The blue whale has a dive time that varies from around 10 to 30 minutes, which is not enough to earn the species the record for the longest dive. So why would this giant of the seas have a shorter dive duration than other whales? The difference is believed to lie in its diet. The blue whale’s technique of engulfing its prey requires significant energy from the animal, which is energy that might otherwise be used for diving.

Large cetaceans and energy

By recording time and depth data, scientists were able to determine that the energy cost of a foraging dive is particularly high and that whales needed twice as much time to recover at the surface than for a non-foraging dive. How long large rorquals can dive is therefore limited by the energy they expend when feeding. Larger animals generally have shorter dive times. This is the case of the blue whale: the cetacean has a theoretical limit of diving time of 31.3 minutes, but only dives to forage for an average of 7.8 minutes, according to the study.

Why do whales dive?

Whales dive for a variety of reasons, whether it’s to move around or to hide from predators, though the main reason is to feed. The blue whale is what’s known as a “gulper”, meaning it opens its baleen-lined jaw wide when feeding on krill. This large cetacean therefore often dives to search for or reach its prey. Krill can be found at varying depths depending on time and location. Time underwater thus differs from one dive to another. For example, krill are found in less deep water at night due to the lack of light. A study that tracked a handful of blue and fin whales has also shown that the animals made shallower dives at night than during the day. Their dives appeared be confined to areas with high prey density so that the energy expended would be offset by their food intake. Blue whales are therefore particularly susceptible to prey shortages, a characteristic symptom of climate change.

Impressive adaptations

Although the need for oxygen is a limiting factor for whales, a number of adaptations allow them to overcome this issue. For example, they have a high concentration of myoglobin (article in French), a protein that stores oxygen in the muscles. The blue whale also has the ability to drop its heart rate to as low as 2 beats per minute in order to limit its oxygen intake during dives! However, its maximum dive duration is believed to be shorter than other cetaceans, though it is capable of travelling from the surface down to depths of 100 metres, or even 200 metres at times.

Whale Q&A - 29/6/2023

Juliette Gauvreau

Juliette Gauvreau joined the GREMM team in 2023 as a naturalist and writer. Recently graduated in geography, she is passionate about education and popularization. She discovered her love of whales at a young age, and has taken their protection to heart.

Recommended articles

How can I find work with whales?

In a few weeks from now, scientists will be plying the waters of the St. Lawrence with the aim of…

|Whale Q&A 1/5/2024

Interpreting the Extraordinary Surface Behaviour of Humpback Whales

Humpback whales are also particularly entertaining, lifting their tails when diving, performing successive breaches, striking their pectorals or tail on…

|Whale Q&A 29/2/2024

Why do humpback whales sometimes interact with algae?

In an immense expanse of blue, a long and slender silhouette gently rises above the water surface. A string of…

|Whale Q&A 9/1/2024

Le rorqual bleu a un temps de plongée qui varie de 10 à 30 minutes environ, il ne détient donc pas le record de la plus longue plongée. Alors pourquoi ce géant des mers aurait une durée en apnée moins longue que d’autres baleines? Ce serait son mode d’alimentation qui expliquerait cette différence. L’engouffrement est une activité qui demande énormément d’énergie au rorqual bleu, énergie qui doit aussi être mobilisée pour l’apnée.

Les gros cétacés et l’énergie

En suivant une analyse de temps et de profondeur, des scientifiques ont pu déterminer que le coût énergétique d’une plongée d’alimentation serait particulièrement élevé et que le temps de récupération nécessaire à la surface était doublé. L’énergie dépensée lors de l’alimentation limite donc le temps de plongée des grands rorquals. Les plus gros animaux ont généralement des périodes de plongée plus courtes. C’est le cas du rorqual bleu : le cétacé a pour limite théorique de temps de plongée 31,3 minutes, mais n’est en plongée pour chercher de la nourriture que pour 7,8 minutes en moyenne d’après l’étude.

Pourquoi les baleines plongent-elles?

Les baleines plongent pour différentes raisons, que ce soit pour se déplacer ou se cacher de prédateurs, bien que la raison principale soit pour s’alimenter. Le rorqual bleu est une baleine engouffreuse, il ouvre grand sa mâchoire remplie de fanons pour se nourrir de krill. Ce gros cétacé plonge donc souvent pour chercher ou atteindre ses proies. Le krill peut se retrouver à des profondeurs variées dépendamment de l’endroit et du moment. Les temps en apnée diffèrent alors de plongée en plongée. Par exemple, le krill se retrouve moins profondément la nuit en raison de l’absence de lumière. Une étude suivant quelques individus de rorquals bleus et communs a d’ailleurs dénoté que les baleines suivies plongeaient moins profondément la nuit que le jour. Leurs plongées seraient confinées aux zones où il y a une forte densité de proies afin que l’énergie dépensée soit regagnée grâce à l’alimentation. Les baleines bleues seraient donc particulièrement susceptibles à l’insuffisance de proies, symptôme caractéristique des changements climatiques.

Des adaptations impressionnantes

Bien que le besoin d’oxygène soit un facteur limitant pour les baleines, plusieurs adaptations leur permettent d’y pallier. Elles possèdent une forte concentration de myoglobine, une protéine qui permet de stocker l’oxygène dans les muscles. Le rorqual bleu a aussi la capacité de faire chuter son rythme cardiaque à 2 battements par minute afin de limiter l’utilisation d’oxygène lors des plongées! Il aurait pourtant une limite de temps plus courte que d’autres cétacés, mais pourrait tout de même se déplacer entre la surface et 100 mètres de profondeur, jusqu’à atteindre à des moments particuliers les 200 mètres.

Les baleines en questions - 29/6/2023

Juliette Gauvreau

Juliette Gauvreau a rejoint l’équipe du GREMM en 2023 comme naturaliste et rédactrice. Géographe de formation, elle est passionnée d’éducation et de vulgarisation. Elle découvre son amour pour les baleines très jeune et a à cœur leur protection.

Articles recommandés

Comment faire pour travailler avec les baleines?

Dans quelques semaines, les scientifiques sillonneront le Saint-Laurent dans l’optique de mieux comprendre les baleines, leur environnement et les menaces…

|Les baleines en questions 1/5/2024

Que signifient les prouesses des rorquals à bosse?

Les rorquals à bosse sont particulièrement impressionnants à admirer : montrant la nageoire caudale en plongeant, sautant hors de l’eau…

|Les baleines en questions 29/2/2024

Pourquoi les rorquals à bosse interagissent parfois avec les algues?

Dans une immensité bleue et mouvante, une silhouette longue et élancée s’élève doucement à la surface de l’eau. Une traine…

|Les baleines en questions 9/1/2024