A new species is visiting the Gulf of St. Lawrence for the first time this year: the sperm whale. In addition to answering the question of whether blue whales have already been seen in the Saguenay prior to this year, I will also share with you the story of a particularly inspiring day with marine mammals, including the observation of a breaching humpback that I’m unlikely to forget anytime soon!

Two sperm whales in the gulf

The Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS) team has had its hands full over the past week. In the Sept-Îles sector, scientists have identified five or six humpback whales, not to mention two fin whales and nearly a dozen blues. One noteworthy observation is the presence of two good-sized male sperm whales. The largest of the toothed whales had yet to be observed in the St. Lawrence this year! This species is occasionally observed in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and its estuary. They are most often males in search of new feeding grounds. GREMM’s director of education, Patrice Corbeil, who describes himself as optimistic by nature, also believes that the two sperm whales will venture into the estuary. No doubt we will see if his prediction proves correct in the weeks to come!

It’s impossible to talk about sperm whales without recalling one of the most famous members of this species: Tryphon. This male frequented the estuary between 1991 and 2009, making nearly annual incursions upriver, sometimes alone, sometimes not. Trypon’s story ended abruptly in the spring of 2009 when he became entangled in fishing gear. Although this mishap ended fatally, a few bones were recovered and are now on display at the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre.

Life in the St. Lawrence

When it comes to stories of encounters with cetaceans, Jacques Gélineau has plenty! This marine mammal enthusiast and MICS collaborator reports the presence of harbour porpoises and grey seals in the Sept-Îlesregion. Although he has not had the chance to observe the two sperm whales, he intends to go explore the gulf in the next few days. In terms of large cetaceans, he identified two blue whales and one humpback, not to mention a notable abundance of leaping tuna! He also shares a few theories on the presence of animals in the area: “Oftentimes, when the winds are from the east, the animals leave the area and return only when they begin to blow from the northwest. He also believes that the heavy rains of August and the resulting increase in river flows might bring an influx of nutrients, which would in turn attract marine life.

In the Mingan Archipelago, the MICS team reports the presence of two fin whales, a humpback whale and between 8 and 15 North Atlantic right whales. In Pointe des Monts, one local resident shares some of the wildlife he was able to observe over the long weekend. “There were two minke whales, which always seem to me to be the same ones! The one is big and the other is smaller. We also saw plenty of seals: two or three grey seals daily, and an equal number of harbour seals. There were also a lot of sand eels and between 200 and 300 gulls in the bay! From Franquelin, minke whales and seals have also been reported, in addition to harbour porpoises.

On the other side of the St. Lawrence, a technician from the Marine Mammal Observation Network shared some of her observations of the last few days: “In addition to a few humpbacks, the day was marked by good numbers of minke whales, regular sightings of pods of white-sided dolphins, and porpoises everywhere.Good numbers of grey seals are still present. And, we were lucky enough to see a basking shark again!”

Blue whale monitoring in the fjord

The incursion of a blue whale into the Saguenay Fjord on August 18 was an opportunity to dig through the archives of the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM). The organization’s scientific director, Robert Michaud, confirms that other blue whales have already entered the river. “In 2001-2002, a blue whale ventured upstream as far as the waterfall known as Chute du Caribou-Qui-Pisse, which is located in Baie-Sainte-Catherine on the eastern slope of Cap Noir. The colour of the water here is orangish, hence the funny name! Around 2005, another blue whale reportedly travelled up the Saguenay to Pointe à la Croix in Sacré-Cœur. How long will it be until the next visit by this species? Only time will tell!

A day like no other

It is often said that no two days at the water’s edge are alike. Even if relatively few whales were seen from Tadoussac’s Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre (CIMM) where the Whales Online staff maintains its summer offices, Wednesday, September 6 will go down as one of the most eventful days in terms of observations!

As we wrap up our lunch break, my colleague Odélie Brouillette, project manager for Whale Portraits, spots a tour boat in the fjord. She wonders what it might be doing there. It was a few seconds before we saw and heard the large spout of a humpback whale at the water surface, followed almost immediately by that of a second individual! We then alert the entire team so that as many people as possible can see these large mammals parading through the narrow Saguenay Fjord. The panorama is extraordinary, the morning fog has cleared, and, on the other side of the fjord, we can now make out the cliff and its shades of grey, brown and green.

