According to a study published in Current Biology, females in the small community of southern resident killer whales invest their entire lives in their relationships with their male descendants, which is believed to compromise their own reproductive success. In this matriarchal community, males and females spend their entire lives with their mothers in the group in which they were born. One might think that the mother derives nothing but benefits from the presence of her adult offspring by her side, but the reality is quite different.   

Male advantage

The killer whales of this community live within a complex social organization. This is characterized by matrilineal social units, which bring together all the descendants of the same female. It is this female (normally the oldest) who leads the group. Her knowledge is of tremendous value to her family, as her familiarity with the surrounding habitat and environment make her an experienced reference when it comes to foraging. However, males and females do not benefit from associating with their mothers in the same way. Indeed, the male enjoys maternal investment throughout his life, which takes the form of food sharing between the two individuals. This long-term commitment is not without consequences for the mother, who may experience a decline in her reproductive success.

The mechanisms that explain these negative repercussions on reproduction are not yet known. However, we do know that the nutritional status of females as well as prey availability have a significant impact on reproductive success in this community. Sharing of prey by the female with her male offspring might therefore reduce her own energy intake, thereby limiting the energy she is able to reinvest in reproduction.

Another definition of success

But what benefits does this behaviour provide? To find part of the answer, we must shift our focus to the males. All this energy invested by the mother in the nutrition of her male offspring is intended to increase the latter’s chances of survival, and in turn his reproductive success. The female benefits from this association through an indirect increase in her own reproductive success, as her genetic material is transmitted through her male offspring and the latter’s descendants.

This answer is not entirely satisfactory, however, as young females also pass on their mother’s genes to the next generation.

For a better understanding, we must examine the structure of the family unit and how killer whales reproduce. Males normally breed with females from other matrilineal units, which is where their offspring will later be raised. On the other hand, younger females raise their young in the same unit as their mothers, meaning they may enter into competition with the matriarch’s offspring for resources. According to scientists, this competition within the same group likely encourages females to promote more heavily the reproduction of their male offspring, whose descendants will grow up in another group.

Southern resident killer whales

The southern resident killer whale community frequents the coastal waters and open ocean of the Northeast Pacific, its range stretching from the southeastern coast of Alaska to California. Its favourite haunts are the waters of British Columbia as well as those of the US states of Oregon and Washington. This small community, estimated at 200 individuals at the dawn of the 20th century, now numbers no more than 75 animals and is classified as endangered in both Canada and the United States. Despite the ban on whaling and capturing these animals for the entertainment industry, both of which went unchecked for many years, the community is struggling to recover.

Low birth rates and increased mortality have been associated with the degraded state of several populations of Chinook salmon, a wild salmon of the Pacific that forms the basis of the diet of this killer whale population. This absence of salmon is believed to be causing malnutrition in southern resident killer whales, in addition to affecting their growth and reproductive success. What’s more, persistent organic pollutants as well as disturbance caused by the presence of boats and the noise they generate are all threats that are believed to be hindering the species’ recovery. Extremely low birth rates are also alarming. A mere 17 births were recorded between 2012 and 2020, with a peak of 7 in 2015. However, six of these calves died or were never seen again. Reproductive success is also down, as nearly 70% of pregnant females identified between 2008 and 2014 did not carry their pregnancies to term.

The authors of the study suggest that, over the long term, the reproductive cost of maternal investment could add to the multiple factors hampering the recovery of the population by affecting birth rates in this community. In any case, current protection measures appear to be insufficient to protect the southern resident killer whale. Will we be able to give them a better chance?

News - 15/11/2023

Véronique Genesse

Véronique is a biologist and a writer for Whales online. She has discovered her love for cetaceans following memorable encounters with these giants of the sea. She then grew interested in conservation after becoming aware of the numerous threats they face. She believes that participation from the general public is essential for the success of conservation projects.

Recommended articles

Good News for St. Lawrence Belugas

World Whale Day is the perfect opportunity to make some big announcements for belugas! Thanks to a new census method,…

|News 19/2/2024

Working With Whales: A Dream Come True for Jade-Audrey

When she was just 11 years old, Jade-Audrey already knew she wanted to work with cetaceans. Years later, her childhood…

|News 8/2/2024

Élizabeth: Woman of Science and Belugas

Élizabeth, research assistant for the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM), has been photographing belugas since May…

|News 8/2/2024

Les femelles de la petite communauté d’épaulards résidents du Sud s’investiraient durant toute leur vie dans leur relation avec leur descendant mâle, ce qui diminuerait leur succès reproducteur, selon une étude publiée dans Current Biology. Dans cette communauté matriarcale, les mâles et les femelles passent leur vie entière auprès de leur mère, dans le groupe qui les a vus naître. On pourrait croire que la mère ne soutire que des bénéficies de la présence de sa progéniture adulte à ses côtés, mais la réalité est tout autre.      

Le privilège mâle

Les épaulards de cette communauté vivent au sein d’une organisation sociale complexe. Celle-ci se distingue par des unités sociales matrilinéaires, lesquelles regroupent tous les descendants d’une même femelle. C’est cette femelle, normalement la plus âgée, qui est à la tête du groupe. Son savoir est d’une valeur inestimable pour sa famille, ses connaissances du territoire et de l’environnement contribuant, par exemple, à en faire une guide chevronnée pour la recherche de nourriture. Cependant, les mâles et les femelles ne bénéficient pas de l’association avec leur mère de la même manière.  En effet, le mâle jouit d’un investissement maternel tout au long de sa vie, ce dernier prenant la forme d’un partage de nourriture entre les deux individus. Cet engagement à long terme n’est pas sans conséquence pour la mère qui pourrait voir son succès reproducteur diminuer. 

