Since late August 2016, there has been a new permanent resident in the Nature Wing of the Collège Lionel-Groulx: a beluga skeleton. According to students in the Natural Sciences program, this specimen will be “a striking tool for raising the environmental and social awareness of other students.”

It was the students’ participation in a marine ecology course – organized for the last 23 years by the College – that drove them to undertake this project. This course helped them to understand the impact of their day-to-day actions on the health of the St. Lawrence. Students in the program wish to thank the College Foundation, which supported this project financially. “Through the symbol that [the beluga] represents, it reminds us of the intimate connection that we have with the St. Lawrence River and the importance of knowledge to help guide our actions,” points out biology teacher Philippe Daigle.

How does a marine mammal get rebuilt?

Very few people have the skills to flense, isolate, treat and assemble the skeleton of a marine mammal. Preparation of the beluga skeleton for Collège Lionel-Groulx spanned more than a year and was performed by Pierre-Henry Fontaine, retired biology teacher and founder of the Musée du squelette on Île Verte. Preparing larger marine mammals can take decades.

Large marine mammals can weigh tens of tonnes, which presents major challenges for recovering and transporting the bones. Smaller animals, on the other hand, can be cut up quickly in easy-to-transport parts.

But the real issue is degreasing the bones. Marine mammal skeletons contain larges amounts of fat and the bones are very fragile, despite their size. As explained by Pierre-Henry Fountain, “a whale is hardly able to use its fat cover (blubber) as a food reserve. This blubber is its thermal insulation – its “diving suit” – without which it would rapidly lose body heat given that it lives in a highly heat-conductive environment. It will therefore be in its skeleton that it will accumulate reserves that it will draw from in the event that food becomes scarce. The bones of cetaceans are composed mainly of spongy bone, where fat reserves will accumulate, wrapped a relatively thin layer of compact bone.”

So how can the fat be removed without damaging the bones? Certain chemicals are effective at dissolving fat, but they are often toxic and expensive. Another option is to let nature, insects and bacteria do their work, by placing the bones in a water tank for several months or even years. They can subsequently be cleaned with hot water or degreasers, then bleached with hydrogen peroxide or simply in the sun.

Assembly of the skeleton then begins: a genuine three-dimensional, several metre long puzzle!

Marine mammal skeletons to discover Quebec

The Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre (CIMM) in Tadoussac is presenting an exhibit where one can admire thirteen complete skeletons, including a 13.5 m long sperm whale, minke whales, belugas, dolphins, porpoises and a very rare Sowerby’s beaked whale. There are also two other specimens in the works: a fin whale and a North Atlantic right whale.

At the Musée du squelette on Île Verte, there are more than 300 skeletons, partial skeletons and skulls. A unique place to discover osteology and how the skeleton has evolved through various adaptations.

You can also admire a number of marine mammal skeletons at the Station Exploratoire du Saint-Laurent in Rivière-du-Loup and at the Aquarium du Québec in Québec City, as well as a sperm whale skeleton at the Musée de la mer in Havre-Aubert in the Magdalen Islands.

Sources:
A beluga takes up residence at Collège Lionel-Groulx (in French) (Press release from Collège Lionel-Groulx, August 24, 2016)
Preparing and conserving cetacean skeletons without sophisticated technical methods (in French) (Pierre-Henri Fontaine, 2014)

We enjoyed viewing:
Video: How to prepare a blue whale skeleton for a museum (Vice, June 9, 2016)
Video: Blue Whale Skeleton – Canadian Museum of Nature (Virtual Museum of Canada, 2013)

To learn more:
On Whales Online:
Skeleton
Building a Whale (in French)

News - 29/9/2016

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

400 Right Whales Left… Now What?

How many North Atlantic right whales are left in the world? If the answer today hovers around 400, for researchers,…

|News 6/7/2020

First Right Whale Carcass: Another Calf Struck by a Ship

The first North Atlantic right whale carcass in 2020 was spotted during an aerial survey on June 25, drifting off…

|News 6/7/2020
Souffle EG Baleine noire

Right Whale Protection Measures: Highs and Lows

Since the start of the year, news concerning protection measures specific to North Atlantic right whales has been like a…

|News 25/6/2020

Depuis la fin août 2016, il y a un nouveau pensionnaire permanent dans l’aile Nature du Collège Lionel-Groulx: un squelette de béluga. Selon les étudiants en Sciences de la nature, ce spécimen sera « un outil marquant afin d’éveiller la conscience écologique et sociale des autres étudiants ».