The whales linger in the area for a few minutes before quietly continuing toward the mouth of the fjord. Those who made the detour to Pointe de l’Islet were treated to quite a surprise when the two cetaceans passed close to the bank. We promptly decide to hurry toward this observation site, as nobody wants to miss out on the action! When we reach the rocks, the view of the Saguenay, its mouth and the entrance to Tadoussac Bay allows us to admire a multitude of cetaceans. About three minke whales are swimming close to shore. As surface feeders, they seem to be having a feast! Their manoeuvres allow us to distinguish a dark back followed by a pectoral fin here, white and pink ventral grooves there.

Farther offshore, flashes of white against the deep blue water suggest the presence of a group of belugas. Their white backs reflect the sun’s rays, adding an almost mythical quality to their presence. Just as we look away, we see the spout of a humpback whale heading toward Tadoussac Bay. Between the minke whales near the rocks, the belugas offshore and the humpback in the bay, it’s hard to know which way to look!

The next day, we learned that the two humpbacks that were in the Saguenay made their way to the cove known as Anse de Roche in Sacré-Cœur at around 9 o’clock that same morning. One resident even had the chance to capture some impressive video footage of the two individuals near the docks.

Blown away by all this diversity (though still craving more, as it’s impossible to completely satiate a team of passionate aficionados!), we return to our offices for what’s left of the afternoon. At the end of the day, one group heads to Cap de Bon-Désir, where they spend the evening taking in the sunset and scanning the river in search of marine life. I on the other hand decide to stay in Tadoussac.

Luck was on my side this evening, which turned out to be quite memorable. On my way out of the office, I run into a co-worker who informs me that a humpback whale was once again entering the Saguenay. What do you expect, good news travels fast! No sooner do we turn around and take a few steps when we’re frozen in our tracks: a humpback whale has just hurled its entire body out of the water, right in front of us! Having never witnessed a breach with my own eyes, I am surprised by the speed with which an animal of this size can emerge from the water. Just a few seconds later, the splashing was gone. Aside from all the excitement of those who just observed this spectacle, one would never have guessed what had just transpired. A few minutes later, the whale performs a second breach, right in the middle of the Saguenay.

No one ever warned me of the adrenaline rush that can follow such an observation. There’s no way I can bring myself to go home after beholding such behaviour! Especially considering how rare it is to observe these creatures and how much energy they have to expend to execute these feats. We therefore head down to Pointe de l’Islet for an evening by the river with a glorious sunset over the mountains to boot.

In the gradually fading light, we finally see the humpback whale coming back down the Saguenay with the current. At the same time, a few harbour porpoises pierce the waves with their dorsal fins and a minke whale swims nearby. The evening ends beautifully, with the whales’ spouts getting farther and farther away in the waning light. Our friends at Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes enjoyed plenty of action as well! During the few hours they spent at the observation site, they were able to identify harbour porpoises, seals, minke whales and a single humpback. No matter where they were, the evening seemed to offer a bit of magic for everyone.

Where are the whales this week? Observation map

These data were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Observation of the Week - 7/9/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Une nouvelle espèce séjourne pour la première fois cette année dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent; le cachalot. On répond à la question à savoir si des rorquals bleus ont déjà été vus dans le Saguenay avant cette année et je vous partage aussi l’histoire d’une journée avec les mammifères marins particulièrement inspirante, dont l’observation d’un breach de rorqual à bosse que je ne suis pas près d’oublier!

Deux cachalots dans le golfe

L’équipe de la station de recherche des îles Mingan (MICS) a eu des journées bien occupées dans  la dernière semaine. Dans le coin de Sept-Îles, les scientifiques  ont identifié entre cinq et six rorquals à bosse, sans compter deux rorquals communs et une dizaine de rorquals bleus. Une observation qui a marqué les esprits est la présence de deux cachalots mâles de bonne taille. Le plus gros des cétacés à dents n’avait pas encore été observé cette année dans le Saint-Laurent! Cette espèce est observée occasionnellement dans le golfe et l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. Il s’agit le plus souvent de mâles à la recherche de nouvelles aires d’alimentation. Patrice Corbeil, directeur à l’éducation du GREMM, qui se décrit lui-même comme étant de nature optimiste, croit d’ailleurs que les deux cachalots s’aventureront jusque dans l’estuaire. On verra sans doute dans les prochaines semaines si cette prédiction est exacte!

Impossible de penser aux cachalots sans se rappeler l’un des plus célèbres d’entre eux : Tryphon. Ce mâle a fréquenté l’estuaire entre 1991 et 2009. Pratiquement chaque année, Tryphon remontait le fleuve, parfois seul, parfois accompagné. Son périple s’est terminé brusquement au printemps 2009, lorsqu’il s’est empêtré dans des engins de pêche. Cette mésaventure provoque la mort de l’animal, mais quelques ossements sont récupérés et maintenant exposés au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins.

