Thirty years ago, the fossil of an Atlantic grey whale (Eschrichtius robustus) was misidentified as a humpback whale. The latter was discovered in the 1970s on a beach in North Carolina.  Grey whale skeletons are extremely rare and always incomplete, so identifying them is a daunting task. But what makes this discovery so special?

The Atlantic grey whale population has been extinct since the early 1700s. Only three other populations of this species remain today, all of which are found in the Pacific Ocean. The extinction or extirpation of a species creates imbalances in the ecosystem that can sometimes be observed for longer than one might expect.

Portrait of a centuries-old skeleton

This Atlantic grey whale skeleton is the most complete specimen discovered to date! Even if it is not complete, a great deal of data can still be collected and extrapolated from it. Measuring 10 m long, the individual is a juvenile. Its death is estimated to have occurred 827 years ago, that is to say in the year 1195! Thanks to the soil composition where they were found, the bones are quite well preserved. Cuts can be seen on the bones, which are partially fragmented. It is likely that Indigenous peoples exploited the remains of beached carcasses to extract their oil. The researchers who examined the skeleton, however, mention that these peoples did not typically practise whaling.

Oftentimes, discoveries of the skeletal remains of Atlantic grey whales consist of a single bone. Finding such a complete skeleton is exceptional for this species of the high seas: when an individual dies, its carcass is generally consumed by opportunistic species or sinks to the ocean floor. The skeleton of this individual consisted of 42 bones.

Eschrichtius robustus

The grey whale population of the Atlantic was extirpated in the 18th century. Although it had been hunted for years, the origins of this species’ disappearance are more complex; its decline was already underway before it ever became the target of whalers. During episodes of glaciation in the Pleistocene, an accumulation of ice is believed to have shrunk its habitat. Variations in the climate also likely modified the grey whale’s diet, forcing it to adapt.

Today, there are 3 populations of grey whales in the Pacific Ocean, each of which is threatened with extinction by industrial activities such as hydrocarbon drilling, renewable energy projects, shipping traffic and the fishing industry. These sectors have adverse effects on the species’ reproduction, feeding and migration.

Rising temperatures and acidification (article in French) of the oceans threaten the grey whale’s diet. However, climate change is causing sea ice to melt in the Arctic, opening up the Bering Strait and the Northwest Passage. This change could result in grey whales returning to the Atlantic Ocean to meet their dietary requirements. Note that this shift in range, while positive in the short term, is more complex in the long term.

Maintaining balance

An ecosystem is a system of interactions between living organisms – plants, animals, fungi and microbes – and the environment that supports them. Relationships are formed between the different constituents of an ecosystem, which evolves over time. Not all species that inhabit the Earth are known to humans, but that doesn’t mean they don’t help create a balance! Thus, the extinction of one species can lead to a disorganization to which other species must adapt.

The disappearance of the Atlantic grey whale has had a number of effects on the equilibrium of the ecosystem. When it feeds on the benthos, this baleen whale stirs up the water column, which contributes to the resuspension of the organisms present. Through its excrement, it also adds nutrients for other species. In short, it played a very non-negligible role!

News - 17/11/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise joined the Whales Online editorial team in the fall of 2022. As she is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies at the University of Sherbrooke, she wishes to educate about the beauties of nature and wants to encourage people who are interested in it to protect it.

Recommended articles

Belugas and Drones: A Call for Caution

Although drones are useful tools for conducting marine mammal research, it is legitimate to wonder what impact they may have…

|News 1/2/2023

Preventing Whale Entanglements with Ropeless Fishing Gear

Over the past several years, the novel field of ropeless fishing has been expanding thanks to the research and development…

|News 16/12/2022

Top Picks for a Rich Whale Library

Many species of whales have left the St. Lawrence for the winter. Observing these cetaceans in the flesh in the…

|News 8/12/2022

Un fossile de baleine grise (Eschrichtius robustus) de l’Atlantique avait été identifié à tort comme étant une baleine à bosse, il y a 30 ans. Ce dernier avait été découvert dans les années 1970, sur une plage en Caroline du Nord.  Les squelettes de baleines grises sont rarissimes et toujours incomplets, leur identification est donc une tâche ardue. Mais qu’est-ce qui rend cette découverte si spéciale?

La population de baleines grises de l’Atlantique est éteinte depuis le début des années 1700. Dans l’océan Pacifique, seulement trois autres populations de cette espèce vivent aujourd’hui. L’extinction d’une espèce engendre des déséquilibres dans les écosystèmes qui se font parfois ressentir plus longtemps que soupçonné.

