Newborn belugas are born brownish before becoming grey-blue and then completely white. This gradual change of color is a common phenomenon in cetaceans. For example, killer whale calves are born orange and black before becoming white and black. The “café-au-lait” color of newborn beluga whales, therefore, pushed our readers to wonder about the reasons and mechanisms behind these color changes. Although scientists do not have a definitive answer to this phenomenon, we managed to collect several hypotheses that could explain the unusual color of baby belugas.

Each age is associated with its own color

It is quite easy to guess belugas’ ages; it all depends on their color. Baby belugas are born after fourteen or fifteen months of gestation. Females usually give birth from June to September. When they are born, newborns have a gray or brownish color, which is often referred to as “café au lait”. This color becomes progressively darker to reach a dark blue-gray during the first month of their lives.

Over the next few years, belugas become lighter and lighter until they turn completely white around their twelfth to sixteenth year. “The dark colour in young ones is associated with the presence of melanin in their epidermis” explains Stéphane Lar, professor at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Montreal. “The abundance of these pigments gradually decreases with age. In white adult individuals, there is no more pigment in the skin.”

Indeed, the gene coding for the production of melanin is gradually deactivated after a few years of life. In addition, beluga whales are known to shed the upper layers of their epidermis every year, which causes their skin color to turn white gradually.

An evolutionary advantage?

The gradual reduction of melanin production likely gives belugas a selective advantage. Indeed, their white color is an advantage for blending into their arctic environment in winter, among the icebergs. This camouflage technique would allow them to hide from their main predators: killer whales, polar bears, and humans!

In some species, the juveniles may have a different color from the adults, which can enhance their camouflage and protect them from predators. How could being darker in colour be advantageous to baby belugas? “One of the possible explanations is that a darker colour absorbs more heat from the sun, which may help the calves keep warm. Additionally, in the summer, during the calving season, a darker colour is less visible in the water than white, thus offering better protection against predators”, suspects the veterinarian Stéphane Lair.

Moreover, young belugas do not solely rely on their camouflage, but also depend on the unfailing supervision of the whole family, also called alloparenting. Thus, the calves receive the constant protection of adults against dangers, such as predators.

The mystery of yellow babies

To better understand the origin of the brownish color of newborns, we can look at the yellow color of other cetacean newborns.

This is the case, for example, for killer whales, which are born orange before becoming white and black. In their case, the orange color could be caused by blood vessels close to the skin surface of the animal, due to a lack of a thick enough layer of blubber. Newborn killer whales would thus gradually turn white as their blubber thickens. This process can take up to a year.

For other species of dolphins, scientists have suggested that physiological jaundice may be the cause of the yellowish coloring of newborns. We know that in humans, when a baby is born, the excess red blood cells are destroyed, causing an increase in bilirubin, an orange pigment, in the newborn’s body. Since babies’ liver are not very efficient, the excess bilirubin can take ten days to disappear, resulting in the baby’s yellow tinge. Therefore, it is possible that the yellowish color of baby dolphins is linked to this excess bilirubin, just like in humans.

Another hypothesis is that the yellowish color of young cetaceans is caused by a thin layer of algae covering the body of the newborn. In this case, the algae would be one or more species of diatoms, microscopic algae thriving in cold waters. Notably, researchers have observed films of coffee-colored algae on several bottlenose dolphins. Newborns could be particularly at risk of developing these algae films because their skin is more sensitive, and their immune system is weaker.

A baby’s skin

None of these hypotheses allowed us to definitively answer the question from our readers regarding the café-au-lait color of baby belugas. Nonetheless, in July 2021, new information peaked our interest: the research team from CERSI (Centre d’éducation et de recherche de Sept-Iles) found a stranded newborn beluga. While carrying out its necropsy, scientists noticed a thin yellow film covering the animal’s body. Even better: biologist Anik Boileau, the director of the CERSI research center, noted that every stranded newborn beluga she encountered showed a similar yellow film.

During the examination of the stranded newborn beluga whale in July 2021, researchers found a yellowish skin film © Anik Boileau
A detailed image of the yellowish film on a newborn beluga whale © Anik Boileau

The professor at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Stéphane Lair, completes this observation: “In the newborn beluga, the external layer of the epidermis is almost twice as thick as that of the embryo. It is also very thick compared to the adult’s. The particular structure of the newborn’s skin is very unstable, a molt will occur in the young, allowing desquamation and leading to a change in the skin color of the young beluga.”

What about the particular color of this layer of skin that forms a film on the body of the young beluga? “Yellow is associated with the external layer of the epidermis, which is therefore particularly thick at that stage of life”, says the veterinarian. “We also notice this yellowish coloration in adults with moulting defects, in animals with mobility issues for example. It would thus be the color of the old dead skin in moult.”

