présence inhabituelle de deux petits rorquals dans les eaux de Montréal en mai. Ceux-ci auront fait vibrer la fibre protectrice de bien des citoyens et des citoyennes, et fait émerger de nombreuses questions . Ces deux cétacés ont occasionné beaucoup de travail pour le Réseau, que ce soit pour générer un plan d’intervention et de surveillance, recueillir les informations sur l’état des individus, ou encore faire le suivi de la situation.

Le 26 mai, une carcasse de petit rorqual a été observée à Contrecoeur. Le lendemain, elle est remorquée et transportée à Saint-Hyacinthe où le Dr Stéphane Lair a pu procéder à une nécropsie. Même si elle n’a pas pu être identifiée avec certitude, il est plausible qu’il s’agisse de l’un des deux individus de Montréal. Pendant la saison printanière, quatre carcasses de petits rorquals ont été trouvées au total. Même si on ne sait pas ce qui a poussé les deux individus de Montréal à remonter le fleuve Saint-Laurent, ceux-ci auront certainement contribué à la sensibilisation de la population en ce qui concerne les mammifères marins.

Urgences Mammifères Marins - 23/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Des phoques
qui n’ont pas besoin d’aide

Le printemps arrive et la saison de mise bas des phoques bat son plein. Le téléphone du Réseau québécois d’urgences…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 30/5/2022

Petit rorqual en direct

Cette page est consacrée à la présence de deux petits rorquals dans les eaux de Montréal. Elle est actualisée plusieurs…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 11/5/2022

Petits rorquals en visite à Montréal – Vos questions

Deux petits rorquals sont actuellement à Montréal, près de l'ile Sainte-Hélène. Le premier individu est là depuis ce dimanche le…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 9/5/2022