How much is a whale worth? According to a 2019 study conducted by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), a large whale is estimated to be worth two million dollars! But why take the time to quantify how much a living being is worth, how does one go about it, and what is the point of such an exercise?

Environmental economists can assess the monetary value of ecosystem services, i.e. the economic value of the benefits that humans derive from nature. They are also able to estimate the value of a living organism as complex as a whale by estimating the cost of its services that it contributes to human well-being. The objective is often to answer the question: How much would humans have to spend to compensate for the loss of the services offered by an ecosystem? With regard to whales, carbon storage and the whale-watching industry can be viewed as services that have a quantifiable value.

Carbon sinks and marine celebrities

Whales play an important role in the planetary ecosystem, especially with regard to carbon storage. Indeed, through their iron- and nitrogen-rich excrement, whales stimulate the growth of phytoplankton. Like a fertilizer applied to poor soil, whale feces feeds nutrients back into the ocean. In temperate waters, nitrogen and phosphorus are present in limited quantities, while in cold regions, iron is a limiting factor for the growth of phytoplankton. When a whale moves vertically in the water column to breathe and horizontally to migrate, it transports great quantities of nutrients necessary for the growth of these microorganisms through phenomena referred to as a pump and conveyor belt, respectively. However, the majority of phytoplankton photosynthesize and can therefore store large amounts of CO2. Phytoplankton alone store 40% of the carbon produced on our planet, which is equivalent to the carbon capture of 1.7 trillion trees!

On the other hand, every living creature accumulates carbon over the course of its life, as this element is the basis of complex molecules. Due to their size and longevity, whales accumulate massive quantities of carbon, which they take with them to the bottom of the ocean when they die. Each large whale removes from the atmosphere an average of 33 tonnes of CO2, which is equivalent to the annual carbon sequestration of 1,515 trees.

Lastly, other important economic contributions made by whales are healthier fisheries through nutrient recycling and the whale-watching industry in general. These latter components are every bit as important to consider in a whale’s economic value as its role as a carbon sink.

An argument for their protection

What is the point of performing such calculations? One advantage of this practice is that it helps educate the general public about the importance of a particular species and the benefits of nature in general. Using an economic indicator to encapsulate the contribution of nature also helps ensure its long-term protection while promoting the principles of social justice and intergenerational equity. Calculating an economic value associated with an ecological phenomenon can thus serve as an argument and decision-making tool for funding the protection, management or restoration of an ecosystem component.

The management and protection of whales is complex, as these animals are considered international public goods on account of their migrations that span the globe. Demonstrating that the benefits afforded by their protection greatly exceed the associated costs is an argument in favour of the introduction of new conservation or compensation measures.

Forgetting their intrinsic value?

Jérôme Dupras, professor at the Department of Natural Sciences of the Université du Québec en Outaouais and researcher at the Institute of Temperate Forest Sciences (ISFORT), is critical of calculating a whale’s value strictly from an economic perspective. This expert in environmental economics argues that species have an intrinsic and relational value and that all these values ​​also constitute arguments for their management and protection. “For example, I’m not sure that it’s healthy to place an economic value on an endangered species, since it is not so much its economic value, but rather much broader values ​​that should determine whether or not we should protect a species.” We run the risk of instrumentalizing an animal or reducing an individual to its economic value.”

 

In addition to economic issues, it is important not to neglect social accessibility indicators and ethical issues. As part of his research on the interactions between human activities and nature, Jérôme Dupras is interested not only in total economic value, which includes concrete and tangible values, but also intangible values ​​that are bequeathed to future generations.

Taking into consideration all of a whale’s interactions with the world around it helps one realize the importance of protecting members of its species. But putting a price tag on a whale is quite a challenge, since it also has an intrinsic value that cannot be quantified.

Whale Q&A - 23/11/2021

Marika Drouin

Marika Drouin joined GREMM’s Whales Online team as scientific editor in the fall of 2021. She holds a bachelor’s degree in biology as well as a master’s in biochemistry with an emphasis in bioinformatics from Université Laval. Experienced lifeguard and certified diver, Marika is fascinated by the St. Lawrence River ecosystem and all the species that call it home! With her passion for scientific writing, Marika loves to depict complex phenomena in order to transport her readers into the amazing world of whales!

Recommended articles

Do albino whales exist?

They stand out from other members of their species by their unusual whiteness. They are known as albinos. Like land…

|Whale Q&A 17/11/2021

Why are fin whales so fast?

Nicknamed the “greyhound of the sea,” the fin whale is the fastest of any of the large rorquals that frequent…

|Whale Q&A 9/11/2021

When do the whales of the St. Lawrence migrate?

“Are the whales expected to arrive anytime soon? Are there any whales still in the area? How long will they…

|Whale Q&A 13/10/2021

Quelle est la valeur d’une baleine? Selon une étude réalisée par le Fonds Monétaire International (FMI) en 2019, une grande baleine vaudrait deux millions de dollars! Mais pourquoi prendre le temps de chiffrer ce que vaut un être vivant, comment s’y prend-on, et quel est l’intérêt de cet exercice?

Les spécialistes de l’économie de l’environnement peuvent évaluer la valeur monétaire des services écosystémiques, soit la valeur économique des bénéfices que l’humain retire de la nature. Ils sont aussi en mesure d’estimer la valeur d’un organisme vivant aussi complexe qu’une baleine en évaluant le cout de ses services contribuant au bien-être humain. L’objectif est souvent de répondre à la question : combien l’humain devrait-il dépenser pour compenser la perte des services offerts par un écosystème? En ce qui concerne les baleines, le stockage de carbone et le tourisme lié à leur observation peuvent être considérés comme des services auxquels on peut associer une valeur.