One thing’s for sure; for whale watchers, the lovely “café-au-lait” colour of newborn belugas helps to easily spot them in the herds. Quite convenient considering the first births are expected in the next few weeks!

Whale Q&A - 16/6/2022

Anaïs Remili

Anaïs Remili has been a writer for Whales Online since March 2022. Passionate about whales, she has studied the diet of Antarctic humpback whales and is currently studying for her PhD at McGill University. Her research focuses on the diets and pollution in killer whales from the North Atlantic. She is also the founder and editor-in-chief of Whale Scientists, a science communication website where early career researchers share their science with the public.

Recommended articles

Do whales exhibit altruism? (Part 3 of 3) The example of cetaceans in the wild

Caring for sick, injured or dead individuals – otherwise known as epimeletic behaviour – is a common form of expression…

|Whale Q&A 10/11/2022

What is the status of whaling around the world?

Public opinion seems increasingly concerned about the future of whales, which have become over time a symbol of wildlife conservation.…

|Whale Q&A 3/11/2022

Do whales exhibit altruism? (Part 2 of 3) The example of dolphins

Like humpbacks, toothed whales (odontocetes) and dolphins in particular stand out for their altruistic behaviour. However, the nature of this…

|Whale Q&A 27/10/2022

Les bébés béluga naissent café au lait, avant de devenir gris-bleu puis complètement blanc. Ce changement de couleur graduel est un phénomène assez courant chez les cétacés. Par exemple, les bébés épaulards naissent orange et noir avant de devenir blanc et noir. Cette couleur café au lait des nouveaux nés bélugas a donc poussé nos lecteurs à s’interroger sur les raisons et les mécanismes de ces changements. Bien que les scientifiques n’aient pas d’explication définitive à ce phénomène, nous avons réussi à collecter plusieurs hypothèses qui pourraient expliquer cette drôle de teinte chez les bélugas.

À chaque âge sa couleur 

On peut facilement deviner l’âge des bélugas en fonction de leur couleur. Les bébés bélugas naissent après quatorze ou quinze mois de gestation. Les femelles accouchent en général de juin à septembre. À leur naissance, les nouveau-nés ont une coloration grise ou brunâtre, que l’on qualifie souvent de « café au lait ». Cette couleur devient progressivement plus sombre pour se rapprocher du bleu-gris foncé pendant des premier mois de leurs vies.

Au cours des années suivantes, les bélugas deviennent de plus en plus clairs pour finir complètement blancs entre leur douzième et seizième année. «La couleur foncée des jeunes est associée à la présence de pigments de mélanine dans l’épiderme», explique Stéphane Lair, professeur à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal. «L’abondance de ces pigments diminue progressivement avec l’âge. Chez les sujets adultes blancs, il n’y a plus de pigments dans la peau.»

En effet, le gène responsable de la production de mélanine se désactive progressivement après quelques années de vie. En outre, on sait que les bélugas muent des couches supérieures de leur épiderme chaque année, ce qui permet leur peau de devenir graduellement blanche.

Un avantage évolutif ?

L’arrêt graduel de la production de mélanine confère très probablement aux bélugas un avantage sélectif. En effet, leur couleur blanche est un atout pour de se fondre dans leur environnement arctique en hiver, parmi les icebergs. Ce camouflage pourrait les soustraire aux yeux de leurs prédateurs principaux : les épaulards, les ours polaires, et les humains

Chez certaines espèces animales, les jeunes peuvent avoir une couleur différente des adultes, ce qui peut favoriser leur camouflage et les protéger des dangers. Quel pourrait être l’avantage d’être sombre, pour un bébé béluga? «Une des explications possibles est que la couleur foncée attire plus le soleil, ce qui peut potentiellement aider les veaux à se réchauffer. De plus, en été, à l’époque des naissances, une teinte foncée est moins visible que le blanc dans l’eau, et offre donc un meilleur camouflage contre les prédateurs», estime le vétérinaire Stéphane Lair.

Notons aussi que les jeunes bélugas ne comptent pas seulement sur leur camouflage, mais aussi sur la surveillance sans faille de toute la famille, aussi appelé alloparentalité. Ainsi, les veaux reçoivent la protection constante des adultes contre les menaces, comme les prédateurs par exemple.

Le mystère jaune des cétacés

Pour mieux comprendre l’origine de la couleur café au lait des nouveaux nés, on peut aller chercher du côté d’autres cétacés dont les nouveau-nés ont, eux aussi, ont une coloration jaunâtre.

C’est le cas, par exemple, des épaulards, qui naissent orangés avant de devenir blancs et noirs. Dans leur cas, il semblerait que cette couleur soit due aux vaisseaux sanguins qui se trouvent proches de la peau de l’animal, faute d’une couche de graisse assez épaisse. Les nouveau-nés épaulards deviendraient donc blancs graduellement au fur et à mesure de l’épaississement de leur graisse. Cette opération peut prendre jusqu’à un an.

