The mysterious series of spout sightings that began last week continues, only this time we might actually be able to identify some of their owners! This last week of March has also been marked by the presence of occasionally overly nomadic seals, the discreet return of the first minke whales and increasingly present belugas in the estuary.

Five blues and one fin

It’s Monday morning, March 27, when the show gets underway on the north shore of the St. Lawrence, in the town of Godbout. Erupting into the air is a massive spout that most certainly belongs either to a large fin whale or a blue whale. Two days later, on March 29, blasts resonate a little farther east, near Sept-Îles. In the morning, three blue whales roamed offshore, about 7 nautical  miles from the coast, according to Jacques Gélineau, mariner and avid marine mammal observer. In the afternoon, Jacques tallied five blue whales and one fin whale… Quite impressive! About twenty harp seals have also been present in the area, not to mention the two minke whales he observed, one near Sept-Îles and the other in the Mingan Archipelago.

On the other side of the St. Lawrence, a Gaspé resident and amateur wildlife photographer also had the chance to encounter several whales during a snowshoe hike in Grande-Grave in Forillon National Park. Thanks to his trusty camera, he was able to capture some very useful images for ID purposes. Indeed, he shared his pictures with the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) in order to confirm the species. After verification, it appears that the animal in question was a blue whale, the largest creature on the planet. In Petite-Rivière-au-Renard, two harbour seals have been quietly lazing on the rocks in recent days.

Species identification was facilitated by photos. © Christophe-Lucas Gagnon
© Christophe-Lucas Gagnon

Adventurous belugas and seals

On the northern shores of the St. Lawrence, harbour seals forage for fish while Iceland and glaucous gulls stream past Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes. Pods of belugas have been seen swimming along the coast, and were observed for the first time from Longue-Rive and from Tadoussac, at the entrance to the Saguenay Fjord. One experienced observer is treated to a pleasant surprise when she spots her first beluga of the year off Pointe de l’Islet while a seal pup swims close by. Two harbour seals were also quietly drifting on the ice a few days earlier.

In Pointe-aux-Outardes, on March 27, a number of residents were astonished to discover a harp seal. Indeed, the animal had travelled quite a distance (nearly 1 km) inland and even crossed a road before reaching a wooded area in Pointe-aux-Outardes Nature Park. An impressive encounter, as these pinnipeds can weigh up to 150 kg and measure 1.6 m long. However, even if they spend most of their time in the water, seals can still get around quite well on land.

.

In Gallix, a little “whitecoat” found refuge between two houses. Perhaps its mother had left to feed, or maybe the young seal was already weaned, though it’s impossible to say for sure. Typically, after nursing her offspring for 12 days, the mother will leave and the youngster is forced to fend for itself for four to six weeks before it is ready to take its first swim. What were these two individuals doing so close to human dwellings? More and more, the decline in ice cover in the St. Lawrence triggered by climate change is causing seals to venture onto shore.

If the seal has visible injuries, if it is in an inconvenient place for human activities or if you see other people disturbing or handling it, contact the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency  Response Network at 1-877-722-5346. Specialists will determine the most appropriate course of action.

Share your observations!

Have you seen any marine mammals in the St. Lawrence? Whether it’s a spout offshore or just a couple of seals, drop us a line and send your photos to [email protected]!

Observation of the Week - 30/3/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Belugas and Migrating Birds

This past week, belugas have been seen from both shores of the estuary. Humpbacks, minke whales and seals were also…

|Observation of the Week 25/4/2024

La mystérieuse série d’observations de souffles débutée la semaine dernière se poursuit, mais cette fois-ci, certains d’entre eux pourront être associés à une espèce! Cette dernière semaine de mars a aussi été marquée par la présence de phoques, parfois un peu trop explorateurs, par le retour discret des premiers petits rorquals et par des bélugas aperçus de plus en plus fréquemment dans l’estuaire.

