A favourite subject for some but dreaded by others, math can sometimes be applied in unusual ways. As part of Science Literacy Week 2022, which took place from September 19 to 25 with mathematics as its central theme, one might ask oneself how this science can be used in the study of whales.

Of course, researchers studying whales use math in all of their research projects, but even more so in the one discussed below. The length of a whale, once measured exclusively if an animal was stranded or killed for scientific purposes, , can now be calculated while the animal is alive and in its natural environment thanks to a technique called photogrammetry. This method can be used to take measurements of whales, which may serve as an indicator of their general state of health.

A high-flying project

GREMM’s photogrammetry project (article in French) was launched in 2018. The aim of this undertaking is to observe whether belugas – an endangered species – are in good physical condition or rather on the thin sides. Data are collected at the beginning, middle and end of summer to determine how the belugas’ energy reserves have evolved over this period. Results are also compared over a span of several years.

Another new project has recently been launched to study the female belugas that return every year to Baie Sainte-Marguerite in Fjord-du-Saguenay National Park as well as Cacouna. These cows are essential to the survival of their species, and this project makes it possible to monitor the aforementioned health indicator, according to GREMM project manager Alexandre Bernier-Graveline.

One step at a time

Photogrammetry involves taking videos using a drone and using them to calculate measurements (total length, amongst others) of the whales observed. This method may also be used to determine whether females are gestating as well as to store data on the physical condition and energy reserves of these pregnant females.

 

YouTube video illustrating a drone flight in which data are collected for photogrammetric measurements. Images are extracted from videos taken by the drone’s camera.

Trigonometry, a basic concept of mathematics, explores the relationships between the lengths and angles of triangles. The first measurement obtained comes from a rangefinder that is fixed to the drone. The rangefinder emits several laser beams per second, which will then bounce back to a sensor located on the device. The time it takes for the light beam to return to the sensor is then converted to a distance (between the camera and the centre of the image).

Another important element is the use of a “control”: a black and white piece of cardboard placed on the deck of the research boat. It is an object of known size that allows researchers to verify that the equipment they are using is accurate.

Images from the video footage are then extracted to obtain the easiest image to measure, i.e. a beluga at the water surface and arched as little as possible. Lines are then drawn on the image using a software program. The distance from the blowhole to the narrowest part of the peduncle (which represents about 90% of a beluga’s total length) is measured, followed by multiple girth measurements. The reason for this first partial measurement is simple: “When belugas swim, their heads plunge back into the water very quickly and their tails are very low, which makes it difficult to get an image of a beluga showing its head, body and caudal fin all at the same level,” explains Alexandre Bernier-Graveline. The total length from the tip of the head to the tip of the caudal fin is only measured if the beluga is perfectly positioned, i.e. completely flat.

The software calculates the beluga’s measurements from the number of pixels separating a Point A from a Point B. This number is then converted into an actual distance using several variables, including the distance between the drone and the beluga indicated by the rangefinder.

Juggling with the data

Another branch of mathematics that is used in these studies is statistics. This is an important step in research, as it allows data to be analyzed and interpreted. Without statistics, it would be very difficult to rigorously compare the myriad of data collected every year.

Accounting for limitations

Like any science, photogrammetry has limitations and sources of error. The equipment used also has a limited degree of accuracy. It is therefore important to use such equipment appropriately, and to compensate for these inaccuracies if necessary in order to obtain reliable data. For example, the rangefinder must be attached to a suspension in order to cushion any sudden movements of the drone.

Additionally, the presence of waves  and eddies in the water are taken into account when analyzing the images, as they can make it more difficult to place the points around the beluga. A number of other parameters must be taken into consideration in order to ensure the greatest scientific rigour when measurements between several belugas are being compared. To achieve this, a quality rating is assigned to each photo that takes into account the presence of waves or eddies that can render measurement-taking more difficult as well as the posture of the beluga in the image. The basic premise is that each beluga must have pierced the water surface and be as straight as possible in order to obtain suitable measurements.

Whale researchers leverage their math skills to better understand whales, which remain mysterious mammals. Indeed, research programs combining various scientific disciplines lead to new discoveries, which ultimately helps better protect these magnificent creatures.

