So many pinnipeds in this chilly week of February! That’s what several observers from the Côte-Nord region have been telling us, including mariner Jacques Gélineau. Jacques saw a group of a hundred or so harp seals feeding near the shores of Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan. And he’s not the only one whose gaze has landed on a large gathering of seals. “I stopped in Franquelin to take in the sunset and saw hundreds of seals at the bottom of the cliff. Wow!” exclaims one local resident. Not far from there, in Gallix, another observer also had the chance to watch these marine mammals on the horizon. “There were at least thirty seals resting on blocks of frozen snow,” she reports. Further west, at Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes, the keen eye of photographer Renaud Pintiaux spotted a few harbour seals, grey seals, and a single harp seal.

In terms of whales, however, it’s been dead calm. The presence of a large expanse of ice on the shores of the St. Lawrence complicates the observation of cetaceans during this most inclement time of the year. So how about if we look beyond Quebec and see what’s happening cetacean-wise elsewhere around the globe?

Stateside

As fall draws to a close and the first snowflakes begin to fall, whales leave Canadian waters and head for their wintering grounds, which in the case of certain species are well known. For example, in winter, most North Atlantic right whales take refuge in the warm waters of North and South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida. Females give birth to their young between December and March. Since the start of the 2021-2022 calving season, 13 newborns have been reported. This tally is particularly encouraging for this vulnerable species, whose population now numbers fewer than 350 individuals. Each calf is a ray of hope for the species’ survival.

The seasonal migratory movements of humpback whales are also well known. In recent weeks, several have been observed daily in the Caribbean. Like right whales, mature humpbacks leave for temperate waters to give birth to their calves during the winter. In a few months, these mother-calf pairs will leave their tropical paradise and embark on a perilous journey north, notably toward the St. Lawrence River.

Halfway around the world

This time of year, whales are also abundant off the west coast of Australia. But rather than baleen giants, cetacean lovers have been enjoying encounters with pods of killer whales and pilot whales. Blue whales can be found in these waters only in the months of April and May, while humpbacks frequent the area between May and December.

In Hawaii, a photographer had the chance to capture some unique footage using a drone. In the video, we can observe a humpback whale turning over itself with a dolphin at its side. Were they playing together, or was the rorqual annoyed and performing this manoeuvre in an attempt to drive the dolphin away? Either way, this amazing scene reminds us how wonderful and mysterious cetaceans are.

Do you have an observation to share? Write to us!

Have you seen a marine mammal in the St. Lawrence? Share your sighting and photos with the Whales Online team and its readers by contacting us at [email protected]

Observation of the Week - 10/2/2022

Elisabeth Guillet Beaulieu

Elisabeth Guillet-Beaulieu joined GREMM’s scientific editorial team in the early fall of 2021. Her boundless love for marine biology and aquatic environments from a young age ultimately led her to pursue a career in science. With a bachelor’s degree in biology, this nature and conservation enthusiast joined the Whales Online team in the hope of sharing her contagious passion for marine mammals while completing her master’s in the environment and sustainable development.

Recommended articles

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Belugas and Migrating Birds

This past week, belugas have been seen from both shores of the estuary. Humpbacks, minke whales and seals were also…

|Observation of the Week 25/4/2024

Que de pinnipèdes en cette froide semaine de février! C’est ce que nous rapportent plusieurs observateurs de la Côte-Nord, dont le navigateur Jacques Gélineau. Ce dernier a aperçu un groupe d’une centaine de phoques du Groenland en alimentation près de la berge de Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan. Et il n’est pas le seul dont le regard s’est posé sur un large rassemblement de loups-marins. «Je me suis arrêté à Franquelin pour observer le coucher de soleil et j’ai vu des centaines de phoques au bas de la falaise. Wow!», s’exclame un riverain. Non loin de là, à Gallix, une observatrice a elle aussi eu la chance d’en apercevoir à l’horizon. «Ils étaient au moins une trentaine de phoques se reposant sur des blocs de neige glacée», raconte-t-elle. Plus à l’ouest, au cap de Bon Désir, aux Bergeronnes, le regard du photographe Renaud Pintiaux a croisé celui de quelques phoques communs, de phoques gris ainsi que d’un phoque du Groenland.

