November 20, Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes: our collaborator Renaud Pintiaux settles down to take a few pictures of local marine life. He is happily observing a minke whale when the powerful spout of a blue whale erupts from the surface. How does he know it’s not a fin whale? The bump surrounding its blowholes is more protruding. Its dorsal fin is generally smaller and more triangular as well. And, of course, the bluish-grey speckling is distinct from the dark grey colour of the fin whale.

The blue whale off Cap de Bon-Désir heads downstream, vigorously swimming away from the rocks. Renaud leaves the site to try a new spot about ten kilometres away, this time at the wharf in Les Escoumins. The blue whale reappears and continues its journey down the St. Lawrence. “It’s swimming fast! I don’t think we’ll see him again this year,” he exclaims. He manages to take a few snapshots that might allow St. Lawrence blue whale specialist Richard Sears to identify it. After the departure of the largest animal on the planet, Renaud spots a dozen or so brawny white belugas.

Off the dunes of Tadoussac, the migratory bird surveyor is recording less avifauna these days, which gives him a little more time to scan the waters offshore. Nearly every day, he is delighted to see the splashing manoeuvres of surface feeding minke whales. On November 19, two column-shaped spouts spurt up like geysers. A larger whale swims in front of a smaller-looking one. Even through the spotting scope, it’s impossible to confirm whether they are fin whales or blue whales.

Four days earlier, near the Prince Shoal Lighthouse opposite Tadoussac, a freighter captain crosses paths with two humpbacks. Surprised, he writes, “What are they still doing here?” Perhaps these two individuals are not breeders and are less in a hurry to join their peers in the warmer waters of the Caribbean. Or maybe they are enjoying the still ice-free waters to continue building their reserves for next season.

Near Baie-Comeau, a worker on the wharf is excited to see three minke whales feeding on the surface. For over an hour, he is able to observe their dynamic movements. Minke whales feed not only on small fish, but also on krill.

In Port-Cartier, a large blast is spotted offshore on November 16. Closer to shore, a minke whale has been feeding regularly. The occasional harbour seal also pops up its head.

Out in the Gaspé Peninsula, in Cap-des-Rosiers, whales have faded from the landscape, but a few harbour seals are observed near the beach.

Observation of the Week - 21/11/2019

Marie-Ève Muller

Marie-Ève Muller is responsible for GREMM's communications and spokeperson for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergencies Response Network (QMMERN). As Editor-in-Chief for Whales Online, she devours research and has an insatiable thirst for the stories of scientists and observers. Drawing from her background in literature and journalism, Marie-Ève strives to put the fragile reality of cetaceans into words and images.

Recommended articles

Narwhal Still Present in the St. Lawrence

On August 4, a speckled back contrasts with the white backs of belugas swimming below the Pointe-Noire land observation platform…

|Observation of the Week 5/8/2020

Action in the Gaspé and the Estuary

Atlantic white-sided dolphins by the hundreds, fin whales by the dozens, acrobatic humpbacks: observers in the Gaspé have had plenty…

|Observation of the Week 30/7/2020

Let’s get loud

Have you ever heard a minke whale feeding at the surface? What a ruckus! An explosive spout is heard and,…

|Observation of the Week 23/7/2020

Au cap de Bon-Désir aux Bergeronnes, notre collaborateur Renaud Pintiaux s’installe pour prendre des photos de la vie marine autour du site le 20 novembre. Un petit rorqual le fait sourire quand le puissant souffle d’un rorqual bleu surgit. Comment différencier cette espèce d’un rorqual commun? La bosse entourant ses évents est plus protubérante. Sa nageoire dorsale est généralement plus petite et triangulaire aussi. Et bien sûr, la couleur gris-bleu mouchetée se distingue de celle gris foncé du rorqual commun.

Le rorqual bleu devant le cap de Bon-Désir se dirige vers l’aval. Sa nage vigoureuse l’éloigne des rochers. Renaud Pintiaux quitte le site pour tenter une nouvelle observation une dizaine de kilomètres plus loin, cette fois au quai des Escoumins. Le rorqual bleu apparait à nouveau et poursuit sa descente du Saint-Laurent. «Il nage vite! Je ne crois pas qu’on le reverra cette année», s’exclame-t-il. Il réussit à prendre quelques photos qui permettront peut-être au spécialiste des rorquals bleus du Saint-Laurent Richard Sears de le reconnaitre. Après le départ du plus grand animal de la planète, Renaud repère une dizaine de bélugas blancs bien costauds.

Au large des dunes de Tadoussac, le recenseur d’oiseaux migrateurs note moins de vie ailée ces jours-ci, ce qui lui donne un peu plus de temps pour scruter le large. Pratiquement tous les jours, il se réjouit de voir les éclaboussures des manœuvres d’alimentation en surface effectuées par des petits rorquals. Le 19 novembre, deux souffles en colonne s’élèvent comme deux geysers. Un plus grand rorqual nage devant un qui semble plus petit. À travers la lorgnette, impossible de confirmer si ce sont deux communs ou deux rorquals bleus.

Quatre jours plus tôt, au large du phare du Haut-Fond-Prince qui fait face à Tadoussac, un capitaine de cargo croise la route de deux rorquals à bosse. Il écrit, surpris : «que font-ils encore là?» Peut-être que ces deux animaux ne sont pas reproducteurs et n’ont pas la même urgence d’aller rejoindre les autres dans les eaux plus chaudes des Caraïbes. Ou peut-être profitent-ils des eaux encore sans glace pour continuer à prendre des réserves pour la prochaine saison.

Du côté de Baie-Comeau, un travailleur sur le quai s’exclame devant trois petits rorquals qui s’alimentent en surface. Pendant plus d’une heure, il pourra observer leurs mouvements dynamiques. Les petits rorquals s’alimentent de petits poissons, mais aussi de krill.

À Port-Cartier, un gros souffle point au large le 16 novembre. Plus près des rives, un petit rorqual s’alimente régulièrement. Une tête de phoque commun apparait à l’occasion.

Du côté de la Gaspésie, à Cap-des-Rosiers, les baleines ont disparu du paysage, mais quelques phoques communs sont observés près de la plage.

Observations de la semaine - 21/11/2019

Marie-Ève Muller

Marie-Ève Muller s’occupe des communications du GREMM depuis 2017 et est porte-parole du Réseau québécois d'urgences pour les mammifères marins (RQUMM). Comme rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct, elle dévore les recherches et s’abreuve aux récits des scientifiques, des observateurs et observatrices. Issue du milieu de la littérature et du journalisme, Marie-Ève cherche à mettre en mots et en images la fragile réalité des cétacés.

Articles recommandés

Le narval toujours présent dans le Saint-Laurent

Un dos moucheté contraste avec la blancheur des bélugas nageant devant le site d’observation terrestre Pointe-Noire, à Baie-Sainte-Catherine, le 4…

|Observations de la semaine 5/8/2020

Affluence en Gaspésie et dans l’estuaire

Des dauphins à flancs blancs par centaine, des rorquals communs en groupe de dix, des rorquals à bosse exubérants : les…

|Observations de la semaine 30/7/2020

Entendre les baleines

Avez-vous déjà entendu un petit rorqual s’alimenter en surface? Quel vacarme! On entend d’abord un souffle puissant et presque simultanément…

|Observations de la semaine 23/7/2020