The future is an increasingly gloomy one for the North Atlantic right whale, an endangered species whose numbers have been declining since 2010. Right whales are victims of entanglement in fishing gear (ropes and traps), ship strikes and a degrading environment. Conservation of the species adds new constraints to the snow crab and lobster fisheries as well as maritime traffic. The North Atlantic right whale is an endangered species and is protected by Canadian and US laws. How can humans learn to coexist alongside marine mammals without jeopardizing their survival?

Mortality assessment: better understanding the changes

In 2017, a record 12 right whale carcasses were found in Canadian waters, namely in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Since 2017, measures have been applied to mitigate anthropogenic impact on the species. However, about ten or so new cases were identified again this past summer, further aggravating the precarious status of this endangered species. This year, seven births were recorded, but 10 mortality cases were also confirmed (9 carcasses found in Canadian waters and 1 in the US). The population now numbers only around 400 individuals.

Thanks to photo-ID and surveillance efforts, 160 right whales were identified this year in fishing and navigation areas in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Part of the North Atlantic right whale population has traditionally spent its summers in the Bay of Fundy and the Gulf of Maine. But since 2017, these places seem to be less frequented and a major uptick in observations has been noted in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

“This is likely related to rapid changes in conditions along the Atlantic coast, particularly in the Gulf of Maine, which is warming faster than 99% of the rest of the world’s ocean surface, in addition to human pressure,” explains Russ Charif, senior bioacoustician at the Center for Conservation Bioacoustics for the journal Global Change Biology (2019).

This new overlap with fishing grounds and shipping lanes in the colder Gulf waters presents new challenges for Canadian fisheries. Watchword: Maritime Canada must review its methods to minimize its impact on North Atlantic right whales, otherwise the species could suffer further impacts. Concerned scientists have been gathering in order to identify solutions and prevent the species from becoming extinct. Furthermore, right whale protection is an essential criterion for seafood to be certified sustainable, a designation required for exports to the US in addition to being sought by Canadian consumers.The decade or so of cohabitation experience between whales and the fishing industry in the US can be used to inspire measures in Canadian waters.

How is the Canadian industry adapting?

There are higher-risk areas where whales congregate and “rub fins” with areas frequented by crab and lobster boats as well as shipping traffic. To lower the risk of both entanglements and collisions, Fisheries and Oceans Canada imposes areas where fishing is prohibited and Transport Canada limits the speed of certain vessels in certain areas and during certain times of the year. “In response to the North Atlantic right whale mortalities, the team has increased its targeted surveillance efforts; survey flights over Canadian waters went from 5 to 10 a week in the summer of 2019,” points out Fisheries and Oceans Canada in an email exchange with Whales Online.

The fishing industry is already having an impact, even if the seasons are short-lasting and heavily regulated. Fisheries and Oceans Canada bases its measurements on data provided by inventories from previous years. However, whales did not visit the areas frequented in 2018 with the same intensity due to the variability in their distribution. Fishermen would like to see closings carried out on a dynamic basis beginning with the confirmed presence of right whales. In 2019, one fishing area that was highly popular in 2018 was off limits from April to November despite the fact that no right whales were noted there, while other areas were closed for 15 days only when a right whale was spotted in the vicinity. “The management model isn’t perfect yet, everyone is adapting to this new reality,” notes Lyne Morissette, biologist and ecologist who works with fishermen on mitigation measures in Atlantic Canada and the Gulf.

As for the 10-knot speed limit, 19 fines were issued for speeding offences. Transport Canada has a total of 5,279 monitored vessels that have operated within the speed limit zones. Overall, the maritime industry therefore seems to be collaborating in North Atlantic right whale protection efforts.

Multiple meetings, promising solutions!

On November 7, at a roundtable in Moncton, New Brunswick, on the results of fishery management measures for whale protection, the industry indicated that it would like to see the snow crab season start earlier, which could be made possible through the use of icebreakers. “If a qualified supplier is designated, a contract for icebreaking services will be put into place,” explains the ministry. This would make it possible, beginning in 2020, to optimize as much as possible the scale of fishing activities that are permitted to take place before the first North Atlantic right whales arrive. “In spring, everyone is ready to head out to sea 3 weeks before opening day. This would avoid being out at sea when the whales arrive and the government thinks this is a good option,” says Lyne Morissette.

At the internationalheld in Portland, Maine on November 14 and 15, 2019, coordinated efforts with several Canadian stakeholders were applauded by international players, points out Lyne Morissette. “The department is working closely with the United States National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and has established a Canada-US bilateral working group on the North Atlantic right whale,” adds Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Solutions are multiple, come from a variety of sectors, and must encompass the species’ entire range.

