Autumn is right around the corner for our queens of the seas, who are gearing up – quietly but surely! – to begin their second big annual migration. Whales are filling their bellies with huge gulps of krill, stocking up on the energy they’ll need to make their journey to winter in the Caribbean, where they’ll fast for several months! Once they’ve fattened up, they can head back south to enjoy warmer waters. This week, humpbacks are once again stealing the show, but the presence of tuna in the river and seabird migration are also noteworthy.

Between dream and reality

Saturday, September 16, 2023. A day that will remain etched in many memories, mine in particular. After a relatively calm season in terms of sightings – I haven’t been the most observant this year! – I witness an event that is rarely observed in the marine world: the presence of several humpback whales gathered and surface feeding in the same place.

Imagine watching a captivating wildlife documentary with the soothing voice of David Attenborough transporting you to the heart of the action. As our boat is gently rocked by the waves formed by the tide rips, the humpbacks are gulping down huge mouthfuls of water in hope of capturing as many krill as possible between their baleen. All around our craft, these powerful creatures offer us the spectacle of a lifetime, even sneaking under the vessel only to emerge a little farther away under completely ecstatic gazes. At times, they swim in perfect synchrony, suggesting that some form of mutual assistance exists between them. Indeed, humpbacks are known to occasionally collaborate with members of their own species to increase their hunting success. Some individuals even use their pectoral fins to guide fish toward their mouths.

The profound feeling of intimacy we feel with both the whales and with each other is testimony to the magnitude of this euphoric moment. It is essential to never forget that we are the ones intruding into their habitat and not the other way around, meaning unconditional respect is a must.

The frenzy of marine life… and climate change!

This week, marine wildlife made waves in the estuary and gulf, literally and figuratively! First, the notable presence of tuna almost everywhere in the river intrigues those who observe their deftness for the first time. Indeed, funny splashes and spirited leaps out of the water confirm the presence of bluefin tuna in the St. Lawrence. Their hydrodynamic shape is a wonderful adaptation for hunting in a marine environment, providing them with the ability to zip through the water at peak speeds of up to 100 km/h!

These large predators can reach two metres in length, weigh up to 600 kg and live up to 40 years. They are also highly migratory, travelling up to 10,000 km in a single year. All these characteristics make them fairly easy animals to observe and identify!

However, observers and experts are puzzled by the increased presence of bluefin tuna in the river environment, which has been noted over the past ten years or so by scientific experts at Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO). What conclusions can be drawn from this strong increase in the presence of tuna farther north?

According to Jacques Gélineau, marine mammal observer and collaborator for the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), the Gulf of St. Lawrence and its estuary are poised to increasingly become a refuge for cold- and temperate-water species that are less well adapted to higher ocean temperatures caused by climate change. According to the European organization Copernicus, the summer of 2023 will be the hottest ever measured. Temperature rises that are not only deeply affecting the continents, but also the sea… In the gulf and estuary, from the Gaspé Peninsula to the North Shore, surface waters have reached 17°C, a full three degrees higher than the seasonal norm! However, DFO scientists are unable to determine whether this increased presence of tuna is the result of changes in ocean temperature, prey availability, increases in the bluefin tuna population, or a combination of these factors.

Undeniably, a process of profound transformation is underway in the St. Lawrence, representing a direct threat not only to whales but to all marine biodiversity. This new phenomenon could have considerable impacts on the abundance and distribution of prey, forcing certain species to alter their migration patterns and find new feeding grounds. “The St. Lawrence has become a real hotbed for surprises,” remarks GREMM co-director Patrice Corbeil.

The future remains uncertain and only time will reveal the true repercussions of our unrestrained use of fossil fuels (the biggest contributors to the global climate crisis) on marine biodiversity.

Splish, Splash!

