In early July, images of whaling sparked a controversy. Sea Shepherd is concerned that Icelandic whalers have slaughtered a blue whale, which is endangered and protected by an international moratorium. On July 19, the Reykjavik-based Marine and Freshwater Research Institute states that the cetacean killed is a hybrid, i.e. the result of a cross between a male fin whale and a female blue whale. Iceland is not the only country to continue whaling in the North Atlantic, an activity that has been practised for more than nine centuries. But is it sustainable? (Part 2 of 3 of the “Whaling” Series)

Hunting recovering populations

Since the 1986 moratorium on whaling was enacted, several whale populations of concern have begun to recover. This is particularly the case for the various populations of humpback and minke whales. Less than 2,000 rorquals are hunted annually around the world, compared to 60,000 whales (all species combined) harvested annually in the 1960s. “The lowest figure in decades,” remarks Vincent Ridoux, researcher at the Pelagis observatory in La Rochelle, France, in an interview with the newspaper 20 Minutes. Some species had seen their populations drop to critical levels. The blue whale, for example, has fallen to less than 0.5% of its original population.”

But hunting is not the only threat to whales today. Collisions with ships, entanglement in fishing gear and the depletion of their food sources must also be taken into consideration for the proper recovery of these populations. Together, these threats can contribute to rendering commercial whaling unsustainable.

Poorly compatible with whale-watching

Some researchers also question the possible co-existence of this activity with another economic activity that is gaining popularity in many parts of the world: whale watching. A 2014 study in southwestern Greenland shows that hunting just one humpback whale a year in the Nuuk Fjord will result in a decrease in humpback sightings over time, even if new individuals enter the fjord each year and the number of humpbacks visiting the fjord stays the same. This is due to the high degree of fidelity of several individuals to the site. It seems that just six individuals (out of a total of 76 whales identified in the fjord to date) account for roughly half of all observations and are therefore of considerable importance to whale-watching outfitters. Whaling, even if practised at a very small scale, can thus gradually eliminate the most faithful individuals to the site, which also happen to be the most popular amongst observers.

To find out more, we invite you to read the rest of the series on whale hunting that will be published next week.

Whaling: Hunting in the 21st Century

Sources:

La Norvège relève les quotas pour relancer la chasse à la baleine (Le Devoir, 06/03/2018)

Iceland sets target of 191 kills as country resumes whaling (The Guardian, 18/04/2018)

Vers un retour de la chasse commerciale à la baleine? (20 minutes, 28/06/2018)

Communiqué: capture potentielle d’un rorqual bleu en Islande (La Station de Recherche des Iles Mingan, 10/07/2018)

Anti-whalers say Icelandic hunters killed protected blue whale (Global News, 13/07/2018)

Controversial Whale is Hybrid (Island Monitor, 20/07/2018)

DNA test shows slaughtered blue whale is a hybrid, Iceland Marine Institute says (ABC Science, 20/07/2018)

ISLANDE. Le cétacé n’était pas une baleine bleue mais un hybride (Sciences et Avenir, 20/07/2018)

Management and utilization of large whales in Greenland (IWC, page visionnée le 24/07/2018)

L’Islande met fin à la chasse au petit rorqual, peu rentable (Journal de Montréal, 27/07/2018)

(2014) Boye, T.K., M. Simon, et L. Witting. How may an annual removal of humpback whales from Godthaabsfjord, West Greenland, affect the within-fjord sighting rate? Journal of Cetacean Research and Management, 14: 51–56.

News - 28/8/2018

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

COVID-19: Whales in Your Living Room

Whether you’re on the North Shore or in the Gaspé Peninsula, when you live near the St. Lawrence, it’s easy…

|News 2/4/2020

Humpback Whale Attacked by Great White Sharks

Researchers witnessed a rare event in Mossel Bay, at the southern tip of the African continent: two great white sharks…

|News 1/4/2020

A Fourth Generation Humpback Calf!

Good news! Aramis, daughter of the famous humpback whale Tic Tac Toe, recently gave birth to her very first documented…

|News 26/3/2020

La chasse aux rorquals: Chasser encore longtemps?

