One might think that the roller coaster temperatures of autumn are hardly conducive to marine mammal sightings. However, this is not quite the case! While the weather was not the most mild this week, several species were still reported.

South shore

On the south shore, the last few days have been marked by fall storms, with wind and rain keeping many marine mammal observers indoors from Bonaventure to Percé. However, in Cap Gaspé, a hundred or so harbour porpoises and a single minke whale were spotted on October 13. A captain also reported seven or eight humpbacks throughout the week, roughly eight nautical miles from the cape! At Haldimand beach near the Saint-Jean River in Gaspé, about twenty harbour and grey seals were seen in the water. Harbour seals are year-round residents of the St. Lawrence, whereas grey seals are present from spring to fall in both the gulf and estuary.

A whale at the end of the tunnel

Exciting encounter on Sunday at Cap-à-l’Aigle in La Malbaie! One observer reports “a humpback breached three times, did a little spyhopping, rolled over onto its back and began slapping the water surface with its pectoral fins… After which it disappeared!” In addition to this exuberant performance, harbour porpoises were also seen on October 18.

The north shore was shrouded in fog. Nevertheless, passengers on the ferry departing the Saint-Siméon terminal had the chance to observe a number of marine mammals. One observer comments: “We were able to see the minke whale swim past the marina two times, followed by a few seals and a small pod of porpoises… despite a blanket of fog so thick you could cut it with a knife!”

Passengers out for a cruise in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, are spoiled: minke whales, humpbacks, harbour porpoises, Atlantic white-sided dolphins and grey seals all find their way into the trip list. What’s more, awesome views of belugas are enjoyed by all on board as the animals approach the ship! Humpback whales have been spotted many times in the Tadoussac area, including a few well-known individuals: H871 is present on Thursday; Peter and H857 (page in French) make an appearance on October 16; and H8045 a.k.a. Menutan surfaces on October 17 with Cédille’s 2021 calf. On Sunday, observers were pleasantly surprised to see three fin whales, which have been particularly scarce in the region this summer.

Grande-Pointe in Les Escoumins has been the site of frequent visits by marine mammals. Reports from these parts include one humpback, one minke whale, two groups of harbour porpoises as well as grey seals. One rainy morning, a lone beluga is also spotted through the mist. Between the ferry terminal in Les Escoumins and the marina in Les Bergeronnes, it’s rorquals that are stealing the show! A handful of humpbacks, one fin whale and several minke whales were all seen from the coast.

Although the species is usually gregarious, one beluga was spotted swimming alone. © GREMM
One group of 7 and another group of 25 harbour porpoises were spotted near Les Escoumins © GREMM

GREMM received a call from an observer in Baie-Comeau, who related the presence of two humpbacks in his area this weekend.

Harbour porpoises seem to be beginning to leave Franquelin, with just one individual spotted this week. On the other hand, several sightings of grey seals were reported. As fall advances, the increasingly bare trees translate into better views of the river from Route 138. Likewise, a stop at a roadside rest area offered one observer a glimpse of four foraging minke whales, not to mention their exhalations at the water surface.

Following the stranding of an unlucky harbour porpoise in Sept-Îles, a volunteer from the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network was dispatched to collect data from the carcass. In this kind of situation, volunteers are called upon to take notes on the site, measure the carcass, inform and educate any curious bystanders present during the intervention as well as establish a security perimeter.

On a recent trip out to sea south of Port-Cartier, a recreational boater saw grey seals as well as porpoises. A minke whale and two harbour porpoises were also spotted near the town docks on Tuesday. The next day, no fewer than three grey seals poke their curious heads above the water surface at the mouth of the Sainte-Marguerite River in Gallix.

Farther down the river, autumn storms have also been battering the coast of the Côte-Nord region. In Sept-Îles, for example, a local resident reports winds of 90 km/h as well as pouring rain for several days. Another resident, this time in Pointe-des-Monts, tells of waves reaching 4 or 5 metres high! Rain or shine, whales still have to come to the surface to breathe, but they only need about a second to do so.

Weekly sighting map

These data were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and do not represent the real distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use them for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the upper right corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the upper left corner.

Want to share your observations and contribute to citizen science? Use the marine mammal observation tool.

Observation of the Week - 20/10/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise joined the Whales Online editorial team in the fall of 2022. As she is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies at the University of Sherbrooke, she wishes to educate about the beauties of nature and wants to encourage people who are interested in it to protect it.

Recommended articles

Return of Siam and a Basking Shark in Gaspésie

Siam, the estuary’s oldest humpback whale, is back! Whales were swimming just about everywhere in the St. Lawrence, including good…

|Observation of the Week 4/7/2024

Gaspar, Piton and Blue Whales in the Gulf

It appears that whales have finally made a big return to the estuary and gulf! From one end of the…

|Observation of the Week 27/6/2024

A Hybrid Rorqual in the St. Lawrence?

With the heatwave of the last few days, the cool, refreshing winds blowing over the river were certainly more than…

|Observation of the Week 20/6/2024

On pourrait croire que les aléas de température pendant l’automne diminuent la fréquence des observations de mammifères marins. Or, ce n’est pas tout à fait le cas! Alors que la météo n’était pas des plus clémente cette semaine, plusieurs espèces ont tout de même été repérées.

