Guylaine 

The alarm clock sounds, and I immediately begin to think about the mission that awaits me today. Before crawling out of bed, I check in with Mother Nature to see whether all the elements are in place for a day in the field. Sure enough, the stars are aligned! I have a big smile on my face. As research assistants and drone pilots, Jeanne and I form one of the Beluga Brigades under the “Window on Belugas” project. While the other Brigade team operates on the opposite side of the river, in Gros-Cacouna, our field site is located in Baie Sainte-Marguerite in the Saguenay Fjord National Park, a known resting and socializing area for beluga herds (article in French).  Using a drone, we fly over groups of resident St. Lawrence belugas – an endangered population – to collect data for scientific purposes as well as for educational activities using a recording and retransmission system. With my backpack slung over my shoulder, I’m finally ready to leave home for another exciting day.

 

Jeanne 

“Good morning!” Guylaine and I are now familiar with this daily refrain: “Weather?” I enquire. Have you checked the wind? Fog, rain, Kp index?” (The latter measures disturbance of the Earth’s magnetic field caused by the solar wind.) After that come updates, formatting, inspection of equipment.… with plenty of acronyms and checklists at our disposal so we don’t forget anything! When everything is ready, there’s just one final question: “Single or double this morning?”

 

Off we go!

Jeanne

Upon our arrival at Baie Sainte-Marguerite, all the carefully packed equipment is transferred onto our trailer which we then tow by bike to the beluga lookout. This popular spot serves as an observation hub where visitors, the Parks Canada research team, Sépaq naturalists, as well as members of the Beluga Brigade such as ourselves all cross paths!  On site, we execute another series of tasks that we’ve mastered, including setting up the data recording and transmission system for the live share of video footage and installing the security perimeter to keep visitors a safe distance away from our drone flights.

Once we’re set up on our boulder, we start scanning the horizon. “Beluga!” yells Guylaine. No, it’s just another whitecrest, those little waves that create foam and play tricks on our eyes. When our “sea canaries” will arrive and how long they will linger in the bay is never predictable. Because even if most of our time is spent controlling various parameters on land or in flight, the one variable that we cannot control is the very presence of our subject of study!  But when the little round white backs finally do appear on the horizon, we come alive with excitement as we prepare for launch…

Start the engine! 3... 2... 1... lift off!

Guylaine

Surveying belugas from above for scientific purposes requires both rigour and good communication, especially since we have a number of research objectives to achieve. First, using drone-captured images,  it is possible to calculate individual measurements in order to assess their state of health using a method called photogrammetry.

By flying over the herd group by group, we can also determine its composition by tallying the number of calves (newborns), bleuvets (up to 2 years old), greys (juveniles) and whites (adults). Additionally, aerial tracking of defined groups of individuals, i.e. “focal tracking,” allows for the observation of all sorts of behavioural dynamics. Lastly, distinctive markings such as spots or scars on certain belugas will later be useful to the research team for photo-identification purposes.

When we work together, Jeanne and I alternate roles as pilot and assistant pilot. While the pilot focuses on operating the controller that flies the drone in compliance with the scientific protocol, the assistant pilot collects data and ensures that all safety measures are being followed. Despite the distance we keep from visitors during flight operations, we still maintain contact with them thanks to the data recording system for the education component. At the beluga lookout, SÉPAQ naturalist Andrée-Laurence describes to the public our images as they are displayed on a screen in real time. It’s great to share some of our work with the public and offer them another perspective, a bird’s eye view no less! But above all, to know that the naturalist’s talk has helped make them more aware of the importance of protecting belugas. Mission accomplished!

Jeanne 

Even after we’ve completed our last flight, the day is far from over! After packing our gear, we head to the office to enter our data. Flight data is synchronized by one technician, while the latter’s partner prepares the gear for the next day and begins to enter data into the computer from that day’s field notes. At some point, on rainy days for example, we will label the images according to a system of predetermined codes and quantify the size of the herds observed based on our high-altitude video footage. “Oohs” and “ahs” of wonder can be heard as moving scenes that we missed in the field begin to appear on the big screen, focused as we were on the delicate task of filming belugas in motion. All of this catalogued information, including Excel tables loaded with data on flight conditions and herd composition, will allow the research team to continue its analysis this winter as part of the St. Lawrence Estuary Beluga Observatory project.

