By Renaud Pintiaux, naturalist and wildlife photographer

 

The whale-watching season in the waters between Tadoussac and Les Escoumins ended in early November. Need I remind you that it was an exceptional season, especially with such an abundance of humpbacks? Indeed, no fewer than 110 individuals were identified, which is unprecedented!


So I was a little sad that the field season had drawn to a close. Especially since between the last cruise and the end of November, I was able to see from shore – Cap de Bon-Désir in particular – a large number of big blasts far off the coast. Four humpbacks even passed close to shore on several occasions.

The call of the sea

And then, on November 25, I had the very good fortune to be able to go out in a Zodiac one last time with a couple of friends. We had the St. Lawrence practically to ourselves. Notwithstanding the waves and the southwest winds, it was a day to remember. More than seven nautical miles off the coast of Les Bergeronnes, we encounter over a dozen humpbacks. I take a few photos of several caudal fins in an attempt to identify these animals. As I pore over my pictures that evening, I realize that they are all individuals seen earlier in the season. And nearly all of these lingering humpbacks in our sector have not yet been entered into the catalog of St. Lawrence humpbacks maintained by the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), so these are undoubtedly young individuals that are in no hurry to reach their breeding grounds in the South.

humpback fluke
This young humpback whale is not listed in the research catalogs. © Renaud Pintiaux
humpback fluke and back
These humpback whales were observed swimming near each other. © Renaud Pintiaux
humpback breach
This humpback whale made about 15 consecutive jumps out of the water. © Renaud Pintiaux
humpback fluke
Despite the cold winter weather, some humpback whales are still in the St. Lawrence to feed. © Renaud Pintiaux
humpback breach
Renaud Pintiaux identified 110 humpback whales in the St. Lawrence this year. © Renaud Pintiaux

On the water, we’re enjoying some nice observations when all of a sudden we spot a humpback whale leaping into the air in the distance. After 5 breaches, we decide to approach this individual. We obviously maintain a good distance, letting the animal continue its spectacular display on the horizon for over half an hour. I’m able to take these photos with a big smile on my face.

Winter seals

But the day was still not over… The breaching humpback having calmed down, we continue our patrol. Suddenly, we see some commotion up ahead. Harp seals… over 300 of them! They energetically poke their heads (and sometimes part of their body) above the water, and after a few minutes, they are all diving in unison before disappearing altogether. Winter is right around the corner, and the arrival of these impressive herds of harp seals is proof of that.

We also observe a few minke whales en route. On this November day, evening falls far too quickly. The tourists are gone, the cruises are over, but marine mammals continue to indulge themselves in our area.

 

See you soon for our next field notes with winter observations… from the snowy shores of the Haute-Côte-Nord.

Field Notes - 3/12/2021

Renaud Pintiaux

GREMM research assistant from 2003 to 2009 and from 2012 to 2014, Renaud Pintiaux is a passionate observer and photographer. Year round, whether from shore or on the water, he takes every opportunity to observe marine mammals and birds in the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park.

Recommended articles

2021 Season Raises Questions

By René Roy For several years now, I’ve been plying the waters of the St. Lawrence in order to observe…

|Field Notes 13/12/2021

With the Belugas… Collecting Biopsies

By Laura Zeppetelli This fall, I had the opportunity to leave my office in downtown Montréal to board the Bleuvet…

|Field Notes 9/11/2021

With the Belugas… An overview of our 2021 projects

By Alexandre Bernier-Graveline How do you imagine the day-to-day life of a member of GREMM’s research team? Hair blowing in…

|Field Notes 22/9/2021

La saison des excursions aux baleines dans le secteur entre Tadoussac et Les Escoumins s’est achevée début novembre. Ai-je besoin de vous rappeler que ce fut une saison exceptionnelle ici, avec notamment cette forte présence de rorquals à bosse? Un minimum de 110 individus répertoriés! Du jamais vu!

J’étais donc un peu triste de ne plus aller sur l’eau. D’autant plus que, après l’arrêt des croisières et jusqu’à la fin novembre, je pouvais voir depuis le rivage – et notamment depuis le Cap de Bon Désir – de nombreux grands souffles très au large. Quatre rorquals à bosse sont même passés proches du rivage à plusieurs reprises.