  • Depuis le moratoire sur la chasse à la baleine, plusieurs populations de rorquals dont la situation était préoccupante ont commencé à se rétablir. © Jean Lemire
    28 / 08 / 2018 Par Béatrice Riché - /

    Au début juillet, des images de chasse à la baleine ont créé la polémique. L’organisme Sea Shepherd craint que des baleiniers islandais aient abattu un jeune rorqual bleu, alors que cette espèce est en danger de disparition et protégée par un moratoire international. Le 19 juillet, l’Institut de recherche sur les milieux marins et d’eau douce de Reykjavik affirme que le cétacé tué est un hybride, c’est-à-dire le fruit d’un croisement entre un rorqual commun mâle et un rorqual bleu femelle. L’Islande n’est pas le seul pays à poursuivre la chasse aux rorquals dans l’Atlantique Nord, une activité pratiquée depuis plus de neuf siècles. Est-ce une chasse durable? (2e partie de 3 du « Dossier sur la chasse au rorqual »)

    Chasser des populations en rétablissement

    Depuis le moratoire sur la chasse à la baleine de 1986, plusieurs populations de rorquals dont la situation était préoccupante ont commencé à se rétablir. C’est le cas notamment des différentes populations de rorquals à bosse et de petits rorquals. Moins de 2000 rorquals sont aujourd’hui chassés annuellement à travers le monde, comparativement aux 60 000 baleines toutes espèces confondues tuées annuellement dans les années 1960. « La pire des décennies, commente Vincent Ridoux, chercheur au sein de l’observatoire Pelagis à La Rochelle, en entrevue avec le journal 20 minutes. Certaines espèces avaient vu leur population fondre jusqu’à atteindre des seuils critiques. La baleine bleue, par exemple, est descendue à moins de 0,5 % de ses effectifs d’origine. »

    Mais la chasse n’est aujourd’hui pas la seule menace à peser sur les baleines. Les collisions avec les bateaux, l’empêtrement dans les engins de pêche et la raréfaction de leur nourriture sont également à prendre en considération pour le bon rétablissement de ces populations. Mises ensemble, ces menaces peuvent participer à rendre la chasse commerciale aux rorquals non durable.

    Nuire à l’observation des baleines

    La chasse nuirait à l’observation des baleines. © GREMM

    Certains chercheurs mettent également en doute la cohabitation possible de cette activité avec une autre activité économique qui gagne en popularité dans de nombreuses régions : l’observation des baleines. Une étude réalisée en 2014 dans le sud-ouest du Groenland démontre que la chasse de seulement un rorqual à bosse par année dans le fiord de Nuuk résultera en une diminution du taux d’observation des rorquals à bosse au fil du temps, et cela même si de nouveaux individus entrent dans le fiord chaque année et que le nombre de rorquals à bosse qui visitent le fiord reste le même. Ceci est dû à la grande fidélité au site de plusieurs individus. Il semblerait que seulement six individus (sur un total de 76 baleines identifiées dans le fiord jusqu’à maintenant) représentent environ 50 % des observations et sont donc d’une importance considérable pour les compagnies d’observation des baleines. La chasse, même minime, peut donc éliminer petit à petit les individus les plus fidèles au site, qui sont également les plus populaires auprès des observateurs.

    Pour en savoir plus, nous vous invitons à lire la suite du dossier sur la chasse aux rorquals qui paraitra la semaine prochaine.

    La chasse aux rorquals: Chasser les baleines au 21e siècle

    Sources:

    La Norvège relève les quotas pour relancer la chasse à la baleine (Le Devoir, 06/03/2018)

    Iceland sets target of 191 kills as country resumes whaling (The Guardian, 18/04/2018)

    Vers un retour de la chasse commerciale à la baleine? (20 minutes, 28/06/2018)

    Communiqué: capture potentielle d’un rorqual bleu en Islande (La Station de Recherche des Iles Mingan, 10/07/2018)

    Anti-whalers say Icelandic hunters killed protected blue whale (Global News, 13/07/2018)

    Controversial Whale is Hybrid (Island Monitor, 20/07/2018)

    DNA test shows slaughtered blue whale is a hybrid, Iceland Marine Institute says (ABC Science, 20/07/2018)

    ISLANDE. Le cétacé n’était pas une baleine bleue mais un hybride (Sciences et Avenir, 20/07/2018)

    Management and utilization of large whales in Greenland (IWC, page visionnée le 24/07/2018)

    L’Islande met fin à la chasse au petit rorqual, peu rentable (Journal de Montréal, 27/07/2018)

    (2014) Boye, T.K., M. Simon, et L. Witting. How may an annual removal of humpback whales from Godthaabsfjord, West Greenland, affect the within-fjord sighting rate? Journal of Cetacean Research and Management, 14: 51–56.


    Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.