The waters of the St. Lawrence are populated by a multitude of marine mammals: Tic Tac Toe is back for a third time this season, blue whales swim in the estuary and North Atlantic right whales have been identified. A seldom-seen species also makes an impression: pilot whales have been seen in the Gulf! Other curiosities have been observed : a moose crossing the Saguenay river, gannets diving close to shore and bioluminescence.

Humpback whales or tour guides

Tic Tac Toe is back in St. Lawrence for a third time! Accompanied each time by a different whale, this week’s companion was H915. She’s been visiting us since 2000. She was absent from 2010 to 2019, but has been back every year since! Guadeloupe is also acting as tour guide for an individual that was first spotted in our waters this summer, VARF-193 aka KAVIK. The two humpback whales were seen at Cap de Bon-Désir swimming not far from each other. Tic tac Toe was also spotted in this area, breaching, in the company of a young whale.

From the Gulf to the Saguenay River: a whole lot of diversity!

In Gaspé Bay, one or two minke whales were seen feeding on several occasions, and were described as “beautiful spectacles”. In the same area, porpoises, dolphins and four humpback whales were spotted.

In the middle of the Gulf, in the Mingan area, between 200 and 300 pilot whales were spotted. At Longue-Pointe-Mingan, MICS crossed paths with ten North Atlantic right whales on August 7, seven of which have already been identified!  In Sept-îles, there were plenty of porpoises, a fin whale and a minke whale.

In Pointe-des-Monts, two humpback whales were observed by a local resident before disappearing, leaving no trace of their visit. The resident also came across a grey seal here and there every day this week. Two minke whales of very different sizes, one very small and the other enormous, have also been seen in the area. On Tuesday, in Franquelin, from Côte bellevue, “one of my favorite spots”, a marine mammal enthusiast observed two humpback whales swimming not far from shore, blowing occasionally as they rested. “They say they look like logs, and not for nothing! They were really big logs!” He was also lucky enough to spot some minke whales, seals and lots of porpoises.

In the area around Les Bergeronnes and Les Escoumins, local residents were treated to a colorful show this week: two blue whales, two fin whales, three humpback whales and three to four minke whales. Belugas, seals and harbour porpoises were also seen. A blue whale was spotted on Monday in front of the Quai des Pilotes station in Les Escoumins, as were several belugas on Wednesday morning offshore. Two humpback whales were spotted on Thursday morning in the estuary in front of Tadoussac. Belugas, minke whales and lots of grey seals were also seen in the Saguenay, while around 40 belugas were spotted at Baie Sainte-Marguerite in the same day. They included herds of females with young and a herd of large, very active males.

Unpredictable weather and mammals

While some saw nothing but fog, a few lucky souls were treated to a wave-making show in Franquelin: two surfing porpoises. A grey seal was also spotted with its head held high, trying to keep it out of the water with all that surf. A feeling we can all understand!

Phoque gris © Guillaume Savard
Grey seal © Guillaume Savard

Moose, a mother and calf, also braved the waves of the Saguenay River. Appearing to have potentially taken to the water at Baie Sainte-Marguerite, they headed for the opposite shore, slightly downstream of Cap de l’Anse au Cheval.

Orignal © Guillaume Savard
Moose © Guillaume Savard

Abnormal bird show

At Pointe-des-Monts, local residents were treated to a spectacle of gannets just 150 meters from the shore: “Around 500 individuals were peaking into the water to nab sandeels for a few hours’ cut. They landed occasionaly  to take short digestion breaks, then returned to their feast. Although this out-of-the-ordinary event was fantastic for the eye, onlookers were concerned about the animals’ short distance from shore, as gannets are usually much further offshore.

The beauty of the very small

Wednesday evening, in Tadoussac, after the passage of a minke whale and then a humpback whale, members of the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) team were lucky enough to see bioluminescence: blue flakes illuminated the dark, cold waters of Pointe de l’Islet. One brave girl even went for a wade in the icy water, splashing the surrounding area with a shower of light, offering a spectacle that also lit up their childlike hearts.

Research is hard work!

The GREMM research team has identified its first beluga of the season. It was spotted on July 20 in Kamouraska! An eagle-eyed research assistant sounded the alarm: “I analyzed the videos and recognized the animal. The suspected identity of the individual in question was confirmed with the rest of the beluga team: it’s DL236! It was first photographed in 2000. “It’s a beluga from the southern community around Kamouraska, and the drone videos come from a research assistant’s stay there! We’ve actually seen it a few times, including last summer. This year, however, she was accompanied by a calf! So that means she was pregnant in 2022! For the photogrammetry project, it’s interesting because if we have her height measurements in 2022, we’ll be able to compare them with those of 2023 to see the difference in size! How cool is that?”

