For scientists, the endangered North Atlantic right whale is a source of both fascination and concern. This is why a number of researchers have attempted to better understand the factors at play in its survival and have studied some of the species’ behaviours. This article describes five new discoveries that have been made about the North Atlantic right whale in the past few months!

1. Right whale fertility is influenced by the size of the animal

Between 1981 and 2019, it was observed that North Atlantic right whales have likely diminished in size due to the fishing gear entanglements frequently suffered by these animals, which leads to additional energy expenditure. According to a recent study, this decrease in body size is likely having an impact on fertility rates, with smaller females producing fewer calves during a potential reproductive year than those that are larger.

To draw these conclusions, 41 female right whales were tracked and measured using aerial photogrammetry techniques between 2000 and 2019. Based on collected data, the researchers found that the interval between births was greater in smaller females than in large ones. Indeed, even if the females are in good health, they are still limited by their size in terms of the energy reserves they can accumulate. This therefore implies a longer recovery period between each birth as well as fewer calves per female over the course of her lifetime.

Over the long term, this could have major consequences for the survival of the species, as fewer calves per female means that the total number of individuals will also eventually decrease. To be continued!

 

2. Right whale vocalizations vary according to the animals’ age and sex

North Atlantic right whales communicate with each other by producing vocalizations, and it has recently been shown that these sounds vary according to certain individual characteristics such as age and sex.

Indeed, the researchers found that in the species’ calving grounds, mothers and calves communicated with each other with very short, low-amplitude sounds, perhaps so as not to be detected by other whales or potential predators. Some scientists also noticed that 7- to 9-month old calves emit shorter and higher-frequency sounds than adults, a little like a babbling baby.

In a group environment, males and females emit different vocalizations. Males are believed to make gunshot-like sounds while females occasionally produce complex scream-like noises. Right whales are also believed to be able to produce low-frequency sounds in order to be heard in environments with significant ambient noise such as shipping traffic.

On the other hand, although some sounds are attributable to males and others to females and young, other sounds such as contact calls between individuals can likely be made by all right whales, regardless of their sex or age.

3. Just because a female is no longer with her calf doesn’t necessarily mean the latter has perished

Researchers often tended to worry when they spotted a right whale without her first-year calf. Indeed, it was often believed that a mother spotted alone meant that her offspring had died. However, a recent study seems to show the opposite.

Calves normally stay with their mother for 10 to 12 months, but they may go their own way even earlier. This behaviour, which might explain why females are sometimes seen alone, has been observed on a few occasions by researchers.

Additionally, since right whale sightings are mostly made from the air, surveyors may sometimes be unable to clearly see the mother or the calf feeding below while the other individual is at the surface, and the individual spotted is assumed to be alone.

Because calves are most often identified thanks to the mother accompanying them, it is also possible that certain individuals cannot be recognized when they are seen alone years later. Indeed, it is difficult to apply photo-ID techniques with young right whales, as the white callosities on their heads are not yet developed at such an early age.

Efforts should therefore be put into photo-ID’ing young right whales, believe the researchers behind this study, as it has occurred on a few occasions that a calf considered dead has been seen again a few years later, alive and well!

4. How are right whales affected by underwater noise?

One of the factors that can stress the North Atlantic right whale and affect its survival is noise pollution. Elsewhere in the world, actions have already been taken to limit the impacts of noise, but in Canada, this stressor is still poorly understood. This is why researchers explored this topic and identified a few parameters to better identify the different types of noise that harm right whales.

Harmful noises most critical to monitor include seismic airguns, active military sonar, and commercial shipping. For each type of noise, the researchers indicated whether a potential impact was known and stated the consequences that have been observed in right whales, including modified diving and breathing patterns, changes in vocalizations, physiological impacts, etc.

With this study, the researchers aimed to shed light on the various noises that are harmful to right whales while at the same time presenting policymakers with tools to better quantify these various stressors.

5. Climate change and right whales: consequences already being observed

Climate change is already affecting some marine animals, including the North Atlantic right whale, which has been observed in areas it used to frequent during the whaling era.

Indeed, researchers have noted a decrease in the number of individuals and the number of calves in the Gulf of Maine, one of the fastest-warming regions of the planet. However, right whales appear to be increasingly present in another region, namely southern New England. At this location, a greater-than-normal abundance of right whales was observed from 2013 to 2019. North Atlantic right whales are now being seen here year-round.