Vent dessus, vent dedans sur la rive sud

Les derniers jours ont été marqués par les tempêtes automnales sur la rive sud, le vent et la pluie ont confiné les observateurs de mammifères marins de Bonaventure à Percé. Pourtant, à Cap Gaspé, une centaine de marsouins communs ainsi qu’un petit rorqual ont été aperçus le 13 octobre. Un capitaine rapporte aussi sept à huit rorquals à bosse à environ huit milles marins du Cap, tout au long de la semaine! À la plage de Haldimand, près de la rivière Saint-Jean à Gaspé, ce sont une vingtaine de phoques communs et gris qui s’activent dans l’eau. Les phoques communs sont des résidents du Saint-Laurent, ils peuvent ainsi être observés tout au long de l’année, tandis que les phoques gris sont présents du printemps à l’automne dans le golfe et l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent.

Une baleine au bout du tunnel

Heureuse rencontre à La Malbaie, dans le secteur de Cap-à-l’Aigle ce dimanche! Un observateur raconte qu’«une baleine à bosse breach à trois reprises, fait du spyhopping puis se renverse sur le dos pour battre la surface de l’eau avec ses pectorales… puis disparaît après!» Outre ce comportement éclatant, des marsouins communs sont aussi aperçus le 18 octobre.

Le brouillard enveloppait la rive nord. Les passagers du traversier quittant le quai de Saint-Siméon ont tout de même eu la chance d’observer des mammifères marins. Une observatrice commente : « nous avons pu voir le petit rorqual passer à 2 reprises devant le quai, suivi de quelques phoques et d’un petit groupe de marsouins… malgré un brouillard à couper au couteau! »

En croisière dans le parc marin du Saguenay‒Saint-Laurent, les passagers sont choyés : petit rorqual, rorquals à bosse, marsouins communs, dauphins à flancs blancs et phoques gris se partagent la vedette. Une vue privilégiée est accordée aux croisiéristes alors que des bélugas s’approchent du navire! Les rorquals à bosse sont repérés nombre de fois près de Tadoussac. Certains individus connus se font remarquer : H871 est présent jeudi; «Peter» et H857 y sont le 16 octobre;H8045 alias «Menutan» fait surface le 17 octobre en compagnie du baleineau de 2021 de Cédille. Trois rorquals communs ont même surpris les observateurs dimanche, alors qu’ils avaient été peu présents dans la région cet été.

La Grande-Pointe aux Escoumins est fréquentée par de nombreux mammifères marins. Un rorqual à bosse, un petit rorqual, deux groupes de marsouins communs et des phoques gris y sont aussi aperçus. Un béluga solitaire est en outre repéré à travers la brume par un matin pluvieux. Entre le traversier des Escoumins et la marina des Bergeronnes, la famille des rorquals est au rendez-vous! Quelques rorquals à bosse, un commun et des petits rorquals sont visibles de la cote.

Bien qu’habituellement grégaire, un béluga a été aperçu nageant seul. © GREMM
Un groupe de 7 et un autre de 25 marsouins communs ont été repérés près des Escoumins © GREMM

Un appel au Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins d’un observateur de Baie-Comeau y révèle la présence de deux rorquals à bosse cette fin de semaine.

Les marsouins communs semblent commencer à quitter Franquelin : un seul a été repéré cette semaine. En revanche, des observations de phoques gris sont rapportées plusieurs fois. Automne oblige, la chute des feuilles permet d’avoir une meilleure vue sur le fleuve de la route 138 : un arrêt à une halte routière a offert une vue à un observateur sur quatre petits rorquals s’alimentant, leur souffle visible à la surface de l’eau.

Le malheur a frappé un marsouin commun qui s’est échoué à Sept-Îles; une bénévole pour le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins a pris des données auprès de la carcasse. Dans ce genre de situation, le bénévole est appelé à prendre des notes sur le site, mesurer la carcasse, informer et sensibiliser les curieux présents lors de l’intervention ainsi qu’établir un périmètre de sécurité.

Au sud de Port-Cartier, la sortie en mer d’un plaisancier lui permet de voir des phoques gris ainsi que des marsouins. Un petit rorqual et deux marsouins communs sont repérés près du quai des croisières ce mardi. Le lendemain, ce sont au moins trois têtes curieuses de phoques gris qui émergent de la surface de l’eau à l’embouchure de la rivière Sainte-Marguerite, à Gallix.

Les tempêtes automnales frappent aussi plus haut sur la rive nord. À Sept-Îles, une riveraine relate des vents de 90 km/h ainsi que des pluies déferlantes pendant plusieurs jours. Un autre riverain, à Pointe-des-Monts, rapporte des vagues qui ont atteint entre 4 et 5 mètres de hauteur! Tempête ou non, les baleines doivent tout de même remonter à la surface pour respirer : elles n’ont toutefois besoin que d’environ une seconde pour le faire.

Carte des observations de la semaine

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne ? Utilisez l’outil de saisie d’observation de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 20/10/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise a rejoint l’équipe de rédaction de Baleines en direct à l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke, elle a le souci de faire connaître les beautés de la nature et d’encourager sa protection à tous ceux qui s’y intéressent.

Articles recommandés

Phoques, rorquals et bélugas dans l’hiver

Cette semaine, les amoureux de l’hiver ont pu profiter des courtes journées ensoleillées pour aller admirer phoques, bélugas, petits rorquals…

|Observations de la semaine 8/12/2022

De grandes bouchées dans la baie

La journée est calme, le vent souffle tranquillement, dans la baie, quelques taches sombres s’agitent au loin. Il y a…

|Observations de la semaine 1/12/2022

Pas un, pas deux, mais six rorquals à bosse!

Cette semaine, quelques rorquals à bosse sont toujours présents dans le Saint-Laurent et un rorqual commun surprend des riverains. Malgré…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2022