As winter approaches, migratory whale species are slowly beginning to leave. Although humpback whales are becoming more scarce, the waters of the St. Lawrence are still full of life. Belugas, porpoises, seals, and dolphins are everywhere.

Sightings of humpbacks are becoming increasingly rare in the St. Lawrence. Their migration to the Caribbean seems to be well underway. Every year, thousands of humpbacks complete this 5,500 km trek on an epic journey that takes them to their winter breeding grounds. Next spring, these cetaceans will return to the North Atlantic and the St. Lawrence to feed.

One observer had the opportunity to witness a breaching humpback near Franquelin. This giant of the seas was also spotted in a few other locations throughout the St. Lawrence. A group of three humpbacks was reported near Cap Gaspé and a solitary individual was observed from afar in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park.

Belugas, which reside in the St. Lawrence Estuary year-round, have not gone unnoticed in recent days. The mouth of the Saguenay was alive with their presence! Although they are slow swimmers, a group of belugas can still be quite dynamic in their movements. One individual was also spotted in Tadoussac Bay!

Omnipresent minke whales

Reports of minke whales have been coming in from just about everywhere, beginning on November 4 with one individual feeding near the CIMM museum in Tadoussac. To maintain a healthy weight of between six and eight tonnes, the minke whale consumes planktonic crustaceans and small schooling fish such as herring and capelin. A similar scene played out at the mouth of the Saguenay, where one birder/wildlife photographer remarked that there were “a lot of minke whales feeding around Prince Shoal, which is always a pleasure to see!”

On November 5, a few minke whales were hanging around between Les Bergeronnes and Les Escoumins. Perhaps this is the same group that a local observer noticed on Monday, when he tallied 5 just in front of his home. Other sightings of this cetacean were reported throughout the week from La Malbaie, Sept-Îles, and Gaspé, amongst others.

In Saint-Siméon, a few dozen harbour porpoises rapidly parade down the middle of the river toward Port-au-Persil. This species of toothed whale was also present in Franquelin.

At Cap de Bon-Désir, one observer reported a grey seal attacking a harbour porpoise! Predatory behaviour is not uncommon in these pinnipeds. In fact, they may even feed on this small whale.

A harbour seal is encountered near the mouth of the Brochu River in Sept-Îles; the same species is also observed in La Malbaie. Other grey and harbour seals are spotted in Gaspé Bay. Marine mammals have been numerous in this region this year. Spanning approximately 1,000 km2, the Banc-des-Américains Marine Protected Area provides prime habitat for cetaceans and pinnipeds. Food is plentiful in these peaceful waters, where any activity that could potentially disturb wildlife is prohibited.

Atlantic white-sided dolphins are still being seen in the St. Lawrence, with some reported near Les Escoumins last Sunday. Another fifty or so were spotted near the Saguenay‒St. Lawrence Marine Park on November 8. Jumps, leaps, acrobatics… all at dizzying speed; these dolphins are hard to miss!

Observation of the Week - 10/11/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise joined the Whales Online editorial team in the fall of 2022. As she is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies at the University of Sherbrooke, she wishes to educate about the beauties of nature and wants to encourage people who are interested in it to protect it.

Recommended articles

Big gulps in the bay

The day is calm with a quiet whisper of a wind, while out in the bay, a few dark spots…

|Observation of the Week 1/12/2022

Not one… not two… but six humpbacks!

This week, a few humpback whales were still present in the St. Lawrence and residents were even treated to an…

|Observation of the Week 25/11/2022

White as Snow… Or a Beluga!

As fluffy snowflakes invaded eastern Quebec and a white blanket quietly covered the ground, marine mammals continued on with their…

|Observation of the Week 17/11/2022

Les départs d’espèces de baleines migratrices progressent tranquillement, alors que l’hiver approche. Les rorquals à bosse se font plus discrets, mais les eaux du Saint-Laurent sont encore pleines de vie. Bélugas, marsouins, phoques et dauphins circulent un peu partout.

Les observations de rorquals à bosse se font de plus en plus rares dans le Saint-Laurent. Leur migration vers les Caraïbes semble avoir été entreprise. Ce périple de quelque 5 500 km est accompli par plusieurs milliers de rorquals à bosse chaque année! Ce long voyage leur permet d’atteindre leur site de reproduction hivernal. Au printemps prochain, ces cétacés seront de retour dans les eaux de l’Atlantique Nord et du Saint-Laurent pour s’alimenter.

