Museum collections are full of fossils that haven’t been carefully examined in years. However, by taking a closer look at a 33-million-year-old whale fossil from the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History in the United States, a team of paleobiologists recently discovered a crucial clue as to where whale baleen comes from.

Baleen are unique to whales. They hang from the top of their jaws and act like a comb with numerous, tightly-spaced teeth. When feeding, baleen whales engulf huge quantities of water that are evacuated through these combs, trapping small fish and crustaceans in their jaws.

An Ancestor With an Empty Mouth

Whales are divided into two broad groups: toothed whales and baleen whales. To explain the appearance of baleen, it was long believed that a portion of toothed whales gradually developed baleen and lost their teeth. However, this nearly-forgotten fossil in the museum’s archives, that of the ancient whale species Maiabalena nestittae, has neither teeth nor baleen. Back to the drawing board we go!

How is it that paleontologists overlooked this detail when cataloguing the fossil years ago? It is because baleen do not stand up well to the test of time. Because they are composed of keratin —the same material found in our hair and nails— they do not fossilize easily. It is therefore not enough to observe the jaw of a whale fossil to determine whether or not it had baleen.

The Smithsonian team, led by Carlos Mauricio Peredo, made a high-resolution scan of the fossil. This way, they could see what was going on inside the jaw bone. In contemporary whales, the jaw is punctuated with numerous microscopic grooves lined with a network of blood vessels that irrigate the baleen or teeth, whereas Maiabalena does not have the slightest trace of a perforation!

“For the first time, we can now pin down the origin of filter-feeding, which is one of the major innovations in whale history,” explains Carlos Mauricio Peredo in a press release.

Eating Like a Vacuum

It remains to be seen how a toothless, baleen-less whale didn’t starve to death! The jaw morphology of Maiabalena suggests a powerful, muscular mouth that could be positioned like a straw to suck up its prey, generally soft organisms such as squid. This “vacuuming” technique is also observed today in some toothed whales, including the narwhal.

But why did Maiabalena lack teeth? According to scientists, the hypothesis to explain the appearance of a toothless whale is climate. Maiabalena lived at a time when the environment was changing very quickly: Antarctica was breaking away from South America, which greatly disrupted the ocean currents.

These rapid changes seem to have had a great influence on whales. Indeed, fossils dating from this era are all a bit special: some have jagged teeth, others cone-shaped teeth and some have no teeth at all! This diversity suggests that whales were testing the best feeding strategies and that it was ultimately the teeth and baleen we know today that prevailed.

News - 14/1/2019

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin writes for Whales Online since 2018, when she did an internship in scientific journalism at GREMM. Equally at ease whether engaged in scientific research or scientific outreach, she is currently completing her Master's degree in biology at the Université du Québec à Montréal and a certificate in journalism at the Université de Montréal. Jack-of-all-trades, Aurélie has a wide range of interests, from whales to dinosaurs to schools of krill!

Recommended articles

A Fourth Generation Humpback Calf!

Good news! Aramis, daughter of the famous humpback whale Tic Tac Toe, recently gave birth to her very first documented…

|News 26/3/2020

Using Barnacles to Reconstruct Ancient Whale Migrations

Whales, which have been around for roughly 30 million years, are estimated to have reached their current size 4.5 million…

|News 19/3/2020

Slower boats, quieter boats?

In 2017, Ruth Joy and her team (ECHO) conducted a study on the correlation between speed limit reductions and noise…

|News 19/3/2020

Une ancienne baleine sans dents ni fanons

  • Le chercheur Carlos Mauricio Peredo se tient près d'une partie du fossile étudié.
    Le fossile d’une espèce de baleine aujourd’hui disparue n’a pas de trace de dents ni de fanons. Le chercheur Carlos Mauricio Peredo a étudié le fossile grâce aux nouvelles technologies pour le constater. // The fossil of a now-extinct species of whale has no trace of teeth or baleen. Such was the conclusion of researcher Carlos Mauricio Peredo, who studied the fossil using new technologies. © Smithsonian Museum
    14 / 01 / 2019 Par Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin - / /

    Les collections des musées regorgent de fossiles qui prennent la poussière. Cependant, en étudiant à nouveau un fossile de baleine vieux de 33 millions d’années de la collection nationale du Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History aux États-Unis, une équipe de paléobiologistes vient de trouver un indice crucial pour déterminer d’où viennent les fanons des baleines.