On a more exciting note, around ten humpbacks offered an extremely rare spectacle to the few fortunate individuals who happened to be in the right place at the right time on Thursday, September 14! Spectators oohed and aahed at breaches not by the dozens, but by the hundreds. H919, a.k.a. Titlo, reportedly breached around fifty times, while Yvon and Éline were said to have performed similar acrobatics dozens of times! Even a younger whale – possibly Tingley’s sixth calf – showed off its agility by performing around thirty breaches. Was this its first aerial performance? Maybe not, but observers were undoubtedly deeply moved regardless. Naturalist and wildlife photographer Renaud Pintiaux describes the palpable excitement that reigned offshore: “It was completely out of the ordinary and unreal. Tears, smiles, disbelief, pure joy.” During one breach, the whale emerges at a speed of 15 knots and an angle of 30° with nearly 90% of its body out of the water before performing an aerial half-twist and splashing down on its back!

A number of hypotheses have been put forward by experts to explain this relatively infrequent behaviour: diet, enhanced diving capacity, play, communication, etc. These breaches actually seem to be more frequent when the nearest group is more than four kilometres away, especially during periods of inclement weather conditions when wind and waves tend to mask the cetaceans’ vocalizations.

Time for seabirds

This week, a multitude of seabirds were seen off the coast, dive-bombing into the water or grazing the surface in search of succulent prey, just like whales. Observations include northern fulmar; several species of jaeger; arctic tern; sooty, Manx and great shearwaters; Sabine’s, Franklin’s and little gulls; as well as Atlantic puffin! The northern fulmar has an astonishing anatomical peculiarity: it has a salt gland that allows it to drink seawater without dehydrating. The salt is expelled through its nasal passages, which have a very unique morphology!

Whales up and down the river

In the Sept-Îles sector, MICS collaborator Jacques Gélineau shares his many observations with us. A total of ten right whales were reportedly seen on Monday during an outing on the water with the MICS crew. The whales were in groups of two or three, with the largest gathering numbering five individuals. They seemed to be mating. On the way back, a fin whale and a humpback made appearances, not to mention three more fin whales opposite the Saint-Jean River. En route to Anticosti Island, the team also observed a total of five or six minke whales. This species usually stays closer to the coast to feed on capelin, but this year, they seem to be more present farther offshore. Could it be because capelin have become rather scarce this year?

Our keen-eyed observer based in Franquelin reports the presence of minke whales and two humpbacks. The spouts were clearly visible and on Sunday evening, they were even treated to a breach! Seals and porpoises were also present, as expected.

In Tadoussac, a seasoned observer and GREMM employee shares her observations with us: “On Sunday evening, several belugas were swimming at Pointe de l’Islet under the reflections of the setting sun, only to be joined shortly thereafter by two minke whales. It was awesome!” During a pelagic trip organized as part of the Migratory Bird Festival, one avid birder (and whale-watcher!) observed good numbers of porpoises, a possible fin whale and several grey seals.

In Les Escoumins, a marine biodiversity enthusiast tells us about her adventures: “While we were out on the water near Les Escoumins, four humpbacks were present between the marina and Les Îlets. The appearance of Éline in Baie des Anémones coincided with the last departure of the day. She swam east, turned around and stayed with us all the way back to the docks. I was able to see her again after returning to land as she took another dive and headed east again. So I decided to go and watch from the ferry platform, and before I knew it she emerged right in front of me, the rays of the setting sun highlighting all the white in the underside of her tail.”

Where are the whales this week? Observation map

hese data were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Observation of the Week - 21/9/2023

Kiev Ashcroft-Gaudreault

Kiev Ashcroft-Gaudreault rejoint l’équipe du GREMM en 2023 en tant que rédactrice scientifique. Passionnée par une langue de Voltaire tout en subtilités, elle entame un baccalauréat en rédaction professionnelle pour finalement changer de cap vers un domaine qui l’anime encore plus : l’environnement! Elle souhaite mettre à profit l’alliance de ses deux formations pour prêter sa voix aux êtres qui n’en ont pas et espère faire naitre chez le public ce sentiment de poésie qui l'habite chaque fois que son regard survole le large.

