This article is part of a series of portraits of people involved in some way with whales on the North Shore. Of Quebec As part of the Whale Route Documentation Project, meet these colourful characters who define the face of the region. Discover their stories that will bring you to life or relive the wonderful stories of the St. Lawrence River and its giant marine creatures! 

Marie Karine is closely involved in protecting and enhancing the coastline of the Haute-Côte-Nord–Manicouagan region. She is director of the ZIP (zone d’intervention prioritaire, or area of primary concern) on the north shore of the Estuary, which covers the entire coastline from Tadoussac to Baie-Trinité. The objective is to promote their coordination in order to tackle local and regional issues related to the St. Lawrence and its various uses.

Based in Baie-Comeau, this committee ensures the protection and enhancement of ecosystems along the St. Lawrence. It ensures the rehabilitation of disturbed environments and better accessibility to the Estuary’s northern coast in a spirit of sustainable development and respect of local communities.

“Our primary mandate is first and foremost the protection, enhancement and accessibility of the St. Lawrence River. It covers a lot of issues, including marine mammals.” – Marie Karine Maltais

The committee is involved with marine mammals. It is notably responsible for the creation of the Whale Route Observation Network in 2009, which is marked with signs and interpretive panels on display at several locations. When it was created, the committee oversaw the enhancement of and access to places that lend themselves to land-based observations, especially through the construction of walkways and lookouts.

Marie Karine Maltais works with municipalities, citizens, elected officials, ministries and even students to raise awareness of coastal ecosystems. “Swamps, for example, are not always popular in the public’s view. People often mistakenly think that these are environments that have little value. But, in addition to being extremely productive, salt marshes are in a way the kidneys of the Estuary, filtering the water of all kinds of heavy metals, toxic chemicals, etc. “They make a substantial contribution to enriching the entire ecosystem and giving our large cetaceans a place to thrive here in the River,” says the director.

Marie Karine is also a user of the St. Lawrence and a seasoned observer!

Until quite recently, she owned a house on the riverfront, very close to Baie-Comeau. She says she observed marine mammals there regularly. While working in the kitchen, she would often cry out anytime she spotted marine mammal activity: harbour porpoises, spouts, even a sperm whale!

But one particularly memorable observation was when she saw a large mass floating on the water surface near the bay. At first she thought she was looking at the back of a whale, but it did not dive. Then she thought it was a huge log. After a good minute, she realized that it was indeed a whale. “Is it dead?” she wonders. No, it was sleeping!

Whales sometimes take brief naps on the water surface. Some whales float on the surface, others slow down and refrain from taking deep dives, a behaviour that recalls a floating log. Incidentally, this technique is called “logging”. It’s quite common for observers to confuse them, and it’s easy to see why!

Even through her kitchen window, Marie Karine gazes out over our beautiful St. Lawrence and its giant mammals!

Observation of the Week - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin joined the Whales Online team in the summer of 2019. With a Master’s degree in environmental science and ocean and coastal zone management, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in marine ecology, it is an honour for her to be able to learn and share stories about marine mammals and the St. Lawrence ecosystem. As founder and editor-in-chief of the Blue Organization, she believes that environmental communication and popular science are essential for the protection of our oceans and our cherished St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

Two Humpbacks off Pointe-des-Monts

Pointe-des-Monts, February 8: You don’t need a thermometer to know the air is frigid: sea smoke hangs over the St.…

|Observation of the Week 13/2/2020

Born in Warm Waters

Before heading south to more temperate climates, let’s take a brief look at sightings here in the St. Lawrence. Posted…

|Observation of the Week 7/2/2020

Born on the Ice

Humpback whales travel to warm Caribbean waters to give birth, while North Atlantic right whales calve in the waters of…

|Observation of the Week 31/1/2020

Cet article fait partie d’une série de portraits de gens impliqués de près ou de loin avec les baleines en Côte-Nord. Dans le cadre du projet de documentation de la Route des baleines du GREMM, partez à la rencontre de ces personnages colorés, qui définissent le visage de la région. Découvrez leurs récits qui vous ferons vivre ou revivre les histoires merveilleuses du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de ses géantes créatures marines! 