    Les fanons sont uniques aux baleines. Ils pendent du haut de leur mâchoire et agissent comme un peigne dont les dents seraient très nombreuses et près les unes des autres. Pour s’alimenter, les baleines ayant des fanons engouffrent d’énormes quantités d’eau qui sera évacuée à travers ces peignes, emprisonnant ainsi les petits poissons et les crustacés dans leur mâchoire.

    Un ancêtre avec la bouche vide

    Les baleines se divisent en deux grands groupes : les baleines à dents et les baleines à fanons. Longtemps, pour expliquer l’apparition des fanons, on a cru qu’une portion des baleines à dents a graduellement développé des fanons et perdu sa dentition. Pourtant, le fossile dormant dans les archives du musée, celui d’une ancienne espèce de baleine, Maiabalena nestittae, n’a ni l’un ni l’autre. Il faut maintenant revoir le scénario !

    Comment se fait-il que les paléontologistes aient manqué ce détail en cataloguant le fossile il y a des années ? C’est que les fanons ne résistent pas très bien à l’empreinte du temps. Comme ils sont composés de kératine, comme nos cheveux et nos ongles, ils ne se fossilisent pas facilement. Il ne suffit donc pas d’observer la mâchoire d’un fossile de baleine pour déterminer si elle avait des fanons ou non.

    L’équipe du Smithsonian, mené par Carlos Mauricio Peredo, a donc fait passer un scan haute-résolution au fossile. De cette façon, ils ont pu voir ce qui se trame à l’intérieur même de l’os de la mâchoire. Si, chez les baleines contemporaines, la mâchoire est parsemée de nombreux sillons microscopiques qui permettent le passage d’un réseau de vaisseaux sanguins qui irriguent les fanons et les dents, Maiabalena, elle, n’a pas l’ombre d’une perforation !

    «C’est la première fois que nous pouvons localiser l’origine de l’alimentation par filtration, ce qui est l’une des innovations majeures de l’histoire évolutive des baleines», s’enthousiasme Carlos Mauricio Peredo en communiqué de presse.

    «C’est la première fois que nous pouvons localiser l’origine de l’alimentation par filtration, ce qui est l’une des innovations majeures de l’histoire évolutive des baleines», s’enthousiasme Carlos Mauricio Peredo.

    Manger comme un aspirateur

    Reste à savoir comment une baleine édentée et sans fanon arrive à ne pas mourir de faim! La morphologie de la mâchoire de Maiabalena indique une bouche puissante, musculeuse, qui peut se positionner comme une paille afin d’aspirer ses proies, généralement molles comme des calmars. Cette technique «aspirateur» est aussi observée de nos jours chez quelques baleines à dents, dont le narval.

    Et pourquoi Maiabalena n’avait-elle pas de dents? Selon les scientifiques, l’hypothèse pour expliquer l’apparition d’une baleine édentée est le climat. Maiabalena vivait dans un temps où l’environnement changeait très rapidement : l’Antarctique était en train de se détacher de l’Amérique du Sud, ce qui perturbait grandement les courants marins. 

    Ces changements rapides semblent avoir grandement influencé les baleines. En effet, les fossiles datant de cette époque sont tous un peu particuliers : alors certains ont des dents dentelées, d’autres en forme de cône alors que certaines n’ont plus de dent du tout ! Cette diversité suggère que les baleines testaient les meilleures stratégies pour s’alimenter et que ce sont finalement les dents et les fanons que l’on connait aujourd’hui qui l’ont emporté.

    Pour en savoir plus

    (2018) Peredo C.M., Pyenson N.D., Marshall C.D., Uhen M.D., Tooth Loss Precedes the Origin of Baleen in Whales, Current Biology, 28(24): P3992-4000.

     


    Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin est rédactrice pour Baleines en direct depuis l’été 2018. Aimant autant faire de la science qu’en parler, elle complète sa maitrise en biologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal ainsi qu’un certificat en journalisme à l’Université de Montréal. Sur les ondes de CISM 89,3 FM, elle coanime l’émission de vulgarisation scientifique Le Lab. Aurélie est touche-à-tout et s’intéresse autant aux baleines qu’aux dinosaures en passant par les bancs de krill!