Du vivant dans le Saint-Laurent

Des histoires de rencontres avec les cétacés, Jacques Gélineau n’en manque pas! L’observateur de mammifères marins et collaborateur du MICS rapporte la présence de marsouins communs et de phoques gris dans la région de Sept-Îles. S’il n’a pas eu la chance de voir les deux cachalots, il a l’intention d’aller sonder le golfe dans les prochains jours. En termes de grands cétacés, il a vu deux baleines bleues et un rorqual à bosse, sans s’empêcher de remarquer au passage le nombre particulièrement élevé de sauts de thon! Il partage aussi quelques hypothèses sur la présence des animaux dans le secteur : « Souvent, quand il y a du vent d’Est, les animaux quittent la région et reviennent avec le Nord-Ouest. » Il croit aussi que les pluies intenses du mois d’aout, ayant augmenté le débit des rivières, pourraient amener plus de nutriments, ce qui attirerait la faune marine.

Du côté des iles Mingan, l’équipe du MICS rapporte la présence de deux rorquals communs, un rorqual à bosse et environ 8-15 baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord. À Pointe des Monts, un riverain partage la faune qu’il a pu voir pendant la longue fin de semaine. « Il y avait deux petits rorquals, j’ai l’impression que c’est toujours les mêmes que je vois! Un est gros et l’autre plus petit. On a aussi vu beaucoup de phoques, entre deux et trois phoques gris à chaque jour, même chose pour les communs. Il y avait beaucoup de lançonset entre 200 et 300 goélands dans la baie! » Depuis Franquelin, on rapporte aussi des petits rorquals et des phoques, en ajoutant des marsouins communs.

Sur l’autre rive du Saint-Laurent, une technicienne du Réseau d’observation de mammifères marins partage ses observations des derniers jours : «En plus des quelques rorquals à bosse, on a eu une journée avec beaucoup de petits rorquals, on voit régulièrement des groupes de dauphins à flancs blancs aussi et beaucoup de marsouins un peu partout. Les phoques gris sont encore bien présents en grand nombre. On a eu la chance de revoir un requin-pèlerin également!»

Suivi des rorquals bleus dans le fjord

L’incursion d’un rorqual bleu dans le fjord du Saguenay le 18 aout dernier aura été l’occasion d’aller fouiller dans les archives du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM). Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM, confirme que d’autres rorquals bleus sont déjà entrés dans la rivière. « En 2001-2002, un rorqual bleu est remonté jusqu’à la Chute du Caribou-Qui-Pisse. » Cette chute est située à Baie-Sainte-Catherine, sur le versant est du Cap Noir. La couleur de l’eau qui s’y écoule est orangée, ce qui justifie ce drôle de nom! Aux alentours de 2005, un autre rorqual bleu aurait remonté le courant du Saguenay jusqu’en haut de la Pointe à la Croix à Sacré-Cœur. Combien de temps cela prendra-t-il avant la prochaine visite de cette espèce? Seul l’avenir nous le dira!

Une journée pas comme les autres

On dit souvent que les jours au bord de l’eau se suivent et ne se ressemblent pas.  Si relativement peu de baleines ont été vues depuis le Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins (CIMM) à Tadoussac, où se situent les bureaux de l’équipe de Baleines en direct pendant l’été, le mercredi 6 septembre aura tout au contraire été des plus riches en observations!

Alors que l’on terminait notre pause diner, ma collègue Odélie Brouillette, chargée de projet pour Portrait de Baleines, aperçoit un bateau d’excursion dans le fjord. Curieuse, elle se demande ce qu’il peut bien faire là. C’était quelques secondes avant que l’on entende et que lon voit le grand souffle d’un rorqual à bosse surgir de l’eau, suivi presque immédiatement par un deuxième! On alerte alors toute l’équipe pour que le plus de personnes possible puissent voir ces grands mammifères circuler dans l’étroit passage qu’est le fjord du Saguenay. Le panorama est extraordinaire, le brouillard du matin s’est dégagé, et on peut désormais distinguer la falaise de l’autre côté du fjord, avec ses teintes de gris, de brun et de vert.

