“It’s been a quiet week for whales,” admits a resident of Percé, “but grey seals have been abundant. From our place, we can hear them at night howling from the beach or from Bonaventure Island. It’s powerful and haunting… It’s easy to understand why [in French] they’re nicknamed “sea wolves.”

Although the name “sea wolf” is old and widespread, it can surprisingly designate a number of pinniped species, depending on the region. In Quebec, many people even use this term to designate any seal species in the St. Lawrence. Seals were heard a little bit everywhere this week: in Sainte-Flavie, Saint-Yvon, Cap-aux-Os, Franquelin, as well as at Cap de Bon-Désir, where some grey and harbour seals are still lingering, and off the coast of Tadoussac, where about thirty harbour seals have been resting on the tidal flats, offering a concert of grunting sounds carried by the wind.

In the Magdalen Islands, a local resident writes that minke whales and seals are still present there this week. “Just like they always are,” he emphasizes. In fact, we’re the ones who are on their turf!”

Little white backs, little black backs

On Monday, a minke whale showed its dorsal fin near the docks in Baie-Comeau. A GREMM employee also told us about a passing minke whale opposite the Saint-Siméon ferry terminal on Monday, as well as a small black back in Tadoussac Bay on Wednesday morning.

On Monday, the sound of a perhaps solitary beluga was detected off Cacouna, but sightings seem to be rare on the south shore. On the other hand, on Sunday, Monday and Wednesday, groups of up to 30 or 40 belugas were reported off Les Bergeronnes, the Tadoussac dunes and around Baie-Sainte-Catherine.

In Gaspé Bay, there was a bit of commotion early in the week: one observer tallied fifty or so porpoises, two minke whales and six humpbacks!

Big blasts still present

The onset of winter has gotten the better of the vast majority of our observers at sea, but large whales are still present offshore… and sometimes closer to the coast as well. Posted on the rocks in Les Bergeronnes, photographer Renaud Pintiaux has been observing a group of three humpback whales pass by almost every day. Out at sea, he spotted a dozen or so large spouts, likely humpbacks and fin whales, which continue to feed near the underwater cliffs. “I’ve also been seeing three or four different minke whales that often forage for fish amongst the gulls and seals,” he says.

Spotting a large spout this time of the year can sometimes make a whale enthusiast jump out of their car! A motorist from Saint-Yvon hurriedly parked her vehicle to grab her binoculars after catching sight of a huge splash in the river, followed by a large balloon-shaped blast: a humpback! A similar story comes from another regular observer who was driving between Baie-Comeau and Franquelin. “I saw the backs of minke whales and pulled over. But just as I close the car door, I hear a big blast. Through the trees, I can see several humpbacks swimming through the bay, just a few metres from shore! Then I ran like crazy down the side of the road to reach a clearing, where I saw one of them dive and show its tail.” He juste had enough time to shoot this short and quiet video. According to reports, in the past few days about fifteen individuals of this species have been taking advantage of the calm, fish-laden waters in Baie Saint-Pancrace.

Humpbacks continue to impress observers this year with their exuberant behaviour: “Yesterday, November 17 in Godbout, I saw a small group of 3 or 4 humpbacks coming up the river,” writes one reader. For about a half an hour, I was treated to quite the display of acrobatics as they slapped the water surface with their fins and lifted their enormous tails when they dove. Last Saturday we had two that came into the bay, but they were more calm!”

Observation of the Week - 16/11/2021

Laure Marandet

Laure Marandet has served as editor for the GREMM since early 2020. Convinced that the conservation of species is contingent on a better understanding by the general public, she has been passionate about popularizing science for over 15 years. Her strengths: a dual degree in biology and journalism, an insatiable curiosity, a child-like love for the animal world, and the patience necessary to draft texts that are both clear and precise.

Recommended articles

Bouillonnements colorés au large

Friday morning, from the top of the dunes in Tadoussac, an avid birder spots some splashing in the middle of…

|Observation of the Week 25/11/2021

Porpoises Galore!

In summer, harbour porpoises are often seen moving in large groups of up to several dozen individuals. This time of…

|Observation of the Week 11/11/2021

Calm Waters

As the mercury drops, the weather grows harsher and boats are being docked for the winter, whales are setting out…

|Observation of the Week 4/11/2021

«Côté baleines, c’est tranquille cette semaine, nous confie une habitante de Percé, mais les phoques gris sont bien présents. La nuit, de chez nous, on les entend chanter depuis la plage ou l’ile Bonaventure. C’est puissant et lancinant, on comprend bien pourquoi on les surnomme « loups marins ». »

Si l’appellation «loup marin» est ancienne et répandue, elle désigne étonnamment différentes espèces de pinnipèdes, selon les régions. Beaucoup de Québécois utilisent même ce nom pour désigner toutes les espèces de phoques qui nagent dans le Saint-Laurent. Les « loups de mer » ont donc chanté un peu partout cette semaine : à Sainte-Flavie, à Saint-Yvon, à Cap-aux-Os, à Franquelin, mais aussi au cap de Bon-Désir, où trainent quelques phoques gris et communs et au large de Tadoussac, où une trentaine de phoques communs se reposent sur les battures, offrant un concert de grognements porté par le vent.

