On May 13, the first North Atlantic right whales of the season were observed via aerial survey in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Their return to Canadian waters has meant the implementation of a number of protective measures, including speed restrictions for boats exceeding 20 metres as well as the closure of certain fishing areas. A static speed reduction zone, which represents the region where 90% of right whales were observed in 2018, has been in effect since April 28.

The purpose of these measures is to lower the risk of collisions and entanglements, which are significant threats to the endangered North Atlantic right whale. These measures were adopted in the aftermath of the exceptional mortality incidents of 2017, when 17 right whale carcasses were discovered, including 12 in Canadian waters. Recap of the latest news with regard to right whales…

New technologies for crabbers

The Acadian Crabbers Association will receive funding of over $2 million over three years to test new fishing techniques that might help lower the risk of right whale entanglements. The crabbing industry, a fishery that many coastal communities depend on for their livelihood, involves the use of huge quantities of rope. Because they spend a great deal of time foraging at the surface, right whales are particularly at risk of finding themselves ensnared in these ropes.

 

The current method consists of tethering the crab traps – which sink to the seabed – to a buoy that floats on the surface. Since last summer, crabbers have been testing new fishing techniques. For example, underwater buoys might represent a viable alternative since they eliminate the need for any rope near the surface. These buoys could be combined with an acoustic system that would enable crabbers to “call” their buoys back to the surface whenever they wish to check their traps.

Adapting to the presence of right whales

Right whales now visit the Gulf of St. Lawrence in large numbers, which was not the case a decade ago. They are believed to be in search of new food sources, as copepods have become less plentiful in their traditional feeding grounds in the Bay of Fundy.

Protective measures were hastily introduced in 2017, then renewed the following year. In 2018, not a single right whale carcass was found in Canada. Is this proof that the imposed restrictions are effective? It’s hard to say. “What we do know is that these efforts will have to be maintained for several years,” explains Robert Michaud in an interview with Radio-Canada. The longevity of right whales and the long intervals between births mean that the results of any conservation measures will take time to become apparent.

Right whales in statistics

  • Number of Individuals: 411
  • Number of calves counted in 2019: 7
  • Number of calves counted in 2018: 0
  • Calving interval per female: 10 years
  • Proportion of individuals with markings caused by entanglement: 83%
  • Speed limit: 10 knots
  • Duration of protection of an area following a right whale sighting: 15 days
News - 23/5/2019

Jeanne Picher-Labrie

Jeanne Picher-Labrie joined the Whales Online team in 2019 as a writing intern. She is studying for her Bachelor’s in biology and has always been enthralled by nature. Every day she learns a little more about the marine mammals of the St. Lawrence and aims to share her fascination through popular science.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Baleines noires : fermetures de zones de pêche et nouvelles technologies pour la pêche au crabe

  • L'empêtrement dans des filets de pêche peut causer la mort prématurée des baleines // Entanglement in fishing nets can cause the early death of whales. © International Fund for Animal Welfare
    23 / 05 / 2019 Par Jeanne Picher-Labrie - / / /

    Le 13 mai dernier, les premières baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord de la saison ont été observées par relevés aériens dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Leur retour en eaux canadiennes signifiait le début de certaines mesures de protection, qui imposent des restrictions de vitesse aux embarcations de plus de 20 mètres ainsi que des fermetures de zones pour les pêcheurs. Une zone de réduction de vitesse statique, qui représente la région où 90% des baleines noires ont été observées en 2018, est d’ailleurs déjà en place depuis le 28 avril.

    L’objectif de ces mesures est de diminuer les risques de collisions et d’empêtrements, des menaces importantes pour les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, une espèce en voie de disparition. Ces mesures surviennent après un épisode de mortalité inhabituelle en 2017. Dix-sept carcasses de baleines noires ont été trouvées, dont douze dans les eaux canadiennes. Voici quelques nouveautés dans le dossier des baleines noires.

    Nouvelles technologies pour les crabiers

    L’Association des crabiers acadiens bénéficiera d’un financement de plus de 2 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour tester de nouvelles techniques de pêche qui pourraient réduire les risques d’empêtrement des baleines noires. La pêche au crabe, une pêche dont dépendent de nombreuses communautés côtières, implique de déployer une grande quantité de cordages. Parce qu’elles passent beaucoup de temps à la surface pour s’alimenter, les baleines noires sont particulièrement à risque de se prendre dans les cordages.

    Le cordage reliant les bouées aux casiers est une menace d’empêtrement pour les baleines noires. © Graphic Services, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

    La méthode actuelle consiste en une bouée qui flotte à la surface, reliée par une corde aux casiers qui coulent vers le fond. Depuis l’été dernier, de nouvelles techniques de pêche sont testées par certains pêcheurs. Par exemple, des bouées sous-marines pourraient être envisagées, puisqu’elles éliminent tout cordage près de la surface. Ces bouées seraient combinées à un système acoustique qui permettrait aux pêcheurs «d’appeler» les bouées vers la surface pour récupérer les casiers.

    S’adapter à la présence des baleines noires

    Les baleines noires viennent maintenant en grand nombre dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, ce qui n’était pas le cas il y a une dizaine d’années. Elles seraient à la recherche de nouvelles sources de nourriture puisque l’abondance de copépodes a diminué dans leurs aires d’alimentation traditionnelles, dans la baie de Fundy.

    Des mesures de protection ont été instaurées en 2017 dans l’urgence, puis reconduites l’année suivante. En 2018, aucune carcasse de baleine noire n’a été trouvée au Canada. Est-ce la preuve de l’efficacité des restrictions imposées ? Difficile à dire. «Ce qu’on sait, c’est que ces efforts-là devront être maintenus encore pendant plusieurs années», explique Robert Michaud, en entrevue avec Radio-Canada. La longévité des baleines noires ainsi que les longs intervalles entre les naissances font que les résultats de mesures de conservations prennent du temps à se manifester.

    Les baleines noires en chiffre :

    Nombre d’individus : 411

    Nombre de baleineaux recensés en 2019 : 7

    Nombre de baleineaux recensés en 2018 : 0

    Intervalle de naissance par femelle : 10 ans

    Proportion des individus portant des marques causées par un empêtrement : 83%

    Limite de vitesse : 10 nœuds

    Durée de la protection d’une zone après l’observation d’une baleine noire : 15 jours

     

    Outils de référence

    Carte interactive des observations de baleines noires en eaux canadiennes : WhaleMap et Attentif aux baleines

    Carte interactive des observations de baleines noires en eaux états-uniennes: NOAA

    Suivi des mesures de ralentissement en prévention des collisions : Transports Canada

    Mesures liées à la pêche : Pêches et Océans Canada

    Suivi des fermetures de zone de pêche : Pêches et Océans Canada

    L’évènement de mortalité de 2017 : Baleines en direct

    La situation en 2018 : Baleines en direct


    Jeanne Picher-Labrie : Jeanne Picher-Labrie a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct en 2019 et est maintenant naturaliste au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins à Tadoussac. Étudiante au baccalauréat en biologie, elle est depuis toujours émerveillée par la nature. Elle en apprend chaque jour un peu plus sur les mammifères marins du Saint-Laurent et souhaite partager sa fascination grâce à la vulgarisation scientifique.