This week, all up and down the St. Lawrence, humpback whales are topping the lists of observations, along with other species of cetaceans and pinnipeds. One individual wows spectators with a huge breach, others venture into the Saguenay and unidentifiable spouts are observed, not to mention harbour seals basking on the rocks and plenty of belugas.

As has been the case so many times this season, humpbacks have ventured into the mouth of the Saguenay. “Two humpbacks were seen yesterday in front of the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre,” comments GREMM’s education director Patrice Corbeil. I don’t know how many humpbacks have swum up the Saguenay this season, at least ten I think…” One individual even performed a few breaches. There were also minke whales, belugas and harbour porpoises in this area teeming with marine mammals. “As a matter of fact, we were recently wondering, with so many porpoises offshore, why they are so seldom seen in the Saguenay,” enquires Patrice. “Although they do show up here from time to time!”

Mysterious spouts

Harbour seals and grey seals have been regularly observed in Gaspé Bay, at least when their presence is not overshadowed by minke whales or a few humpbacks offshore. In Grande-Vallée, a blast is spotted by a marine mammal enthusiast: “We caught a glimpse of a whale spout this Monday in Grande-Vallée, but never actually saw the animal. There was considerable chop, so we were unable to identify the species with certainty!”

It is sometimes possible to get an idea of the species simply by observing the animal’s spout. This is an old ID trick! For example, minke whales often have little or no visible exhalations while the breaths of larger whales can be spotted from afar. Fin whales have loud, powerful blasts measuring 4 to 5 metres high and often visible from a great distance, while humpback whales show a balloon-shaped spout. With the orifices of their double blowhole being spaced relatively far apart, right whales show a very distinct V-shape when they blow. Sperm whales, on the other hand, have an angled blowhole, which produces a powerful blast that sprays to the left of the animal’s head.

A memorable experience

On the morning of September 17, photographer and naturalist Renaud Pintiaux had the chance to observe a humpback whale breach no fewer than 14 times. The next day, during another productive outing with marine mammals, Renaud crosses paths with a humpback and a fin whale offshore, not to mention harbour seals on the rocks. He also describes his encounter with two white whales: “It was really something to see two star belugas side by side near Cap de Bon-Désir – Pascolio and Néo – both of which show major spinal deformities.”

Pascolio has been known to GREMM since 1985, at which time she was two or three years old and still dark grey. Today, she belongs to the Saguenay community of females. The major deformities of her spine and the presence of a scar make her easy to recognize.

Dazzled

In Saint-Siméon, a humpback whale has been present for several days now, much to the delight of local residents who are enchanted by the observation of this magnificent creature. Between Les Bergeronnes and Les Escoumins, approximately 5 humpbacks, minke whales, harbour seals, harbour porpoises, a group of 50 white-sided dolphins and a fin whale have been reported.

There’s no shortage of sightings in the estuary, either: “Last Monday, on our way to Rimouski,” explains one observer, “we came across an area chock full of marine mammals: grey seals, belugas, porpoises and even dolphins. They were everywhere.” In Franquelin, it is mainly minke whales and seals that have been observed.

At the marina in Baie-des-Sables, an early morning walker is lucky enough to spot a few belugas. He shares his experience: “While I was out for my morning stroll on the “rosebush” trail in Baie-des-Sables when I saw a small pod of belugas about 100 metres from shore. It was a choreography that lasted more than 30 minutes. That’s the first time I ever saw belugas so close. It was an indescribable joy that I savoured with amazement and awe.”

Weekly sighting map

These data were reported by our network of observers. The observations give a rough idea of the presence of whales, but do not in any way represent the true distribution of cetaceans in the St. Lawrence. Enjoy!

Click on the whale or seal icons to see the species, number of individuals observed, additional information or photos of the sighting. To zoom in on the map, click on the icon in the upper right corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but less so on Safari.

To display the list of observations, click on the icon in the upper left corner.

Care to share your observations and contribute to citizen science? Use the marine mammal sighting entry tool.

Observation of the Week - 23/9/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Big gulps in the bay

The day is calm with a quiet whisper of a wind, while out in the bay, a few dark spots…

|Observation of the Week 1/12/2022

Not one… not two… but six humpbacks!

This week, a few humpback whales were still present in the St. Lawrence and residents were even treated to an…

|Observation of the Week 25/11/2022

White as Snow… Or a Beluga!

As fluffy snowflakes invaded eastern Quebec and a white blanket quietly covered the ground, marine mammals continued on with their…

|Observation of the Week 17/11/2022

Cette semaine, un peu partout dans le Saint-Laurent, les rorquals à bosse mènent le bal des observations, accompagnés d’autres espèces de cétacés et de pinnipèdes. Un individu épate la galerie à grand coup de breach, d’autres s’aventurent dans le Saguenay, des souffles mystérieux sont aperçus alors que des phoques communs se reposent sur les rochers et que des bélugas sont aperçus.