Once again, the North Atlantic right whale dossier is testimony to the complexity of coexisting with the natural world on a planet in constant flux. “There is something to be learned from this issue; this species will at least have taught us to cooperate and work together,” underscores Lyne Morissette.

To dive deeper

  • (2019) Phenological changes in North Atlantic right whale habitat use in Massachusetts Bay Russell A. Charif, Yu Shiu, Charles A. Muirhead, Christopher W. Clark, Susan E. Parks, Aaron N. Rice, Global Change Biology.
News - 9/1/2020

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin joined the Whales Online team in the summer of 2019. With a Master’s degree in environmental science and ocean and coastal zone management, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in marine ecology, it is an honour for her to be able to learn and share stories about marine mammals and the St. Lawrence ecosystem. As founder and editor-in-chief of the Blue Organization, she believes that environmental communication and popular science are essential for the protection of our oceans and our cherished St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

L’année 2019 n’a pas été particulièrement réjouissante pour la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, une espèce en voie de disparition et en déclin depuis 2010. Elle est victime d’empêtrement dans des engins de pêche (cordages et casiers), de collisions avec des embarcations et de la détérioration de son environnement. Sa conservation pose de nouvelles contraintes sur l’industrie de la pêche au crabe des neiges et au homard ainsi que sur le trafic maritime. La baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord est une espèce menacée et elle est protégée par les lois du Canada et des États-Unis. Comment l’humain peut-il apprendre à cohabiter aux côtés des mammifères marins sans nuire à leur survie?

Bilan de mortalité: mieux comprendre les changements

En 2017, douze carcasses de baleines noires ont été trouvées dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, en territoire canadien, un nombre record. Depuis 2017, des mesures ont été appliquées pour atténuer l’impact de l’humain sur l’espèce. En 2019, sept naissances ont été recensées, mais 10 cas de mortalités ont aussi été confirmés (9 carcasses trouvées en eau canadienne et 1 aux États-Unis). La population ne compte plus qu’environ 400 individus.

Grâce à la photo-identification et aux efforts de surveillance, 160 baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord ont été répertoriées dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent cette année, se retrouvant sur les territoires de pêche et secteurs de navigation en eau canadienne. Une partie de la population des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord passait traditionnellement ses étés dans la baie de Fundy et le golfe du Maine. Mais depuis 2017, ces lieux semblent moins fréquentés et une augmentation majeure des observations a été notée dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

«C’est probablement lié aux changements rapides des conditions le long de la côte atlantique, en particulier dans le golfe du Maine, qui se réchauffe plus rapidement que 99% du reste de la surface de l’océan mondial, en plus de la pression anthropique», explique Russ Charif, bioacousticien principal au Center for Conservation Bioacoustics, pour la revue Global Change Biology.

Ce nouveau chevauchement avec les zones de pêches et de navigation dans les eaux plus froides du golfe occasionne de nouveaux défis pour les pêcheries canadiennes. Le mot d’ordre: le Canada maritime doit revoir ses façons de faire afin de minimiser son impact sur les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, sinon l’espèce pourrait se voir impactée davantage. Les scientifiques s’inquiètent et les rendez-vous se multiplient afin de trouver des solutions et sauver l’espèce de l’extinction. Qui plus est, la protection des baleines noires fait partie des éléments essentiels à la certification durable des produits de la mer, une certification nécessaire à l’exportation aux États-Unis et recherchée également par les consommateurs canadiens. La dizaine d’années d’expérience de cohabitation entre la baleine et l’industrie de la pêche aux États-Unis peut servir à inspirer les mesures en eau canadienne.

Comment l’industrie canadienne s’adapte-t-elle?

Il existe des zones plus à risque où les baleines se rassemblent et côtoient les zones fréquentées par les crabiers, les homardiers et le trafic maritime. Pour diminuer les risques d’empêtrements et de collisions conjointement, Pêches et Océans Canada impose des zones où la pêche est défendue et Transports Canada limite la vitesse de certains navires durant une période de l’année dans certaines zones. «En réponse aux décès de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, l’équipe a augmenté ses efforts de surveillance ciblée; les vols sont passés de 5 à 10 par semaine au-dessus des eaux canadiennes à l’été 2019», fait remarquer Pêches et Océans Canada dans un échange courriel avec Baleines en direct.