Pour d’autres espèces de dauphins, des scientifiques ont suggéré que des jaunisses physiologiques soient à l’origine de la coloration des nouveau-nés. On sait ainsi qu’à la naissance, chez les humains, l’excès de globules rouges est détruit, ce qui cause une augmentation de bilirubine, un pigment orangé, dans le corps du nouveau-né. Comme le foie des bébés n’est pas très performant, cet excès de bilirubine peut prendre 10 jours pour disparaitre, donnant au poupon une teinte jaune. Il est donc possible que la couleur jaunâtre des bébés dauphins soit liée, de la même façon que pour les humains, à un excès de bilirubine.

Autre hypothèse, la teinte jaunâtre des bébés cétacés pourrait être due à une fine couche d’algue qui recouvre le nouveau-né. L’algue en question serait une ou plusieurs espèces de diatomées, une algue microscopique des eaux froides. Les chercheurs ont notamment observé des pellicules d’algues café au lait sur plusieurs grands dauphins. Les nouveau-nés seraient particulièrement à risque de développer ces pellicules d’algues, car leur peau est plus sensible et leur système immunitaire plus faible.

Une peau de bébé

Aucune de ces hypothèses ne nous permettait cependant de répondre de manière certaine à la question de nos lecteurs. Néanmoins, une information a retenu notre attention : en juillet 2021n l’équipe du Centre d’éducation et de recherche de Sept-Iles (CERSI) avait retrouvé un nouveau-né béluga échoué. En réalisant l’examen de la carcasse, les scientifiques avaient mis en évidence une fine pellicule jaune recouvrant le corps de l’animal.Mieux : la directrice du CERSI, Anik Boileau, avait noté que chaque nouveau-né beluga échoué qu’elle avait pu observer portait une pellicule jaune-orangée similaire. Pour la chercheuse, cette pellicule pourrait servir de protection au fœtus, et sa couleur pourrait être causée par le liquide amniotique dans lequel il baigne avant la naissance.

Lors de l’examen d’un nouveau-né béluga échoué en juillet 2021, les chercheurs ont mis en évidence une pellicule de peau jaunâtre © Anik Boileau
Une image détaillée de la pellicule jaunâtre présente sur un nouveau-né béluga © Anik Boileau

Le professeur à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire, Stéphane Lair propose une autre hypothèse: «Chez le béluga nouveau-né, la couche externe de l’épiderme est presque deux fois plus épaisse que lorsqu’il était seulement un embryon. Elle est aussi très épaisse comparativement aux adultes. La structure particulière de cette peau de nouveau-né étant très instable, une mue va se produire chez le jeune, permettant la desquamation et entraînant un changement de la couleur de la peau du jeune béluga.»

Qu’en est-il de la couleur particulière de cette couche de peau qui forme une pellicule sur le corps du jeune béluga ? «Le jaune est associé à la couche externe de l’épiderme, qui est donc ici particulièrement épaisse, reprend le vétérinaire. On remarque d’ailleurs aussi cette coloration jaunâtre chez les adultes qui présentent des défauts de mue, chez des animaux peu mobiles par exemple. Ce serait donc, je pense, la couleur de la vieille peau morte en mue.»

Une chose est sûre : pour les observateurs, la belle couleur café au lait des nouveau-nés bélugas aide à les repérer facilement dans les troupeaux. Ça tombe bien, les premières naissances sont attendues dans les prochaines semaines!

Les baleines en questions - 16/6/2022

Anaïs Remili

Anaïs Remili has been a writer for Whales Online since March 2022. Passionate about whales, she has studied the diet of Antarctic humpback whales and is currently studying for her PhD at McGill University. Her research focuses on the diets and pollution in killer whales from the North Atlantic. She is also the founder and editor-in-chief of Whale Scientists, a science communication website where early career researchers share their science with the public.

Articles recommandés

Qu’est-ce que ça mange, les épaulards?

On a tous en tête les épaulards, super-prédateurs de nos océans qui peuvent s’attaquer aux plus grands animaux de la…

|Les baleines en questions 3/5/2022

Les rorquals bleus sont-ils vraiment bleus?

Cela pourrait sonner comme une drôle de question! Après tout, la couleur bleue de Balaenoptera musculus ne constitue-t-elle pas, outre…

|Les baleines en questions 11/4/2022

Les biopsies des bélugas sont-elles dérangeantes?

Depuis 1994, l’équipe de recherche du GREMM mène un programme de collecte à long terme de biopsies sur la population…

|Les baleines en questions 15/3/2022