Belugas took full advantage of their first day of calm in the Saguenay Fjord. Many light-coloured backs were present in the river’s blue waters on Tuesday, marking with great fanfare the start of the summer season and the closure of Baie Sainte-Marguerite to water traffic.

In fact, this week Baie Sainte-Marguerite was officially closed to boating and shipping. From June 21 to September 21, watercraft will be unable to enter the bay. A transit zone has also been established in front of the bay where mariners must circulate without stopping and at speeds of between 5 and 10 knots.

However, a record 45 individuals were counted in the afternoon of June 21. The same day the area was closed! “Perhaps to celebrate the closing of the bay to boaters?” suggests a cetacean enthusiast with a touch of humour. Most of the individuals that frequent this sector are adults accompanied by young, and this protective measure aims to reduce the level of disturbance they have to contend with. Baie Sainte-Marguerite is a place of great social importance for belugas.

In the St. Lawrence, belugas have also been seen near Les Bergeronnes. A little farther upstream, in Saint-Irénée, the appearance of a dozen or so white backs offers a superb backdrop for a local resident on her lunch break: “Yesterday around mid-day, we were enjoying a bite to eat when we saw a dozen or so belugas: some to the right, some to the left, but quite far apart. I may have also seen a mother with her calf.” On the opposite shore, a naturalist observed belugas in Cacouna earlier this week.

Big whales in the gulf

Observations of baleen whales have been rather sparse in the estuary, notwithstanding the presence of minke whales: one off Cap-à-L’Aigle in La Malbaie, another that returned several days in a row off Pointe Noire in Baie-Sainte-Catherine, and, lastly, an individual in Tadoussac Bay that approached the marina at low tide.

Another species, a humpback whale, was seen near Les Escoumins. Farther downstream, near Godbout, two visiting naturalists observed large blasts offshore on the morning of June 21. “Hard to tell whether it was a humpback or a fin whale. We’re not sure which species it was,” ponders one of them. From the ferry that connects Godbout and Matane, we observe what may be the same individuals. “That was really the highlight of my week: two humpback whales while setting out from Godbout. Everybody on board the boat saw them, huddling near the window to get a better look. It was most obvious: two big round spouts.

But the majority of large whales are being observed in the gulf. Indeed, a number of humpback, fin and minke whales are concentrated off the tip of Cap Bon-Ami in Gaspé. It’s a perfect site for whale-watchers. “We’ve been seeing breaching and lobtailing. We’ve also been treated to awesome seabird spectacles, which, combined with the whales, has been truly magnificent. All we can do is smile!” exclaims a naturalist and captain working in the area.

About 8 minke whales were observed near the end of the docks in the village of Grande-Vallée, while two belugas were seen swimming off the coast of Petite-Vallée. On the other side of the river, in the north shore community of Gallix, a resident observes two harbour seals, while at Sept-Îles it is the presence of a humpback whale, multiple minke whales and porpoises that has been turning heads this past week. A wide variety of marine mammals are currently swimming in the salt waters of the St. Lawrence near the Mingan Archipelago: a humpback whale and her calf, minke whales and colonies of grey seals over 500 strong. Near Havre-Aubert in the Magdalen Islands, several minke whales and a lone humpback were observed in the sparkling water under a blazing spring sun.

Where are the whales this week? Map of the observations

Here is the map of observations reported this week. It gives an idea of the presence of whales and does not at all represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence. Use it for fun!

A tightly knit network of experienced observers who live according to the rhythm of the St. Lawrence throughout the year. On the waves or on shore, they scan the horizon with passion and patience, watching for the slightest spout. It is thanks to their sharp eyes and living words that we are able to write Observations of the week week in and week out. A big thank you to all of our precious collaborators!

Click on the whale or the seal icon to find out more about the corresponding observation (species, number of individuals, info, pictures). To enlarge the map, click on the top right corner icon.

Observation of the Week - 23/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Exceptional Tours in the Estuary

Everyone was surprised this week when not one, but two endangered species ventured into the St. Lawrence Estuary: one North…

|Observation of the Week 11/8/2022

A Drive Down the “Whale Trail”

Between Tadoussac and Kegaska, Route 138 hugs the coast of Quebec’s Côte-Nord region for over 850 kilometres. Dotted with magnificent…

|Observation of the Week 4/8/2022

Swimming against the current

After the pioneering belugas that ventured into Baie des Ha! Ha! last week, this week it is the humpbacks’ turn to…

|Observation of the Week 28/7/2022

Les bélugas ont su profiter pleinement de leur première journée de quiétude dans le fjord du Saguenay. De nombreux dos clairs étaient présents dans les eaux bleues de la rivière, mardi, marquant en grande pompe le début de la saison estivale et la fermeture à la navigation de la baie Sainte-Marguerite.