Trigonometry, algebra, geometry… Math concepts learned at school can prove useful in a number of fields of study, and sometimes in unusual ways. We must therefore embrace this science that plays such an important role in our day-to-day lives!

Whale Q&A - 24/9/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise joined the Whales Online editorial team in the fall of 2022. As she is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies at the University of Sherbrooke, she wishes to educate about the beauties of nature and wants to encourage people who are interested in it to protect it.

Recommended articles

Do whales exhibit altruism? (Part 3 of 3) The example of cetaceans in the wild

Caring for sick, injured or dead individuals – otherwise known as epimeletic behaviour – is a common form of expression…

|Whale Q&A 10/11/2022

What is the status of whaling around the world?

Public opinion seems increasingly concerned about the future of whales, which have become over time a symbol of wildlife conservation.…

|Whale Q&A 3/11/2022

Do whales exhibit altruism? (Part 2 of 3) The example of dolphins

Like humpbacks, toothed whales (odontocetes) and dolphins in particular stand out for their altruistic behaviour. However, the nature of this…

|Whale Q&A 27/10/2022

Les mathématiques, une science parfois aimée, parfois détestée lors du parcours scolaire, peuvent parfois avoir des applications inusitées. Dans le cadre de la Semaine de la culture scientifique 2022 qui se déroulait du 19 au 25 septembre, et qui avait pour thème les mathématiques, il est à se demander à quoi peut servir cette science dans l’étude des baleines.

À cet effet, les chercheurs étudiant les baleines utilisent les mathématiques dans le cadre de tous leurs projets de recherche, mais encore davantage dans le cadre de celui dont il est question ici. La longueur des baleines, autrefois mesurée exclusivement lorsqu’elles s’échouaient ou qu’elles étaient tuées à des fins scientifiques, peut maintenant être calculée de leur vivant, et ce dans leur milieu naturel grâce à la photogrammétrie. Cette méthode permet de mesurer les baleines, ce qui illustre éventuellement leur état de santé.

Un projet qui vole haut

Le projet de photogrammétrie du GREMM a débuté en 2018. L’objectif est d’observer si les bélugas du Saint-Laurent,  sont en bonne condition physique ou plutôt maigres. Des données sont récoltées afin de voir l’évolution annuelle, soit en début, milieu et fin d’été, des réserves d’énergie des bélugas. Les résultats sont aussi comparés sur plusieurs années.

Un nouveau projet s’est ajouté récemment : les chercheurs s’intéressent aux femelles qui reviennent chaque année dans la Baie Sainte-Marguerite du parc national du Fjord-du-Saguenay et à Cacouna. Ces femelles béluga sont essentielles à la survie de l’espèce, et le projet permet de faire un suivi de cet indicateur de santé, explique Alexandre Bernier-Graveline, co-responsable de projet au GREMM.

Une étape à la fois

La photogrammétrie implique la prise de vidéos à l’aide d’un drone, le tout permettant de calculer ensuite les mensurations (la longueur totale et de multiples mesures) des baleines observées. Cette méthode pourrait également permettre de détecter si les femelles sont en période de gestation ainsi que d’emmagasiner des données sur les conditions physiques et réserves énergétiques de ces femelles gestantes.

Cette vidéo illustre un vol de drone permettant la collecte de données pour les mesures photogrammétriques. Des images sont extraites des vidéos prises par la caméra du drone.

La trigonométrie, un concept de base des mathématiques, permet de déterminer des mesures et des angles inconnus à partir de certains d’entre eux. La première mesure obtenue vient d’un télémètre (range finder) qui est apposé sur le drone. Le télémètre émet plusieurs faisceaux laser par seconde, ces derniers seront renvoyés vers un capteur sur l’appareil. Le temps qui s’est écoulé pendant le transfert du rayon lumineux est transposé en distance (distance caméra-centre de l’image).

Une autre donnée de base nécessaire est obtenue avec un « contrôle », un carton noir et blanc déposé sur le plancher du bateau de recherche. Il s’agit d’un objet de taille connue qui permet de vérifier que les équipements utilisés sont précis.

