The US government recently granted $180,000 to the New England Aquarium to design safer fishing gear for whales – namely ropes that are less strong – which could reduce the number of entanglement-related mortalities.

Every year we hear about whales that die tangled up in fishing gear or that are saved in extremis after entanglement such as the recent case of right whale #4057 in the Bay of Fundy. According to the International Whaling Commission, some 308,000 whales and dolphins die every year after getting snared in fishing gear. Entanglement can cause drowning, lacerations, infections, or may prevent the animal from feeding. In some cases, the problem is so serious that it threatens entire populations of marine mammals such as the vaquita and the North Atlantic right whale. According to scientists, 83% of North Atlantic right whales, an endangered species, show bycatch-induced markings such as deep scars or abnormally arched backs.

Over the past 20 years, fishing gear has become stronger. A study published in the scientific journal Conservation Biology in December 2015 suggests that the widespread adoption of ropes with a breaking strength equal to or less than 7.56 kN (1,700 lbf) could reduce the number fatal entanglements of large cetaceans by at least 72%, while providing sufficient strength for most fishing operations.

Researchers from the New England Aquarium are therefore trying to develop rope robust enough to be used by fishermen in deep waters, but not strong enough to prevent the whales to break free if they are trapped. They plan to develop two or three prototypes over the next 18 months.

Sources:

The push is on to develop fishing ropes that won’t kill whales

An Unlikely Alliance Forms to Save Whales From Deadly Entanglements

Simple solution could save whales from fishing nets

Effects of fishing rope strength on the severity of large whale entanglements

To learn more:

On Whales Online:

Bycatch in fishing gear

Entangled Right Whale: an Extra Weight to Tow

News - 6/9/2016

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

DL dents

What do St. Lawrence belugas eat?

It may seem surprising, but up until a few months ago, the diet of the St. Lawrence beluga was not…

|News, Whale Q&A 1/9/2020

Stray Whales: Lost or Just Exploring?

Every so often, a solitary whale makes headlines. It might be a beluga seen off the coast San Diego, California,…

|News 18/8/2020

Sanctuary for Retired Belugas: Another Step Toward a Natural Habitat

The first two residents of a whale sanctuary have now been swimming in Klettsvik Bay since August 8, 2020. Belugas…

|News 18/8/2020

Le gouvernement américain a récemment octroyé 180 000 dollars au New England Aquarium pour la conception d’engins de pêche plus sécuritaires pour les baleines: des cordages de moins grande résistance qui pourraient diminuer le nombre de mortalités liées aux empêtrements.

Chaque année, nous entendons parler de baleines qui meurent empêtrées dans des engins de pêche ou qui sont sauvées in extremis suite à un empêtrement, comme le cas récent de la baleine noire #4057 dans la baie de Fundy. Selon la Commission baleinière internationale, environ 308 000 baleines et dauphins meurent chaque année par empêtrement dans les engins de pêche. L’empêtrement peut causer la noyade, des lacérations, des infections, ou peut empêcher l’animal de s’alimenter. Dans certains cas, le problème est si grave qu’il met en péril des populations entières de mammifères marins, comme le vaquita et la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord. Selon les scientifiques, 83 % des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, une espèce en voie de disparition, portent des marques — des cicatrices profondes ou un dos anormalement creusé — causées par un empêtrement.

Au cours des 20 dernières années, les engins de pêche sont devenus plus résistants. Une étude publiée dans la revue scientifique Conservation Biology en décembre 2015 suggère que l’adoption à grande échelle de cordages ayant une résistance à la rupture égale ou inférieure à 7,56 kN (1700 lbsf) pourrait réduire d’au moins 72 % le nombre d’empêtrements mortels de grands cétacés, tout en procurant assez de résistance pour la plupart des opérations de pêche.

Les chercheurs du New England Aquarium tentent donc de développer des cordages assez résistants pour être utilisés par les pêcheurs en eaux profondes, mais pas assez résistants pour empêcher les baleines de les briser si elles sont empêtrées. Ils prévoient développer deux ou trois prototypes au cours des 18 prochains mois.

Sources:

The push is on to develop fishing ropes that won’t kill whales

An Unlikely Alliance Forms to Save Whales From Deadly Entanglements

Simple solution could save whales from fishing nets

Effects of fishing rope strength on the severity of large whale entanglements

Pour en savoir plus:

Sur Baleines en direct:

Prises accidentelles dans les engins de pêche

Baleine noire empêtrée, un poids supplémentaire à traîner

Actualité - 25/8/2016

Béatrice Riché

Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM de 2016 à 2018, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.

Articles recommandés

Pourquoi relire «La mer autour de nous» de Rachel Carson en 2020?

La mer autour de nous, publié en 1951, a récemment fait l’objet d’une réédition qui nous permet de redécouvrir toute…

|Actualité 9/7/2020

Première carcasse de baleine noire: encore un veau frappé par un navire

La première carcasse de baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord de l'année 2020 est repérée par survol aérien le 25 juin,…

|Actualité 2/7/2020

Mois de l’eau 2020: Du plastique flottant jusqu’aux baleines

Par Sarah Boureghda et Gabrielle Morin. Juin est un mois qui rime avec vacances pour plusieurs, mais il s’agit aussi…

|Actualité 30/6/2020