Marie Karine est impliquée de près dans la protection et la valorisation du littoral de la Haute-Côte-Nord–Manicouagan. Elle est directrice de la zone d’intervention prioritaire (ZIP) de la rive nord de l’estuaire, territoire couvrant tout le littoral de Tadoussac jusqu’à la Baie-Trinité. L’objectif est de favoriser leur concertation en vue de résoudre les problèmes locaux et régionaux liés au fleuve et à ses multiples usages.

Le comité basé à Baie-Comeau veille à la protection et à la mise en valeur des écosystèmes limitrophes du Saint-Laurent sur le territoire. Il s’assure de la réhabilitation des milieux perturbés et d’une meilleure accessibilité à la rive nord de l’estuaire dans une perspective de développement durable et dans le respect des communautés locales.

«Notre principal mandat est d’abord la protection, la mise en valeur et l’accessibilité du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Ça couvre beaucoup d’enjeux, dont les mammifères marins.» – Marie Karine Maltais

Le comité est impliqué avec les mammifères marins. Il est responsable notamment de la création du Réseau d’observation sur la Route des baleines en 2009, que vous pourrez repérer par des enseignes et panneaux d’interprétation à plusieurs sites décrits dans notre parcours. Lors de sa création, le comité a assuré la valorisation et l’accès de lieux propices à l’observation terrestre, notamment par l’aménagement de passerelles ou de belvédères.

Marie Karine Maltais œuvre à faire connaitre les écosystèmes côtiers, tant auprès des municipalités, des citoyens, des élus, des ministères et même des élèves. «Les marais, par exemple, n’ont pas toujours “la cote” aux yeux du public. Les gens pensent souvent à tort que ce sont des milieux qui apportent peu. Mais les marais salés, en plus d’être extrêmement productifs, sont en quelque sorte les reins de l’estuaire, filtrant l’eau de toutes sortes de métaux lourds, de produits toxiques, etc. «Ils contribuent énormément à enrichir l’écosystème entier, et à faire prospérer nos grands cétacés, ici dans le fleuve», dit la directrice.

Marie Karine est aussi une utilisatrice du fleuve et une observatrice aguerrie!

Jusqu’à très récemment, elle avait une maison sur le bord du fleuve, tout près de Baie-Comeau. Elle dit y avoir observé les mammifères marins régulièrement. En cuisinant, elle s’exclamait souvent devant des marsouins communs, des souffles de baleines et même un cachalot!

Mais une observation l’a marquée plus particulièrement lorsqu’elle a aperçu une grosse masse flotter à la surface de l’eau tout près de la baie. Elle croyait d’abord voir un dos de baleine, mais celle-ci ne plongeait pas. Puis elle a pensé à un gros rondin de bois. Au bout d’une bonne minute, elle a réalisé qu’il s’agissait bel et bien d’une baleine. «Est-elle morte ?», s’inquiète-t-elle. Non, elle dormait!

Les baleines prennent du repos à la surface en dormant de courtes siestes. Certaines baleines flottent en surface, d’autres ralentissent et cessent de plonger en profondeur, un comportement rappelant un billot de bois qui flotte. Cette technique est conséquemment appelée le «billotage». Il est assez fréquent que des observateurs les confondent, avec raison!

Même par la fenêtre de sa cuisine, Marie Karine veille sur notre beau fleuve et ses grands mammifères!

Observations de la semaine - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct comme rédactrice à l’été 2019. Avec une maitrise en environnement, gestion des océans et zones côtières, et un baccalauréat en écologie marine, c’est un honneur pour elle de pouvoir apprendre et partager les récits des mammifères marins et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Aussi fondatrice et rédactrice en chef de l’Organisation Bleue, elle croit que la communication environnementale et la vulgarisation scientifique sont essentielles à la protection de nos océans et de notre fleuve.

Articles recommandés

Première mention d’un petit rorqual en 2020

Nous avons reçu la première mention d’un petit rorqual dans le Saint-Laurent pour 2020! C’est un promeneur chanceux qui a…

|Observations de la semaine 26/3/2020

Le printemps des phoques

« 72! », c’est le nombre de phoques que notre collaboratrice Laeticia Desbordes a la chance d’observer et de comptabiliser…

|Observations de la semaine 18/3/2020

Deux bleus entre les glaces

Les moteurs du NGCC Amundsen, le brise-glace de la Garde côtière canadienne, vibrent sous les pieds des chercheurs et chercheuses…

|Observations de la semaine 12/3/2020