Recommended articles

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Belugas and Migrating Birds

This past week, belugas have been seen from both shores of the estuary. Humpbacks, minke whales and seals were also…

|Observation of the Week 25/4/2024

La saison dorée se dessine pour nos reines des mers, qui se préparent tranquillement – mais sûrement! – à entamer leur deuxième grande migration annuelle. Les baleines se remplissent la panse à grandes bouchées de krill, stockant l’énergie nécessaire à leur voyage vers un hiver dans les Caraïbes, et à un jeûne de plusieurs mois! Une fois bien engraissées, elles pourront repartir vers le Sud et se blottir dans la quiétude d’un hiver bien au chaud. Cette semaine, les rorquals à bosse volent encore la vedette, mais la présence de thons dans le fleuve et la migration des oiseaux marins marquent aussi les esprits.

À la lisière du rêve et de la réalité

Samedi, 16 septembre 2023. Une journée qui restera gravée dans bien des mémoires, et particulièrement dans la mienne. Après une saison relativement calme côté observations – je n’ai pas été des plus assidus! – voilà que je suis témoin d’un événement assez peu observé dans le monde marin : la présence de plusieurs rorquals à bosse rassemblés au même endroit et s’alimentant en surface.

Imaginez-vous en train d’assister à un épisode captivant d’un documentaire animalier, avec la voix envoûtante de David Attenborough vous transportant au cœur de l’action. Notre bateau se laissait doucement bercer par les vagues formées par les barres de courant, tandis que les rorquals à bosse engouffraient de grandes lampées d’eau, espérant ainsi faire prisonnier de leur gueule le plus de krill possible. Encerclant l’embarcation, ces puissantes créatures nous offrent le spectacle d’une vie, se faufilant même sous le bateau pour ressortir un peu plus loin sous des regards complètement extatiques. Par moments, elles nageaient en parfaite synchronisation, laissant entrevoir une forme d’entraide entre elles. En effet, le rorqual à bosse est réputé pour collaborer occasionnellement avec ses congénères afin d’accroître son succès lors de la chasse. Certains individus usent même de leurs nageoires pectorales pour amener les poissons à leur gueule.

Le sentiment d’une intimité profonde partagée à la fois avec les baleines et entre nous, procurant un moment d’euphorie totale, nous rappelle l’ampleur du privilège qui nous est accordé. Il est essentiel de ne jamais oublier que nous sommes ceux qui pénétrons dans leur habitat et non l’inverse, ce qui exige un respect inconditionnel.

Les remous de la vie marine… et des changements climatiques!

Cette semaine, la faune marine a fait des vagues dans l’estuaire et le golfe, figurativement et littéralement! D’abord, la présence notable de thons un peu partout dans le fleuve soulève des interrogations chez les gens qui observent leurs prouesses pour la première fois. Des drôles d’éclaboussures et de vifs sauts hors de l’eau confirment effectivement la présence de thons rouges dans le Saint-Laurent. Leur forme hydrodynamique est une merveilleuse adaptation pour la chasse en milieu marin, leur offrant la capacité de naviguer rapidement dans les eaux avec des pointes de vitesse atteignant jusqu’à 100 km/h!

Ces grands carnassiers peuvent atteindre deux mètres de longueur, peser jusqu’à 600 kg et vivre jusqu’à 40 ans. Ils sont aussi de grands migrateurs : ils peuvent parcourir jusqu’à 10 000 km en une seule année. Toutes ces caractéristiques en font des animaux assez faciles à observer et à identifier!

Les observateurs et observatrices ainsi que les experts s’interrogent toutefois sur la présence accrue du thon rouge dans l’environnement fluvial, qui a été remarquée depuis une dizaine d’années par les experts scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO). Quelles déductions peut-on tirer de cette augmentation marquée de la présence de thons plus au nord?

