With Arctic shipping routes increasingly used by merchant shipping, an ice-free Arctic Ocean could put the resistance and adaptability of marine mammals to the test. Ship strikes and increased light and noise pollution can be problematic for whales and seals. Experts expect these problems to become more and more common with the emergence of Arctic shipping lanes such as the Northwest Passage and the Northeast Passage.

Dany Dumont, oceanographer at the Rimouski Institute of Ocean Sciences (ISMER), explains that, according to some climate models, “within the next few decades, in September, when the Arctic is at its warmest, it will be possible to pass directly through the North Pole. In this context, how can the promising economic development of the Arctic Ocean be reconciled with its increasingly vulnerable ecosystem?

Assessing the vulnerability of marine mammals

The study conducted by Donna Hauser and her collaborators demonstrates the vulnerability of 42 of the 80 Arctic marine mammal subpopulations sampled. Of the seven species observed, narwhals, walruses, bowhead whales and belugas are at high risk with regard to shipping. The narwhal is particularly sensitive, since its range, which occupies about a quarter of the Arctic, lies smack in the middle of several shipping lanes.

Cetaceans inhabiting the Arctic are migratory animals that follow corridors that have been established for generations. They are also faithful to certain feeding grounds in highly productive waters. The Northwest Passage and the Northeast Passage overlap these popular feeding grounds and fall migration routes. Furthermore, certain geographical features form bottlenecks and force ships and marine mammals to share a very limited area. The Bering Strait and Lancaster Sound are areas where the Northwest Passage directly encroaches on the range of marine mammal populations.

Planning new routes

Faced with the vulnerability of marine mammals, Donna Hauser’s team suggests mitigation measures to attempt to limit the effect of new shipping lanes. Avoiding critical habitats for species at risk when planning routes and detecting and avoiding whales encountered could make a difference.

In conclusion, ISMER’s Dany Dumont points out that, although melting ice is a key factor for navigation, captains are not likely to sail the maritime routes of the Arctic anytime soon: “If I were a ship owner, in addition to the disappearance of the ice, I would wait until the Arctic climate is less unpredictable to make a crossing. Otherwise, even without ice, it isn’t safe.”

There is still a considerable way to go before Arctic shipping lanes are fully accessible, which buys us a little time to take action and protect vulnerable marine mammals.

News - 17/9/2018

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin writes for Whales Online since 2018, when she did an internship in scientific journalism at GREMM. Equally at ease whether engaged in scientific research or scientific outreach, she is currently completing her Master's degree in biology at the Université du Québec à Montréal and a certificate in journalism at the Université de Montréal. Jack-of-all-trades, Aurélie has a wide range of interests, from whales to dinosaurs to schools of krill!

Recommended articles

“Window on Belugas” project receives $600,000 in funding from the Quebec government

On Monday, November 15, 2021 at 2:30 p.m., a press conference was held in Cacouna to announce the Government of Quebec’s…

|News 12/11/2021

North Atlantic Right Whales: Climate Refugees

The North Atlantic right whale population is down to approximately 350 individuals and is critically endangered. The recovery of this…

|News 8/11/2021

Climate Change Triggers Shifts in Fin Whale Diets

As predators, fin whales are considered generalists, capable of hunting and feeding on a variety of prey ranging from zooplankton…

|News 1/11/2021

Avec des routes maritimes arctiques de plus en plus utilisées par la navigation marchande, un océan Arctique libre de glace pourrait tester la résistance et la capacité d’adaptation des mammifères marins. Les collisions avec les navires et l’augmentation de la pollution, autant lumineuse que sonore, peuvent être problématiques pour les baleines et les phoques. Les experts s’attendent à ce que ces problèmes deviennent de plus en plus fréquents avec l’avènement des routes maritimes arctiques comme le passage du Nord-Ouest et la route maritime du Nord.

Dany Dumont, océanographe à l’Institut des sciences de la mer à Rimouski (ISMER), explique que certains modèles climatiques prévoit que : « d’ici quelques décennies, au mois de septembre, alors que l’Arctique est à son plus chaud, il sera possible de passer directement par le pôle Nord. » Dans ce contexte, comment allier le développement économique prometteur de l’océan Arctique et son écosystème de plus en plus vulnérable?

Évaluer la fragilité des mammifères marins

L’étude de Donna Hauser et ses collaborateurs démontre la vulnérabilité de 42 des 80 sous-populations de mammifères marins arctiques échantillonnées. Des sept espèces observées, les narvals, les morses, les baleines boréales et les bélugas sont à un niveau de risque élevé face au trafic maritime. Le narval, en particulier, est fort sensible, puisque son aire de répartition qui occupe environ le quart de l’Arctique se trouve pile au travers des voies maritimes.

Les cétacés qui habitent l’Arctique sont des animaux migrateurs qui suivent des routes établies depuis des générations. Ils sont également fidèles à certains sites d’alimentation se trouvant dans des eaux très productives. Le passage du Nord-Ouest et la route maritime du Nord se juxtaposent à ces endroits prisés pour se nourrir et aux routes migratoires empruntées à l’automne. De plus, certaines zones géographiques forment un goulot et amènent les navires et les mammifères marins à se partager un territoire très restreint. La baie de Baffin, le détroit de Béring et le détroit de Lancaster sont des zones où le passage du Nord-Ouest empiète directement sur l’aire de répartition des populations de mammifères marins.

Planifier ces nouvelles routes

Face à la vulnérabilité des mammifères marins, l’équipe de Donna Hauser suggère des mesures d’atténuation pour tenter de limiter l’effet des nouvelles voies maritimes. L’évitement des habitats clés des espèces à risque lors de la planification des itinéraires ainsi que la détection et l’évitement des baleines rencontrées pourraient faire une différence.

En terminant, Dany Dumont de l’ISMER remarque que, même si la fonte de la glace est un facteur d’importance pour la navigation, ce n’est pas demain qu’on naviguera les routes maritimes de l’océan Arctique : « Si j’étais armateur, en plus de la disparition de la glace, j’attendrai que le système climatique de l’Arctique soit moins imprévisible pour faire une traversée. Autrement, même sans glace, ce n’est pas sécuritaire. »

Il reste donc encore du chemin à faire avant que les voies maritimes de l’Arctique soient pleinement praticables, ce qui laisse du temps pour agir et protéger les mammifères marins vulnérables.

Actualité - 17/9/2018

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin est rédactrice pour Baleines en direct depuis l’été 2018. Aimant autant faire de la science qu’en parler, elle complète sa maitrise en biologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal ainsi qu’un certificat en journalisme à l’Université de Montréal. Sur les ondes de CISM 89,3 FM, elle coanime l’émission de vulgarisation scientifique Le Lab. Aurélie est touche-à-tout et s’intéresse autant aux baleines qu’aux dinosaures en passant par les bancs de krill!

Articles recommandés

Première carcasse de baleine noire: encore un veau frappé par un navire

La première carcasse de baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord de l'année 2020 est repérée par survol aérien le 25 juin,…

|Actualité 2/7/2020

Mois de l’eau 2020: Du plastique flottant jusqu’aux baleines

Par Sarah Boureghda et Gabrielle Morin. Juin est un mois qui rime avec vacances pour plusieurs, mais il s’agit aussi…

|Actualité 30/6/2020

Les 400 dernières baleines noires… et après?

Combien reste-t-il de baleines noires de l'Atlantique Nord, aussi appelées baleines franches? Si la réponse oscille aujourd'hui autour de 400,…

|Actualité 28/6/2020