L’industrie de la pêche subit des effets avec une saison de récolte déjà courte et très règlementée. Pêches et Océans Canada appuie ses mesures sur les données fournies par les inventaires des années précédentes. Or, les baleines n’ont pas visité avec une même intensité les zones de l’année 2018 en raison de la variabilité de leur répartition. Les pêcheurs qui travaillent sur le terrain souhaiteraient que les fermetures s’effectuent toutes sur une base dynamique, à partir de la présence confirmée de baleines noires. En 2019, une zone de pêche très convoitée en 2018 a été fermée d’avril à novembre sans présence de baleines noires, tandis que d’autres zones devenaient fermées pour 15 jours seulement lorsqu’une baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord y était repérée sur les lieux. «Le modèle de gestion n’est pas parfait encore, tout le monde s’adapte à cette nouvelle réalité», fait remarquer Lyne Morissette, biologisteet écologiste qui travaille avec les pêcheurs sur des mesures d’atténuation au Canada atlantique et dans le golfe.

Du côté de la limitation de vitesse à 10 nœuds, 19 amendes ont été données pour des infractions de vitesses. En tout, Transports Canada dénombre 5 279 navires surveillés qui ont circulé dans les zones de limitation de vitesse. L’industrie maritime semble donc globalement collaborer aux efforts de protection de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord.

Des rendez-vous multiples, des solutions prometteuses!

Lors de la Table ronde canadienne sur les résultats des mesures de gestion de la pêche sur la protection des baleines, tenue à Moncton le 7 novembre dernier, l’industrie a fait savoir qu’elle souhaitait que les dates d’ouverture de la pêche au crabe des neiges soient modifiées avec une ouverture anticipée grâce à des brise-glaces. «Si un fournisseur qualifié est désigné, un contrat pour des services de déglaçage sera mis en place», souligne le ministère. Ceci permettrait d’optimiser au maximum la quantité d’activités de pêche qui peuvent avoir lieu avant l’arrivée des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, dès 2020. «Tout le monde est prêt à partir 3 semaines avant l’ouverture de la pêche au printemps. Ça éviterait d’être sur le terrain en même temps qu’avec l’arrivée des baleines et le gouvernement pense que c’est une bonne option», dit Lyne Morissette.

Au consortium internationalenu à Portland, Maine, les 14 et 15 novembre 2019, les efforts de concertation avec plusieurs intervenants canadiens ont été salués par les acteurs internationaux, fait remarquer Lyne Morissette. «Le Ministère collabore étroitement avec la National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) des États-Unis, et il a mis sur pied un groupe de travail bilatéral Canada–États-Unis sur la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord», ajoute Pêches et Océans Canada.Les solutions sont multiples, viennent de plusieurs secteurs, et doivent toucher l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce.

Le dossier de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord montre encore une fois la complexité de la coexistence avec le monde naturel sur une planète en changement. «Il y a quelque chose à apprendre de ce dossier-là; cette espèce nous aura au moins appris à coopérer et à travailler ensemble», pointe Lyne Morissette.

Pour en savoir plus

  • (2019) Phenological changes in North Atlantic right whale habitat use in Massachusetts Bay Russell A. Charif, Yu Shiu, Charles A. Muirhead, Christopher W. Clark, Susan E. Parks, Aaron N. Rice, Global Change Biology.
  • (2016) Pêches et Océans Canada. Plan d’action pour la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord (Eubalaena glacialis) au Canada : Interactions avec les pêches [Proposition]. Série de plans d'action de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pêches et Océans Canada, Ottawa. v + 43 p.
Actualité - 6/1/2020

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct comme rédactrice à l’été 2019. Avec une maitrise en environnement, gestion des océans et zones côtières, et un baccalauréat en écologie marine, c’est un honneur pour elle de pouvoir apprendre et partager les récits des mammifères marins et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Aussi fondatrice et rédactrice en chef de l’Organisation Bleue, elle croit que la communication environnementale et la vulgarisation scientifique sont essentielles à la protection de nos océans et de notre fleuve.

Articles recommandés

Un peu de tranquillité pour les bélugas

Cet été encore, la baie Sainte-Marguerite sera fermée à la navigation du 21 juin au 21 septembre 2020. Depuis 2018,…

|Actualité 10/8/2020

Appel aux plaisanciers : contribuez à la recherche

Comme des milliers d’autres plaisanciers, vous profitez de la température clémente des jours d’été pour naviguer dans le parc marin…

|Actualité 6/8/2020

Concours bulles de science : À vos crayons pour la biodiversité!

Cette année encore, Sciences pour tous organise le concours de bandes dessinées Bulles de science dans le cadre de la…

|Actualité 2/8/2020