For many years now, I have regularly gone out on the water every summer as well as a good part of the fall in search of cetaceans, both in the Gaspésie and at the gateway to the Estuary. This regularity allows me to see certain individuals over and over again and see them grow and age from year to year. Such is the case of the female humpback H626, whom I’ve known and tracked for 12 years.

For those who aren’t familiar with her, H626 was born in 2005 to Helmet (H166), a regular in the Blanc-Sablon and Mingan regions. H626 was first observed near the municipality of Rivière-au-Tonnerre, near Sept-Îles, which earned her the nickname Boom-Boom River (BBR) [Translator’s note: Rivière-au-Tonnerre translates as ‘Thunder River’]. From 2006 onward, she adopted the Estuary as her summer home, where she is known as Gaspar. She has been observed there every year, with the exception of 2008. In the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park sector, she is known as Gaspar.

The first time I saw H626 at sea was in 2008 near Île Plate, not far from Percé. She was probably about three years old at the time and was swimming alone.

Ever since that first encounter, I have seen her every year, with the exception of 2019 and 2020, and almost always in good company! I have observed her several times, notably with Pseudo (H008), Irisept (H492) and the famous Tic Tac Toe (H459).  The point of this exercise is to be able to observe the fidelity of these animals to one another, especially between females. For example, I observed her three times over three consecutive years as an escort for a mother/calf pair, notably with Irisept (H492).

In July 2009, off Cap Gaspé, she was seen escorting the female Manta (H584) and her first-year calf Chaplin (H744). The following year, I found her off Cap-d’Espoir, near Percé, together with H759.

July 2011: Here she is once again at Cap Gaspé, this time with females H758, Bolt (H102), and Irisept (H492). In August 2012, I saw her once again alongside Irisept (H492), with Pseudo (H008) not far away.

The year she turned 8, in 2013, I had the opportunity to accompany researcher Christian Ramp to perform a biopsy of the then 8-year-old BBR off Cap Gaspé. This biopsy confirmed that BBR is a female. At the time of this intervention, she was accompanied by Irisept (H492) and Tic Tac Toe (H459).

The following year, in July, I was lucky enough to see her on two occasions. The first time was in Gaspé Bay, when she was escorting Calypso (H573) and her calf, H817. The following day, she was at Cap Gaspé swimming with Paloma (H692). Conversely, when our paths crossed again in 2015 near Île Plate, she was swimming alone.

In May 2016, I observed BBR on three consecutive days in Gaspé Bay. She was escorting Pseudo (H008) and her first-year calf. In July 2017, I saw her again off Betsiamites, this time alone. In the summer of 2018, I saw her twice near Cap Gaspé: once in July with H910, and one month later with Irisept (H492).

H626 (left) and Pseudo (H008) (right) © René Roy
H626 escorts Pseudo (H008) and her calf of the year. © René Roy
In 2017, Rene Roy spotted H626 moving alone off Betsiamites. © René Roy
H626 in pair with H902 © René Roy
H626 and H910 © René Roy

After about 20 encounters over 11 consecutive years, from 2008 to 2018, and two years without observing her, I finally found her in the estuary in 2021, off Les Escoumins, with a little surprise: her own calf of the year. This time, she is escorted by a young whale, H957.

This is why I am always very excited to see this animal again, which has become almost mythical for me.

Field Notes - 19/1/2022

René Roy

René Roy is an amateur cetologist who is passionate about the sea and whales; he resides in Pointe-au-Père, in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region. For the past few years, he has undertaken photo-identification expeditions for the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), mainly in the Gaspé, with a research permit. He also volunteers for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network. More pictures can be seen on Facebook.

Recommended articles

What does GREMM do in winter? (2/2)

[Continuation of article “What does GREMM do in winter? (2/2)”] Every winter, when the whales leave the Estuary, many of…

|Field Notes 25/4/2022

Spring Arrivals

Every year, when the month of April kicks off in the Haute-Côte-Nord region, an indescribable emotion begins to flow through…

|Field Notes 18/4/2022

What does GREMM do in winter? (1/2 )

When fall arrives and the whales leave the St. Lawrence Estuary for the winter, GREMM takes its boats out of…

|Field Notes 13/4/2022

Cela fait de nombreuses années maintenant que, à chaque saison estivale, ainsi qu’une bonne partie de l’automne, je sors régulièrement sur l’eau à la rencontre des cétacés, en Gaspésie ou aux portes de l’estuaire. Cette régularité me permet de retrouver certains individus, de les voir grandir et vieillir d’année en année. C’est le cas de la femelle rorqual à bosse H626, que je connais et suis depuis 12 ans.

