Everyone was surprised this week when not one, but two endangered species ventured into the St. Lawrence Estuary: one North Atlantic right whale and two blue whales. What was even more astonishing was when the right whale wandered up the Saguenay Fjord and the blue whales were identified as a mother-calf pair.

Unusual stories

On Saturday, August 6, a North Atlantic right whale was spotted at the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord. The individual then swims up the fjord as far as Anse à la Boule before returning to the estuary that evening. A few well-informed observers were even able to watch it from shore at Pointe de l’Islet in Tadoussac. Most of them could barely contain their enthusiasm: “This was the first time I ever saw a right whale, says one cetacean enthusiast. You could clearly see its V-shaped spout, he explains. I was able to see it emerge above the surface a few times before it dived, which was quite impressive. Especially since it’s so rare to see them here!”

Photos of the animal have been sent to the North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium and, while it cannot be confirmed at this time, it may be a calf aged around one-and-a-half years old. The North Atlantic right whale is endangered, with an estimated population of fewer than 350 individuals. After centuries of whaling, the species is now a victim of entanglements and collisions with boats. In recent years, climate change also seems to be affecting the right whale’s habits. Four days after the first sighting, i.e. On Wednesday August 10, a right whale was spotted on the south shore of the St. Lawrence at L’Anse-au-Persil, between Rivière-du-Loup and Cacouna. Photo analysis will help determine whether this is the same animal observed earlier in the week or a different individual.

Concurrently, the presence of two blue whales was also reported off Cap de Bon-Désir, between Les Bergeronnes and Les Escoumins. The individuals were identified as B246, a female known since 1991 and nicknamed “Jaw-Breaker [DA1] ,”and a first-year calf. Jaw-Breaker is one of the blue whales that shows her tail when she dives. She can be recognized by her particularly white dorsal fin and the colour pattern of her back. According to Richard Sears, president of the Mingan Island Cetacean Study [DA2] (MICS), this is likely her second confirmed calf, as she is believed to have had one 4 years ago. Additionally, this would be just the 35th mother-calf pair identified in the St. Lawrence River in 44 years.

Exciting observations

Elsewhere in the St. Lawrence, there are plenty more marine mammal sightings. For the MICS team working in the Mingan Archipelago on August 9, the day in the field ended with the observation of several marine mammals. They share their excitement on the social networks: “After a rather calm start to the season, yesterday our team of scientists spotted no fewer than 6 humpbacks, 3 minke whales, 2 fin whales and our first blue whale of the year! While some of us stayed at the station today to process collected data and welcome visitors to the museum,we hope that those who do make it out to sea will enjoy other great encounters.”

A recreational boater also relates her observations in the Mingan sector: “minke whales, porpoises, harbour seals, grey seals and, most likely, dolphins.” Farther up river, in Sept-Îles, minke whales swim along the coast and tuna are seen leaping out of the water, not to mention foraging grey seals. In Franquelin, a few humpbacks, many minke whales and good numbers of harbour porpoises are observed. In Tadoussac, an amalgam of marine mammals were spotted throughout the week, including humpbacks, minke whales, seals, belugas and harbour porpoises.

After paddling down the north shore of the Saguenay from L’Anse-de-Roche toward Baie-Sainte-Catherine, a kayaker shares her encounter with seals: “We came across a group of 6 harbour seals. They were lying on the rocks like bananas. There was also a pair of seals surrounded by cormorants drying their wings. They were intrigued to see us, but we kept our distance so as not to scare them.”

From the Gaspé Peninsula, white-sided dolphins, seals, harbour porpoises, minke whales and a few humpbacks have all been reported. In Gaspé Bay, humpback whales slap their huge pectoral fins on the water surface to the delight of observers, who are blown away by this majestic animal.

 

Map of the observations of the week

Here is the map of observations reported this week. It gives an idea of the presence of whales and does not at all represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

A tightly knit network of experienced observers who live according to the rhythm of the St. Lawrence throughout the year. On the waves or on shore, they scan the horizon with passion and patience, watching for the slightest spout. It is thanks to their sharp eyes and living words that we are able to write News from Afield week in and week out. A big thank you to all of our precious collaborators!

Click on the whale or the seal icon to find out more about the corresponding observation (species, number of individuals, info, pictures). To enlarge the map, click on the top right corner icon.

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne? Utiliser l’outil de saisie d’observations de mammifères marins.

Observation of the Week - 11/8/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Autumn Winds

Mariners are well aware that in fall, storms often produce strong winds from the east or northeast. While some enthusiasts…

|Observation of the Week 30/9/2022

Humpbacks, seals and belugas

This week, all up and down the St. Lawrence, humpback whales are topping the lists of observations, along with other…

|Observation of the Week 23/9/2022

Fog-shrouded Waters

This past week was marked by the presence of fog almost all across the St. Lawrence. Mingan Islands, La Malbaie,…

|Observation of the Week 15/9/2022

C’est la surprise générale cette semaine lorsque non pas une, mais deux espèces en voie de disparition se sont aventurées dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent : une baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord et deux rorquals bleus. L’étonnement est d’autant plus complet lorsque la baleine noire remonte dans le fjord du Saguenay et que les rorquals bleus sont identifiés comme étant un couple mère-veau.

