This week in the St. Lawrence, giants of all colours amazed young and old observers alike. From grey seals to blue whales – not to mention white-sided dolphins – a wide range of marine mammals crisscrossed the cold waters of the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence over the past few days!

A blue apparition

A few observers gathered at Cap de Bon-Désir and the Marine Environment Discovery Centre were treated to a big surprise last Sunday when Crinkle, a female blue whale, emerged from the waters of the St. Lawrence at this location. This regular visitor to the estuary made more than one person happy that morning! The passage of a large tuna at the same location was the icing on the cake on this eventful morning. The previous day, two other blue whales, including the well-known Chameau, also brought smiles to many faces when they were spotted between Tadoussac and Les Escoumins!

Crinckle's skin is distinctive © GREMM
Chameau got his name from the two humps on his back © GREMM

In the same area, a number of other marine mammals have been present in recent days: a fin whale and plenty of minke whales, not to mention numerous harbour porpoises and grey seals observed from shore and on the water. On August 19, the humpback whale Galaxy even spent some time playing in algaeon the water surface, a longtime marine mammal observer reported in amazement. Last week also marked the return of Irisept to the estuary, a humpback whale first identified in the gulf in 1997!

Black-and-white cetaceans

Passing through the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord throughout the week were minke whales, harbour seals and clusters of belugas. A solitary humpback whale was seen by a few lucky observers in Tadoussac Bay on the morning of August 23. A few hours later, a large whale was spotted near Baie Sainte-Marguerite, and the next morning, the presence of a humpback was reported a little farther down the fjord, at Anse de Roche. At this same spot, a group of about thirty belugas passed through on August 18.

In Baie Sainte-Marguerite, belugas have been reported every day over the past week. “Between 20 and 50 individuals, depending on the day,” says a GREMM drone pilot on site for the Window on Belugas project. Sometimes accompanied by calves, the groups reportedly even ventured upstream as far as Île Saint-Louis! Another small group of about five belugas made it to Saint-Irénée, according to a resident of the région.

Two-tone whales in Gaspé waters

Gaspésie also saw its share of marine mammals this week! Early in the week, humpback whales were seen breaching in Gaspé Bay, much to the delight of observers! Fin whales, minke whales, harbour porpoises and Atlantic white-sided dolphins – occasionally accompanied by grey and harbour seals – were also seen frolicking in the area. On August 21, two minke whales were seen off Grande-Vallée while a little farther west, it was one humpback and four minke whales near Les Îlets and three minke whales off Matane that caught observers by surprise!

The same day, an avid kayaker encountered several harbour seals near Rivière-du-Loup. “I don’t think the sighting is anything special, it’s just rare that an observer passes through the area in a boat or a kayak!” he exclaims. Off the coast of Cacouna, a dozen or so belugas passed by, while a few grey seals were seen from the Rivière-du-Loup marina by an observer from the Marine Mammal Observation Network (MMON).

Colour in the Mingan sector

“Numerous minke whales, roughly a hundred grey seals north of Île Nue, a porbeagle shark and several porpoises” were all recently observed near Mingan, enthusiastically explains a local whale enthusiast. Humpbacks, blue whales and minke whales were also identified in the area by the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS). Several Atlantic white-sided dolphins, white-beaked dolphins and grey seals were also seen swimming in these waters over the past few days.

In the vicinity of Sept-Îles, two humpback whales were seen passing through early in the week, and a very special observation was made here by the Sept-Îles Education and Research Centre (CERSI):a white cross hydromedusa, a very rare species in the region! Near the shores of Franquelin, it’s minke whales, seals and harbour porpoises that are being talked about, points out one resident of the region.

Whether black, white, grey or even blue, we never grow tired of admiring these marine mammals from one end of the St. Lawrence to the other!

Weekly sighting map

These data were reported by our network of observers. The observations give a rough idea of the presence of whales, but do not in any way represent the true distribution of cetaceans in the St. Lawrence. Enjoy!

Click on the whale or seal icons to see the species, number of individuals observed, additional information or photos of the sighting. To zoom in on the map, click on the icon in the upper right corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but less so on Safari.

To display the list of observations, click on the icon in the upper left corner.

Care to share your observations and contribute to citizen science? Use the marine mammal sighting entry tool.

Observation of the Week - 25/8/2022

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette joined the GREMM’s team as a writer and naturalist in 2022. Recently graduated in biology, she has always been fascinated by the marine environment and whales and hopes to contribute to their protection through awareness and popularization.

Recommended articles

Big gulps in the bay

The day is calm with a quiet whisper of a wind, while out in the bay, a few dark spots…

|Observation of the Week 1/12/2022

Not one… not two… but six humpbacks!

This week, a few humpback whales were still present in the St. Lawrence and residents were even treated to an…

|Observation of the Week 25/11/2022

White as Snow… Or a Beluga!

As fluffy snowflakes invaded eastern Quebec and a white blanket quietly covered the ground, marine mammals continued on with their…

|Observation of the Week 17/11/2022

Dans le Saint-Laurent, des géants des mers de toutes les couleurs ont émerveillé petits et grands observateurs au courant de la semaine. Du phoque gris au rorqual bleu, en passant par le dauphin à flancs blancs, c’est tout un éventail de mammifères marins qui a sillonné les eaux froides de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent dans les derniers jours!

Une apparition bleutée

Quelques observateurs réunis au cap de Bon-Désir et au Centre de découverte du milieu marin ont eu droit à une surprise de taille dimanche dernier quand Crinkle, une femelle rorqual bleu, a surgi des eaux du Saint-Laurent à cette hauteur. Cette habituée de l’estuaire aura fait plus d’un heureux ce matin-là! Le passage d’un gros thon au même endroit a complété cette matinée bien mouvementée. La veille, deux autres rorquals bleus, dont le bien connu Chameau, ont aussi fait le bonheur de plusieurs personnes lorsqu’ils ont été vus entre Tadoussac et Les Escoumins!