Aux iles de la Madeleine, un riverain nous écrit que les petits rorquals et les phoques sont toujours présents cette semaine. «Comme d’habitude, souligne-t-il. En fait, on est chez eux!»

Petits dos blancs, petits dos noirs

Lundi, un petit rorqual est venu pointer sa dorsale près du quai de Baie-Comeau. Un collaborateur du GREMM nous signale aussi le passage d’un petit rorqual devant le quai de la traverse, à Saint-Siméon, lundi, et un petit dos noir dans la baie de Tadoussac mercredi matin.

Lundi, le son d’un béluga peut-être solitaire est capté au large de Cacouna, mais les observations semblent rares sur la rive sud. À l’inverse, dimanche, lundi et mercredi, des groupes allant jusqu’à 30 ou 40 bélugas sont passés au large des Bergeronnes, des dunes de Tadoussac et du côté de Baie-Sainte-Catherine.

Dans la baie de Gaspé, en début de semaine, il y avait de l’agitation : un observateur a dénombré une cinquantaine de marsouins, deux petits rorquals et six rorquals à bosse !

Des grands souffles encore présents

L’arrivée de l’hiver aura eu raison de la grande majorité des observateurs en mer, mais les grosses baleines sont encore là, au large… et parfois aussi plus près. Posté sur les rochers, aux Bergeronnes, le photographe Renaud Pintiaux voit passer presque chaque jour un groupe de trois rorquals à bosses. Au large, il repère une bonne dizaine de grands souffles, probablement des rorquals à bosses et des rorquals communs, qui continuent de s’alimenter au niveau des falaises sous-marines. «Je vois aussi trois ou quatre petits rorquals différents, qui chassent souvent le poisson au milieu des goélands et des phoques», raconte-t-il.

La vision d’un grand souffle en cette saison a le don de faire bondir les passionnés de baleines hors de leur char! Une automobiliste de Saint-Yvon s’est stationnée en urgence pour sortir ses jumelles après avoir vu un immense splash dans le fleuve, suivi d’un gros souffle en ballon: un rorqual à bosse! Anecdote comparable pour cet observateur régulier, qui roulait entre Baie-Comeau et Franquelin. «J’ai vu des dos de petits rorquals et je me suis arrêté. Mais juste quand je ferme la porte de l’auto, j’entends un gros souffle. Je vois à travers les arbres qu’il s’agit de plusieurs baleines à bosse, qui passent dans la baie, à quelques dizaines de pieds de la rive! Je cours alors comme un fou sur le bord du chemin pour atteindre une éclaircie et en voir une plonger en montrant sa queue.» Il a juste le temps de capter une vidéo, visible ici. D’après les observations, une quinzaine d’individus de cette espèce ont profité ces derniers jours des eaux calmes et poissonneuses de la baie Saint-Pancrace.

Les baleines à bosse continuent de surprendre les observateurs par leurs comportements exubérants très marqués cette année : «hier le 17 novembre à Godbout, j’ai vu passer un petit groupe de 3 à 4 baleines à bosse qui remontaient le fleuve, nous écrit un lecteur. J’ai eu droit durant une trentaine de minutes à tout un spectacle de haute voltige: elles tapaient l’eau de leurs nageoires ou plongeaient en sortant leur immense queue. Samedi dernier, nous en avons eu deux qui étaient venues dans la baie, mais elles étaient plus calmes!»

Observations de la semaine - 16/11/2021

Laure Marandet

Laure Marandet est rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis l'hiver 2020. Persuadée que la conservation des espèces passe par une meilleure connaissance du grand public, elle pratique avec passion la vulgarisation scientifique depuis plus de 15 ans. Ses armes: une double formation de biologiste et de journaliste, une insatiable curiosité, un amour d'enfant pour le monde animal, et la patience nécessaire pour ciseler des textes à la fois clairs et précis.

Articles recommandés

Bouillonnements colorés au large

Vendredi matin, depuis le haut des dunes de Tadoussac, un ornithologue passionné aperçoit des éclaboussures au milieu du fleuve. Intrigué,…

|Observations de la semaine 25/11/2021

Des marsouins à profusion!

Il est fréquent d’observer, pendant l’été, des marsouins communs se déplacer en larges groupes pouvant compter plusieurs dizaines d’individus. À…

|Observations de la semaine 11/11/2021

Le calme sur les flots

Alors que le mercure tombe, que la météo se corse et que les bateaux se font entreposer pour l’hiver, les…

|Observations de la semaine 4/11/2021