Pour ceux qui ne la connaissent pas, H626 est née en 2005 de Helmet (H166), une habituée des régions de Blanc-Sablon et de la Minganie. H626 a d’ailleurs été observée pour la première fois à proximité de la municipalité de Rivière-au-Tonnerre, près de Sept-Îles, ce qui lui a valu le surnom Boom-Boom River (BBR). Elle a ensuite adopté l’estuaire comme demeure estivale depuis 2006, où elle est plutôt connue sous le nom de Gaspar. Elle y a été observée tous les ans, sauf en 2008 Du côté du parc marin du Saguenay – Saint-Laurent, elle est plutôt connue sous le nom de Gaspar.

La première fois que j ’ai aperçu H626 en mer, c’était en 2008 près de l’ile Plate, dans le coin de Percé. Elle devait être âgée d’environ trois ans à ce moment-là et elle se déplaçait seule.

Depuis cette première rencontre, je l’ai revue chaque année, à l’exception de 2019 et 2020, et ce, presque toujours en bonne compagnie! Je l’ai observée à plusieurs reprises, entre autres, aux côtés de Pseudo (H008), d’Irisept (H492) ou de la célèbre Tic Tac Toe (H459).  L’intérêt de cet exercice est de pouvoir constater la fidélité de ces animaux entre eux et particulièrement entre femelles. Je l’ai par exemple observée à trois reprises comme escorte d’une paire mère/veau et sur trois années consécutives avec, entre autres, Irisept (H492).

En juillet 2009, au large de cap Gaspé, elle escorte ainsi la femelle Manta (H584) et son veau de l’année, le dénommé Chaplin (H744). L’année suivante, je la retrouve devant Cap-d’Espoir, près de Percé, en paire avec H759.

Juillet 2011, la voici de retour à cap Gaspé, cette fois en compagnie des femelles H758, Bolt (H102) et Irisept (H492). En août 2012, je l’ai à nouveau revue aux côtés d’Irisept (H492), en plus d’être accompagnée par Pseudo (H008).

L’année de ses 8 ans, en 2013, j’ai eu l’opportunité d’accompagner le chercheur Christian Ramp pour prélever une biopsie sur BBR au large de cap Gaspé. Cette biopsie a permis de confirmer son sexe, révélant qu’il s’agissait d’une femelle. Au moment de cette opération, elle était aux côtés d’Irisept (H492) et de Tic Tac Toe (H459).

L’année suivante, au mois de juillet, j’ai eu l’occasion de la voir à deux reprises. La première fois dans la baie de Gaspé, escortant Calypso (H573) et son veau, H817. Le lendemain, elle se trouvait plutôt à cap Gaspé en paire avec Paloma (H692). En contraste, lorsque nos chemins se sont croisés de nouveau en 2015, elle nageait seule à proximité de l’ile Plate.

Au printemps 2016, je l’ai observée sur trois jours consécutifs en mai dans la baie de Gaspé. Elle escortait Pseudo (H008) et son veau de l’année. En juillet 2017, je l’ai revue au large de Betsiamites, seule cette fois-ci. Pour ce qui est de l’été 2018, je l’ai vue une fois en juillet, en paire avec H910, puis un mois plus tard en paire avec Irisept (H492), chaque fois à cap Gaspé.

H626 (gauche) et Pseudo (H008) (droite) © René Roy
H626 escorte Pseudo (H008) et son veau de l'année. © René Roy
En 2017, René Roy a repéré H626 se déplaçant seul au large de Betsiamites. © René Roy
H626 en paire avec H902 © René Roy
H626 et H910 © René Roy

Après une vingtaine de rencontres sur 11 années consécutives, de 2008 à 2018, et deux années sans l’observer, je la retrouve enfin dans l’estuaire en 2021, au large des Escoumins, avec une petite surprise : son propre veau de l’année. Cette-fois ci, c’est elle qui est escortée par une jeune baleine, soit H957.

C’est pourquoi je suis toujours très enthousiaste de revoir cet animal, devenu presque mythique pour moi.

Carnet de terrain - 19/1/2022

René Roy

René Roy est un cétologue amateur, passionné de la mer et des baleines, résidant à Pointe-au-Père, dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent. Depuis plusieurs années, il entreprend des expéditions de photo-identification pour le compte de la Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS), principalement en Gaspésie. Il est également bénévole pour le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins.

 On peut voir ses photos sur Facebook

Articles recommandés

Que fait le GREMM en hiver? (2/2)

[Suite de l’article Que fait le GREMM en hiver? (½)] Chaque hiver, lorsque les baleines quittent l'estuaire, vous êtes nombreux…

|Carnet de terrain 25/4/2022

Les belles arrivées printannières

Chaque année, quand débute le mois d’avril en Haute-Côte-Nord, un émoi indescriptible commence à couler dans les veines des passionné(e)s,…

|Carnet de terrain 20/4/2022

Que fait le GREMM en hiver? (1/2 )

Lorsque l’automne arrive et que les baleines quittent l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent pour l’hiver, le GREMM range ses bateaux et ferme…

|Carnet de terrain 13/4/2022