After a quiet start to the season, humpback whales are now making a long-awaited return to Gaspésie, with between six and eight individuals having been observed over the past few days! In the estuary, the situation is quite different for the time being: a minke whale here, a group of belugas there, but no signs of any large cetaceans for the past few weeks.

Humpback in the Gaspé

The start of the whale-watching cruise season has gotten off to a good start in Gaspé Bay. Unfavourable weather did not allow for departures every day, but the whales were there.

The presence of several minke whales, harbour seals and a few porpoises is remarkable, but what is particularly impressive is the six to eight humpback whales being observed on a daily basis.

For the Marine Mammal Observation Network, whose team has been on site to train observer members in data collection, the two trips out to sea on June 1 were an opportunity to enjoy some great sightings. “We saw several humpbacks on both cruises, one in the morning and the other in the afternoon, at least six individuals in all,” comments Mélissa Martel, project manager for the organization. “We also observed harbour seals with pups as well as a few porpoises.”

Concerns in the estuary

A fog of anxiety hovers over the Tadoussac area. According to some of the regulars who have worked for years in the whale-watching industry, such a calm start to the season is unusual. GREMM collaborator, naturalist and wildlife photographer Renaud Pintiaux recently published some field notes to share his thoughts on the topic.

However, how a season starts is not necessarily an indicator of how the rest of the summer will transpire. Several species migrate farther south during the winter, and may still be working their way back. The presence of capelin in the last few days could be a sign of the imminent arrival of large cetaceans. When these silvery fish that whales prey on reproduce on sandy or gravel beaches, it is said that they are “rolling.” For GREMM Education Director Patrice Corbeil, this year is similar to other years such as 2019. He also believes that whales often arrive shortly after the capelin reproduce. We’ll find out soon enough!

For one marine mammal enthusiast visiting the area for a few days, the sight of cetaceans roaming the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord is as delightful as it is breathtaking. “I saw several belugas near the rocks in front of the Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre and even a minke whale at the tip of Pointe de l’Islet. I was elated!” Harbour seals were observed lazing on the rocks in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park. A few harp seals have also been reported in the sector.

The whelping (or pupping) period for harbour seals is still underway. Several observers have also come across young seals recently, namely in Gallix, Franquelin or La Malbaie. Cohabitation on the beaches is therefore essential and a distance of 100 metres from these pinnipeds must be maintained.

In Saint-Irénée, one local resident was moved by how much she was able to observe just by scanning the river: “I saw belugas daily, except for the last few days when the weather was not very nice. The highlight was last Sunday when I saw a female beluga with her little one. It was dark grey in colour.”

Other sightings from the north shore are rather scattered, with a minke whale in Franquelin, a few seals in Pointe-des-Monts, and a handful of grey seals in Havre-Saint-Pierre. Additionally, a few porpoises, belugas and seals were seen during a boat trip in the estuary between Matane, Franquelin and Pointe-des-Monts. From Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, the presence of approximately three minke whales, harp seals and about twenty grey seals was reported at a haulout site.

 

Observation of the Week - 8/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Après avoir été discrets ces derniers temps, les rorquals à bosse font un retour attendu en Gaspésie, entre six et huit individus ont été observés pendant plusieurs jours! Du côté de l’estuaire, la situation est tout autre pour l’instant, un petit rorqual par-ci, un groupe de bélugas par-là, mais aucun signe de grands cétacés depuis quelques semaines.

Rorqual à bosse en Gaspésie

Le début de la saison des croisières aux baleines a bien débuté dans la baie de Gaspé. La météo difficile n’a pas permis de faire des sorties sur l’eau tous les jours, mais les baleines étaient au rendez-vous.

La présence de plusieurs petits rorquals, de phoques communs et de quelques marsouins est remarquable, mais ce sont surtout les six à huit rorquals à bosse observés tous les jours qui impressionnent.