Portrait d’un squelette plusieurs fois centenaire

Ce squelette de baleine grise de l’Atlantique est le plus complet à ce jour! Bien qu’il ne soit pas entier, il est possible de recueillir et d’estimer de nombreuses données à son sujet. L’individu, d’une longueur totale de 10 m, est un juvénile. Son décès aurait eu lieu il y a 827 ans, soit en 1195! Les os sont assez bien conservés, grâce à la composition du sol où ils se trouvaient. Des coupures y sont visibles et ils sont aussi partiellement fragmentés. Il est probable que les peuples autochtones exploitaient les restes de carcasses échouées pour en extraire de l’huile. Les chercheurs qui ont examiné le squelette mentionnent toutefois que la chasse aux baleines ne faisait pas partie de leurs habitudes.

Généralement, les squelettes de baleines grises de l’Atlantique découverts ne comptent qu’un seul os. Retrouver un squelette aussi complet est exceptionnel puisque cette espèce vit en haute mer: à leur décès, leurs carcasses sont généralement consommées par des espèces opportunistes ou coulent au fond de l’eau. Le squelette de l’individu en question était composé de 42 os.

Eschrichtius robustus

La population de baleines grises de l’Atlantique a disparu au 18e siècle. Bien que chassées pendant des années, les origines de la disparition de cette espèce sont plus complexes; leur déclin avait déjà commencé avant qu’elle ne soit chassée. Durant le pléistocène, une accumulation de glace aurait diminué la taille de l’habitat pendant les épisodes de glaciation. Les variations climatiques auraient d’ailleurs modifié leur diète, les poussant à s’adapter.

Il existe aujourd’hui 3 populations de baleines grises dans l’Océan Pacifique. Elles sont menacées d’extinction à cause des activités industrielles comme l’exploitation d’hydrocarbures et les projets d’énergies renouvelables, la présence de bateaux de transport ainsi que l’industrie de la pêche. Ces filiales ont des effets néfastes sur leur reproduction, leur alimentation et leur migration.

Le réchauffement et l’acidification des océans menacent l’alimentation des baleines grises. Toutefois, les changements climatiques font en sorte que la banquise arctique fond et ouvre le détroit de Béring ainsi que le passage du Nord-Ouest. Ce changement pourrait ramener les baleines grises dans l’Océan Atlantique afin de subvenir à leurs besoins alimentaires. Il est à noter que cette modification de l’aire de répartition, bien que positive à court terme, est plus complexe à long terme.

Conserver l’équilibre

Un écosystème est un système d’interactions entre des organismes vivants -plantes, animaux, champignons et microbes- et le milieu qui les supporte. Des relations sont formées entre les différents constituants d’un écosystème, et ce dernier évolue au fil du temps. L’ensemble des espèces qui peuplent la Terre ne sont pas toutes connues de l’humain, mais elles participent toutefois à un équilibre! Ainsi, la disparition d’une espèce peut entrainer une désorganisation à laquelle les autres espèces doivent s’adapter.

La disparition de la baleine grise de l’Atlantique a eu plusieurs effets dans l’équilibre écosystémique. Cette baleine à fanons, lorsqu’elle se nourrit du benthos, remue la colonne d’eau et remet en suspension les organismes présents. Elle ajoute aussi, par ses déjections, des éléments nutritifs pour d’autres espèces. Bref, elle jouait un rôle à ne pas négliger!

Actualité - 17/11/2022

Chloé Laprise

Chloé Laprise a rejoint l’équipe de rédaction de Baleines en direct à l’automne 2022. Étudiante au baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke, elle a le souci de faire connaître les beautés de la nature et d’encourager sa protection à tous ceux qui s’y intéressent.

Articles recommandés

Sélection de livres sur les baleines à découvrir

En cette saison froide, nombre d’espèces de baleines ont quitté le Saint-Laurent. Observer ces cétacés en chair et en os…

|Actualité 8/12/2022

La quête de nourriture des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord

Depuis 2015, une présence accrue des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord est remarquée dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. L’événement de…

|Actualité 8/12/2022

Snow Cone, emblème de la lutte désespérée des baleines noires

En décembre 2021, une lueur d’espoir est née lorsque Snow Cone a été aperçue avec un nouveau-né, et ce malgré…

|Actualité 14/10/2022