Selon Jacques Gélineau, observateur de mammifères marins et collaborateur pour la Station de recherche des îles Mingan (MICS), l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent deviendrait de plus en plus un lieu refuge pour les espèces d’eaux froides et tempérées, moins bien adaptées aux températures océaniques plus chaudes provoquées par les changements climatiques. Selon l’organisme européen Copernicus, l’été 2023 est le plus chaud jamais mesuré. Une hausse des températures qui touche les continents de plein fouet, mais aussi la mer… Dans le golfe et l’estuaire, de la Gaspésie à la Côte-Nord, les eaux en surface ont atteint 17°C, soit trois degrés de plus que la normale saisonnière! Les scientifiques du MPO ne parviennent toutefois pas à déterminer si cette présence accrue de thons découle de l’évolution de la température des océans, de la disponibilité des proies, de l’augmentation de la population de thons rouges, ou d’une combinaison de ces facteurs.

Il est indéniable qu’un processus de transformation profonde est en cours dans le Saint-Laurent, représentant une menace directe pour les baleines et l’ensemble de la biodiversité marine. Ce nouveau phénomène pourrait avoir des impacts considérables sur l’abondance et la distribution des proies, contraignant certaines espèces à adapter leurs schémas de migration et leurs zones d’alimentation. « Le Saint-Laurent est devenu une véritable boîte à surprises », remarque Patrice Corbeil, codirecteur du GREMM.

L’avenir demeure incertain et seul le temps sera révélateur des réelles répercussions de notre utilisation effrénée de combustibles fossiles, plus grands contributeurs à la crise climatique mondiale, sur la biodiversité marine.

Splish, Splash, Sploush!

Sur une note plus exaltante, une dizaine de rorquals à bosse ont offert un spectacle rarissime aux quelques individus fortunés présents au bon endroit, au bon moment, jeudi 14 septembre! Ce ne sont pas des dizaines, mais bien des centaines de breachs qu’ont pu admirer les spectateurs et spectatrices ébahis. H919, dit Titlo, aurait breaché une cinquantaine de fois, alors qu’Yvon et Éline auraient effectué ces acrobaties des dizaines de fois! Même un jeune rorqual – possiblement le sixième baleineau de Tingley – a fait preuve de son agilité en effectuant une trentaine de sauts. Se pouvait-il que ce soit ses premières performances aériennes? Peut-être pas, mais elles ont sans aucun doute ému profondément les observateurs et observatrices. Renaud Pintiaux, naturaliste et photographe animalier, décrit la fébrilité palpable qui régnait au large : « C’était complètement hors du commun, irréel. Des larmes, des sourires, de l’incrédulité, du bonheur à l’état pur. » Lors d’un saut, la baleine émerge à une vitesse de 15 nœuds, avec près de 90 % de son corps hors de l’eau, selon un angle d’inclinaison de 30° par rapport à la verticale, avant d’effectuer une acrobatie aérienne en demi-tour pour retomber sur son dos!

Les hypothèses émises par les experts pour expliquer ce comportement relativement peu récurrent se multiplient : alimentation, amélioration de la capacité de plongée, jeu, communication? Ces sauts semblent effectivement devenir plus fréquents lorsque le groupe le plus proche se trouve à une distance de plus de quatre kilomètres, surtout en période de conditions météorologiques défavorables où le vent et les vagues ont tendance à masquer les vocalisations des cétacés.

Le temps est aux oiseaux de mer

Cette semaine, une multitude d’oiseaux de mer ont été observés au large des côtes, effectuant des piqués dans l’eau à la recherche de succulentes proies, tout comme les baleines. Le fulmar boréal, plusieurs espèces de labbes, la sterne arctique, le puffin fuligineux, le puffin des Anglais et le puffin majeur, la mouette de Sabine, la mouette de Franklin et la mouette pygmée, ainsi que le macareux moine ont pu être observés! Le fulmar boréal possède une particularité biologique étonnante : il est doté d’une glande de dessalage de l’eau de mer qui lui permet de la boire sans se déshydrater. Le sel est rejeté au niveau des narines qui possèdent une morphologie bien particulière!