Pour l’équipe du Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins sur place pour la formation de membres observateurs à la collecte de données, les deux sorties en mer réalisées le 1er juin ont été l’occasion de faire de belles observations. « Nous avons vu plusieurs rorquals à bosse lors des deux croisières, une le matin et l’autre l’après-midi, au moins six individus, commente Mélissa Martel, gestionnaire de projet pour l’organisme. Nous avons aussi vu des phoques communs avec des bébés et quelques marsouins. »

Inquiétudes dans l’estuaire

Un brouillard d’inquiétude flotte dans le coin de Tadoussac. Un début de saison aussi calme n’est pas de coutume selon l’avis de quelques habitués qui travaillent depuis plusieurs années dans l’industrie de l’observation des baleines. Notre collaborateur Renaud Pintiaux, naturaliste et photographe animalier, signe d’ailleurs un carnet de terrain pour partager ses questionnements sur le sujet.

Le début de la saison n’est cependant pas garant du reste l’été. Plusieurs espèces migrant plus au sud pendant l’hiver, elles sont peut-être encore sur leur chemin de retour. La présence de capelan les derniers jours pourrait être un signe de l’arrivée prochaine des grands cétacés. Ces poissons argentés dont se nourrissent les baleines se reproduisent sur les plages de sables ou de gravier, on dit que le capelan « roule ». Pour Patrice Corbeil, directeur à l’éducation du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins, cette année est semblable à d’autres années, comme 2019. Il est aussi d’avis que les rorquals arrivent souvent peu de temps après la reproduction des capelans. À suivre!

Pour une passionnée des mammifères marins en visite pour quelques jours, la vue des cétacés qui circulent à l’embouchure du fjord du Saguenay est réjouissante et époustouflante. « J’ai vu plusieurs bélugas près des roches devant le Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins et même un petit rorqual au bout de la pointe de l’Islet. J’étais heureuse rare! » Des phoques communs se reposent sur les roches dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent. Quelques phoques du Groenland nagent aussi dans le secteur.

La période de mise bas pour les phoques communs est toujours active. Plusieurs observateurs et observatrices ont d’ailleurs croisé de jeunes phoques dernièrement, que ce soit à Gallix, à Franquelin ou à La Malbaie. La cohabitation sur les plages est donc primordiale et il faut respecter une distance de 100 mètres avec ces pinnipèdes.

À Saint-Irénée, une riveraine s’émoie devant les belles observations qu’elle peut réaliser en scrutant le fleuve : « j’ai vu des bélugas tous les jours, sauf les derniers jours où il ne faisait pas assez beau. La beauté c’était dimanche dernier, j’ai vu une femelle béluga avec son petit chou. Il était bien gris foncé. »

Le reste des observations depuis la côte nord sont parsemées, un petit rorqual à Franquelin, quelques phoques depuis Pointe-des-Monts, quelques phoques gris à Havre-Saint-Pierre. Quelques marsouins, bélugas et phoques ont été aperçus lors d’une sortie en bateau dans l’estuaire entre Matane, Franquelin et Pointe-des-Monts. Depuis la Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, on rapporte la présence d’environ trois petits rorquals, de phoques du Groenland et d’une vingtaine de phoques gris sur un site d’échouerie.

Observations de la semaine - 8/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Le grand chelem des rorquals du Saint-Laurent

Imaginez avoir la chance de voir les quatre espèces de rorquals qui fréquentent le Saint-Laurent dans la même journée! Pour…

|Observations de la semaine 18/7/2024

La frénésie des baleines

Des plus petites aux plus grandes baleines, toutes sont actuellement réunies dans le Saint-Laurent! Les marsouins communs sont omniprésents, de…

|Observations de la semaine 11/7/2024

Siam de retour et un requin-pèlerin en Gaspésie

Siam, le rorqual à bosse doyen de l’estuaire, est de retour! Pendant que les baleines nagent un peu partout dans…

|Observations de la semaine 4/7/2024