Large rorquals continuing to wow observers, a few belugas, harp seals resting on the ice and harbour seals… What more could one ask for after such an eventful week of marine mammal sightings?

In Franquelin, the parade of large rorquals is in full swing. “The sightings are still completely off the charts,” comments one resident, impressed by the continued presence of these whales in recent weeks. “Yesterday, there were two blue whales off the coast of Franquelin! They even did a little surface feeding.”

The blue whale is what is known as a “gulper.” It feeds mainly on small planktonic crustaceans called krill, which live in schools. As was seen in Franquelin, this species sometimes feeds on the surface with its characteristic manoeuvres, namely rolling onto its side while showing an extended throat, pectoral fin and one tail fluke. Thanks to their hyperextensible mouths, blue whales can take huge gulps! Some scientific studies have determined that an
In comparison, a human mouthful averages 0.07 litres. What a difference!

Three or four large whales are currently roaming near the north shore of the St. Lawrence. Reports have come in from Baie Saint-Pancrace to Godbout! On March 26, an individual is observed in the waves off Godbout. It spends the day swimming back and forth before getting close enough to shore for one observer to snap a few photos. Two belugas are also seen near Franquelin. An adult accompanied by a young individual, smaller and still grey.

On Sunday, March 24, two observers spot a solitary beluga swimming off the docks in Les Escoumins. A little farther east on the North Shore, a local resident has the opportunity to admire a striking pinniped: “A beautiful harp seal basking in the sun on the ice at the Sept-Îles marina!”

In the Gaspé

In Gaspé Bay, a few seals are reported resting offshore on the ice. A kayaker was able to see a few large spouts while out paddling. The weather was calm, with no wind and good visibility. The perfect opportunity to admire whales! In the distance, in the direction of Pointe Saint-Pierre, plumes of mist erupt. The fact that these spouts were visible from so far away undoubtedly suggests a fin or blue whale. A few harbour seals were also splashing about.

Sunday afternoon brought a completely different set of observation conditions for one brave cetacean enthusiast: heavy snow and gales of 70 km/h. “Despite the bad weather, I managed to spot several spouts off Cap-aux-Os. With the wind and waves, I couldn’t identify the species either… but the fact that I could see the blows despite the strong gusts leads me to believe that it must have been a rather large whale!”

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Pierre Chrétien
Laetitia Desbordes
Vincent Gaillard
Diane Ostiguy
Sandrine Papias
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse
J. Varin

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams for also sharing their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network: Status Report (QMMERN)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

 

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 28/3/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Marine Mammals and the Eclipse

On April 8, the banks of the St. Lawrence were basked in sunset-like lighting during the solar eclipse. For those…

|Observation of the Week 11/4/2024

April Whales

“Fin whales in Les Escoumins,” remarks one avid yet impressed observer: “Their powerful breaths really hit you in the gut!” “A…

|Observation of the Week 4/4/2024

Blue Whales for the Start of Spring

“Seeing them breath when it’s cold is even more impressive! When we talk about 10 metres high, it’s really 10…

|Observation of the Week 21/3/2024

Des grands rorquals qui continuent d’épater la galerie, quelques bélugas, des phoques du Groenland se reposant sur les glaces et des phoques communs, quoi demander de plus après une si belle semaine d’observation?

À Franquelin, le défilé de grands rorquals bat son plein. « Les observations, c’est encore complètement fou », commente un résident, impressionné par la présence continue de ces baleines dans les dernières semaines. « Hier, deux baleines bleues devant Franquelin! Elles faisaient même de l’alimentation de surface. »

Le rorqual bleu est un engouffreur. Il se nourrit essentiellement de petits crustacés planctoniques appelés krill, qui vivent en bancs. Comme observé à Franquelin, cette espèce s’alimente parfois en surface par des manœuvres caractéristiques : il roule son corps sur le côté, révélant sa gorge déployée, sa nageoire pectorale et un lobe de queue. Grâce à leur bouche hyper extensible, les rorquals bleus peuvent prendre d’énormes bouchées! Certaines études scientifiques ont déterminé qu’un individu de 25 mètres pouvait engloutir jusqu’à 80 000 litres d’eau. En comparaison, une bouchée d’humain totalise en moyenne 0,07 litre. La différence est énorme!

Ce sont entre trois et quatre grands rorquals qui circulent actuellement près de la rive nord du Saint-Laurent. On comptabilise des mentions de la baie Saint-Pancrace jusqu’à Godbout! Le 26 mars, un individu nage dans les vagues au large de Godbout. Il passe la journée à faire des allers-retours, avant de s’approcher suffisamment près de la rive pour qu’un citoyen arrive à prendre quelques photos. Deux bélugas sont également aperçus près de Franquelin. Un adulte accompagné d’un jeune, plus petit et encore gris.

Le dimanche 24 mars, deux observatrices repèrent un béluga solitaire nageant devant le quai aux Escoumins. Un peu plus à l’Est sur la Côte-Nord, une riveraine a l’occasion d’admirer un pinnipède dans toute sa splendeur : « Un beau phoque du Groenland qui se prélassait au soleil sur les glaces à la marina de Sept-Îles! »

En Gaspésie

Dans la baie de Gaspé, quelques phoques se reposent au large sur les glaces. C’est lors d’une sortie sur l’eau qu’un kayakiste a pu voir de grands souffles. Le temps était calme, sans vent et avec une belle visibilité. L’occasion idéale pour admirer des baleines! C’est au loin, en direction de la pointe Saint-Pierre, que les panaches de brume s’élevaient. Pour observer ce phénomène d’aussi loin, il s’agissait sans doute d’un rorqual commun ou bleu. Quelques phoques communs pataugeaient également dans l’eau.

Dimanche après-midi, c’est une toute autre météo qu’un passionné des cétacés brave pour aller faire des observations : une grosse bordée de neige et des rafales à 70 km/h. « Malgré ça, c’est bien un souffle que j’ai vu à plusieurs reprises en face de Cap-aux-Os. Le vent et les vagues ne m’ont pas non plus permis d’identifier l’espèce… mais pour voir le souffle malgré ces rafales, cela devait être un assez grand rorqual également ! »

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Pierre Chrétien
Laetitia Desbordes
Vincent Gaillard
Diane Ostiguy
Sandrine Papias
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse
J. Varin

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 28/3/2024

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024

Des rorquals bleus pour le changement de saison

« Voir le souffle quand il fait froid, c’est encore plus impressionnant! Quand on parle de 10 mètres de hauteur,…

|Observations de la semaine 21/3/2024