Côté baleines, cependant, c’est le calme plat. La présence d’une large couche de glace sur les rives du Saint-Laurent complique l’observation de cétacés en cette période rigoureuse de l’année. Alors, que diriez-vous de regarder au-delà des eaux québécoises et de jeter un œil aux géantes des mers présentes ailleurs sur le globe?

Chez nos voisins du Sud

Lorsque l’automne tire à sa fin pour laisser place aux premiers flocons, les baleines quittent les eaux canadiennes. Elles se dirigent vers leurs aires hivernales, qui dans le cas de certaines espèces, sont bien connues. Par exemple, en hiver, la plupart des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord se réfugient dans les eaux chaudes des Carolines du Nord et du Sud, de la Géorgie et de la Floride. De décembre à mars, la période de mise bas des femelles prend place. Depuis le début de la saison des naissances 2021-2022, 13 nouveau-nés ont été rapportés. Ce bilan est particulièrement encourageant pour cette espèce vulnérable qui compte moins de 350 individus. Chaque veau est une lueur d’espoir pour leur survie.

Les mouvements migratoires saisonniers des rorquals à bosse sont aussi bien connus. Présentement, plusieurs d’entre eux sont observés quotidiennement au large des Caraïbes. Comme les baleines noires, les rorquals à bosse matures partent vers des eaux chaudes pour donner naissance à leurs petits dans le courant de l’hiver. Dans quelques mois, ces paires mère-veau quitteront leur paradis tropical et amorceront un périlleux périple vers le Nord, notamment en direction du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Aux antipodes

En cette période de l’année, les baleines abondent aussi sur la côte ouest de l’Australie. Mais au lieu de géantes à fanons, les amateurs de cétacés ont plutôt la chance d’aller à la rencontre de groupes d’épaulards et de globicéphales noirs. Les rorquals bleus n’y seront de retour que pour les mois d’avril et de mai, alors que les rorquals à bosse ne fréquentent les lieux qu’entre mai et décembre.

Du côté d’Hawaii, un photographe a eu l’opportunité de capturer un moment unique via l’usage d’un drone. Sur la vidéo qu’il a pu capter, on peut observer un rorqual à bosse tournant sur lui-même avec un dauphin à ses côtés. Jouaient-ils ensemble, ou est-ce que le rorqual, agacé, effectuait plutôt cette manœuvre pour tenter d’éloigner l’odontocète? Quoi qu’il en soit, cette scène étonnante nous rappelle à quel point les cétacés sont à la fois merveilleux et mystérieux.

Vous avez une observation à partager? Écrivez-nous!

Vous avez vu un mammifère marin dans le Saint-Laurent? Partagez votre observation et vos photos avec l’équipe de Baleines en direct et ses lecteurs en nous écrivant à [email protected]

Observations de la semaine - 10/2/2022

Elisabeth Guillet Beaulieu

Elisabeth Guillet-Beaulieu a rejoint le GREMM en tant que rédactrice scientifique au début de l'automne 2021. Depuis toujours, elle est animée par un amour inépuisable de la biologie marine et des milieux aquatiques, amour qui se manifeste aujourd'hui dans la poursuite d'une carrière scientifique. Détentrice d'un baccalauréat en sciences biologiques, cette enthousiaste de l'environnement et de la conservation des milieux naturels a rejoint l'équipe de Baleines en direct dans l'espoir de partager sa passion contagieuse des mammifères marins tout en achevant sa maîtrise en environnement et développement durable.

Articles recommandés

Un vent d’automne

Les navigateurs le savent, l’automne, les tempêtes produisent souvent des vents forts, provenant de l’est ou du nord-est. Si certains…

|Observations de la semaine 30/9/2022

Bosses, phoques et bélugas

Cette semaine, un peu partout dans le Saint-Laurent, les rorquals à bosse mènent le bal des observations, accompagnés d’autres espèces…

|Observations de la semaine 23/9/2022

Brouillard sur les flots

La dernière semaine aura été marquée par la présence de brouillard un peu partout sur le Saint-Laurent. Des Iles de…

|Observations de la semaine 15/9/2022