DL236 with a calf © GREMM
DL236 © GREMM
DL236 with a calf seen from the drone © GREMM
DL236 with a calf seen from the drone © GREMM
DL236 seen from the drone © GREMM

Where are the whales this week? Observation map

These data were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Observation of the Week - 10/8/2023

Rachel Bois

Rachel Bois is a writer for the GREMM. She is also carrying on the work of her predecessors: the family album! This album lists the 200 or so belugas identified to date in the St. Lawrence River. She completed a DEC in literature before switching to science and pursuing her studies in biology at UQAR. Today, her diversified academic background enables her to combine science and writing in a spirit of sharing knowledge, a priceless treasure.

Recommended articles

Eating Their Fill

Whether they consume krill, fish or invertebrates, whales come to feed in the St. Lawrence and the immense smörgåsbord it…

|Observation of the Week 7/6/2024

Return of a Legend: Tic Tac Toe is in the Estuary

The humpback whale Tic Tac Toe was observed in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park for the first time this year!…

|Observation of the Week 30/5/2024

Five fin whales in the estuary, including Orion and Bp913!

Fin whales are stealing the show this week, in large numbers. Individuals have even been identified, and some regulars are…

|Observation of the Week 24/5/2024

Les eaux du Saint-Laurent sont peuplées d’une multitude de mammifères marins: Tic Tac Toe est de retour pour une troisième reprise cette saison, des rorquals bleus nagent dans l’estuaire et des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord sont identifiées. Le passage d’une espèce rarement observée a aussi de quoi impressionner, des globicéphales ont été vus dans le golfe! On observe aussi quelques curiosités : un orignal qui traverse le Saguenay, des fous de Bassan qui plongent à proximité du rivage et de la bioluminescence. 

Rorquals à bosse ou guides touristiques

Tic Tac Toe est de retour pour une troisième fois dans le Saint-Laurent! Accompagnée chaque fois par une différente baleine, sa compagne de voyage de cette semaine était H915. Cette dernière vient nous voir depuis 2000. Elle a été absente de 2010 à 2019, mais elle est de retour chaque année depuis! Guadeloupe fait elle aussi la guide touristique pour un individu qui a été observé pour la première fois dans nos eaux cet été, VARF-193 alias KAVIK. Les deux baleines à bosse ont été vues au cap de Bon-Désir nageant non loin l’une de l’autre. Tic tac Toe a aussi été aperçu dans ce secteur, en plein breach, en compagnie d’une jeune baleine.

Du golfe à la rivière Saguenay: toute une diversité!

Dans la baie de Gaspé, un à deux petits rorquals ont été vus en pleine alimentation à plusieurs reprises et ont été qualifiés de « beaux spectacles ». Dans le même secteur ont été aperçus marsouins, dauphins et entre une et quatre baleines à bosse. 

Dans le milieu du golfe, dans la région de Mingan, c’est entre 200 et 300 globicéphales qui ont été repérés. À Longue-Pointe-Mingan, l’équipe de la Station de recherche des îles Mingan a croisé la route de dix baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord le 7 aout, dont sept ont déjà été identifiées!  Du côté de Sept-îles, il y a eu plein de marsouins, un rorqual commun et un petit rorqual. 

À Pointe-des-Monts, deux baleines à bosse ont été observées par un riverain avant de disparaître, sans laisser de traces de leur passage. Le riverain a aussi croisé un phoque gris ici et là chaque jour cette semaine. Deux petits rorquals de taille très différente, un tout petit et l’autre énorme, se sont aussi pointé le nez dans le secteur. Mardi, à Franquelin, à partir de la Côte bellevue, « un de mes spots préférés », un passionné des mammifères marins a observé deux baleines à bosse qui billotaient pas très loin de la rive et qui soufflaient de temps en temps alors qu’elles se reposaient. « Ils disent que ça ressemble à des billots, c’est pas pour rien! C’était vraiment des gros billots! » Il a aussi eu la chance de repérer quelques petits rorquals, des phoques et beaucoup de marsouins. 