Les mécanismes qui expliquent ces répercussions néfastes sur la reproduction ne sont pas encore connus. Cependant, on sait que l’état nutritionnel des femelles ainsi que la disponibilité des proies influencent grandement le succès reproducteur dans cette communauté. Le partage de proies de la femelle avec son fils pourrait donc réduire son propre apport énergétique en nourriture, diminuant par le fait même l’énergie qu’elle pourrait réinvestir dans sa reproduction. 

Une autre définition du succès

Mais quels avantages ce comportement procure-t-il donc? Notre regard doit se diriger du côté des mâles pour trouver une partie de la réponse. Toute cette énergie investie par la mère dans la nutrition de son fils a pour but d’accroître les chances de survie du mâle, et par le fait même son succès reproducteur. La femelle tire profit de cette association par une augmentation indirecte de son propre succès reproducteur, puisque son matériel génétique est transmis à travers son fils et ses descendants.

Cette réponse n’est cependant pas tout à fait satisfaisante, car les jeunes femelles passent également les gènes de leur mère à la prochaine génération.

Afin de mieux comprendre, il est essentiel d’examiner la structure de l’unité familiale et la manière dont les épaulards se reproduisent. Les mâles se reproduisent normalement avec des femelles qui vivent dans d’autres unités matrilinéaires, où grandira leur progéniture. À l’opposé, les femelles plus jeunes élèvent leurs petits dans la même unité que celle de leur mère, ceux-ci pouvant donc faire compétition à la progéniture de la matriarche pour les ressources. Selon les scientifiques, cette compétition au sein d’un même groupe encouragerait les femelles à promouvoir davantage la reproduction de leurs fils, dont la descendance grandira dans un autre groupe. 

Les épaulards résidents du Sud

La communauté d’épaulards résidents du Sud fréquente les eaux côtières et la haute mer du Pacifique nord-est, son territoire s’étendant de la côte sud-est de l’Alaska à la Californie. Ses lieux de prédilection sont les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique ainsi que celles des États d’Oregon et de Washington. Cette petite communauté, estimée à 200 individus à l’aube du 20ième siècle, ne compte désormais pas plus de 75 animaux et est classée En voie de disparition au Canada et aux États-Unis. Malgré l’arrêt de la chasse et de la capture pour l’industrie du divertissement, lesquels ont sévi pendant de nombreuses années, la communauté peine à se rétablir.

Le faible nombre de naissances et la hausse de décès ont été associés au piètre état de plusieurs populations de saumon chinook, un saumon sauvage du Pacifique qui constitue la base de l’alimentation de cette population d’épaulards. Cette absence de saumons causerait de la malnutrition chez les épaulards résidents du Sud et affecterait leur succès reproducteur et leur croissance. Qui plus est, les polluants organiques persistants ainsi que les perturbations causées par la présence de bateaux et le bruit qu’ils génèrent sont toutes des menaces suspectées d’entraver le rétablissement de l’espèce. Le très faible taux de naissance inquiète. Seulement 17 naissances ont été répertoriées entre 2012 et 2020, 2015 étant l’année record avec sept naissances. Toutefois, six de ces veaux sont morts ou n’ont jamais été revus. Le succès des grossesses est aussi affecté puisque près de 70% des femelles enceintes repérées entre 2008 et 2014 n’ont pas mené leur grossesse à terme.

Les auteurs et autrices de l’étude suggèrent que le coût reproducteur de l’investissement maternel sur le long terme pourrait s’ajouter aux facteurs qui nuisent au rétablissement de la population en affectant le taux de naissances dans cette communauté. Dans tous les cas, les mesures de protection actuelles semblent insuffisantes pour protéger les épaulards résidents du Sud. Saurons-nous leur offrir une meilleure chance?

Actualité - 15/11/2023

Véronique Genesse

Véronique est biologiste et rédactrice pour Baleines en direct. Elle a découvert son amour pour les baleines suite à d'inoubliables rencontres avec ces géants des mers et s'est intéressée à leur conservation après avoir pris connaissance des menaces auxquelles elles sont confrontées. Elle croit que l'implication du public est primordiale afin d'assurer le succès des projets de conservation.

Articles recommandés

5 actions pour aider les bélugas du Saint-Laurent

En voie de disparition, le béluga du Saint-Laurent a besoin de votre contribution pour se rétablir. Depuis plusieurs années, le…

|Actualité 18/7/2024

Les cétacés: les nouvelles vedettes de la recherche sur le rythme vocal

Les cétacés pourraient être les nouvelles vedettes des recherches sur le rythme vocal. Une étude récente indique quatre raisons pour…

|Actualité 3/7/2024

Le Gala de la Terre soutient trois organismes environnementaux

C’est à la Maison Symphonique de Montréal le 12 juin dernier qu’avait lieu la troisième édition de cet événement d’envergure.…

|Actualité 27/6/2024