C’est la participation des étudiants à un stage d’écologie marine, organisé depuis 23 ans par le Collège, qui a mené les étudiants à entreprendre ce projet. Lors de ce stage, ils ont compris l’impact de leurs gestes au quotidien sur la santé du Saint-Laurent. Les étudiants en Sciences de la nature remercient la Fondation du Collège, qui a appuyé financièrement ce projet. « Par le symbole qu’il [le béluga] représente, il rappelle notre lien intime avec le fleuve Saint-Laurent ainsi que l’importance de la connaissance pour mieux orienter nos actions », mentionne M. Philippe Daigle, enseignant en biologie.

Comment reconstruit-on un mammifère marin?

Très peu de gens sont habilités à dépecer, isoler, traiter et assembler le squelette d’un mammifère marin. La préparation du squelette de béluga du Collège Lionel-Groulx s’est échelonnée sur plus d’un an et a été menée par M. Pierre-Henry Fontaine, professeur de biologie retraité et fondateur du Musée du squelette sur l’île Verte. La préparation de plus grands mammifères marins peut prendre des dizaines d’années.

Les grands mammifères marins peuvent peser plusieurs dizaines de tonnes, ce qui pose de véritables problèmes en ce qui concerne la récupération et le transport des os. Les plus petits animaux, quant à eux, peuvent être découpés rapidement en parties facilement transportables.

Mais le véritable enjeu est le dégraissage des os. Le squelette des mammifères marins contient une grande quantité de gras et les os sont très fragiles, malgré leur taille. Comme l’explique Pierre-Henry Fontaine, « un cétacé ne peut pratiquement pas utiliser son gras de couverture (lard) comme réserve de nourriture. Ce lard est son isolant thermique, son “costume de plongée”, sans lequel il perdrait rapidement sa chaleur corporelle puisqu’il vit dans un milieu très conducteur de chaleur. Ce sera donc dans son squelette qu’il va accumuler les réserves qu’il utilisera en cas de disette. Les os des cétacés sont composés principalement d’os spongieux, où s’accumuleront les graisses de réserve, enveloppé d’une couche relativement mince d’os compact ».

Alors, comment extraire le gras des os sans les endommager? Certains produits chimiques sont efficaces pour dissoudre les graisses, mais ils sont souvent toxiques et dispendieux. Une autre option est de laisser travailler la nature, les insectes et les bactéries, en mettant les os dans un réservoir d’eau pendant plusieurs mois ou même plusieurs années. Ils peuvent ensuite être nettoyés avec de l’eau chaude ou des dégraissants, puis blanchis avec du peroxyde d’hydrogène ou simplement au soleil.

Commence ensuite le montage du squelette, un véritable casse-tête en trois dimensions, de plusieurs mètres de long!

Des squelettes de mammifères marins à découvrir au Québec

Le Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins (CIMM) de Tadoussac présente une exposition où il est possible d’admirer treize squelettes complets, notamment un cachalot de 13,5 m, des petits rorquals, des bélugas, des dauphins, un marsouin et une très rare baleine à bec de Sowerby. Il y a aussi deux autres spécimens en préparations: un rorqual commun et une baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord.

Au Musée du squelette, sur l’île Verte, il y a plus de 300 squelettes, parties de squelettes et cranes. Un lieu unique pour vous initier à l’ostéologie et découvrir l’évolution du squelette à travers diverses adaptations.

Vous pouvez aussi découvrir quelques squelettes de mammifères marins à la Station Exploratoire du Saint-Laurent à Rivière-du-Loup et à l’Aquarium du Québec à Québec, ainsi qu’un squelette de cachalot au Musée de la mer à Havre-Aubert, aux îles de la Madeleine.

Sources:
Un béluga élit domicile au Collège Lionel-Groulx (Communiqué de presse du Collège Lionel-Groulx, 24/08/2016)
Préparation et conservation de squelettes de cétacés, sans moyens techniques élaborés (Pierre-Henri Fontaine, 2014)

On a aimé regarder:
Vidéo : Comment préparer un squelette de baleine bleue pour le musée (Vice, 06/09/2016)
Vidéo: Le squelette de la baleine bleue — Musée canadien de la nature (Musée virtuel du Canada, 2013)

Pour en savoir plus:
Sur Baleines en direct:
Le squelette
Construire une baleine

Actualité - 29/9/2016

Béatrice Riché

Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM de 2016 à 2018, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.

Articles recommandés

Consultation publique sur le bruit marin: exprimez-vous!

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada organise une consultation publique relative à l’impact des bruits dans les…

|Actualité 20/10/2020

Hybride rorqual commun-rorqual bleu: un nouvel enjeu pour la conservation ?

L’existence des hybrides issus du croisement entre les deux plus gros animaux du monde — soit le rorqual commun et…

|Actualité 28/9/2020

Semaine de la culture scientifique: la biodiversité à célébrer!

Avez-vous pris récemment quelques minutes pour observer un coin de verdure dans votre quartier? Si vous tentiez de compter les…

|Actualité 22/9/2020