On Sunday, July 3, a minke whale carcass was found on Île Vertein Quebec’s Bas-Saint-Laurent region. This is practically the backyard of Pierre-Henry Fontaine, founder of the Skeleton Museum. This proved to be a tremendous opportunity for collaboration between the retired biology professor and the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN). Might the marine mammal enthusiast be able to add this skeleton to his collection?

An extraordinary team

When QMMERN team members received the report of a minke whale carcass stranded on Île Verte,they were not surprised to learn that the call had been placed by none other than Pierre-Henry Fontaine. Indeed, the latter is a seasoned expert on cetaceans. He has dissected and prepared many a skeleton, whether for the Skeleton Museum, for his book Whales and Seals:Biology and Ecology, or out of personal curiosity.

It was not Cédric Gascon’s first intervention either, as this is his second summer with the QMMERN mobile team. There was something a little special about it, however. First of all, transportation to and from Île Verte had to be organized. To get there, Cédric had to take the ferry, but he had to cross the St. Lawrence as afoot passenger, asthere was not enough room on board for his truck! In addition to that, he was going to have the opportunity to work with Pierre-Henry Fontaine,

who came to pick up Cédric when the ferry arrived. Indeed, the retiree is one of twenty inhabitants that reside on Île Verte year-round. The day before, he had moved the carcass to his property to prevent the tide from washing it away.

Samples to better understand whales

With the help of a Network volunteer, the team was able to begin sampling the animal. The team measured its length and circumference before collecting skin, fat and muscle samples, as well as baleen. “It was impressive to see Pierre-Henry at work,” comments Cédric. “He was really meticulous in his movements, and what would have normally taken us 30 minutes, he did in no time at all.” The samples will be used to learn more about the individual in question and they will be kept in a freezer until they aretransportedfor analysis. They will provide essential information for a better understanding of the causes of the animal’s mortality and the species in general.

A sense of déjà vu

The presence of the cetacean and skeleton enthusiast made it possible to take the analysis to another level. “Upon examining its stomach, we discovered that it was completely empty,” comments Pierre-Henry Fontaine. “There were also no traces of injuries or visible markings. The carcass was also very fresh.”The overall circumstances of the incident reminded him of an old story: “About thirty years ago, there was another minke whale carcass that I remember hearing about. People observed the animal venture into and become stranded in the tidal flats, where the water is only 2 to 3 metres deep. I think the same thing may have happened here, though that’s just a guess.”

At the end of the day, the experience turned out to be very rewarding: It was fun, because while he was working, he often stopped to explain certain things to us,” says Cédric. It was obvious that he had experience as a professor.”

Lastly,the minke whale was too young for Pierre-Henry to recover its skeleton. “At this age, the pieces of the skeleton are not yet fully fused together,” he explains. “In any case, I got to keep the skull. The ball’s in my court now. Perhaps I can add it to my collection, if it withstands the treatments.”

Marine Mammal Emergencies - 14/7/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Avian Flu: First Documented Case in Cetaceans in Quebec

Last September, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network received a report of an Atlantic white-sided dolphin carcass near Rimouski.…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 30/11/2022

Harbour Seals in St. Lawrence Affected by Avian Flu

Last June, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) received an abnormally high number of reports of dead or…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 2/8/2022

Entangled Humpback – A Chronicle

On Wednesday, July 13, a humpback whale was spotted off the coast of Les Escoumins accompanied by a calf that…

|Marine Mammal Emergencies 26/7/2022

Le dimanche 3 juillet dernier, une carcasse de petit rorqual est retrouvée à l’ile Verte, au Bas-Saint-Laurent. C’est pratiquement dans la cour arrière de Pierre-Henry Fontaine, fondateur du Musée du squelette. C’est l’occasion d’une belle collaboration entre le professeur de biologie à la retraite et le Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM). Le passionné des mammifères marins pourrait-il ajouter ce squelette à sa collection?

