The week of July 11 to 15 marked the second year of sampling for our project in collaboration with Fisheries and Oceans Canada to determine the presence of invasive aquatic species in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park and adjacent waters.

Any maritime activity such as recreational boating, commercial shipping and fishing is likely to introduce aquatic species into new environments. These species become predators or competitors for local species. Until now, our monitoring has not detected any invasive aquatic species within the Marine Park, but we continue our work using a number of methods to further our understanding and conclude whether or not any such species are present.

For Year 1 of this project, we sampled the Saguenay Fjord. This year, our objective was to cover 5 different sectors of the Upper Estuary: between Anse du Chafaud aux Basques and Baie des Rochers, Saint-Siméon, Cacouna, Passe de l’Île aux Lièvres and Kamouraska.

Planned activities included water sampling at four different depths for environmental DNA and phytoplankton analyses, vertical net hauls for phytoplankton and zooplankton and vertical profiles of physical/chemical conditions (temperature, salinity and oxygen concentration). All this at three sites per sector! This means a multitude of samples to take and lots of material and equipment to transport. The days are going to be busy! On Friday, we load our research vessel L’Alliance in order to be ready to set sail the following Monday.

Unfortunately, the week gets off to a bad start due to inclement weather on Monday morning. Then there’s a mechanical breakdown on the boat. Such are the joys of working on the water! The weather is finally looking good for the next few days and, considering the vast expanse of water to be covered, I figure I will need three days to complete the project. It wasn’t until late Tuesday evening, after some trials in the dark, that we were finally sure we would be able to start sampling the following day.

Our first sampling site is off Cap du Basque near Baie-Sainte-Catherine. It takes us over 2 hours to collect all the data. The first site is always the longest, as we have to finish assembling certain equipment, add a Ty-Rap here, a piece of electrical tape there, adjust the ropes, the weights… Our scientific crew is composed of 4 individuals: Nathalie from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Eliza-Jane, Nadia and myself, not to mention our captain Simon. It takes us a little while to get accustomed to our roles and responsibilities. My main task is to operate the hydraulic winch and deploy the equipment while following the established methodologies and aiming to reach the correct depths. The day goes smoothly and ends late after we’ve completed two sectors. Mission accomplished!

Thursday, a calm sea awaits us. We head toward Cacouna. The waters in this sector are very turbid and loaded with suspended material, which complicates our job somewhat, though the team is now working like a well-oiled machine! This time we need just under an hour to complete all of our activities. By around 4:30 in the afternoon, we’ve already finished sampling in two sectors. The last one, Kamouraska, is the farthest away. After gauging the motivation of our troops, we decide to continue. Simon prepares the coffee and off we go! Conditions are favourable. By around 7 p.m., the last location has been completed. We then take advantage of the long ride back to download our data and filter the last samples.

For me, this has been quite a memorable week. Although this is my 10th year with the Parks Canada team in the Marine Park, it was the first time I had spent so many intense hours in the Upper Estuary, off the shores of the Bas-Saint-Laurent and Charlevoix regions. Our regular monitoring is more often carried out in the Lower Estuary and the Saguenay Fjord. Over the course of two days, I was able to see belugas, including many youngsters, almost continuously thanks to ideal observation conditions. This sector is also quieter in terms of boat traffic.

For me, this has been quite a memorable week. Although this is my 10th year with the Parks Canada team in the Marine Park, it was the first time I had spent so many intense hours in the Upper Estuary, off the shores of the Bas-Saint-Laurent and Charlevoix regions. Our regular monitoring is more often carried out in the Lower Estuary and the Saguenay Fjord. Over the course of two days, I was able to see belugas, including many youngsters, almost continuously thanks to ideal observation conditions. This sector is also quieter in terms of boat traffic.

What I learned during these days on the water was the importance of staying connected to the field when working in resource conservation so as to never lose sight of the urgency to act and the importance of our actions. I remain convinced that to promote the recovery of the beluga population, it is imperative that we preserve and even enhance the relative tranquility of this sector. It is more than time to expand the protected area of critical beluga habitat in the Upper Estuary!

Next step of our monitoring for invasive aquatic species: the Lower Estuary in July 2023!

Samuel Turgeon

Ecologist and team lead

As a kid, Samuel Turgeon spent a lot of time hiking and camping in national parks. Today, it seems only fitting that he contributes to the conservation of natural spaces. Originally from Québec City, Samuel is now based in Tadoussac, where he oversees monitoring programs in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park. It is in this capacity that he supervises data collection and analysis and develops monitoring indicators that guide park management: maritime traffic, hydroacoustic surveys, large rorqual monitoring, whale-watching activities, etc.

Field Notes - 18/8/2022

Collaboration Spéciale

Recommended articles

Teamwork for Whale Protection

Protecting the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park requires teamwork. Research makes it possible to better understand various issues related to the…

|Field Notes 25/10/2022

Recovery of a white-sided dolphin carcass in Rimouski

In the early afternoon of Monday, September 5, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network call centre receives a report…

|Field Notes 11/10/2022

Eyes on the water

Every summer since 2003, the Parks Canada team has been scrutinizing the waters in and around Baie Sainte-Marguerite to tally…

|Field Notes 6/10/2022

C’est dans la semaine du 11 au 15 juillet que se déroulait la deuxième année d’échantillonnage du projet de Parcs Canada en collaboration avec Pêches et Océans Canada visant à déterminer la présence d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans l’ensemble du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent et les eaux avoisinantes.

Toutes les activités de navigation comme la plaisance, la marine marchande et la pêche sont susceptibles d’introduire des espèces aquatiques dans de nouveaux milieux. Ces espèces deviennent des prédateurs ou des compétiteurs pour les espèces locales. Pour le moment, aucune espèce aquatique envahissante n’a été détectée dans le parc marin, mais nous poursuivons notre surveillance et nous utilisons différentes méthodes pour raffiner le portrait et statuer si des espèces envahissantes sont présentes ou non.