Un observateur a tout de même eu la chance d’apercevoir un rorqual à bosse en plein breach près de Franquelin. Ce géant des mers a aussi été repéré çà et là ailleurs dans le Saint-Laurent. Un groupe de trois rorquals à bosse est rapporté près du cap Gaspé et un individu solitaire est observé, au loin, dans le parc marin du Saguenay‒Saint-Laurent.

Les bélugas, résidents permanents de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent, n’ont pas manqué à l’appel au cours des derniers jours. L’embouchure de Saguenay frétillait de leur présence! Bien que nageant peu rapidement, un groupe de bélugas peut se montrer dynamique dans ses mouvements. Un individu a aussi été repéré dans la baie de Tadoussac!

Petits rorquals omniprésents

Les observations de petits rorquals sont nombreuses, un peu partout, en commençant le 4 novembre par un petit rorqual en alimentation devant le CIMM, à Tadoussac. Pour maintenir un poids santé entre six à huit tonnes, le petit rorqual consomme des crustacés planctoniques et des petits poissons vivant en bancs, comme le hareng et le capelan. À l’embouchure du Saguenay, même constat: il y a «beaucoup de petits rorquals en alimentation autour du Haut-fond Prince, ça fait toujours plaisir à voir!» commente un ornithologue et photographe animalier.

Le 5 novembre, ce sont quelques petits rorquals qui trainent entre Les Bergeronnes et Les Escoumins. Peut-être s’agit-il du même groupe qu’un observateur de la même région remarque lundi, alors qu’il en dénombre 5 devant chez lui. D’autres observations de cette espèce de cétacé sont rapportées tout au long de la semaine, de La Malbaie à Sept-Îles, jusqu’à Gaspé.

À Saint-Siméon, plusieurs dizaines de marsouins communs descendent rapidement au milieu du fleuve vers Port-au-Persil. Cette espèce de baleine à dents est aussi présente à Franquelin.

Au Cap de Bon-Désir, un observateur rapporte l’attaque d’un phoque gris sur un marsouin commun! Les comportements de prédation de ces pinnipèdes ne sont pas rares. Ils peuvent bel et bien se nourrir de cette petite baleine.

Un phoque commun est rencontré près de la sortie de la rivière Brochu, à Sept-Îles; cette même espèce est aussi observée à La Malbaie. D’autres phoques gris et communs sont repérés dans la baie de Gaspé. Cette année, les mammifères marins se sont montrés nombreux dans cette région. Le Banc-des-Américains, une zone de protection maritime, représente un habitat de qualité pour les cétacés et les pinnipèdes qui s’y rendent. La nourriture y abonde, la paix y règne; toute activité pouvant perturber la faune est proscrite dans cette zone de quelque 1 000 km2.

Les dauphins à flancs blancs de l’Atlantique voguent toujours dans le Saint-Laurent, ils étaient près des Escoumins dimanche dernier. Une cinquantaine d’entre eux côtoient le parc marin du Saguenay‒Saint-Laurent le 8 novembre. Des sauts, des bonds, des acrobaties, le tout en vitesse; ces dauphins ne passent pas inaperçus!

Observations de la semaine - 10/11/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise a rejoint l’équipe de rédaction de Baleines en direct à l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke, elle a le souci de faire connaître les beautés de la nature et d’encourager sa protection à tous ceux qui s’y intéressent.

Articles recommandés

Un rorqual bleu aux Escoumins

Le plus gros des géants aurait fait un détour par les Escoumins! En effet, plusieurs riverains et riveraines auraient eu…

|Observations de la semaine 22/2/2024

Grands souffles au large et phoques sur la glace

Des grands rorquals continuent de souffler devant Franquelin et Godbout, donnant lieu à des observations hivernales toujours extraordinaires. Ailleurs dans…

|Observations de la semaine 15/2/2024

Des airs d’été en février

Encore cette semaine, les rorquals bleus circulent : l'un est repéré à Franquelin, d’autres à Godbout et une mention à…

|Observations de la semaine 8/2/2024