Dans les environs des Bergeronnes et des Escoumins, des riverains en ont vu de toutes les couleurs cette semaine : deux rorquals bleus, deux rorquals communs, trois rorquals à bosse et trois à quatre petits rorquals. Bélugas, phoques et marsouins communs étaient aussi au rendez-vous. Une baleine bleue a été aperçue lundi devant la station du Quai des Pilotes aux Escoumins, ainsi que quelques bélugas mercredi matin au large. Deux baleines à bosse ont été croisées ce jeudi avant-midi sur le fleuve en face de Tadoussac. Bélugas, petit rorquals et beaucoup de phoques gris ont aussi été vus dans le Saguenay, tandis qu’une quarantaine de bélugas ont été observés à baie Sainte-Marguerite en l’espace d’une journée. Il y avait des troupeaux de femelles accompagnés de jeunes et un troupeau de gros mâles très actifs.

Météo et mammifères imprévisibles

Alors que certains n’ont vu que du brouillard, des chanceux ont eu un spectacle qui a fait de la vague à Franquelin : deux marsouins surfers. Un phoque gris a aussi été repéré la tête bien haute, essayant de la garder hors de l’eau avec toute cette vague. Un sentiment que nous pouvons tous comprendre!

Phoque gris © Guillaume Savard
Phoque gris © Guillaume Savard

Des orignaux, une mère et son jeune, ont aussi bravé les flots de la rivière Saguenay. Semblant s’être potentiellement mis à l’eau à baie Sainte-Marguerite, ils se dirigeaient vers la rive opposée, légèrement à l’aval du cap de l’Anse au Cheval.                                                                                                                                                                      

Orignal © Guillaume Savard
Orignal © Guillaume Savard

Spectacle aviaire anormal

À Pointe-des-Monts, des riverains ont eu le droit à un spectacle de fous de Bassan à seulement 150 mètres du rivage: « Environ 500 individus faisaient des pics dans l’eau pour pogner du lançon pour une coupe d’heures ». Parfois ils allaient se poser et semblaient prendre des petites pauses de digestion, puis ils retournaient à leur festin. Bien que cet événement hors de l’ordinaire ait été fantastique pour l’œil, les spectateurs se sont inquiétés de la faible distance des animaux de la rive, les fous de Bassan étant habituellement bien plus au large. 

La beauté du tout petit

Mercredi soir, à Tadoussac, après le passage d’un petit rorqual puis d’une baleine à bosse, des membres de l’équipe du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM) ont eu la chance de voir de la bioluminescence : des paillettes bleues illuminaient les eaux sombres et froides de la Pointe de l’Islet. Une courageuse est même allée patauger dans l’eau glaciale, éclaboussant les alentours d’une pluie de lumière, offrant tout un spectacle qui illumina aussi leur cœur d’enfant.

 

 

La recherche c’est tout un travail!

L’équipe de recherche du GREMM a identifié son premier béluga de la saison. Il a été observé le 20 juillet dernier à Kamouraska! Une assistante de recherche à l’œil de lynx a sonné l’alarme : « J’ai fait l’analyse des vidéos et j’ai reconnu la bête ». L’identité suspectée de l’individu en question a été confirmée avec le reste de l’équipe béluga : c’est DL236! Il a été photographié pour la première fois en 2000. « C’est un béluga de la communauté du sud qui se tient autour de Kamouraska, les vidéos de drone proviennent du séjour d’un assistant de recherche là-bas! En fait on l’a vu quelques fois, dont l’été dernier. Cette année, par contre, elle était accompagnée d’un veau! Alors ça signifie qu’elle était enceinte en 2022! Pour le projet de photogrammétrie, c’est intéressant parce que si on a ses mesures de taille en 2022, on va pouvoir les comparer à celles de 2023 pour voir la différence de grosseur! Trop cool hein? »

 

DL236 avec un veau © GREMM
DL236 © GREMM
DL236 avec un veau vu du drone © GREMM
DL236 avec un veau vu du drone © GREMM
DL236 vu du drone © GREMM

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Observations de la semaine - 10/8/2023

Rachel Bois

Rachel Bois est rédactrice pour le GREMM. Elle reprend aussi le travail de ses prédécesseuses : l’album de famille! Cet album répertorie les 200 quelques bélugas identifiés jusqu’à ce jour dans le Saint-Laurent. Elle a accompli un DEC en littérature avant de se réorienter en science et de poursuivre ses études universitaires en biologie à l’UQAR. Aujourd’hui, son parcours scolaire diversifié lui permet de joindre l’utile à l’agréable en alliant la science à l’écriture dans un esprit de partage de connaissances, trésor inestimable.

Articles recommandés

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024

Une semaine de grands rorquals

Des grands rorquals qui continuent d’épater la galerie, quelques bélugas, des phoques du Groenland se reposant sur les glaces et…

|Observations de la semaine 28/3/2024