The Earth Rangers organization helps protect St. Lawrence belugas and invites all children and their families to participate in the protection of this iconic animal!

Earth Rangers is an organization dedicated to educating children about the conservation of animals and their habitats. Since the summer of 2016, Earth Rangers has been supporting a research project led by the GREMM and Valeria Vergara of the Vancouver Aquarium with the support of the Fondation de la faune du Québec. The project aims to monitor female belugas and their calves in the St. Lawrence River to determine whether noise from boats and shipping traffic affect calf survival. Females and their calves communicate by means of “contact calls,” which allow them to find each other and maintain contact. During the first few weeks of its life, the newborn’s contact calls contain only low frequencies, which can be easily masked by boat noise. The search for factors that affect the survival of young belugas is critical for scientists who are developing recovery and management plans for this endangered population.

Earth Rangers has also recently introduced the beluga into its “Bring Back the Wild!” program. Under this program, children can take concrete measures to protect a threatened species by launching a fundraising campaign. This year, children can support four species: the beluga, bees and other pollinators, the Midland painted turtle and the caribou. When a child starts a “Bring Back the Wild!” campaign, he or she gets a toolkit, tips and resources. They can choose to organize a bake sale, do odd jobs around the neighbourhood, sell their art projects, and much more! Are you ready to become an Earth Ranger?

To learn more:

Earth Rangers: WebsiteFacebook page

GREMM and Valeria Vergara project:

With the Belugas: Week of July 18, 2016 – “Mom, Can You Hear Me?” Further details

With the Belugas: week of July 25, 2016 – “Bird’s Eye Viewing and Underwater Eavesdropping”… by Valeria Vergara

News - 30/11/2016

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

L’organisme Éco Héros participe à la protection du béluga du Saint-Laurent et invite tous les enfants et leur famille à participer eux aussi à la protection de cet animal emblématique!

Éco Héros est un organisme dédié à l’éducation des enfants concernant la conservation des animaux et de leurs habitats. Depuis l’été 2016, Éco Héros soutient un projet de recherche, mené par le GREMM et Valeria Vergara de l’Aquarium de Vancouver avec le support de la Fondation de la faune du Québec. Le projet vise à surveiller les femelles bélugas et leurs veaux dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent pour déterminer si le bruit des bateaux et du trafic maritime affecte la survie des veaux. Les femelles et leurs veaux communiquent par des « cris de contact », qui leur permettent de se retrouver et de maintenir le contact. Durant ses premières semaines de vie, les cris de contact du nouveau-né comportent seulement des basses fréquences qui peuvent facilement être masquées par le bruit des bateaux. La recherche des facteurs qui affectent la survie des jeunes bélugas est critique pour les scientifiques qui développent des plans de rétablissement et de gestion pour cette population en danger.

Éco Héros vient aussi d’introduire le béluga dans son programme « Rescapez la nature! ». Dans le cadre de ce programme, les enfants peuvent prendre des mesures concrètes pour la protection d’une espèce menacée en lançant une campagne de levée de fonds. Cette année, les enfants peuvent soutenir quatre espèces: le béluga, les abeilles et autres pollinisateurs, la tortue peinte de Midland et le caribou. Lorsqu’un enfant démarre une campagne « Rescapez la nature! », il est muni d’une boîte à outils, de conseils et de ressources. Il peut choisir d’organiser une vente de pâtisseries, faire des petits boulots dans le quartier, vendre ses projets artistiques, et bien plus! Êtes-vous prêt à devenir un éco héros?

Pour en savoir plus:

Éco Héros: site Webpage Facebook

Projet du GREMM et de Valeria Vergara:

Avec les bélugas: semaine du 18 juillet 2016 — Maman, maman, m’entends-tu? La suite

Avec les bélugas: semaine du 25 juillet 2016 — Espionnage aérien et écoute sous-marine… par Valeria Vergara

Actualité - 30/11/2016

Béatrice Riché

Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM de 2016 à 2018, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.

Articles recommandés

Appel aux plaisanciers : contribuez à la recherche

Comme des milliers d’autres plaisanciers, vous profitez de la température clémente des jours d’été pour naviguer dans le parc marin…

|Actualité 6/8/2020

Concours bulles de science : À vos crayons pour la biodiversité!

Cette année encore, Sciences pour tous organise le concours de bandes dessinées Bulles de science dans le cadre de la…

|Actualité 2/8/2020

Ouverture du Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins agrandi!

Après des mois de travaux, un chantier interrompu par les mesures de lutte à la propagation de la COVID-19 et…

|Actualité 30/7/2020