Les images des vidéos sont ensuite extraites afin d’obtenir l’image la plus facile à mesurer, soit un béluga à la surface de l’eau, bien droit et le moins courbé possible. Des traits sont alors tracés sur l’image dans un logiciel. La distance entre l’évent et le point le plus étroit du pédoncule, ce qui représente environ 90% de la longueur totale d’un béluga, est mesurée, suivie de multiples mesures de largeur. La raison de cette première mesure partielle est simple : « quand les bélugas nagent, la tête replonge très rapidement sous l’eau et la queue est très basse, ce qui fait en sorte qu’il est difficile d’avoir une image de béluga avec la tête, le corps et la nageoire caudale au même niveau », précise Alexandre Bernier-Graveline. La longueur totale, de l’extrémité de la tête jusqu’au bout de la nageoire caudale, est seulement mesurée si le béluga est en position parfaite, c’est-à-dire qu’il est complètement à plat.

Le logiciel calcule les mensurations d’un béluga à partir du nombre de pixels séparant un point A d’un point B. Ce nombre est ensuite converti en une distance réelle, à l’aide de plusieurs variables, dont la distance entre le drone et le béluga obtenue par le télémètre.

Jongler avec les données

Une autre branche des mathématiques est utilisée pour ces études, soit la statistique. Il s’agit d’une étape importante de la recherche, puisqu’elle permet d’analyser les données et aide grandement à les interpréter dans l’ensemble. Sans les statistiques, il serait très difficile de comparer rigoureusement les milliers de données amassées chaque année.

Avoir conscience des limites

Comme toute science, la photogrammétrie a des limites et des sources d’erreur. Les équipements utilisés ont un niveau de précision limité. Il est ainsi important de les utiliser adéquatement, et de compenser ces imprécisions au besoin, afin d’obtenir des données fiables. Notamment, le télémètre doit être attaché à une suspension pour amortir les mouvements brusques du drone.

En outre, la présence de vagues et de remous dans l’eau est prise en compte lors de l’analyse des images, puisqu’elle peut rendre plus difficile le placement des points autour du béluga. Plusieurs autres informations doivent être prises en considération afin d’assurer la plus grande rigueur scientifique lorsque les mesures entre plusieurs bélugas sont comparées. Pour y arriver, une cote de qualité est attribuée à chacune des photos qui prendra en compte la présence de remous et de vagues qui peuvent rendre plus difficile la prise de mesures ainsi que la posture du béluga sur l’image. La règle de base est que chaque béluga doit avoir percé la surface de l’eau et être le plus droit possible afin d’obtenir des mesures convenables.

Les chercheurs étudiant les baleines mettent à profit des connaissances en mathématiques pour mieux comprendre ces mammifères encore mystérieux. Les programmes de recherches, alliant différentes façades de la science, mènent à de nouvelles découvertes qui permettent de protéger ces espèces.

Trigonométrie, algèbre, géométrie… Les notions en mathématiques apprises à l’école s’avèrent utiles dans plusieurs domaines d’étude, et ce de façon parfois inusitée. Il faut ainsi apprécier cette science qui influence grandement notre quotidien!

Les baleines en questions - 24/9/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise a rejoint l’équipe de rédaction de Baleines en direct à l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke, elle a le souci de faire connaître les beautés de la nature et d’encourager sa protection à tous ceux qui s’y intéressent.

Articles recommandés

Les baleines font-elles preuve d’altruisme? (3/3) L’exemple des cétacés à l’état sauvage

Prendre soin d’individus malades, blessés ou morts - un comportement dit épimélétique – est une forme d’expression de l’empathie courante…

|Les baleines en questions 10/11/2022

Où en est la chasse à la baleine dans le monde ?

L’opinion publique semble de plus en plus concernée par l’avenir des baleines qui sont devenues, au fil du temps, un…

|Les baleines en questions 3/11/2022

Comment démystifier la taxonomie des baleines?

Par définition, la taxonomie est une science visant l’étude de la diversité du monde vivant. Pour ce faire, les différents…

|Les baleines en questions 3/11/2022