Une équipe hors du commun

Lorsque les membres de l’équipe du RQUMM ont reçu un appel signalant une carcasse de petit rorqual échouée sur l’ile Verte, ils n’ont pas été surpris d’apprendre que leur interlocuteur était Pierre-Henry Fontaine. En effet, ce dernier n’en est pas à ses premières armes avec les cétacés. Il a disséqué et préparé le squelette de nombreux individus, que ce soit pour le Musée du squelette, pour son livre «Baleines et phoques : biologie et écologie », ou par curiosité personnelle.

Ce n’était pas non plus la première intervention de Cédric Gascon, puisqu’il s’agit de son deuxième été au sein de l’équipe mobile du RQUMM. Elle avait pourtant quelque chose d’un peu spécial. En effet, il fallait organiser le transport pour aller sur l’ile Verte et en revenir. Pour se rendre sur place, Cédric a dû prendre le traversier, mais c’est à pied qu’il a traversé la portion du Saint-Laurent qui le mènerait à son point d’arrivée, puisqu’il n’y avait plus de place pour le camion! De plus, il allait avoir la chance de travailler avec Pierre-Henry Fontaine.

C’est ce dernier qui est venu chercher Cédric directement à l’arrivée du traversier. Le retraité fait en effet partie de la vingtaine de personnes qui habitent l’ile Verte tout au long de l’année. La veille, l’insulaire avait déplacé la carcasse sur son terrain pour éviter que la marée l’emporte.

Des échantillons pour comprendre les baleines

Avec l’aide d’une bénévole du Réseau, l’équipe a pu commencer l’échantillonnage de l’animal. Elle a mesuré sa longueur et sa circonférence avant de récolter des échantillons de peau, de gras et de muscle, mais aussi des fanons. «C’était quand même impressionnant de voir aller Pierre-Henry, commente Cédric. Il était vraiment précis dans ses gestes, et ce qui nous aurait pris normalement 30 minutes, il le faisait super rapidement.» Les échantillons serviront à en apprendre plus sur l’individu en question et ils seront conservés dans un congélateur en attente d’être transportés pour être analysés. Ils apporteront des informations indispensables à une meilleure compréhension des causes de la mort de l’animal et de l’espèce en général.

Une impression de déjà vu 

La présence du passionné des cétacés et des squelettes a permis de pousser l’analyse un peu plus loin. «En regardant dans son estomac, nous avons découvert qu’il était complètement vide, commente Pierre-Henry Fontaine. Il n’y avait pas non plus de traces de blessures ou de marques visibles. La carcasse était aussi très fraiche.» Ce n’est pas sans lui rappeler certains souvenirs : «Il y a environ une trentaine d’années, il y a aussi eu une carcasse de petit rorqual, les gens me l’ont raconté. Ils ont vu l’animal, vivant, s’aventurer dans la batture, où il y a seulement 2 à 3 mètres d’eau et rester pris. Je pense que c’est peut-être la même chose qui est arrivée, même si cela reste une supposition.»

À la fin de la journée, l’expérience s’est révélée fort enrichissante : « C’était le fun, parce que pendant qu’il faisait tout ça, il s’arrêtait souvent pour nous expliquer des choses,    explique Cédric. Ça paraissait qu’il avait une expérience de professeur. »

Finalement, le petit rorqual était trop jeune pour que Pierre-Henry récupère son squelette. « Les morceaux du squelette ne sont pas tous fixés ensemble à cet âge, explique-t-il. J’ai tout de même récupéré le crâne. Il est dans mon champ en ce moment. Peut-être que je pourrais l’ajouter à ma collection, s’il résiste aux traitements. »

Urgences Mammifères Marins - 14/7/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Le phoque commun du Saint-Laurent touché par la grippe aviaire

En juin dernier, le Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) a reçu un nombre anormalement élevé de signalements…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 2/8/2022

Rorqual à bosse empêtré – En direct

Mercredi le 13 juillet, un rorqual à bosse a été aperçu au large des Escoumins accompagné d’un baleineau empêtré dans…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 26/7/2022

Printemps 2022 : Une saison chargée pour le RQUMM 

Des petits phoques harcelés sur les plages, des carcasses de pinnipèdes retrouvées le long des rives, des petits rorquals qui s’aventurent à…

|Urgences Mammifères Marins 23/6/2022