However, in its new range the species faces additional threats such as shipping traffic and noise pollution. This is why the habitat changes of this species must be monitored by scientists in the coming years in order to better protect it.

News - 29/9/2022

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette joined the GREMM’s team as a writer and naturalist in 2022. Recently graduated in biology, she has always been fascinated by the marine environment and whales and hopes to contribute to their protection through awareness and popularization.

Recommended articles

Top Picks for a Rich Whale Library

Many species of whales have left the St. Lawrence for the winter. Observing these cetaceans in the flesh in the…

|News 8/12/2022

A Fossil Under the Magnifying Glass

Thirty years ago, the fossil of an Atlantic grey whale (Eschrichtius robustus) was misidentified as a humpback whale. The latter…

|News 17/11/2022

Snow Cone: Emblem of its Species’ Desperate Struggle

In December 2021, scientists felt a glimmer of hope when Snow Cone was spotted with a newborn, despite the fact…

|News 14/10/2022

Espèce en voie de disparition, la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord intrigue autant qu’elle inquiète les scientifiques. C’est pourquoi plusieurs chercheurs ont tenté de mieux comprendre ce qui influence sa survie et ont étudié quelques-uns de ses comportements particuliers. Voici donc 5 nouvelles découvertes faites sur la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord dans les derniers mois!

1. La taille des baleines noires influencerait leur fécondité

Entre 1981 et 2019, il a été observé que la taille des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord aurait diminué en raison des empêtrements dans les engins de pêche fréquemment subis par ces baleines et qui entrainent des dépenses énergétiques supplémentaires. D’après une étude récente, cette diminution de la taille du corps aurait un impact sur la fécondité : les femelles de petite taille produiraient moins de veaux au cours d’une année reproductive potentielle que celles de grande taille.

Pour arriver à ces résultats, 41 femelles baleines noires ont été suivies et mesurées par photogrammétrie aérienne entre 2000 et 2019. Les chercheurs ont constaté, grâce aux données obtenues, que l’intervalle entre les naissances était plus grand chez les femelles de petite taille que chez les femelles de grande taille. Effectivement, même si ces femelles sont en bonne santé, elles sont tout de même limitées par leur taille au niveau des réserves énergétiques qu’elles peuvent avoir. Cela demande donc une période de récupération plus grande entre chaque naissance et entraine du même coup un plus petit nombre de veaux par femelle au cours d’une vie.

À long terme, cela pourrait avoir des conséquences majeures sur la survie de l’espèce, car un moins grand nombre de veaux par femelle implique que le nombre d’individus total diminuera lui aussi éventuellement. À suivre… !

2. Les vocalisations des baleines noires varieraient selon l’âge et le sexe

Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord communiquent entre elles en produisant des vocalisations, et il a récemment été prouvé que ces sons varient selon certaines caractéristiques de l’individu, comme le sexe et l’âge.

Les chercheurs ont effectivement constaté que dans les aires de mise bas, les mères et les veaux communiquaient entre eux avec des sons très courts et de basse amplitude, peut-être pour ne pas être détectés par les autres baleines et les prédateurs potentiels. Certains ont aussi remarqué que les veaux de 7 à 9 mois émettaient des sons plus courts et dans des plus hautes fréquences que les adultes, un peu comme le ferait un enfant qui gazouille.

Les mâles et les femelles émettraient quant à eux des vocalisations différentes en contexte de groupe. Les mâles feraient des sons ressemblant à des coups de feu et les femelles produiraient à l’occasion des sons complexes s’apparentant à des cris. Les baleines noires seraient également capables de produire des sons de basse fréquence afin d’être entendues dans des milieux avec beaucoup de sons ambiants, comme le bruit des navires.

En revanche, bien que certains sons soient attribuables aux mâles et d’autres aux femelles et aux jeunes, les baleines noires pourraient, indépendamment de leur sexe et de leur âge, faire certains sons, comme les appels de contact entre individus.

3. Ce n’est pas parce qu’une femelle n’est plus avec son veau que celui-ci est nécessairement mort

Les chercheurs avaient souvent tendance à s’inquiéter lorsqu’ils apercevaient une baleine noire sans son veau dans la première année suivant la naissance. En effet, on croyait souvent qu’une mère vue seule impliquait que le jeune était nécessairement mort. Cependant, une récente étude semble montrer le contraire.

