July 13, 2018, 14:45, off the coast of New Brunswick’s Miscou Island, an aerial survey conducted by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) observes a right whale dragging a rope 4 times the length of its own body. The Marine Animal Response Society (MARS) is quickly notified of the situation. NOAA was able to provide several details on how exactly the whale was entangled. These valuable details allow the response teams not only to establish an appropriate action plan, but also to have key information to identify the animal in the event it is resighted.

The main difficulty in this type of incident is that we are dealing with a wild animal that is mobile and stressed and whose behaviour can be unpredictable. Finding an entangled whale after an initial sighting can also prove to be quite challenging. Despite the joint efforts of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and NOAA, the right whale has not been relocated since July 13.

However, right whales are still being seen in many fisheries. Fisheries and Oceans Canada is announcing new closures of fishing areas. The measure will be applied beginning July 20 and will remain in force until further notice.

Back to the Kleenex case

On April 12 off the coast of Miscou Island, members of the Center for Coastal Studies observed Kleenex, a right whale that has been entangled for three years now. This case illustrates the difficulty of tracking whales that have gotten themselves entangled but are still swimming freely. Some of the rope was cut in an attempt to untangle the animal, after which it disappeared. It was reseen twice during the month of June and on July 12 by the Northeast Fisheries Science Center’s aerial team. Based on these observations, the animal was described as showing deteriorating health, while its state of entanglement had not changed since the most recent release attempt in April.

Observation networks are encouraged to keep an eye on this case and document any changes observed in Kleenex’s state of entanglement or health status.

From entanglements to unfortunate consequences

Due to their feeding habits and their physiology, right whales are particularly prone to entanglements. Studies show that more than 80% of the population bears traces of entanglement. Dragging fishing gear can compromise the whale’s ability to swim and feed, leading to a significant increase in energy expenditure or even to starvation. Moreover, depending on how severe the entanglement is, the physiological and behavioural stress suffered by the whale can impair its immune system and thus make it more vulnerable to the development of chronic infections.

As in the case of Kleenex, entanglements can cause an increase in the presence of cyamids – also known as whale lice – on the animal’s skin. These crustaceans will generally lodge themselves on the skin in areas of low water flow, especially where the animal has sustained injury. Because this phenomenon is more pronounced when whales are unable to maintain optimum swimming speeds following entanglements, cyamid levels can be used to provide an indication of a whale’s health status.

Learn more

Right Whales: The Situation in 2018(Whales Online, 2018)

Right Whale Mortalities 2017: Overview (Whales Online, 2017)

Right Whales: An Entangled Whale Named Kleenex (Whales Online, 2018)

Entangled Whales: A Complex Situation (Whales Online, 2018)

(2011) Cassoff, R.M.,  K.M. Moore, W.A. McLelland, S.G. Barco, D.S. Rotstein, M.J. Moore. Lethal entanglement in baleen whales. Diseases of Aquatic Organisms. 96: 175-185.

(2004) Pettis, H.M., R.M. Rolland, P.K. Hamilton, S. Brault, A.R. Knowlton, S.D. Kraus. Visual health assessment of North Atlantic right whales (Eubalaena glacialis) using photographs. Canadian Journal of Zoology. 82: 8-19.

News - 18/7/2018

Anthony François

Anthony François is responsible for the marine mammal response program since 2019. He started at GREMM as a research assistant and a call centre agent at the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN) in 2017. Biochemist and biologist by training, he came to realize the importance of popular science and public awareness raising in the course of pursuing his Master’s degree.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Un premier cas d’empêtrement de baleine noire en 2018

  • La baleine noire nommée FDR, photographiée lors de son cinquième empêtrement, dans la Baie de Fundy, le 13 août 2016. Elle a été libérée cette journée-là par Joe Howlett et son équipe. © Campobello Whale Rescue Team
    La baleine noire nommée FDR, photographiée lors de son cinquième empêtrement, dans la Baie de Fundy, le 13 août 2016. Elle a été libérée cette journée-là par Joe Howlett et son équipe./Right whale FDR entangled for the fifth time, Bay of Fundy, August 13, 2016. It was released that day by Joe Howlett and his crew. © Campobello Whale Rescue Team
    18 / 07 / 2018 Par Anthony François - / /

    Le 13 juillet 2018, 14h45, au large de l’ile Miscou au Nouveau-Brunswick, un survol aérien de la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) fait l’observation d’une baleine noire trainant du cordage équivalent à 4 fois sa longueur. Rapidement, les équipes du Marine Animal Response Society (MARS) sont avisées de la situation. La NOAA a pu fournir plusieurs détails sur la façon dont la baleine est empêtrée. Ces détails précieux permettent aux équipes de dépêtrement de mettre en place un plan d’intervention adéquat, mais aussi d’avoir les informations permettant d’identifier l’animal s’il est revu.