En effet, cette semaine, la baie Sainte-Marguerite a officiellement été fermée à la navigation. Du 21 juin au 21 septembre cette année, les embarcations ne peuvent pénétrer dans la baie. Une zone de transit est également établie devant la baie, dans laquelle les navigateurs doivent circuler entre 5 et 10 nœuds sans s’arrêter.

Or, c’est un nombre record de 45 individus qui a été comptabilisé dans l’après-midi du 21 juin. Le jour même de la fermeture! «Peut-être pour fêter la fermeture de la baie aux plaisanciers?» suggère une passionnée des cétacés avec une pointe d’humour. La majeure partie des individus qui fréquentent ce secteur sont des adultes accompagnés de jeunes, et cette mesure de protection vise à diminuer les dérangements. La baie Sainte-Marguerite est un lieu d’une grande importance sociale pour les bélugas.

Dans le Saint-Laurent, des bélugas ont aussi été aperçus au niveau des Bergeronnes. Un peu en amont, à Saint-Irénée,  l’apparition d’une douzaine de dos blancs offre une vue superbe pour le diner d’une riveraine : «Hier midi, c’était vraiment d’une beauté pendant qu’on lunchait! Nous avons vu une douzaine de bélugas, il y en avait à droite, à gauche, mais ils étaient assez distancés. J’ai peut-être aussi aperçu une mère avec son veau.» Sur l’autre rive, une naturaliste observe des bélugas à Cacouna en début de semaine.

Les grosses baleines sont dans le golfe

Les observations de baleines à fanons se font plutôt tranquilles dans l’estuaire, malgré la présence remarquée de petits rorquals : l’un d’eux se promène devant  Cap-à-L’Aigle à La Malbaie, un autre revient plusieurs jours de suite devant pointe Noire à Baie-Sainte-Catherine, et, à Tadoussac, un individu s’approche dans la baie à proximité du quai, à marée basse.

Une autre espèce, un rorqual à bosse, est aperçu, lui, devant Les Escoumins. Un peu en aval, à Godbout, deux naturalistes de passage observent de grands souffles au large, le matin du 21 juin. «Difficile de dire s’il s’agissait d’un rorqual à bosse ou d’un rorqual commun. On n’est pas sures de quelle espèce il s’agissait.» explique l’une d’entre elles. Depuis le traversier qui relie Godbout et Matane, on observe possiblement les mêmes individus. «C’est vraiment mon Highlight de la semaine : deux baleines à bosse en partant de Godbout. Tout les gens qui étaient dans le bateau les ont vues, et se sont ramassés sur le bord de la fenêtre pour les observer. C’était vraiment évident : deux grands souffles ronds.»

Mais la majorité des grosses baleines sont plutôt observées dans le golfe. En effet, plusieurs rorquals à bosses, rorquals communs et petits rorquals se concentrent devant la pointe du cap Bon-Ami à Gaspé. C’est un site d’observation parfait pour les baleines. «On voit des breach et des lobtailing. On a aussi droit à de beaux spectacles d’oiseaux marins et, combiné avec les baleines, c’est vraiment magnifique. On peut juste avoir le sourire!» partage un capitaine naturaliste du secteur.

Environ 8 petits rorquals sont observés près de la pointe du quai, au village de Grande-Vallée, et deux bélugas nagent au large de à Petite-Vallée. De l’autre côté du fleuve, sur la côte nord, à Gallix, une riveraine observe deux phoques communs, alors qu’au niveau de Sept-Îles c’est la présence d’un rorqual à bosse, de multiples petits rorquals et de marsouins qui attire l’attention cette dernière semaine. Une grande variété de mammifères marins nagent actuellement dans les eaux salées du Saint-Laurent, au niveau de l’archipel de Mingan : un rorqual à bosse et son petit, des petits rorquals et des colonies de plus de 500 phoques gris. Aux iles de la Madeleine, du côté de Havre-Aubert, plusieurs petits rorquals et un rorqual à bosse sont observés par un temps magnifique dans une eau scintillante sous un magnifique soleil de printemps?

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Observations de la semaine - 23/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

«La saison peut définitivement commencer»

Des histoires d’amour se développent parfois entre certaines baleines et les naturalistes qui les observent. Pour Renaud Pintiaux, naturaliste et…

|Observations de la semaine 30/6/2022

De l’action près des côtes

Du petit marsouin commun au titanesque rorqual bleu : l'immense palette d'observation qu'offre le Saint-Laurent n'est pas réservée aux navigateurs. Les…

|Observations de la semaine 16/6/2022

Les rorquals à bosse volent la vedette!

Exubérantes, éclaboussantes, et omniprésentes, les rorquals à bosse ont parfois tendance à voler la vedette aux autres cétacés. Et pas…

|Observations de la semaine 9/6/2022