A ship that strikes a whale can cause the latter serious injury. In the St. Lawrence, fin whales are particularly prone to these types of collisions, which can even be fatal. In order to reduce the risk of incidents between whales and maritime traffic, voluntary speed reduction measures (in French) have been in place in the Estuary since 2013. Five years later, a team of researchers reveals that the measures are paying off and that the risk of fatal collisions between fin whales and vessels has decreased by 40%.

Carrot without the stick

The Working Group on Marine Traffic and Protection of Marine Mammals in the Gulf of St. Lawrence (G2T3M), initiator of the voluntary measures, is encouraging vessels to slow down on their own in high-risk areas for whales. This method stands out from more traditional conservation measures where the focus is on negative behaviours that need to change. Instead, the objective of the G2T3M is to reinforce behaviours with positive consequences for whale populations.

To protect the whales while respecting the constraints of the industry, the G2T3M recommends travelling at 10 knots (approx. 18 km/h) in a strategic stretch of ​​the Estuary known to host a high density of marine mammals in the summer. This threshold is the best compromise between the risk of whale collisions and the manoeuvrability of the vessels. Ships that have implemented the voluntary measures in the reduced speed zone added seven minutes to their journey.

Incomplete success

Thanks to automatic ship recognition systems, the research team can track what’s happening on the water and check whether voluntary speed reduction measures are being complied with. Result: just 1 in every 10 ships complies with the 10-knot speed limit. However, data collected between 2013 and 2016 show that over 60% of vessels slow down considerably in the area where high whale densities are found. Even if vessels don’t always reach the 10-knot threshold, moderating one’s speed significantly decreases the risk of fatal collisions between whales and maritime traffic.

While the speed reduction zone has been a success, other voluntary measures proposed by the G2T3M have not produced the desired results. A small percentage of vessels complied with the area identified as “off limits” and opted for a proposed alternate route. Despite these few setbacks, the G2T3M considers the voluntary measures as a whole to be a success story. These measures even have the potential to serve as a foundation for tackling other issues affecting marine mammals in the St. Lawrence, including noise pollution.

In closing, it should be recalled that voluntary speed reduction measures, while promising for whale conservation, are provisional. They are not officially included in navigation systems, making it difficult for pilots and captains to visualize reduced speed and off-limit areas.

News - 10/10/2018

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin writes for Whales Online since 2018, when she did an internship in scientific journalism at GREMM. Equally at ease whether engaged in scientific research or scientific outreach, she is currently completing her Master's degree in biology at the Université du Québec à Montréal and a certificate in journalism at the Université de Montréal. Jack-of-all-trades, Aurélie has a wide range of interests, from whales to dinosaurs to schools of krill!

Recommended articles

400 Right Whales Left… Now What?

How many North Atlantic right whales are left in the world? If the answer today hovers around 400, for researchers,…

|News 6/7/2020

First Right Whale Carcass: Another Calf Struck by a Ship

The first North Atlantic right whale carcass in 2020 was spotted during an aerial survey on June 25, drifting off…

|News 6/7/2020
Souffle EG Baleine noire

Right Whale Protection Measures: Highs and Lows

Since the start of the year, news concerning protection measures specific to North Atlantic right whales has been like a…

|News 25/6/2020

Ralentir et sauver les baleines

  • Les mesures volontaires de ralentissement ont permis de réduire les risques de collision entre les mammifères marins et les navires. © GREMM
    10 / 10 / 2018 Par Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin - /

    Une baleine qui percute un navire peut se blesser gravement. Dans le Saint-Laurent, les rorquals communs sont particulièrement sujets à ce type de collisions qui peuvent même être mortelles. Afin de réduire les risques d’incidents entre les baleines et le trafic maritime, des mesures volontaires de réduction de vitesse dans l’estuaire sont en place depuis 2013. Cinq ans plus tard, une équipe de chercheurs révèle qu’elles portent fruit et que le risque de collisions létales entre les rorquals communs et les navires a diminué de 40 %.

    La carotte sans le bâton

    Le Groupe de travail sur le transport maritime et la protection des mammifères marins (G2T3M), instigateur des mesures volontaires, encourage les navires à ralentir de leur propre chef dans les régions à risque pour les baleines. Cette méthode se détache des mesures plus traditionnelles de conservation où l’accent est mis sur les comportements négatifs à stopper. L’objectif du G2T3M est plutôt de renforcer les comportements aux retombées positives pour les populations de baleines.

    Pour protéger les baleines tout en respectant les contraintes de l’industrie, le G2T3M recommande de naviguer à une vitesse de 10 nœuds (environ 18 km/h) dans une zone stratégique de l’estuaire, reconnue pour accueillir une forte densité de mammifères marins en période estivale. Ce seuil est le meilleur compromis entre le risque de collisions des baleines et la manœuvrabilité des navires. Les navires qui ont respecté les mesures volontaires dans la zone de ralentissement ont allongé leur trajet de sept minutes.

    Un succès incomplet

    Grâce aux systèmes de reconnaissance automatique des navires, l’équipe de chercheurs peut suivre ce qui se passe sur l’eau et vérifier si les mesures volontaires de réduction de vitesse sont respectées. Résultat : ce n’est qu’un navire sur 10 qui respecte la vitesse de 10 nœuds. Cependant, les données recueillies entre 2013 et 2016 montrent que plus de 60 % des navires ralentissent considérablement dans la zone où on retrouve de hautes densités de baleines. Même sans atteindre le seuil de 10 nœuds, modérer sa vitesse diminue significativement le risque de collisions mortelles entre les baleines et le trafic maritime.

    Si la zone de diminution de vitesse est un succès, d’autres mesures volontaires proposées par le G2T3M ont moins bien fonctionné. Une faible proportion des navires s’est conformée à la zone identifiée comme « à éviter » et à un trajet alternatif proposé. Malgré ces quelques revers, le G2T3M considère l’ensemble des mesures volontaires comme une opération réussie. Elles ont même le potentiel d’être une assise pour s’attaquer à d’autres problématiques touchant les mammifères marins dans le Saint-Laurent, dont la pollution sonore.

    En terminant, rappelons que les mesures volontaires de réduction de vitesse, bien que prometteuses pour la conservation des baleines, restent provisoires. Elles ne sont pas officiellement incluses dans les systèmes de navigation, ce qui rend la visualisation des zones de ralentissement et zones « à éviter » difficile pour pilotes et capitaines.

    Pour lire la recherche :

    (2018) Chion C., S. Turgeon, G. Cantin, R. Michaud, N. Ménard, V. Lesage, L. Parrott, P. Beaufils, Y. Clermont et C. Gravel. A voluntary conservation agreement reduces the risks of lethal collisions between ships and whales in the St. Lawrence Estuary (Québec, Canada): From co-construction to monitoring compliance and assessing effectiveness, PLoS ONE 13(9): e0202560.

     


    Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin est stagiaire à la vulgarisation scientifique depuis 2018. Aimant autant faire de la science qu’en parler, elle complète sa maitrise en biologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal ainsi qu’un certificat en journalisme à l’Université de Montréal. Aurélie est touche-à-tout et s’intéresse autant aux baleines qu’aux dinosaures en passant par les bancs de krill!