    La difficulté principale dans ce genre de cas est que nous avons affaire à un animal sauvage mobile et en détresse qui peut avoir des comportements imprévisibles. Retrouver une baleine empêtrée suite à une observation initiale peut être un très gros défi. Malgré les efforts conjoints de Pêches et Océans Canada et de la NOAA, la baleine noire n’a pas pu être revue depuis le 13 juillet.

    Toutefois, des baleines noires sont toujours observées dans plusieurs secteurs de pêches. Pêches et Océans Canada annonce à ce sujet de nouvelles fermetures de zones de pêches. La mesure sera appliquée à compter du 20 juillet et sera effective jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

    Retour sur le cas de Kleenex

    La baleine noire surnommée Kleenex a été photographiée le 12 avril dernier, avec un cordage enroulé autour de sa tête. La photo a été prise quelques secondes avant qu’une fléchette coupante ne touche la corde pour tenter de dépêtrer la baleine. // The right whale called Kleenex is taking a breath at the surface, just as the cutting arrow approaches the entangling rope around her upper jaw. © Center for Coastal Studies, NOAA permit #18786

    Le 12 avril dernier, des membres du Center for Coastal Studies ont observé, au large de l’ile Miscou également, Kleenex, une baleine noire empêtrée depuis maintenant 3 ans. Ce cas illustre bien la difficulté de retrouver la trace des baleines empêtrées qui garde la capacité de nager librement. Une tentative de dépêtrement avait permis de couper une partie du cordage avant que la baleine ne disparaisse. Elle aurait été revue à deux reprises au courant du mois de juin, puis le 12 juillet par le Northeast Fisheries Science Center Aerial Team. Suite à ces observations, ils décrivent un animal dont les conditions de santé sont déclinantes et un empêtrement n’ayant pas évolué depuis la dernière tentative du mois d’avril.

    Les réseaux d’observation sont priés de garder un œil concernant ce cas et documenter tout changement dans la configuration de l’empêtrement ainsi que dans l’état de santé de Kleenex.

    Des empêtrements aux tristes conséquences

    Les baleines noires, du fait de leur mode d’alimentation et de leur physiologie, sont particulièrement sensibles aux empêtrements. Des études montrent que plus de 80% de la population présente des marques d’empêtrement. Le fait de trainer des parties d’engin de pêche peut causer la diminution des capacités locomotrices et d’alimentation de la baleine, l’amenant à augmenter significativement sa dépense énergétique, parfois même jusqu’à mourir de faim. De plus, dépendamment de la sévérité de l’empêtrement, le stress apporté à la baleine au niveau physiologique, mais aussi comportemental, peut conduire à une diminution du système immunitaire et de ce fait la rendre plus sensible au développement d’infections chroniques.

    Comme dans le cas de Kleenex, les empêtrements peuvent causer une augmentation de la présence de poux de baleine, aussi appelés cyamides, sur la peau de l’animal. Ces crustacés vont généralement se loger sur la peau dans des zones où le flux d’eau est réduit, et notamment dans les zones de blessures. Ce phénomène est observé de façon plus prononcée lorsque les baleines ne sont pas capables de maintenir une vitesse de nage optimale suite aux empêtrements et les taux de cyamides peuvent être utilisés pour avoir des indications sur l’état de santé des baleines.

     

    En savoir plus

    Baleines noires: la situation en 2018 (Baleines en direct, 2018)

    Mortalité de baleines noires : le dossier de 2017 (Baleines en direct, 2017)

    Baleines noires : première opération de dépêtrement d’une baleine (Baleines en direct, 2018)

    Baleines empêtrées : une situation complexe (Baleines en direct, 2018)

    (2011) Cassoff R. M., Moore K. M., McLelland W. A., Barco S. G., Rotstein D. S. Moore M. J. Lethal entanglement in baleen whales. Diseases of Aquatic Organisms. 96 : 175-185.

    (2004) Pettis H. M., Rolland R. M., Hamilton P. K., Brault S., Knowlton A. R., Kraus S. D. Visual health assessment of North Atlantic right whales (Eubalaena glacialis) using photographs. Revue Canadienne de Zoologie. 82 : 8-19.

     


    Anthony François est assistant de recherche au GREMM et préposé au Centre d’appels du Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM) depuis 2017. Biochimiste et biologiste de formation, il réalise l’importance de la vulgarisation scientifique et de la sensibilisation du public au cours de sa maitrise. Anthony tient la chronique d’Urgences Mammifères Marins.