Pour l’an 1 de ce projet, nous avions échantillonné le fjord du Saguenay. Cette année, notre objectif était de couvrir l’estuaire moyen, plus particulièrement 5 secteurs : la portion entre l’anse du Chafaud aux Basques et Baie-des-Rochers, Saint-Siméon, Cacouna, la passe de l’île aux Lièvres et Kamouraska.

Malheureusement, la semaine commence plutôt mal avec un faux départ le lundi matin en raison du mauvais temps. S’ajoute ensuite un bris mécanique sur le bateau. Les aléas de travailler sur l’eau! La météo s’annonce enfin belle les journées suivantes et, considérant le vaste territoire à parcourir, j’estime avoir besoin de trois jours pour compléter le projet. Ce n’est que tard mardi soir, après des essais à la noirceur, que nous sommes enfin sûrs de pouvoir commencer l’échantillonnage le lendemain.

Notre premier site d’échantillonnage est devant le cap du Basque (Baie-Sainte-Catherine). Recueillir l’ensemble des données nous prend plus de 2 heures. Le premier site est toujours le plus long, car on doit finir le montage de certains équipements, ajouter un Ty-Rap ici, un bout de ruban électrique là, ajuster les cordages, les lests… Notre équipe scientifique est formée de 4 personnes : Nathalie de Pêches et Océans Canada, Eliza-Jane, Nadia et moi en plus de notre capitaine Simon. Ça nous prend un certain temps avant de nous habituer à nos rôles et responsabilités. Ma principale tâche est d’opérer le treuil hydraulique et de déployer les équipements en respectant les méthodologies et en visant les bonnes profondeurs. La journée se déroule sans anicroche et se conclue tard après avoir terminé 2 secteurs. Objectif atteint !

Jeudi, une mer d’huile nous attend. Nous prenons la direction de Cacouna. Les eaux de ce secteur sont très turbides et chargées de matières en suspension, ce qui complique un peu notre travail, mais l’équipe est maintenant « rodée ». Nous avons désormais besoin d’un peu moins d’une heure pour compléter l’ensemble des manœuvres. Vers 16h30, deux secteurs sont déjà terminés. Il reste le plus éloigné : Kamouraska. Après avoir vérifié la motivation des troupes, nous prenons la décision de poursuivre. Simon prépare une cafetière et hop, nous repartons ! Les conditions sont avec nous. Vers 19 h, voilà le dernier lieu complété. On profite alors du long retour pour télécharger les données et filtrer les derniers échantillons.

Voilà une semaine assez mémorable pour moi. Bien qu’il s’agisse de ma 10e année dans l’équipe de Parcs Canada au parc marin, c’était la première fois que je passais autant d’heures de façon intensive dans l’estuaire moyen au large des rives du Bas-Saint-Laurent et de Charlevoix. Nos suivis réguliers se déroulent davantage dans l’estuaire maritime et le fjord du Saguenay. Au fil des 2 journées, j’ai pu apercevoir des bélugas, dont de nombreux jeunes, de façon quasi continue étant données les conditions d’observation optimales. Ce secteur est aussi plus tranquille du côté de la navigation.

Voilà une semaine assez mémorable pour moi. Bien qu’il s’agisse de ma 10e année dans l’équipe de Parcs Canada au parc marin, c’était la première fois que je passais autant d’heures de façon intensive dans l’estuaire moyen au large des rives du Bas-Saint-Laurent et de Charlevoix. Nos suivis réguliers se déroulent davantage dans l’estuaire maritime et le fjord du Saguenay. Au fil des 2 journées, j’ai pu apercevoir des bélugas, dont de nombreux jeunes, de façon quasi continue étant données les conditions d’observation optimales. Ce secteur est aussi plus tranquille du côté de la navigation.

Je retiens de ces journées l’importance de rester connecté au terrain lorsque l’on travaille en conservation des ressources pour ne jamais perdre de vue l’urgence d’agir et l’importance de nos actions. Je demeure convaincu que pour favoriser le rétablissement de la population de bélugas, il est impératif de préserver et même de rehausser la relative tranquillité de ce secteur. Il est plus que temps d’accroitre la superficie protégée de l’habitat essentiel du béluga dans l’estuaire moyen!

Prochaine étape du suivi des espèces aquatiques envahissantes : rendez-vous dans l’estuaire maritime en juillet 2023!

Samuel Turgeon

Écologiste, chef d’équipe

Dans sa jeunesse, Samuel Turgeon a passé beaucoup de temps à faire de la rando-camping dans les parcs nationaux. Aujourd’hui, cela lui parait un juste retour des choses de contribuer à la conservation d’espaces naturels. Originaire de Québec, Samuel est désormais basé à Tadoussac, d’où il pilote les programmes de surveillance du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent. Il supervise ainsi la récolte et l’analyse des données et développe les indicateurs de suivi qui permettent de guider la gestion du parc: trafic maritime, relevés hydroacoustiques, suivi des grands rorquals, activités d’observation en mer…

Carnet de terrain - 18/8/2022

Collaboration Spéciale

Articles recommandés

À la rencontre des bélugas de Cacouna

«Hey regarde! Là! Un béluga!» Perché.e.s sur notre plateforme d’observation sur la montagne sacrée de Gros-Cacouna, Sami et moi rivons…

|Carnet de terrain 20/9/2022

Activités d’observation en mer

Depuis 1994, des échantillons ont été pris sur près de 3000 excursions en plein cœur du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent…

|Carnet de terrain 11/8/2022