Paradoxically, peering down upon belugas from the sky also enables us to dive into their world, an immersion that is both scientific and educational!

The Window on Belugas project is a collaborative project managed by GREMM and MMMON in partnership with the Raincoast Conservation Foundation, Parks Canada, Sépaq and the Wolastoqiyik Wahsipekuk First Nation. It is made possible thanks to an investment of $1.1M from Fisheries and Oceans Canada through the Canada Nature Fund for Aquatic Species at Risk (CNFASAR), as well as a contribution of $600,000 from the Government of Quebec (Quebec Ministry of Forests, Wildlife, and Parks and Ministry of Tourism).

 

By Guylaine Marchand et Jeanne LaRoche

Field Notes - 22/9/2022

Collaboration Spéciale

Recommended articles

Teamwork for Whale Protection

Protecting the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park requires teamwork. Research makes it possible to better understand various issues related to the…

|Field Notes 25/10/2022

Recovery of a white-sided dolphin carcass in Rimouski

In the early afternoon of Monday, September 5, the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network call centre receives a report…

|Field Notes 11/10/2022

Eyes on the water

Every summer since 2003, the Parks Canada team has been scrutinizing the waters in and around Baie Sainte-Marguerite to tally…

|Field Notes 6/10/2022

Guylaine 

Le réveil matin sonne, une autre mission m’attend aujourd’hui. Avant de sortir de mon lit, je consulte dame Nature pour voir si elle a mis tous les éléments en place pour une journée terrain. Eh voilà, tout y est ! J’ai un grand sourire. Jeanne et moi sommes assistantes de recherche et pilotes de drone, nous formons l’une des Brigade Béluga dans le cadre du projet Fenêtre sur les Bélugas. Alors que l’autre équipe de la Brigade est située de l’autre côté du fleuve, à Gros-Cacouna, notre site terrain est situé dans la Baie Sainte-Marguerite dans le parc national du fjord du Saguenay, une aire de repos et de socialisation connue pour les troupeaux de bélugas.  À l’aide d’un drone, nous survolons des groupes de bélugas résidents du Saint-Laurent, une population en voie de disparation, à des fins scientifiques, pour collecter des données, ainsi que pour des activités d’éducation avec un système de captation et de diffusion. Mon sac à dos à l’épaule, je suis enfin prête à quitter la maison pour une autre journée palpitante.

 

Jeanne 

« Bon matin! » Guylaine et moi-même connaissons maintenant bien la rengaine habituelle : «Météo?, je lui demande. As-tu vérifié les vents? Brouillard, la pluie, l’indice Kp (lié aux perturbations des activités solaires)?» S’enchainent ensuite les mises à jour, le formatage, l’inspection du matériel…les acronymes et checklists sont à notre disposition pour ne rien oublier! Quand tout est prêt, la dernière question surgit : « Simple ou allongé ce matin »?

 

C’est parti!

Jeanne

Arrivées à la Baie Sainte-Marguerite, tout l’équipement soigneusement empaqueté est transféré dans notre remorque, puisque c’est en pédalant que nous nous rendons à la halte aux bélugas. Cette halte bien prisée agit à titre de carrefour d’observation où se côtoient les visiteurs, l’équipe de recherche de Parcs Canada, les naturalistes de la Sépaq, ainsi nous-mêmes, la brigade Béluga!  Sur place, on s’active à un autre cycle de gestuelles bien apprises: arrimage du système de captation et de diffusion pour le partage en direct des enregistrements vidéo et installation du périmètre de sécurité pour les vols de drones, à distance des visiteurs.

Une fois prêtes sur notre rocher, on scrute l’horizon. « Béluga! », lance Guylaine. Oh non… ce n’est qu’un autre mouton, ces petites vagues qui créent de l’écume et qui nous jouent des tours. L’heure d’arrivée de nos canaris des mers et même la longueur de leur séjour dans la baie n’est jamais prévisible. Car même si la majorité de notre temps nous nous affairons à contrôler plusieurs paramètres sur terre ou en vol, celui que l’on ne contrôle pas c’est bien la présence même de notre sujet d’étude!  Mais quand les petits dos blancs arrondis se pointent bien à l’horizon, on s’anime avec excitation pour se préparer à décoller…

Moteur! 3-2-1 Décollage!

