This week, winter lovers were able to take advantage of the short, sunny days to admire seals, belugas, minke whales and humpbacks from the St. Lawrence shoreline. In other areas, marine mammal sightings were precluded by poor weather conditions.

Black heads, white backs

A few small black heads pierce the water surface in Saint-Siméon. To whom do they belong? Harbour seals! These year-round residents of the St. Lawrence are recognizable by their rounded heads, V-shaped nostrils and dog-like snouts. This coastal species is regularly observed near the shoreline.

At the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord, a minke whale came to feed on December 6 near Tadoussac, much to the delight of those who were there to observe it. Where the Saguenay flows into the St. Lawrence, between Tadoussac and Baie-Sainte-Catherine, a clear distinction between the two watercourses can be seen. These nutrient-rich waters attract many marine mammals. Belugas were also swimming in the area that day: “My first belugas of the winter,” exclaims one naturalist, “It was white on white.” As the only cetacean to reside in the St. Lawrence year-round, belugas are well adapted to survive our cold winters! They have a thick coat of blubber that helps them retain body heat, as well as a dorsal ridge in lieu of a fin, which reduces heat loss, enhances manoeuvrability and allows them to break through the ice cover.

Admiring marine mammals at the river’s edge

A French family vacationing on the North Shore reports seeing harbour seals and minke whales at Cap de Bon-Désir  in Les Bergeronnes on December 4. These lucky folks were able to capture some great shots to remember these fortuitous encounters! In Les Escoumins, minke whales have been regularly coming to feed near the shore: “I saw one small gibard yesterday and two today,”  mentions a St. Lawrence pilot.” This nickname used by French speakers for the smallest of baleen whales comes from the Latin gibbus, which translates as “humped one.”

A little farther east, in Franquelin, a humpback whale is stirring: “It was a big, beautiful humpback,” describes a marine mammal enthusiast. “She was performing deep dives and there were also three minke whales in the vicinity. There seem to be two humpbacks in the area as well as a few minkes.” In the Sept-Îles sector, weather conditions did not allow for the observation of cetaceans or pinnipeds, unfortunately. Whales are nevertheless present, regardless of the rain, wind or fog. However, the presence of ice on the shores of the St. Lawrence will ultimately result in fewer whales.

 

At the tip of the Gaspé Peninsula, viewing conditions for marine mammals have been favourable for land-based observers. A few harbour seals have been present in Gaspé Bay, while three humpback whales were spotted near Cap-Chat. Could these individuals be quietly heading toward their winter breeding grounds in the Caribbean? Impossible to say for sure, but it certainly is a possibility!

Share your observations!

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Want to share your observations and contribute to citizen science? Use the marine mammal observation entry tool.

Observation of the Week - 8/12/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Belugas and Migrating Birds

This past week, belugas have been seen from both shores of the estuary. Humpbacks, minke whales and seals were also…

|Observation of the Week 25/4/2024

Cette semaine, les amoureux de l’hiver ont pu profiter des courtes journées ensoleillées pour aller admirer phoques, bélugas, petits rorquals et rorquals à bosses sur les rives du Saint-Laurent. Dans d’autres régions, les conditions météorologiques ont empêché les observations de mammifères marins.

Têtes noires et dos blancs

Quelques petites têtes noires percent la surface de l’eau à Saint-Siméon. De qui s’agit-il? De phoques communs! Ces résidents du Saint-Laurent se reconnaissent grâce à leur tête arrondie, à leurs narines en forme de « V » et à leur museau qui fait penser à celui d’un chien. Cette espèce côtière est régulièrement observée à proximité de la rive.

À l’embouchure du fjord du Saguenay, un petit rorqual est venu s’alimenter le 6 décembre du côté de Tadoussac, au grand plaisir des personnes qui ont pu l’observer. La rivière Saguenay se jette dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent entre Tadoussac et Baie-Sainte-Catherine, une distinction entre ces eaux est perceptible. Cette zone très productive attire nombre de mammifères marins. Des bélugas ont également circulé dans le secteur la même journée : «mes premiers bélugas de l’hiver, s’est extasiée une naturaliste, c’était blanc sur blanc.» Seul cétacé à vivre à l’année dans le Saint-Laurent, les bélugas sont bien adaptés pour vivre dans le froid hivernal! Ils possèdent un épais manteau de gras, qui les aident à conserver leur chaleur et ont une crête dorsale à la place d’une nageoire, ce qui diminue les pertes thermiques en plus d’augmenter leur manœuvrabilité et de leur permettre de briser le couvert de glace.

Au bord du fleuve avec les mammifères marins

Une famille française en vacances sur la Côte-Nord rapporte des observations de phoques communs et de petits rorquals au Cap de Bon-Désir aux Bergeronnes le 4 décembre. Les chanceux auront pu capturer de magnifiques clichés en souvenir de ces rencontres! Aux Escoumins, des petits rorquals viennent régulièrement s’alimenter à proximité de la rive : «j’ai vu un petit gibard hier et deux aujourd’hui» mentionne un pilote. Ce surnom,  «gibard», attribué à la plus petite des baleines à fanons, vient du latin gibbus, qui signifie «celui qui a une bosse».

Un peu plus à l’est, à Franquelin, un rorqual à bosse brasse de l’eau : «c’était une belle grosse baleine à bosse, explique un passionné des mammifères marins. Elle plongeait très profond et il y avait trois petits rorquals qui nageaient autour. Il semble y avoir deux bosses dans le secteur et quelques petits rorquals.» Du côté de Sept-Îles, les conditions météorologiques n’ont malheureusement pas permis l’observation de cétacés ou de pinnipèdes. Les baleines sont toujours présentes, peu importe la pluie, le vent ou le brouillard. Néanmoins, la présence de glace sur les côtes du Saint-Laurent aura comme effet de diminuer la présence des baleines.

À l’extrémité de la péninsule gaspésienne, les chances d’apercevoir des mammifères marins sont favorables aux observateurs terrestres. Quelques phoques communs sont présents dans la baie de Gaspé pendant que trois rorquals à bosse nagent du côté de Cap-Chat. Serait-ce des individus qui se dirigent tranquillement vers leur aire de reproduction hivernale dans les Caraïbes? Impossible à confirmer, mais c’est une possibilité!

Partagez vos observations!

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne ? Utilisez l’outil de saisie d’observation de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 8/12/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

De retour sur l’eau

Mardi, 23 mai 2023. C’est la deuxième sortie sur l’eau de la saison pour le cétologue amateur René Roy. Au…

|Observations de la semaine 25/5/2023
Bp920 rorqual commun

Les rorquals communs sont dans la place!

Ce ne sont pas le vent et la neige qui ont empêché les mammifères marins de défiler dans le Saint-Laurent…

|Observations de la semaine 18/5/2023

L’arrivée de Tic Tac Toe

Si certaines communautés guettent la débâcle de la rivière locale ou encore la floraison des tulipes, en Haute-Côte-Nord c’est le…

|Observations de la semaine 11/5/2023