Crinckle présente une peau plutôt particulière et distinctive © GREMM
Chameau tient son nom des deux bosses sur son dos © GREMM

Dans le même secteur, plusieurs autres mammifères marins étaient de la partie dans les derniers jours : un rorqual commun, des petits rorquals à profusion ainsi que de nombreux marsouins communs et phoques gris ont pu être observés de la rive et sur l’eau. Le 19 aout dernier, Galaxy, un rorqual à bosse, a même passé un certain temps à s’amuser dans les algues présentes à la surface de l’eau, a rapporté, émerveillé, un fidèle observateur de mammifères marins. La semaine dernière a également marqué le retour d’Irisept dans l’estuaire, un rorqual à bosse vu pour la première fois dans le golfe en 1997!

Des cétacés noirs et blancs

À l’embouchure du fjord du Saguenay, des petits rorquals, des phoques communs et des groupes de plusieurs bélugas étaient de passage tout au long de la semaine. Un rorqual à bosse solitaire a quant à lui été vu par certains observateurs chanceux dans la baie de Tadoussac le matin du 23 aout. Quelques heures plus tard, une grosse baleine a été aperçue au niveau de la baie Sainte-Marguerite, et le lendemain matin, on signalait la présence d’un rorqual à bosse un peu plus bas dans le fjord, à l’anse de Roche. Au même endroit dans le fjord, un groupe d’une trentaine de bélugas était de passage le 18 aout.

À Baie Sainte-Marguerite, il y a eu des bélugas chaque jour dans la dernière semaine. « Entre 20 et 50 individus dépendamment des jours », raconte une pilote de drone du GREMM sur place pour le projet Fenêtre sur les bélugas. Parfois accompagnés de veaux, les groupes seraient même remontés jusqu’à l’ile Saint-Louis! Un petit groupe d’environ cinq bélugas s’est quant à lui rendu jusqu’à Saint-Irénée, a rapporté une habitante de la région.

Des baleines bicolores dans les eaux gaspésiennes

La Gaspésie a aussi connu son lot de mammifères marins cette semaine! Des rorquals à bosse dans la baie de Gaspé en début de semaine s’adonnaient à des sauts, au grand plaisir des observateurs! Rorquals communs, petits rorquals, marsouins communs et dauphins à flancs blancs s’amusaient aussi dans le secteur, accompagnés de phoques gris et communs. Le 21 aout, deux petits rorquals ont été vus au large de Grande-Vallée et un peu plus à l’ouest, ce sont un rorqual à bosse, quatre petits rorquals au niveau de Les Îlets ainsi que trois petits rorquals devant Matane qui ont surpris les observateurs!

Le même jour, un kayakiste passionné a rencontré plusieurs phoques communs près de Rivière-du-Loup. « Je pense que c’est rien de particulier, c’est juste rare qu’un observateur passe dans le coin en bateau ou en kayak! », raconte-t-il. En face de Cacouna, une dizaine de bélugas sont passés régulièrement et quelques phoques gris ont aussi été vus du quai de Rivière-du-Loup par une observatrice du Réseau d’observation de mammifères marins (ROMM).

De la couleur en Minganie

« Beaucoup de petits rorquals, une centaine de phoques gris au nord de l’ile Nue, un requin-taupe commun et plusieurs marsouins », c’est ce qu’il était possible de voir près de Mingan récemment, explique avec enthousiasme un observateur de baleines de la région. Des rorquals à bosse, des rorquals bleus ainsi que des petits rorquals ont aussi été vus dans le secteur par la Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS). Plusieurs dauphins à flancs blancs, dauphins à nez blanc et des phoques gris nageaient également dans ces eaux au cours des derniers jours.

Dans les environs de Sept-Îles, deux rorquals à bosse étaient de passage en début de semaine, et une observation bien particulière y a été faite par le Centre d’éducation et de recherche de Sept-Îles (CERSI) : une méduse à croix blanche, une espèce très rare dans la région! Devant les berges de Franquelin, ce sont les petits rorquals, les phoques et les marsouins communs qui ont fait parler d’eux, raconte un habitant de la région.

Noirs, blancs, gris ou même bleus, on ne se lasse pas de voir ces mammifères marins d’un bout à l’autre du Saint-Laurent !

Carte des observations de la semaine

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Vous souhaitez partager vos observations et contribuer à la science citoyenne ? Utilisez l’outil de saisie d’observation de mammifères marins.

Observations de la semaine - 25/8/2022

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette s’est jointe à l’équipe du GREMM comme rédactrice et naturaliste en 2022. Biologiste de formation, elle aime apprendre et communiquer aux autres ce qui lui tient à cœur. Fascinée depuis toujours par les milieux marins et les baleines, elle souhaite, par la sensibilisation et la vulgarisation, contribuer à leur protection.

Articles recommandés

Un vent d’automne

Les navigateurs le savent, l’automne, les tempêtes produisent souvent des vents forts, provenant de l’est ou du nord-est. Si certains…

|Observations de la semaine 30/9/2022

Bosses, phoques et bélugas

Cette semaine, un peu partout dans le Saint-Laurent, les rorquals à bosse mènent le bal des observations, accompagnés d’autres espèces…

|Observations de la semaine 23/9/2022

Brouillard sur les flots

La dernière semaine aura été marquée par la présence de brouillard un peu partout sur le Saint-Laurent. Des Iles de…

|Observations de la semaine 15/9/2022