Les veaux restent normalement avec leur mère entre 10 et 12 mois, mais il pourrait arriver qu’ils s’en séparent plus tôt dans leur développement. Ce comportement, qui pourrait expliquer pourquoi les femelles sont parfois vues seules, a été observé à quelques reprises par des chercheurs.

De plus, comme les observations de baleines noires sont majoritairement faites par la voie des airs, il peut arriver que l’on ne voie pas bien la mère ou le veau, en train de s’alimenter en profondeur pendant que l’autre est en surface, et qu’on suppose que l’individu est seul.

Comme la majorité du temps le veau est identifié grâce à la mère qui l’accompagne, il est aussi possible que l’on n’arrive pas à bien reconnaitre certains individus quand ils sont revus seuls quelques années plus tard. Effectivement, il est difficile de faire de la photo-identification avec les jeunes baleines noires, car les callosités blanches sur leur tête ne sont pas encore développées en bas âge.

Des efforts devraient donc être mis dans la photo-identification des jeunes baleines noires, croient les chercheurs responsables de cette étude, car il est arrivé à quelques reprises qu’un veau considéré mort soit revu quelques années plus tard, bien en vie!

4. Quel est l’impact du bruit sous-marin sur la baleine noire?

Parmi les facteurs pouvant stresser la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord et nuire à sa survie se trouve la pollution sonore. Ailleurs dans le monde, des actions ont déjà été posées pour limiter ses impacts, mais au Canada, ce stresseur est encore incompris. C’est pourquoi des chercheurs se sont penchés sur le dossier et en sont venus à cibler quelques paramètres permettant de mieux identifier les types de bruits nuisant à la baleine noire.

Parmi ces bruits nuisibles se retrouvent notamment les canons à air sismiques, les sonars militaires actifs et le transport commercial, qui font partie des types les plus à surveiller. Pour chacun des bruits, les chercheurs ont indiqué si un impact potentiel était connu et ont énoncé quelles étaient les conséquences observées chez la baleine noire : changements au niveau de la plongée et de la respiration, changements dans les vocalisations, impacts physiologiques, etc.

Par cette étude, les chercheurs ont voulu mettre en lumière les différents bruits nuisant à la baleine noire et ont présenté aux décideurs politiques, par la même occasion, des outils pour mieux mesurer ces différents stresseurs.

5. Les changements climatiques et la baleine noire : déjà des conséquences observées

Les changements climatiques affectent déjà certains animaux marins, dont la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, qui a été observée dans des secteurs qu’elle fréquentait à l’époque de la chasse à la baleine.

Des chercheurs ont effectivement remarqué une diminution du nombre d’individus et du nombre de veaux dans le golfe du Maine, une des régions de la planète qui se réchauffe le plus rapidement. La baleine noire aurait toutefois été vue dans une autre région, soit le sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. À cet endroit, une plus grande abondance de baleines noires a été observée de 2013 à 2019, contrairement à ce qui était normalement recensé. Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord y sont maintenant observées toute l’année.

Les baleines noires font cependant face à de nouvelles menaces dans cette nouvelle aire de répartition, comme le trafic maritime et la pollution sonore. C’est pourquoi les changements d’habitat de cette espèce doivent être surveillés par les scientifiques dans les prochaines années pour mieux pouvoir la protéger.

Actualité - 29/9/2022

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette s’est jointe à l’équipe du GREMM comme rédactrice et naturaliste en 2022. Biologiste de formation, elle aime apprendre et communiquer aux autres ce qui lui tient à cœur. Fascinée depuis toujours par les milieux marins et les baleines, elle souhaite, par la sensibilisation et la vulgarisation, contribuer à leur protection.

Articles recommandés

Sélection de livres sur les baleines à découvrir

En cette saison froide, nombre d’espèces de baleines ont quitté le Saint-Laurent. Observer ces cétacés en chair et en os…

|Actualité 8/12/2022

La quête de nourriture des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord

Depuis 2015, une présence accrue des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord est remarquée dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. L’événement de…

|Actualité 8/12/2022

Un fossile sous la loupe

Un fossile de baleine grise (Eschrichtius robustus) de l'Atlantique avait été identifié à tort comme étant une baleine à bosse,…

|Actualité 17/11/2022