There’s been plenty of action in the St. Lawrence in these first few days of March! Several belugas were seen near Les Escoumins. A few harbour seals have also been reported in the area, but this week’s sightings are particularly dominated by harp seals. Several large blasts were also reported from the north shore. The third month of the year is definitely off to a good start! 

Whales and large spouts

Residents of Franquelin had the chance to observe several species of marine mammals in recent days. First, on March 2, the largest of whales was seen. One resident shares her observation: “A blue whale was swimming slowly westward, surfacing every six to ten minutes, each time with a sustained sequence of three to five breaths. There was something special about this whale, as I was able to see its caudal fin twice. How impressive and magical!” The following day, in addition to spotting a large blast in the distance, she has the chance to admire a blue whale that had ventured quite close to shore: “Seeing it breathe and then dive beneath the mass of ice and slush just dazzled me! Its marbled bluish-grey skin glistening in the sun was equally as awesome.” Lastly, on March 4, three spouts erupted before her eyes in unison: “Two of the animals then joined together and headed even farther offshore!” 

Another local resident had the pleasure of observing a minke whale swimming off the coast of Franquelin, not to mention two or three fin whales. And, quite close to shore, a blue whale put on an entertaining display with its breathing sequences for almost two hours.  

From the shores of Les Bergeronnes, another breath was admired on March 5 by an avid walker: “This morning was my first big spout of the year! Very far offshore, […] it was either a fin or a blue… but it was too far away to identify the species. But I’m very happy!” On Wednesday morning, the same observer also noted the presence of another large blue or fin whale blowing off Cap de Bon-Désir.  

Herds of seals on the horizon!

Harp seals were the big stars of the week in some places. Several groups ranging in size from 50 to 200 animals have been seen at Cap de Bon-Désir in recent days. A herd was also seen in the early morning of March 5, basking under the rising sun. A few harbour seals were also observed here and there. 

Belugas at Cap de Bon-Désir and Les Escoumins

Obviously, Cap de Bon-Désir was a hot spot for marine mammals of the St. Lawrence this week. In addition to the large spouts and herds of seals, a few belugas were also spotted passing through the area.  

On Wednesday morning, ten of these white whales were spotted opposite Les Bergeronnes as they worked their way up the river toward Tadoussac. The morning of March 6 was also marked by the presence of two grey belugas off the coast of Les Escoumins. That afternoon, two white belugas were observed swimming in the same place and an hour later, there were more than ten of them!  

Thanks to all our collaborators!

Special thanks go out to all our observers who share their love for marine mammals with us! Your encounters with cetaceans and pinnipeds are always a pleasure to read and discover. 

On the water or from shore, it is your eyes that give life to this column. 

Renaud Pintiaux

Pascal Pitre

Andréanne Sylvain

Marielle Vanasse

Jade-Audrey Lavergne

Élizabeth Melis 

And all those we left out! 

Additionally, we would like to acknowledge the following teams for also sharing their sightings:
Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS)
Marine Mammal Observation Network (ROMM)
Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network: Status Report (QMMERN)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) 

Would you also like to share your observations? 

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]! 

Observation of the Week - 7/3/2024

Océane Denis

Océane Denis is an editorial intern for Baleines en direct in winter 2024. A lover of nature and animals, she wants to share her passions through writing. Océane is in her second year of a bachelor's degree in environmental studies at the Université de Sherbrooke.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Beaucoup d’action dans le Saint-Laurent en ce début de mars! Plusieurs bélugas ont été aperçus au niveau des Escoumins. Quelques phoques communs sont également de la partie, mais ce sont les phoques du Groenland qui dominent les observations de la semaine. Plusieurs grands souffles ont aussi pu être admirés depuis la rive nord. Décidément, le troisième mois de l’année démarre en force!

