What could possibly spark the interest of adults and children alike, drawing a crowd on the shores of Franquelin one recent morning? The towering breaths of a blue whale offshore!

“The whale was far, but still close enough that we could see its large spouts,” explains one local resident. No wonder we can spot them from so far away: These titans produce impressive blasts that can reach up to six metres high. Their breathing sequences generally consist of three or four exhalations. Their dives last between 10 and 15 minutes, and in some cases even up to 30 minutes. Three or four minke whales accompanied by a few harbour porpoises and white-sided dolphins were also observed swimming near Franquelin during the week.

In Gaspé Bay, two whales were spotted at Cap-aux-Os on two consecutive days. Though they were not identified, their large conspicuous breaths still gave them away! We should also not forget the handful of harbour seals faithfully resting on their favourite rock.

A photo for my friend!

One gorgeous weekday, two or three belugas were swimming near the ferries crossing the Saguenay Fjord. For sharp-eyed observers, they could be seen from either bank. A few days later, it was under the snowflakes that a seasoned observer spotted some of these white whales in Tadoussac Bay: “A group of two or three belugas and a solitary animal on Monday under the snow near Pointe-Rouge!” To her colleague from Québec City, always on the lookout for a good “photo op,” she explains that, unfortunately: “Visibility wasn’t great, so we didn’t take any pictures.”

Regulars and newcomers

The hundred or so dolphins that have been observed for several weeks in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park don’t yet seem like they’re quite ready to leave the region. Many individuals were seen once again this week! Other recent visitors include the mysterious humpback whale that arrived late this fall and that was even supposedly spotted with a second humpback. A few minke whales, grey seals and harbour seals were also reported this week. However, it was the presence of a fin whale that amazed us the most! A photographer and wildlife naturalist describes his sighting: “Early this morning, I was very lucky to spot a fin whale heading northeast. It takes a dive… I wait. A blast erupts 8 minutes later, then another one almost simultaneously in the same area! The fin whale continues its course northeast.”

Anecdote from 1976

After reading one of our articles earlier this fall regarding the presence of killer whales in the Lower North Shore, a reader wanted to share a most interesting anecdote. “In the summer of 1976 […], sitting with some friends on the rocks of the Gros-Cacouna peninsula, before the deep-water port was built, all of a sudden we caught sight of a herd of around twenty killer whales very close to shore. What a surprise!” They had ventured up the St. Lawrence quite a way! We wonder if we’ll ever see this many killer whales in the area again, as the most recent sighting in the estuary dates back to 2003!

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover.

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column.

Raynald Asselin
Laetitia Desbordes
Élizabeth Melis
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Alain Ross
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

And all those we left out!

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams for also sharing their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM),
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network: Status Report (QMMERN),
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Would you also like to share your observations?

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 7/12/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Qu’est-ce qui pouvait bien impressionner les adultes et émerveiller les enfants, créant un attroupement sur la rive de Franquelin par un bon matin? Ce sont les souffles gigantesques d’un rorqual bleu au large!

 

« La baleine était loin, mais quand même assez proche pour qu’on puisse voir les grands souffles », explique un résident du secteur. Pas étonnant qu’on puisse les voir de si loin : ces immenses mammifères produisent des souffles impressionnants qui peuvent atteindre jusqu’à six mètres de hauteur. Ils ont généralement des séquences respiratoires qui comptent entre trois et quatre respirations. Leurs plongées durent quant à elles entre 10 et 15 minutes, pouvant même atteindre jusqu’à 30 minutes. Entre trois et quatres petits rorquals accompagnés de quelques marsouins communs et dauphins à flancs blancs ont aussi été observés nageant près de Franquelin au cours de la semaine.

Dans la baie de Gaspé, deux rorquals ont été repérés à Cap-aux-Os pendant deux jours de suite. S’il n’ont pas été identifiés, leurs grands souffles bien visibles les trahissaient tout de même! Il ne faudrait pas oublier non plus les quelques phoques communs se reposant sur leur roche, toujours fidèles au rendez-vous.

Une photo pour mon amie!

Un groupe de deux à trois bélugas nageait au niveau des traversiers dans le fjord du Saguenay par un beau jour de semaine. Pour les yeux attentifs, ils pouvaient être perçus depuis l’une ou l’autre des rives. Quelques jours plus tard, c’est sous les flocons de neige qu’une observatrice aguerrie repère d’autres baleines blanches dans la baie de Tadoussac : « Un groupe de deux à trois bélugas et un béluga solitaire lundi sous la neige au niveau de Pointe-Rouge! » À sa collègue de Québec toujours en quête de belles images, elle explique que, malheureusement : « La visibilité n’était pas super, alors on n’a pas pris de photos ».

Des habitués et des nouveaux venus

 Le groupe d’une centaine de dauphins observé depuis quelques semaines dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent ne semble pas prêt de quitter la région. Les nombreux individus ont encore été revus cette semaine! Parmi les visiteurs des derniers temps, il y a aussi le mystérieux rorqual à bosse arrivé tardivement cet automne qui semble même avoir été aperçu accompagné d’un autre rorqual à bosse. On compte aussi quelques petits rorquals, des phoques gris et des phoques communs. C’est cependant la présence d’un rorqual commun qui a le plus ébahi! Un photographe et naturaliste animalier décrit son observation « Tôt ce matin, je suis bien chanceux de repérer un rorqual commun filant vers le nord-est. Il plonge. Je l’attends. Un souffle 8 minutes plus tard, puis un autre presque simultanément dans le même secteur! Ce même rorqual commun poursuivant sa route vers le nord-est ».

Anecdote de 1976

Après avoir lu l’un de nos articles cet automne qui relatait la présence d’épaulards en Basse-Côte-Nord, un lecteur a souhaité partager une anecdote bien intéressante. « Pendant l’été de 1976, accompagné de mes amis[…], alors que nous étions assis sur les rochers de la presqu’île de Gros-Cacouna, avant la construction de son port en eau profonde, soudain est venu passer tout près de la rive un troupeau d’une vingtaine d’épaulards. Qu’est-ce qu’il nous a surpris! » Ils étaient remontés bien plus haut à l’intérieur du Saint-Laurent! Bien hâte de voir si on reverra un jour autant d’épaulards à cet endroit, la dernière observation dans l’estuaire datant de 2003!

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Raynald Asselin
Laetitia Desbordes
Élizabeth Melis
Diane Ostiguy
Renaud Pintiaux
Pascal Pitre
Alain Ross
Andréanne Sylvain
Marielle Vanasse

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 7/12/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Un rorqual bleu aux Escoumins

Le plus gros des géants aurait fait un détour par les Escoumins! En effet, plusieurs riverains et riveraines auraient eu…

|Observations de la semaine 22/2/2024

Grands souffles au large et phoques sur la glace

Des grands rorquals continuent de souffler devant Franquelin et Godbout, donnant lieu à des observations hivernales toujours extraordinaires. Ailleurs dans…

|Observations de la semaine 15/2/2024

Des airs d’été en février

Encore cette semaine, les rorquals bleus circulent : l'un est repéré à Franquelin, d’autres à Godbout et une mention à…

|Observations de la semaine 8/2/2024