Guylaine

Survoler des bélugas à des fins scientifiques demande rigueur et communication, surtout puisque nous devons remplir plusieurs objectifs de recherche. D’abord, à l’aide d’images capturées par le drone, il est possible de calculer les mensurations des individus afin d’évaluer leur état de santé, à l’aide d’une méthode qui se nomme la photogrammétrie.

En survolant le troupeau groupe par groupe, on peut aussi déterminer sa composition, par exemple : veau (nouveau-né), bleuvet (jusqu’à 2 ans), gris (juvénile) et enfin blanc (adulte). Ensuite, le suivi aérien de groupes définis d’individus permet d’observer toutes sortes de dynamiques comportementales, ce que l’on qualifie de suivi focal. Enfin, les signes distinctifs comme les taches ou les cicatrices observées sur certains bélugas seront utiles plus tard à l’équipe de recherche dans un but de photo-identification.

De pair, Jeanne et moi échangeons de rôle comme pilote ou assistante-pilote. Alors que la pilote demeure concentrée à manier la manette qui contrôle le drone en respectant les spécificités liées au protocole scientifique, l’assistante-pilote collige les données sur la feuille terrain et s’assure que les éléments de sécurité soient respectés. Malgré la distance avec les visiteurs lors de nos opérations de vols, nous sommes tout de même en contact avec eux, grâce au système de captation pour le volet éducation. Sur la Halte aux Bélugas, Andrée-Laurence, naturaliste de la SÉPAQ, décrit au public nos images diffusées en direct sur un écran. C’est chouette de partager avec le public une partie de notre travail et de leur permettre d’avoir une autre perspective, à vol d’oiseau ! Mais surtout, de savoir que le discours de la naturaliste les a sensibilisés à l’importance de protéger les bélugas. Mission accomplie !

Jeanne 

Une fois le dernier vol complété, la journée est loin d’être terminée! Après avoir plié bagage, on se rend jusqu’au bureau où la saisie de données nous attend. La synchronisation des données de vol se fait donc par l’une, pendant que l’autre veille à préparer le matériel pour le lendemain, tout en débutant la saisie informatique des données de nos feuilles de terrain du jour. Éventuellement, ou par temps de pluie, on étiquette les images filmées selon un système de codes prédéterminé et on dénombre la taille des troupeaux observés, à partir de nos vidéos pris à haute altitude. Des «oh» et des «ah» d’émerveillement se font entendre, lorsque notre grand écran nous permet de voir des scènes attendrissantes, qui avaient échappé à nos yeux de pilotes rivés sur la tâche délicate de filmer les bélugas en mouvement. Toutes ces informations classifiées, ces tableaux Excel saturés de données sur les conditions de vol ou la composition des troupeaux, permettront à l’équipe de recherche cet hiver de poursuivre l’analyse dans le cadre du projet de l’Observatoire des bélugas de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent.

Au final, survoler les bélugas du ciel, c’est aussi paradoxalement offrir la possibilité de plonger dans leur monde, une immersion à la fois scientifique et éducative!

Le projet Fenêtre sur les bélugas est un projet collaboratif géré par le GREMM et le ROMM en partenariat avec Raincoast Conservation Foundation, Parcs Canada, la Sépaq et la Première Nation Wolastoqiyik Wahsipekuk. Il est rendu possible grâce à un investissement de 1,1M$ de Pêches et Océans Canada grâce au Fonds de la nature du Canada pour les espèces aquatiques en péril (FNCEAP), et à un investissement de 600 000$ du gouvernement du Québec (ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs et ministère du Tourisme du Québec).

 

Par Guylaine Marchand et Jeanne LaRoche

Carnet de terrain - 22/9/2022

Collaboration Spéciale

Articles recommandés

À la rencontre des bélugas de Cacouna

«Hey regarde! Là! Un béluga!» Perché.e.s sur notre plateforme d’observation sur la montagne sacrée de Gros-Cacouna, Sami et moi rivons…

|Carnet de terrain 20/9/2022

Projet sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

C’est dans la semaine du 11 au 15 juillet que se déroulait la deuxième année d’échantillonnage du projet de Parcs…

|Carnet de terrain 18/8/2022

Activités d’observation en mer

Depuis 1994, des échantillons ont été pris sur près de 3000 excursions en plein cœur du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent…

|Carnet de terrain 11/8/2022