Les baleines restent quelques minutes dans le secteur avant de se diriger tranquillement vers l’embouchure. Les marcheurs et marcheuses qui auront fait un détour par la Pointe de l’Islet auront eu droit à toute une surprise lorsque les deux cétacés sont passés à proximité de la berge. Sans attendre,  nous décidons de nous diriger vers ce site d’observation.Pas question de rater toute cette action! Arrivés sur les rochers, la vue sur le Saguenay, sur l’embouchure et sur l’entrée de la baie de Tadoussac nous permet d’admirer une multitude de cétacés. Environ trois petits rorquals nagent juste devant les rochers. En alimentation de surface, ces derniers semblent se régaler! Leurs manœuvres nous permettent de distinguer ici un dos sombre suivi d’une pectorale, là des sillons ventraux blancs et roses.

Au large, des éclats blancs dans l’eau d’un bleu profond suggèrent la présence d’un groupe de quelques bélugas. Leur dos blancs reflètent les rayons du soleil, rendant leur présence presque mythique. Le temps de détourner le regard, on voit alors le souffle d’un rorqual à bosse se dirigeant vers la baie de Tadoussac. Entre les petits rorquals à proximité des roches, les bélugas au large et le rorqual à bosse dans la baie, difficile de savoir où regarder!

Le lendemain, nous apprendrons que les deux rorquals à bosse qui étaient dans le Saguenay se sont rendus jusqu’à L’Anse-de-Roche, à Sacré-Cœur, le matin-même, vers 9h00. Un résident a même eu la chance de capturer des vidéos très impressionnantes des deux individus à proximité du quai.

Éblouis de toute cette diversité – mais non rassasiés, impossible de contenter une équipe de passionnés!  – nous retournons à nos bureaux, le temps d’un après-midi. À la fin de la journée, un groupe se dirige pour passer la soirée au cap de Bon-Désir, histoire de regarder le coucher de soleil et de sonder des yeux les eaux profondes du fleuve à la recherche de vie marine. De mon côté, je décide de rester à Tadoussac.

La chance aura été de mon côté pour cette soirée mémorable. Alors que je quittais le bureau, je croise un collègue qui m’informe qu’un rorqual à bosse serait de nouveau en train d’entrer dans le Saguenay. Que voulez-vous, les nouvelles vont vites! À peine le temps de faire demi-tour et de marcher quelques mètres qu’on s’arrête, figés tous les deux : un rorqual à bosse vient de sortir de l’eau, de tout son corps, juste devant nous! N’ayant jamais vu de breach de mes propres yeux, je suis surprise par la rapidité à laquelle un animal d’une telle grosseur peut surgir de l’eau. À peine quelques secondes et les éclaboussures étaient parties. Mis à part  l’agitation des humains qui ont assisté à ce spectacle, on n’aurait jamais pu deviner ce qui venait de se produire. Quelques minutes plus tard, la baleine recommence le même manège, un deuxième breach, en plein milieu du Saguenay.

Je n’avais jamais été avertie de l’adrénaline qui peut suivre une telle observation. Impossible de rentrer chez soi après avoir vu un tel comportement! Surtout en sachant à quel point il est rare d’en observer et quelle quantité d’énergie les baleines doivent dépenser pour y arriver. Nous allons donc nous installer à la Pointe de l’Islet pour une soirée au bord du fleuve avec, en prime, un magnifique coucher de soleil sur les montagnes.

Alors que la lumière diminuait graduellement, nous voyons enfin le rorqual à bosse redescendre le courant du Saguenay. Au même moment, la nageoire dorsale de quelques marsouins communs perçait les vagues et un petit rorqual circulait non loin. La soirée s’est terminée en beauté, leurs souffles s’éloignant graduellement de la pointe à mesure que la lumière diminuait. Nos amis au cap de Bon-Désir, aux Bergeronnes, n’ont pas non plus été en reste!Pendant les quelques heures où ils étaient sur le site d’observation, ils ont identifié des marsouins communs, des phoques, des petits rorquals et un rorqual à bosse. Comme quoi cette soirée avait un je-ne-sais-quoi de magique, peu importe l’endroit où l’on se trouvait.

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari. Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.
Observations de la semaine - 7/9/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Phoques du Groenland, sur la glace comme dans l’eau

Des phoques du Groenland à plusieurs endroits dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun à Franquelin, voilà ce qui résume…

|Observations de la semaine 29/2/2024

Un rorqual bleu aux Escoumins

Le plus gros des géants aurait fait un détour par les Escoumins! En effet, plusieurs riverains et riveraines auraient eu…

|Observations de la semaine 22/2/2024

Grands souffles au large et phoques sur la glace

Des grands rorquals continuent de souffler devant Franquelin et Godbout, donnant lieu à des observations hivernales toujours extraordinaires. Ailleurs dans…

|Observations de la semaine 15/2/2024