Des puits de carbone et des vedettes marines

Les baleines jouent un rôle important dans l’écosystème planétaire, notamment pour le stockage du carbone. En effet, les baleines favorisent la croissance du phytoplancton grâce à leurs excréments qui contiennent une grande quantité de fer et d’azote. Tel un engrais dans un sol pauvre, les excréments des baleines enrichissent l’océan de nutriments. Dans les régions chaudes de l’océan, l’azote et le phosphore sont présents en quantité limitée, alors que dans les régions froides, c’est plutôt le fer qui est un facteur limitant de la croissance du phytoplancton. Lorsque la baleine se déplace verticalement dans la colonne d’eau pour respirer et horizontalement pour migrer, elle relocalise une grande quantité de nutriments nécessaires à la croissance de ces microorganismes, des phénomènes appelés respectivement pompe et tapis roulant de la baleine. Or, la majorité du phytoplancton fait de la photosynthèse et peut donc stocker une grande quantité de CO2. À lui seul, le phytoplancton stocke 40% du carbone produit sur notre planète, ce qui équivaut à la captation de carbone de 1,7 trillion d’arbres!

D’autre part, chaque être vivant accumule du carbone au cours de sa vie, puisqu’il est à la base des molécules complexes. Les baleines, qui ont une grande taille et qui vivent très longtemps, en accumulent donc une grande quantité, qu’elles emportent avec elles au fond de l’océan lorsqu’elles meurent. Chaque grande baleine séquestre en moyenne 33 tonnes de CO2 à l’extérieur de l’atmosphère, soit l’équivalent de la séquestration de carbone d’environ 1500 arbres en une année.

Finalement, les autres contributions économiques importantes des baleines sont l’amélioration de la pêche grâce au recyclage des nutriments qu’elles favorisent et le tourisme d’observation des baleines. Ces dernières composantes sont tout aussi importantes à considérer dans la valeur économique associée à une baleine que le fait qu’elle constitue un puits de carbone.

Un argument pour leur protection

Pourquoi faire un tel calcul? Un avantage de cette pratique est qu’elle permet de sensibiliser le grand public à l’importance d’une espèce en particulier et aux bénéfices de la nature en général. L’utilisation d’un indicateur économique de la contribution de la Nature permet aussi de faire valoir des principes de justice sociale et d’équité intergénérationnelle pour assurer sa protection à long terme. Le calcul d’une valeur économique associée à un phénomène écologique peut ainsi servir d’argument et d’aide à la décision quant au financement de la protection, de la gestion ou de la restauration d’une composante d’un écosystème.

Dans le cas des baleines, leur gestion et leur protection sont complexes, puisqu’elles sont considérées comme des biens publics internationaux à cause de leurs migrations à travers le globe. Montrer que les bénéfices de leur protection dépassent largement les couts associés constitue un argument favorable à l’instauration de nouvelles mesures de conservation ou de compensation.

L’oublie de leur valeur intrinsèque?

Jérôme Dupras, professeur au Département des sciences naturelles de l’UQO et chercheur à l’Institut des sciences de la forêt tempérée (ISFORT), reste critique par rapport au calcul d’une valeur strictement économique d’une baleine. Cet expert en économie écologique soutient que les espèces possèdent une valeur intrinsèque et relationnelle et que toutes ces valeurs constituent aussi des arguments pour leur gestion et leur protection. «Par exemple,  je ne suis pas certain qu’il soit sain de donner une valeur économique à une espèce menacée, puisque ce n’est pas sa valeur économique, mais plutôt des valeurs beaucoup plus larges qui devraient déterminer pourquoi on devrait protéger une espèce ou non, témoigne-t-il. Le risque est d’instrumentaliser un animal, de résumer un individu à sa valeur économique».

En plus des enjeux économiques, il importe de ne pas négliger les indicateurs d’accessibilité sociale et les enjeux éthiques. Dans le cadre de sa recherche à propos des interactions entre des interventions humaines et la Nature, Jérôme Dupras s’intéresse à la valeur économique totale, qui inclut des valeurs concrètes et tangibles, mais également les valeurs intangibles de legs aux générations futures.

Faire l’exercice de considérer toutes les interactions d’une baleine avec le monde qui l’entoure permet de réaliser l’importance de protéger les membres de son espèce. Mais attribuer un prix à une baleine représente tout un défi, puisqu’elle possède aussi une valeur intrinsèque, une valeur inestimable.

Les baleines en questions - 23/11/2021

Marika Drouin

Marika Drouin a rejoint l'équipe de Baleine en direct en tant que rédactrice scientifique au GREMM à l'automne 2021. Elle a effectué un baccalauréat en biologie ainsi qu'une maitrise en biochimie - profil bio-informatique à l'Université Laval. Sauveteuse durant de nombreux étés et plongeuse à ses heures, Marika est fascinée par l'écosystème du fleuve St-Laurent et par toutes les espèces qui y vivent! Passionnée par la communication scientifique, Marika adore imager des phénomènes complexes afin de faire voyager toute personne intéressée dans le monde insoupçonné des baleines!

Articles recommandés

Les baleines peuvent-elles être albinos?

Ils se distinguent de leurs congénères par leur blancheur hors du commun. On les appelle des albinos. Tout comme les…

|Les baleines en questions 17/11/2021

Pourquoi les rorquals communs sont-ils si rapides?

Surnommé le lévrier des mers, le rorqual commun est le plus rapide des grands rorquals qui fréquentent le Saint-Laurent. Sa…

|Les baleines en questions 3/11/2021

Quand est-ce que les baleines du Saint-Laurent migrent ?

« Les baleines vont-elles bientôt arriver? Les baleines sont-elles toujours là ? Jusqu’à quand ? ». Chaque printemps et chaque automne, c’est avec des…

|Les baleines en questions 13/10/2021