Des histoires inhabituelles 

Le samedi 6 aout, une baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord est repérée à l’embouchure du Fjord-du-Saguenay. L’individu remonte ensuite le fjord jusqu’à l’Anse à la Boule avant de regagner l’estuaire en soirée. Quelques observateurs avertis ont même pu la voir de la rive à partir de la Pointe de l’Islet à Tadoussac. La plupart ne tarissent pas d’éloges : «C’était la première fois que je voyais une baleine noire, raconte un passionné des cétacés. On voyait vraiment bien son souffle en forme de «V» explique-t-il. J’ai pu la voir sortir quelques fois, avant qu’elle ne plonge et ce fût vraiment impressionnant. Surtout que c’est tellement rare d’en voir ici!»

Des photos de la baleine ont été envoyées au North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium et même s’il n’est pas possible de le confirmer pour l’instant, il pourrait s’agir d’un veau d’environ 1 an et demi. Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord sont en voie de disparition, avec une population estimée à moins de 350 individus. Après avoir été chassée pendant des centaines d’années, l’espèce est aujourd’hui victime d’empêtrements et de collisions avec des bateaux. Depuis quelques années, les changements climatiques semblent aussi affecter les habitudes de l’espèce. Quatre jours après la première observation, soit le mercredi 10 aout, c’est du côté de la rive sud du Saint-Laurent à l’anse au Persil, entre Rivière-du-Loup et Cacouna, qu’une baleine noire est aperçue. L’analyse des photos permettra de savoir s’il s’agit du même individu que celui qui a été observé plus tôt dans la semaine, ou d’un autre animal.

Pendant ce temps, la présence de deux rorquals bleus est aussi signalée au large du Cap de Bon-Désir, entre Les Bergeronnes et Les Escoumins. Les individus ont été identifiés comme B246, une femelle connue depuis 1991 et surnommée «Jaw-Breaker», et un veau de cette année. Jaw-Breaker fait partie des rorquals bleus qui montrent la queue lorsqu’ils plongent. Elle est reconnaissable par sa nageoire dorsale particulièrement blanche et par le patron de coloration de son dos. Selon Richard Sears, président de la Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS), il s’agirait de son deuxième veau confirmé, puisqu’elle en aurait eu un il y a 4 ans. En outre, cette paire mère-veau serait la 35e recensée dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent en 44 ans.

Des observations excitantes 

Les observations des autres mammifères marins vont bon train ailleurs dans le Saint-Laurent. Pour l’équipe du MICS, aux îles Mingan, la journée de terrain du 9 aout s’est soldée par l’observation de plusieurs mammifères marins. Ils partagent d’ailleurs leur excitation sur les réseaux sociaux : «Après un début de saison plutôt calme, notre équipe de scientifiques a repéré hier au moins 6 rorquals à bosse, 3 petits rorquals, 2 rorquals communs et notre première bleue de l’année! Alors que certains d’entre nous sont restés à la station aujourd’hui pour traiter les données collectées et accueillir les visiteurs du musée, nous espérons que ceux partis en mers vont faire d’autres belles rencontres.»

Une plaisancière raconte aussi ses observations aux îles Mingan :«petits rorquals, marsouins, phoques communs, phoques gris et presque assurément des dauphins.» En remontant le fleuve, à Sept-Îles, des petits rorquals nagent le long de la côte, lorsque ce ne sont pas des thons qui sautent hors de l’eau, sans compter les phoques gris en pleine chasse. À Franquelin, quelques rorquals à bosse, beaucoup de petits rorquals et de marsouins communs sont observés. À Tadoussac, des rorquals à bosses, des petits rorquals, des phoques, des bélugas et des marsouins communs composent l’amalgame des mammifères marins qui ont été observés pendant la semaine.

Une kayakiste, pagayant sur la rive nord du Saguenay au départ de L’Anse-de-Roche en direction de Baie-Sainte-Catherine, raconte sa rencontre avec des phoques : «on est tombés sur un groupe de 6 phoques communs. Ils étaient en banane sur les rochers. Il y avait aussi un duo de phoques entourés de cormorans qui se faisaient sécher les ailes. Ils étaient intrigués de nous voir, mais on est restés à distance pour ne pas les effrayer. »

En Gaspésie, la présence de dauphins à flancs blancs, de phoques, de marsouins communs, de petits rorquals et de quelques rorquals à bosse est rapportée. Dans la baie de Gaspé, les grandes nageoires pectorales des rorquals à bosse frappent l’eau devant des observateurs émerveillés par cet animal majestueux.

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne? Utilisez l’outil de saisie d’observations de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 11/8/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Un vent d’automne

Les navigateurs le savent, l’automne, les tempêtes produisent souvent des vents forts, provenant de l’est ou du nord-est. Si certains…

|Observations de la semaine 30/9/2022

Bosses, phoques et bélugas

Cette semaine, un peu partout dans le Saint-Laurent, les rorquals à bosse mènent le bal des observations, accompagnés d’autres espèces…

|Observations de la semaine 23/9/2022

Brouillard sur les flots

La dernière semaine aura été marquée par la présence de brouillard un peu partout sur le Saint-Laurent. Des Iles de…

|Observations de la semaine 15/9/2022