Rorquals et grands souffles

Des habitants de Franquelin ont eu la chance de voir plusieurs mammifères marins durant les derniers jours. D’abord, le 2 mars, c’est la plus grosse des baleines qui est aperçue. Une résidente raconte son observation : « Un rorqual bleu progresse lentement vers l’ouest, respirant aux six à dix minutes, offrant une présence soutenue avec des séquences de trois à cinq souffles. Ce rorqual a un petit quelque chose de spécial… il m’a été possible de voir sa nageoire caudale à deux reprises, comme c’est impressionnant et magique! » Le lendemain, elle remarque un grand souffle au large tandis qu’un rorqual bleu s’aventure tout près de la rive, lui permettant ainsi de l’admirer : « Le voir respirer pour ensuite plonger sous l’amas de glace et de slush m’aura bien éblouie! Voir les reflets du soleil sur sa peau marbrée de gris-bleuté était magnifique. » Finalement, le 4 mars, ce sont trois souffles qui se manifestent devant ses yeux au même moment : « Deux d’entre eux se sont rejoints au fil de leur progression, toujours plus vers le large! »

Un autre citoyen a eu le bonheur d’observer un petit rorqual circuler au large de Franquelin, mais aussi deux ou trois rorquals communs. Un rorqual bleu a également offert ses grands souffles en spectacle pendant près de deux heures tout près de la rive.

Un autre souffle a pu être admiré le 5 mars depuis les Bergeronnes par un marcheur assidu : « Ce matin mon premier grand souffle de l’année!!!! Très loin au large, […]. Commun ou bleu… trop loin pour l’identification de l’espèce. Mais je suis bien heureux! » Il remarque également la présence d’un autre grand souffle de rorqual bleu ou commun au large du cap de Bon-Désir, cette fois, mercredi matin.

Troupeaux de phoques à l’horizon!

Les phoques du Groenland ont été les grandes vedettes de la semaine à certains endroits. Plusieurs groupes allant de 50 jusqu’à 200 bêtes ont été aperçus au cap de Bon-Désir dans les derniers jours. Un troupeau a d’ailleurs été vu au petit matin en train de se prélasser en avant-plan du soleil levant le 5 mars. Quelques phoques communs ont également été observés par ci et par là.

Des bélugas au cap de Bon-Désir et aux Escoumins

Visiblement, le cap de Bon-Désir a été une attraction séduisante pour les mammifères marins du Saint-Laurent cette semaine. En plus des grands souffles et des colonies de phoques, quelques bélugas ont été de passage dans les environs.

Dix baleines blanches ont été repérées devant les Bergeronnes, remontant le fleuve vers Tadoussac mercredi en début de journée. Le matin du 6 mars a aussi été marqué par la présence de deux bélugas gris au large des Escoumins. En après-midi, ce sont deux baleines blanches qui sont observées nageant au même endroit et une heure plus tard, elles sont plus d’une dizaine!

Merci aux collaborateurs et collaboratrices!

Merci aux observateurs et observatrices qui partagent avec nous leur amour pour les mammifères marins! Vos rencontres avec les cétacés et les pinnipèdes sont toujours un plaisir à lire et à découvrir.

Ce sont vos yeux, sur l’eau ou depuis la berge, qui permettent à cette rubrique de voir le jour.

Jade-Audrey Lavergne

Élizabeth Melis

Renaud Pintiaux

Pascal Pitre

Andréanne Sylvain

Marielle Vanasse

J. Varin

Et à tous les autres!

Merci aussi aux équipes qui partagent leurs observations :
Station de recherche des Îles Mingan (MICS)
Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM)
Réseau québécois d’urgence pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM)
Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Vous souhaitez vous aussi partager vos observations?

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 7/3/2024

Océane Denis

Océane Denis est stagiaire en rédaction pour Baleines en direct à l’hiver 2024. Grande amoureuse de la nature et des animaux, elle souhaite partager ses passions à travers l’écriture. Océane est à sa deuxième année de baccalauréat en études de l’environnement à l’Université de Sherbrooke.

Articles recommandés

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024

Une semaine de grands rorquals

Des grands rorquals qui continuent d’épater la galerie, quelques bélugas, des phoques du Groenland se reposant sur les glaces et…

|Observations de la semaine 28/3/2024