Montréal, March 5, 2019: In the presence of His Serene Highness Albert II, Sovereign Prince of Monaco and several directors of the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation (Canada), foundation president Diane Vachon announced a $150,000 grant to the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM). This sum will help fund an innovative research project on St. Lawrence belugas called “A Health Chart for Belugas”.

“The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation (Canada) is pleased to continue the Prince’s commitment to the protection of biodiversity. The St. Lawrence beluga is emblematic of the country and every effort must be made to better understand them,” stated Diane Vachon.

The new project being launched by GREMM links for the first time various physical, physiological, toxicological and genetic parameters to the history of individuals that have been photo-ID’d and tracked for decades. The three-year project is expected to help identify and better understand the factors limiting the recovery of the endangered St. Lawrence beluga population. The multifaceted nature of this project will make it possible to cross-analyze individual and population data.

GREMM Scientific Director Robert Michaud emphasizes the importance of this new partnership: “This essential support enables us to carry out an ambitious project that will foster the kind of progress needed for the conservation of the St. Lawrence beluga.”

Drone-based photogrammetry is already used for killer whales and grey whales. However, it is still in its infancy for belugas. Thriving on challenges, GREMM combines the techniques of photogrammetry and photo-identification. The beluga is thus simultaneously photographed from the side and from above in order to be able to link collected information to an individual known to researchers and thus be able to track the evolution of its physical condition throughout a given season or over several years.

Biopsies represent the third component of the project. In a tricky manoeuvre executed by the research team, the beluga is photographed from two angles while another researcher collects from the animal’s flank a small amount of fat for analysis. In addition to being used for physiological, genomics and contaminant analyses, the biopsy will determine the sex of the individual as well as its genetic profile. At this point, the health chart truly begins to acquire its full meaning.

The first field season was completed in 2018. Robert Michaud is satisfied: “A number of technical adjustments needed to be made, but we can already appreciate the project’s enormous potential. The next few seasons of research are bound to be rich.”

Two Belugas for Prince and Princess

Upon announcing the two-year grant, H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco received adoption certificates for two St. Lawrence belugas: Samakwan and Uapameku. These two whales were symbolically adopted by Prince Jacques and Princess Gabriella of Monaco. Consequently, they will be kept up to date of advances in the research being funded by the Canadian branch of the foundation. The belugas were named by members of the Innu community of Essipit and the Maliseet of Viger First Nation.

The symbolically-adopted belugas are from the Adopt a Belugacampaign, which funds scientific research on the white whales by providing the donor with a meaningful connection to an individual beluga known to researchers.

News - 12/3/2019

Marie-Ève Muller

Marie-Ève Muller is responsible for GREMM's communications and spokeperson for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergencies Response Network (QMMERN). As Editor-in-Chief for Whales Online, she devours research and has an insatiable thirst for the stories of scientists and observers. Drawing from her background in literature and journalism, Marie-Ève strives to put the fragile reality of cetaceans into words and images.

Recommended articles

A Little Peace and Quiet for Belugas

Once again this summer, Baie Sainte-Marguerite will be closed to navigation from June 21 to September 21. Since 2018, navigation…

|News 10/8/2020

Boaters Urged to Contribute to Research

Like thousands of other pleasure boaters, do you enjoy taking advantage of warm summer days to operate your craft in…

|News 6/8/2020

Research in the St. Lawrence Stalled This Summer

Normally, whale experts up and down the St. Lawrence would have begun their research a long time ago. However, the…

|News 4/8/2020

En présence de son altesse sérénissime le Prince Albert II de Monaco à Montréal ainsi que de celle de plusieurs administrateurs de la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco (Canada), la présidente de la fondation, Diane Vachon, a annoncé le 5 mars 2019 une subvention de 150 000$ au Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM). Cette somme finance un projet de recherche novateur sur les bélugas du Saint-Laurent appelé «Un carnet de santé pour les bélugas».

