Blue whales? Up to three individuals have reportedly been observed in the estuary. Humpbacks? Several in Gaspé Bay, including a group of five that even approached the coast. Right whales? Up to a dozen have been spotted in the gulf. The diversity of whales in the St. Lawrence has been impressive, and when it’s not a whale that’s being observed, it’s a shark!

Mysteries in the estuary

The narwhal may well have been seen for the first time this year! It was purportedly spotted from the shores of Les Escoumins, swimming quietly with a group of belugas heading up the river. Will we see him soon in Tadoussac? Undoubtedly, this is what the GREMM research team is hoping for in order to be able to confirm the presence of this cetacean first observed 2016 and always in the company of belugas.

In the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, over a dozen humpback whales have been identified. Amongst them is H129, a.k.a. Whip, a rather unfamiliar individual in the estuary, but well known in the gulf. Two blue whales were also seen in the past week: Jaw-Breaker, a female that has been present for a few weeks already, and a newcomer, B260. The latter was apparently observed on several occasions “diving on its side,” which is quite a curious behaviour for such a large animal!

A few grey seals were lurking near the docks in Essipit. As one individual poked its nostrils above the water, one could actually hear it breathing from shore. “Perhaps it was sniffing the air for its next meal,” speculates one observer. Or else it had had a particularly exhausting day! In Tadoussac, a naturalist was able to admire a minke whale performing about ten frog jumps. Not to mention the presence of a fin whale, harbour porpoises, harbour seals and nearly a dozen minke whales in the area. In Les Bergeronnes, a marine mammal enthusiast ponders the identity of a whale she saw earlier: “Last Saturday, humpback whales were blowing left and right! And a mystery whale, too, wandering away from the rest of the group. A high spout and long exhalation, a dark back, and a dorsal fin like that of a blue whale, but still difficult to say for sure what species it was.”

Whales up and down the coast

In Pointe-des-Monts, the horizon is rather static, with just two minke whales and a few seals poking their heads above the water, but not a sign of a single large rorqual. Off the coast of Franquelin, harbour porpoises and grey seals were reported. One marine mammal enthusiast makes a remarkable observation: “Two minke whales were seen, one of which showed its pink abdomen on one occasion and on another, rolled over itself at the surface, showing its pectoral fin. The humpback whale H857 has also been in the area for a few days. All this marine life may be attributable to the presence of krill in the sector!

At the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), North Atlantic right whales are still present. Over the past week, between 12 and 15 individuals have been observed. MICS founder and director Richard Sears explains that typical mating behaviour was observed between some of the animals! Two fin whales were also spotted near Rivière-au-Tonnerre. Minke whales have been roaming the Mingan Islands, not to mention a few porpoises here and there. A humpback and a blue whale also made appearances, not to mention a visit by a basking shark!

Cetaceans in the bay

In Gaspé Bay, after a few unproductive days scanning the horizon, marine mammals seem to have all arrived at the same time! For starters, Atlantic white-sided dolphins were observed in good numbers, with tallies of between 100 and 150 animals! This gregarious species lives in groups of several individuals and feeds on small pelagic fish, squid and occasionally benthic crustaceans. Additionally, minke whales have been regularly swimming near the shore, while harbour porpoises are also being observed in the area. On the morning of August 17, a group of five humpbacks appeared in the bay, opposite L’Anse-aux-Amérindiens. And that’s not all: A basking shark was seen and even captured on video!

In Gaspé, MICS collaborator Guylaine Marchand shares her various encounters with marine mammals during a day on the water (August 15). “To my delight, I had the opportunity to observe a blue whale, two fin whales and five humpbacks, including H009 a.k.a. Fleuret. According to MICS archives, Fleuret is a female born in 1982 to the female H008, a.k.a. Pseudo. Fleuret has taught the MICS team a great deal about the biology and life cycle of humpback whales. For example, the fact that females of the species reach sexual maturity around 9 years of age and that they can give birth to calves every three to four years or so. Since then, Fleuret has become a regular visitor to the St. Lawrence, having been seen almost every year in various parts of the estuary and the gulf.”

Belugas in the Gaspé!

Two humpbacks and a handful of minke whales were spotted in Sainte-Anne-des-Monts. A group of about fifty belugas, mostly males, also wowed observers.

Where are the whales this week? Observation map

These data were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Observation of the Week - 17/8/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

A Late November with Dolphins and Rorquals Aplenty

Dozens of Atlantic white-sided dolphins, a late humpback, a minke whale here, belugas there... There’s so much marine fauna in…

|Observation of the Week 30/11/2023

Belugas Under the Snow

As November winds down, the snow gently reminds us that winter temperatures are right around the corner. With most of…

|Observation of the Week 23/11/2023

Small or Large, Marine Mammals Are Still Present!

Although sightings are beginning to taper off in the gulf, the estuary is still abuzz with the resonating spouts of…

|Observation of the Week 16/11/2023

Des rorquals bleus? Jusqu’à trois individus auraient été observés dans l’estuaire. Des rorquals à bosse?  Il y en a plusieurs dans la baie de Gaspé, dont un groupe de cinq individus qui se serait même approché de la côte. Des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord? Jusqu’à une douzaine a été repérée dans le golfe. La diversité des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent est époustouflante, et quand ce n’est pas une baleine, c’est un requin qui est observé!

Mystères dans l’estuaire

Le narval pourrait bien avoir été vu pour la première fois cette année! Il aurait été repéré depuis la rive aux Escoumins, nageant tranquillement avec un groupe de bélugas en remontant le fleuve. Le verra-t-on bientôt à Tadoussac? C’est sans doute ce qu’espère l’équipe de recherche du GREMM, afin de pouvoir confirmer la présence de ce cétacé observé depuis 2016 en compagnie des baleines blanches.

Dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, on dénombre plus d’une douzaine de rorquals à bosse. Parmi eux, on compte H129, alias Whip, visiteur plutôt méconnu de l’estuaire, mais bien connu dans le golfe. Deux rorquals bleus ont aussi été vus dans la dernière semaine, Jaw-Breaker, une femelle présente depuis quelques semaines et un nouveau venu, B260. L’individu aurait été vu à plusieurs reprises en train de « plonger de côté », drôle de comportement pour un animal aussi gros!

Quelques phoques gris rodaient dans les eaux à proximité du quai d’Essipit. Alors qu’un individu pointait le bout de son nez, on pouvait l’entendre respirer depuis la rive. « Peut-être humait-t-il l’air pour son prochain repas, suppose une observatrice. Ou encore sa journée avait été particulièrement fatigante! » À Tadoussac, une naturaliste a pu admirer un petit rorqual faire une dizaine de sauts de grenouille. Sans oublier la présence d’un rorqual commun, de marsouins communs, de phoques communs et d’une dizaine de petits rorquals dans le secteur. Depuis Les Bergeronnes, une passionnée des mammifères marins se questionne sur l’identification d’une baleine. « Samedi dernier, une multitude de souffles de rorquals à bosse, à n’en plus finir! Et une baleine mystère aussi qui se baladait à l’écart du groupe : souffle très long et haut, dos noir, dorsale de rorqual bleu, mais difficile de confirmer quelle espèce. »

Une côte de baleines

À Pointe-des-Monts, l’horizon est plutôt tranquille avec seulement deux petits rorquals et quelques phoques qui pointent le bout de leur museau au-dessus de l’eau, mais aucun signe d’un grand rorqual. À Franquelin,  marsouins communs et phoques gris nagent au large. Une passionnée des mammifères marins fait une observation remarquable : « Deux petits rorquals ont été vus, dont un qui a fait une sortie de l’eau en exposant son abdomen rose et en vrillant à la surface de l’eau lors d’une autre sortie, montrant sa nageoire pectorale bien définie. » Le rorqual à bosse H857 est aussi dans le secteur depuis quelques jours. La présence de krill pourrait bien avoir attiré toute cette faune marine!

À la Station de recherche des îles Mingans (MICS), les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord sont toujours aussi présentes. Pendant la dernière semaine, entre 12 et 15 individus ont été observés. Richard Sears, fondateur et directeur du MICS, explique d’ailleurs qu’il y avait des interactions caractéristiques de la reproduction entre les animaux!

Deux rorquals communs ont aussi été repérés à proximité de Rivière-au-Tonnerre. Des petits rorquals circulent à proximité des îles Mingan, avec quelques marsouins ici et là. Un rorqual à bosse et un rorqual bleu ont aussi fait acte de présence, sans compter la visite d’un requin-pèlerin!

Une baie pour les cétacés

Dans la baie de Gaspé, suite à quelques journées d’observation peu fructueuses, les mammifères marins semblent tous être arrivés en même temps! Des dauphins à flancs blancs de l’Atlantique ont été vus en grand nombre : entre 100 et 150! Cette espèce grégaire vit en groupe de plusieurs individus et se nourrit de petits poissons pélagiques, de calmars et parfois de crustacés benthiques. Aussi, des petits rorquals nagent régulièrement à proximité de la rive, alors que des marsouins communs sont aussi dans le secteur. Au matin du 17 aout, un groupe de cinq rorquals à bosse a fait son apparition à l’intérieur de la baie, en face de l’Anse-aux-Amérindiens. Un requin-pèlerin a même pu être pris en vidéo!

Guylaine Marchand, collaboratrice pour le MICS, raconte ses différentes rencontres avec les mammifères marins lors d’une journée sur l’eau, le 15 aout dernier, à Gaspé. « À ma grande joie, j’ai eu l’occasion d’observer un rorqual bleu, deux rorquals communs et cinq rorquals à bosse, dont H009, alias Fleuret. Selon les archives du MICS, Fleuret est une femelle qui est née en 1982 de la femelle H008, alias Pseudo. Fleuret a beaucoup appris à l’équipe du MICS sur la biologie et le cycle vital des rorquals à bosse. Par exemple, le fait qu’elles arrivent à maturité sexuelle vers l’âge de 9 ans et qu’elles peuvent avoir des baleineaux environ tous les trois à quatre ans. Depuis, Fleuret est devenue une visiteuse régulière du Saint-Laurent, ayant été vue presque tous les ans dans diverses régions de l’estuaire et du golfe. »

Des bélugas en Gaspésie!

Deux rorquals à bosse et quelques petits rorquals ont été repérés depuis Sainte-Anne-des-Monts. Un groupe d’une cinquantaine de bélugas, principalement composé de mâles, a aussi fait la joie des observateurs et observatrices.

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari. Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.
Observations de la semaine - 17/8/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Le grand chelem des rorquals du Saint-Laurent, depuis la rive!

Imaginez avoir la chance de voir les quatre espèces de rorquals qui fréquentent le Saint-Laurent dans la même journée, et…

|Observations de la semaine 18/7/2024

La frénésie des baleines

Des plus petites aux plus grandes baleines, toutes sont actuellement réunies dans le Saint-Laurent! Les marsouins communs sont omniprésents, de…

|Observations de la semaine 11/7/2024

Siam de retour et un requin-pèlerin en Gaspésie

Siam, le rorqual à bosse doyen de l’estuaire, est de retour! Pendant que les baleines nagent un peu partout dans…

|Observations de la semaine 4/7/2024