Cinq rorquals bleus et un commun

C’est lundi matin, le 27 mars, que le bal est lancé sur la rive nord du Saint-Laurent, à Godbout. Un grand souffle est projeté dans les airs, appartenant certainement à une géante, un rorqual commun ou un rorqual bleu. Deux jours plus tard, le 29 mars, l’écho des souffles se fait entendre cette fois plus à l’est, à Sept-Îles.  Le matin, ce sont trois rorquals bleus qui circulaient au large, à environ 7 milles de la côte, raconte Jacques Gélineau, navigateur et observateur assidu de mammifères marins. En après-midi, il décompte cinq rorquals bleus et un rorqual commun, tout un recensement! Une vingtaine de phoques du Groenland sont aussi présents dans le secteur, sans compter les deux petits rorquals qu’il a pu observer, l’un à Sept-Îles et l’autre dans l’archipel de Mingan.

De l’autre côté du fleuve Saint-Laurent, un résident de Gaspé et photographe animalier amateur a aussi la chance de rencontrer plusieurs baleines lors d’une sortie en raquettes à Grande-Grave, dans le parc Forillon. Grâce à son appareil, il a pu capturer quelques images bien utiles pour l’identification. En effet, il a partagé ses photos avec l’équipe du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM) afin de confirmer l’espèce. Après vérification, il s’agirait du plus gros animal sur la planète, un rorqual bleu. À Petite-Rivière-au-Renard, deux phoques communs se reposaient tranquillement sur les roches dans les derniers jours.

© Christophe-Lucas Gagnon
© Christophe-Lucas Gagnon

Des bélugas et des phoques aventureux

Sur la côte nord du Saint-Laurent, des phoques communs chassent des poissons, pendant que les goélands arctiques et bourgmestres volent, devant le cap de Bon-Désir, aux Bergeronnes. Des groupes de bélugas nagent le long de la côte, ils sont observés une première fois à Longue-Rive, puis à Tadoussac, à l’entrée du fjord du Saguenay. Pour une observatrice chevronnée, c’est une belle surprise lorsqu’elle aperçoit son premier béluga de l’année, devant la pointe de l’Islet, pendant qu’un petit phoque nage à proximité. Deux phoques communs se laissaient aussi tranquillement dériver sur les glaces quelques jours plus tôt.

À Pointe-aux-Outardes, le 27 mars, un phoque du Groenland a surpris des résidents. Il avait en effet fait toute une distance depuis le rivage, près de 1 km dans le bois, depuis le Parc Nature de Pointe-aux-Outardes, en plus d’avoir traversé la route pour s’y rendre. Une rencontre impressionnante, puisque ces pinnipèdes peuvent peser jusqu’à 150 kg et mesurer 1,6 m. Comme quoi, même s’ils passent la majeure partie de leur temps dans l’eau, les phoques sont quand même capables de se déplacer sur la terre ferme.

.

À Gallix, un petit blanchon a trouvé refuge entre deux maisons. Il est possible que la mère était partie pour se nourrir, ou encore que le jeune phoque était sevré, mais impossible de le confirmer. Généralement, après avoir allaité son petit pendant 12 jours, la mère part ensuite de son côté et le jeune reste seul pendant quatre à six semaines avant d’être prêt à nager. Pourquoi ces deux individus étaient aussi près des infrastructures humaines? La diminution du couvert de glace dans le Saint-Laurent à cause des changements climatiques pousse les phoques à s’aventurer de plus en plus sur les rives.

Si jamais vous observez un phoque avec des blessures visibles, s’il est dans un lieu encombrant pour les activités humaines ou si vous voyez des gens le déranger ou le manipuler, contactez le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins au 1 877 722-5346. Des spécialistes établiront le meilleur plan d’action.

Partagez vos observations!

Vous avez observé des mammifères marins dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent? Qu’il s’agisse d’un souffle au large ou de quelques phoques, écrivez-nous et envoyez-nous vos photos à [email protected]!

Observations de la semaine - 30/3/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Bélugas parmi les couleurs et petits rorquals en action!

Cette semaine dans le Saint-Laurent, les vocalises de bélugas accompagnent les aurores boréales tandis que des petits rorquals attirent l’attention…

|Observations de la semaine 16/5/2024

Petits rorquals déguisés en épaulards

Du mouvement dans l’eau, entre les vagues qui éclaboussent, on voit des nageoires foncées qui s’agitent. On y reconnait sans…

|Observations de la semaine 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

L’effervescence des baleines blanches

Des groupes de bélugas de plus en plus nombreux sont repérés dans l’estuaire, nageant parmi les petits rorquals qui reviennent…

|Observations de la semaine 2/5/2024