«La Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco (Canada) est heureuse de poursuivre l’engagement du Prince envers la protection de la biodiversité. Le béluga du Saint-Laurent est emblématique du pays et tous les efforts doivent être mis pour mieux les comprendre», a déclaré Diane Vachon.

Le nouveau projet lancé par le GREMM lie pour la première fois diverses mesures de condition physique, physiologique, toxicologique et génétique à l’histoire d’individus photo-identifiés et suivis depuis plusieurs décennies. Le projet d’une durée de trois ans devrait permettre d’identifier et de mieux comprendre les facteurs limitant le rétablissement des bélugas du Saint-Laurent, une population en voie de disparition. Son caractère multifacette permet de croiser des données individuelles et populationnelles.

Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM, souligne l’importance de ce nouveau partenariat : « Ce soutien majeur nous permet de réaliser un projet audacieux, qui nous permettra des avancées nécessaires pour la conservation des bélugas du Saint-Laurent.»

La technique de photogrammétrie par drone aéroporté est déjà utilisée pour les épaulards et les baleines grises. Toutefois, elle n’en est qu’à ses balbutiements pour les bélugas. Aimant les défis, le GREMM couple photogrammétrie et photo-identification. Le béluga est donc photographié de côté et du haut des airs en même temps, afin de pouvoir lier les informations récoltées à un individu connu des chercheurs et ainsi pouvoir suivre à travers la saison ou les années l’évolution de la condition physique.

Une troisième dimension s’ajoute: la biopsie. Véritable tour de force à exécuter par l’équipe de recherche, le béluga est photographié de deux angles tandis qu’une autre personne récolte un petit bout de gras dans le flanc de l’animal pour pouvoir le faire analyser. La biopsie permettra de fournir le sexe et le profil génétique, en plus des analyses physiologiques, génomiques et de contaminants. Le carnet de santé, à ce moment, prend vraiment tout son sens.

Une première saison de terrain a été effectuée en 2018. Robert Michaud est satisfait : «Il y a eu de multiples ajustements techniques à apporter, mais déjà, on peut saisir l’immense potentiel du projet. Les prochaines saisons de recherche s’annoncent riches.»

Deux bélugas pour le Prince et la Princesse

Lors de l’annonce de la subvention sur deux ans, S.A.S. le Prince Albert II de Monaco a reçu les certificats d’adoption de deux bélugas du Saint-Laurent, Samakwan et Uapameku. Ces deux baleines ont été adoptés symboliquement par le prince Jacques et la princesse Gabriella de Monaco. Ainsi, ils auront des nouvelles des avancées des recherches financées par la branche canadienne de la fondation. Les bélugas ont été nommés par des membres des premières nations Innus Essipit et Malécites de Viger.

Les bélugas adoptés symboliquement proviennent de la campagne Adoptez un béluga, qui permet de financer la recherche scientifique sur les baleines blanches en offrant au donateur ou à la donatrice un lien privilégié avec un individu béluga connu des chercheurs.

Actualité - 12/3/2019

Marie-Ève Muller

Marie-Ève Muller s’occupe des communications du GREMM depuis 2017 et est porte-parole du Réseau québécois d'urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM). Comme rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct, elle dévore les recherches et s’abreuve aux récits des scientifiques, des observateurs et observatrices. Issue du milieu de la littérature et du journalisme, Marie-Ève cherche à mettre en mots et en images la fragile réalité des cétacés.

Articles recommandés

Appel aux plaisanciers : contribuez à la recherche

Comme des milliers d’autres plaisanciers, vous profitez de la température clémente des jours d’été pour naviguer dans le parc marin…

|Actualité 6/8/2020

Concours bulles de science : À vos crayons pour la biodiversité!

Cette année encore, Sciences pour tous organise le concours de bandes dessinées Bulles de science dans le cadre de la…

|Actualité 2/8/2020

Ouverture du Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins agrandi!

Après des mois de travaux, un chantier interrompu par les mesures de lutte à la propagation de la COVID-19 et…

|Actualité 30/7/2020