Spring is here and the seal pupping season is in full swing. The Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) has been receiving quite a few calls for pinnipeds. There’s a baby seal on the beach! What to do?

Alone on the sand, eyes in the water

In late May and June, harbour seals give birth and it is not uncommon to observe young animals on the shores of the St. Lawrence. Left to fend for themselves, the pups (the name given to first-year seals) may appear distressed, ill or abandoned. Many a good Samaritan will try to help them. Although it is hardly their intention, these improvised rescuers are rather detrimental to the seals’ survival.

In harbour seals, it is normal for the mother to leave her pup to go feed for a few hours or even a couple days. She needs to do so to build her energy reserves so she can nurse her pup. These fragile-looking little mammals are perfectly capable of waiting for their mothers to return. Approaching pups, moving them or feeding them creates stress. Even if they can be curious, you should not approach them.

When the mother returns, she may be frightened by the presence of humans. She will then be reluctant to return to her little one and risks abandoning it if there is too much disturbance. Despite their cute and cuddly appearance, seals can also be aggressive if they feel threatened. Their bites can cause serious injury or even transmit disease. Additionally, it is recalled that approaching or disturbing marine mammals is prohibited by law.

Adult pinnipeds can also be found on the beach. Seals need a place to rest, moult and give birth. This is perfectly normal and the same rule applies for adult seals as it does for pups: give them space and leave them in peace!

How to protect seals 

Want to help seals? Here are a few rules to follow:

  • Maintain a distance of at least 50 metres from the seal to avoid causing it stress. When in doubt, there’s always the old trick of covering your eye with one hand and hiding the animal with the thumb of your other hand, your arm extended. If the animal is completely hidden, you’re far enough away, but if you can still see it behind your thumb, step back, as you are too close.
  • Keep your pets on a leash, both for their own safety and the seal’s.
  • If the seal has visible injuries, if it is in an awkward place for human activities or if you see other people disturbing or handling it, contact the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Network at 1-877-722-5346. The best course of action will be determined by experts.
Marine Mammal Emergencies - 30/5/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Spring 2022: A Busy Season for QMMERN 

Seal pups harassed on the beaches, discovery of pinniped carcasses along the shores, vagrant minke whales in Montréal: these are…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 23/6/2022

Minke whale updates

This page is dedicated to the presence of two minke whales in the waters of Montreal. It is updated several…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 11/5/2022

Minke Whales in Montreal – Your Questions

Two minke whales have been observed in Montreal, near St. Helen's Island. The first individual has been in the area…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 9/5/2022

Le printemps arrive et la saison de mise bas des phoques bat son plein. Le téléphone du Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) sonne fréquemment pour les pinnipèdes. Il y a un jeune phoque sur la plage ! Que faire ?

Seul sur le sable, les yeux dans l’eau

En fin mai et en juin, les phoques communs mettent bas et il n’est pas rare d’observer des jeunes sur les plages du Saint-Laurent. Seuls, les chiots (le nom donné aux jeunes phoques de l’année) peuvent sembler en détresse, malades ou abandonnés. Nombreux sont les bons samaritains qui voudront tenter de leur venir en aide. Bien que ce ne soit pas leur intention, les sauveteurs improvisés nuisent plutôt à la survie des phoques.

Chez les phoques communs, il est normal que la mère quitte son petit pour s’alimenter, pendant quelques heures, voire plusieurs jours. Elle en a besoin pour emmagasiner suffisamment d’énergie pour l’allaiter. Ces petits mammifères d’allure fragile peuvent parfaitement attendre le retour de leur mère. S’approcher des chiots, les déplacer ou les nourrir crée de la détresse. Même si ces derniers peuvent être curieux, il ne faut pas s’en approcher.

Lors du retour la mère, la présence d’humain peut l’effrayer. Elle aura alors peur de revenir auprès de son petit et risque de l’abandonner s’il y a trop de dérangement. Malgré leurs allures débonnaires, les phoques peuvent également être agressifs s’ils se sentent menacés. Leur morsure peut infliger de graves blessures en plus de transmettre des maladies. Sans compter que la loi interdit de s’approcher, ou de déranger des mammifères marins.

Des pinnipèdes adultes peuvent aussi se retrouver sur la plage. Les phoques ont besoin d’un endroit pour se reposer, muer ou même pour donner naissance. C’est parfaitement normal et la même règle s’applique pour les phoques adultes que pour les chiots : ils ont besoin d’espace et de tranquillité !

Pour protéger les phoques 

Vous voulez contribuer à protéger les phoques ? Voici quelques règles à respecter :

  • Gardez une distance de minimum 50 mètres avec le phoque pour éviter de le stresser. En cas de doute, il y a toujours le bon vieux truc : cachez votre œil avec une main et cachez l’animal grâce au pouce de votre autre main, en tendant le bras. Si l’animal est complètement caché, vous êtes à une bonne distance, mais si l’animal apparait derrière votre pouce, reculez, car vous êtes trop proche.
  • Gardez vos animaux de compagnie en laisse, pour leur sécurité et celle du phoque.
  • Si le phoque a des blessures visibles, s’il est dans un lieu encombrant pour les activités humaines ou si vous voyez des personnes le déranger ou le manipuler, contacter le Réseau québécois d’urgence mammifères marins au 1 877 722-5346. Des spécialistes établiront le meilleur plan d’action.
Urgences Mammifères Marins - 30/5/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Printemps 2022 : Une saison chargée pour le RQUMM 

Des petits phoques harcelés sur les plages, des carcasses de pinnipèdes retrouvées le long des rives, des petits rorquals qui s’aventurent à…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 23/6/2022

Petit rorqual en direct

Cette page est consacrée à la présence de deux petits rorquals dans les eaux de Montréal. Elle est actualisée plusieurs…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 11/5/2022

Petits rorquals en visite à Montréal – Vos questions

Deux petits rorquals sont actuellement à Montréal, près de l'ile Sainte-Hélène. Le premier individu est là depuis ce dimanche le…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 9/5/2022