Des baleines aux quatre coins du fleuve

À Sept-îles et ses environs, Jacques Gélineau, collaborateur pour le MICS, nous transmet ses nombreuses observations. Un total de dix baleines noires aurait été vu lundi lors d’une sortie sur l’eau avec l’équipe du MICS. Les baleines étaient en groupes de deux à trois individus, le plus grand atteignant cinq individus. Celles-ci semblaient en période d’accouplement. Au retour, un rorqual commun et un rorqual à bosse ont fait leur apparition, en plus de trois autres communs en face de Rivière-Saint-Jean. En s’en allant vers Anticosti, l’équipe a aussi observé un total de cinq ou six petits rorquals. Habituellement, les petits rorquals se tiennent plus près des côtes pour se nourrir du capelan, mais cette année, ceux-ci semblent se retrouver plus au large. Serait-ce parce que le capelan s’est fait plutôt rare cette année

Nos yeux aiguisés basés à Franquelin rapportent la présence de petits rorquals et de deux rorquals à bosse. Les souffles étaient bien visibles et dimanche soir, ils auraient même eu droit à un breach! Des phoques et des marsouins étaient aussi présents, fidèles à leurs habitudes.

À Tadoussac, une observatrice aguerrie et employée du GREMM nous fait part de ses observations : « Dimanche soir, plusieurs bélugas nageaient à la pointe de l’Islet dans les reflets du soleil couchant, et ils ont été rejoints par deux petits rorquals peu de temps après. C’était splendide! » Lors d’une croisière aux oiseaux pélagiques organisée dans le cadre du festival des oiseaux migrateurs, une passionnée d’ornithologie – et de baleines! – a observé beaucoup de marsouins, un possible rorqual commun et plusieurs phoques gris.

Aux Escoumins, une amoureuse de la biodiversité marine nous raconte ses aventures : « En croisière aux Escoumins, quatre rorquals à bosse sont présents entre le quai des Pilotes et Les Îlets. Éline est apparue dans la Baie des Anémones au moment du dernier départ de la journée. Elle a fait un bout vers l’est, demi-tour, nous raccompagnant à quai. J’ai pu la revoir une fois sur la terre ferme, alors qu’elle replongeait vers l’est. J’ai donc décidé d’aller observer du quai de la traverse, et sans la voir venir, elle est sortie tout juste devant moi, les rayons du soleil couchant colorant tout le blanc du patron de sa caudale. »

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari. Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.
Observations de la semaine - 21/9/2023

Kiev Ashcroft-Gaudreault

Kiev Ashcroft-Gaudreault rejoint l’équipe du GREMM en 2023 en tant que rédactrice scientifique. Passionnée par une langue de Voltaire tout en subtilités, elle entame un baccalauréat en rédaction professionnelle pour finalement changer de cap vers un domaine qui l’anime encore plus : l’environnement! Elle souhaite mettre à profit l’alliance de ses deux formations pour prêter sa voix aux êtres qui n’en ont pas et espère faire naitre chez le public ce sentiment de poésie qui l'habite chaque fois que son regard survole le large.

Articles recommandés

Les pieds sur terre, les yeux vers le large

Le blanc des bélugas réfléchit les rayons du soleil dans l’estuaire, les petits rorquals abondent, le rorqual à bosse Irisept…

|Observations de la semaine 13/6/2024

En prendre plein les fanons

Qu’elles mangent du krill, du poisson ou des invertébrés, les baleines viennent s’alimenter dans l’immense buffet que constitue le Saint-Laurent.…

|Observations de la semaine 7/6/2024

Le retour d’une vedette : Tic Tac Toe est dans l’estuaire

Le rorqual à bosse Tic Tac Toe a été observé dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent pour la première fois…

|Observations de la semaine 30/5/2024