C’est devenu une habitude, des rorquals à bosse se sont encore aventurés dans l’embouchure du Saguenay. « Deux rorquals à bosse hier devant le Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins, commente Patrice Corbeil, directeur à l’éducation du GREMM. Je ne sais pas combien de rorquals à bosse sont remontés dans le Saguenay cette saison, plus d’une dizaine selon moi… Une fois n’est pas coutume comme ils disent… » Un individu a même fait quelques breach. Il y avait aussi des petits rorquals, des bélugas ou des marsouins communs qui circulaient dans cette zone fourmillante de mammifères marins. « On se demandait justement pourquoi avec tant de marsouins au large, on ne les voit que très rarement dans le Saguenay, se questionnait Patrice. Eh bien, ils viennent parfois! »

Des souffles mystérieux 

Des phoques communs et des phoques gris sont observés régulièrement dans la baie de Gaspé, lorsque ce n’est pas des petits rorquals ou quelques rorquals à bosse qui circulent au large. À Grande-Vallée, un souffle est aperçu par un passionné des mammifères marins : « Nous avons entrevu un souffle de baleine ce lundi à Grande-Vallée, mais aucune observation. Il y avait beaucoup de vagues, alors nous n’avons pas pu identifier correctement l’espèce! »

Il est parfois possible d’avoir une idée de l’espèce, seulement grâce à l’observation de leurs souffles. C’est une astuce d’identification! Par exemple, les petits rorquals ont souvent des souffles peu ou pas du tout visible alors que les souffles des plus grosses baleines pourront être repérés de loin. Les rorquals communs ont des souffles puissants et bruyants, souvent visibles de très haut (4-5 m), alors que les rorquals à bosses ont un souffle en forme de ballon. Les orifices de l’évent double de la baleine noire étant bien séparés, son souffle a une forme de V bien distincte. Les cachalots, quant à eux, ont l’évent incliné, ce qui produit un souffle puissant décalé sur le côté gauche de sa tête.

Une expérience mémorable 

Le matin du 17 septembre, le photographe et naturaliste Renaud Pintiaux a la chance d’observer un rorqual à bosse effectuer plus de 14 sauts dans les airs, des breach. Le lendemain est une autre belle journée auprès des mammifères marins, il croise la route d’un rorqual à bosse et d’un rorqual commun au large, sans compter les phoques communs sur les roches. Il décrit également sa rencontre avec deux baleines blanches: «  observation rare, voir deux bélugas vedettes côte à côte près du Cap de Bon-Désir, Pascolio et Néo, deux individus avec de grosses déformations de la colonne. »

Pascolio est un béluga connu du GREMM depuis 1985, à l’époque, l’animal était encore un jeune béluga gris foncé âgé de deux ou trois ans. Aujourd’hui, la femelle fait partie de la communauté des femelles du Saguenay. Les déformations majeures de sa colonne vertébrale et la présence d’une cicatrice la rendent facilement reconnaissable.

Éblouissement

À Saint-Siméon, un rorqual à bosse est présent depuis plusieurs jours, au grand plaisir des riverains, enchanté par l’observation de cet animal magnifique. Entre Les Bergeronnes et Les Escoumins, on signale la présence d’environ 5 rorquals à bosses au large, de petits rorquals, de phoques communs, de marsouins communs, d’un groupe de 50 dauphins à flancs blancs et d’un rorqual commun.

Dans l’estuaire, les observations ne manquent pas : « Lundi dernier, en nous dirigeant vers Rimouski, explique une observatrice, nous avons croisé une zone pleine de mammifères marins : phoques gris, bélugas, marsouins et même dauphins. Il y en avait partout. » À Franquelin, c’est surtout des petits rorquals et des phoques qui ont été observés.

Au quai de Baie-des-Sables, un marcheur matinal a la chance d’apercevoir des bélugas. Il raconte son expérience: «En prenant ma marche du matin dans le sentier des rosiers de Baie-des-Sables, j’ai aperçu un petit groupe de bélugas qui se trouvaient à environ 100 mètres de la rive. Ce fut une chorégraphie qui a durée plus de 30 minutes. C’était une première pour moi d’apercevoir de si près les bélugas. Ce fut un plaisir indescriptible que j’ai savouré avec éblouissement et stupéfaction.»

 

Carte des observations de la semaine

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne ? Utilisez l’outil de saisie d’observation de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 23/9/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Un vent d’automne

Les navigateurs le savent, l’automne, les tempêtes produisent souvent des vents forts, provenant de l’est ou du nord-est. Si certains…

|Observations de la semaine 30/9/2022

Brouillard sur les flots

La dernière semaine aura été marquée par la présence de brouillard un peu partout sur le Saint-Laurent. Des Iles de…

|Observations de la semaine 15/9/2022

Nez blanc, dos gris moucheté et souffles dorés

Sur les flots, les conditions clémentes des derniers jours ont permis l’observation de plusieurs mammifères marins, dont une espèce qui…

|Observations de la semaine 8/9/2022