L’appel du large

Et puis, le 25 novembre, j’ai eu l’immense chance de pouvoir sortir une dernière fois en zodiac, entre amis. Seuls au large. Qu’importe les vagues et le vent du sud-ouest, ce fut une journée mémorable. Nous rencontrons à plus de sept milles des Bergeronnes près d’une quinzaine de rorquals à bosse. Je prends des photos de plusieurs nageoires caudales pour tenter d’identifier ces individus. En étudiant ces photos le soir, je m’aperçois que ce sont tous des individus observés plus tôt cette saison. Et la quasi-totalité de ces rorquals à bosse s’attardant dans notre secteur ne sont pas encore entrés dans le catalogue central des rorquals à bosse du Saint-Laurent tenu par la Station de Recherche des iles Mingan (MICS), ce sont donc sans doute des jeunes individus qui ne sont pas pressés de rejoindre les territoires de reproduction dans le sud.

caudale rorqual à bosse
Ce jeune individu rorqual à bosse n'est pas répertorié au sein des catalogues de recherche. © Renaud Pintiaux
dos et caudale de deux rorquals à bosse
Ces rorquals à bosse ont été observés nageant les uns près des autres. © Renaud Pintiaux
breach rorqual à bosse
Ce rorqual à bosse a effectué une quinzaine de sauts consécutifs hors de l'eau. © Renaud Pintiaux
caudale rorqual à bosse
Malgré le froid hivernal qui s'installe, certains rorquals à bosse se trouvent toujours dans le Saint-Laurent pour s'y nourrir. © Renaud Pintiaux
Breach de rorqual à bosse
Renaud Pintiaux a indentifié 110 individus rorquals à bosse dans le Saint-Laurent cette année. © Renaud Pintiaux

Sur l’eau, nous faisons aussi de bien belles observations, puis soudain nous repérons un rorqual à bosse qui saute dans les airs, bien loin de nous. Après 5 sauts, nous décidons de rejoindre cet individu. Nous restons évidemment à bonne distance, le laissant poursuivre ses cabrioles spectaculaires entre fleuve et ciel durant plus de trente minutes. Je peux prendre ces photos, un grand sourire aux lèvres.

Phoques d’hiver

La journée n’était pas finie…. Le rorqual à bosse sauteur s’étant calmé, nous continuons notre patrouille. Soudain, nous apercevons de gros bouillons devant nous. Ce sont des phoques du Groenland. Ils sont plus de 300! Ils sortent la tête (et parfois une partie de leur corps) hors de l’eau avec dynamisme, et après quelques minutes sondent tous en même temps avant de disparaitre. L’hiver est bien à nos portes, c’est ce que nous prouve l’arrivée de ces impressionnants troupeaux de phoques du Groenland.

On notera également la présence de quelques petits rorquals sur le trajet. Le soir tombe, bien trop vite, sur cette journée de novembre. Les touristes sont partis, les croisières sont terminées, mais les mammifères marins continuent de s’en donner à cœur joie dans notre secteur.

À bientôt pour un prochain carnet de terrain avec des observations hivernales… depuis les rivages enneigés de la Haute-Côte-Nord.

Carnet de terrain - 3/12/2021

Renaud Pintiaux

Assistant de recherche au GREMM de 2003 à 2009 et de 2012 à 2014, Renaud Pintiaux est un observateur et un photographe passionné. Hiver comme été, de la rive ou en bateau, il saisit toutes les occasions de rencontrer les mammifères marins et les oiseaux du parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent.



Articles recommandés

Douze ans de rencontres avec le rorqual à bosse H626 (BBR/Gaspar)

Cela fait de nombreuses années maintenant que, à chaque saison estivale, ainsi qu’une bonne partie de l’automne, je sors régulièrement…

|Carnet de terrain 19/1/2022

Une saison 2021 qui soulève des questions

Par René Roy Depuis plusieurs années, j’effectue des sorties en mer dans le Saint-Laurent dans le but d’observer les mammifères…

|Carnet de terrain 13/12/2021

Avec les bélugas… La collecte de biopsies

Par Laura Zeppetelli Cet automne, j’ai eu l'opportunité de quitter mon bureau au centre-ville de Montréal pour embarquer à bord…

|Carnet de terrain 9/11/2021