The Arctic is undergoing a transformation. Melting pack ice is opening up new shipping routes and setting the stage for an uptick in human activities in the region. How can we minimize the impact on the belugas of western Hudson Bay, which gather to form the largest summer concentration of their species in the world? Researchers tracked nine belugas using satellite transmitters to visualize how their habitat overlaps with shipping routes.

According to the 2017 international report SWIPA – Snow, Water, Ice, and Permafrost in the Arctic, the Arctic Ocean will be largely ice-free in summer by 2030, if not even earlier. In Hudson Bay, the ice-free period has increased by an average of just over one day a year since the 1980s.

Thousands of belugas (approximately 50,000 according to the latest survey, conducted in 2015) spend the summer in western Hudson Bay, mainly in the estuaries of the Churchill, Nelson and Seal Rivers. This region has therefore been designated as an Ecologically and Biologically Significant Area (EBSA). Censuses suggest that the beluga population in western Hudson Bay is currently stable, but melting sea ice may affect this population by impacting the availability of prey and the intensity of shipping traffic. Studies have shown that belugas react to the presence of boats by altering their behaviour such as modifying their swimming trajectory or the sounds they emit. Noise pollution can reduce the amount of time animals spend feeding or how efficient they are in this vital activity, in addition to masking communication between individuals. Chronic exposure to anthropogenic sounds might even result in marine mammal populations abandoning certain habitats.

To identify and map the habitat used by belugas in this region, researchers from Washington State University and Fisheries and Oceans Canada attached satellite transmitters to nine belugas and tracked their movements between July and October 2015. They then took this map and superposed it on the map of shipping traffic for the same period.

The study demonstrates that the belugas in western Hudson Bay are at present exposed to relatively little shipping traffic, as the latter is still of low intensity. Such traffic is concentrated mainly along specific routes that converge on the ports of Churchill and Arviat. Areas where the risk of encounter between belugas and vessels is highest are currently around these two ports and along the corridor that connects them.

With the anticipated increase in marine traffic in the region, such areas of cohabitation between boats and belugas may soon become more intensely navigated. In the researchers’ view, “Targeted measures to reduce the risk of collision and behavioural disturbance in such areas should be put in place to minimize potential impacts on the population.” Multiple protective measures are possible: speed reductions for ships, voluntary suspension or prohibition of navigation in certain areas, rerouted shipping lanes, etc.

Simulation models have been developed in recent years to test the effects of various protection measures on the risks of ship strikes and disturbance to whales in the St. Lawrence. Could such models be used in the Arctic to gauge the impact of planned development projects and possible protection measures?

News - 15/7/2018

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

A Fourth Generation Humpback Calf!

Good news! Aramis, daughter of the famous humpback whale Tic Tac Toe, recently gave birth to her very first documented…

|News 26/3/2020

Using Barnacles to Reconstruct Ancient Whale Migrations

Whales, which have been around for roughly 30 million years, are estimated to have reached their current size 4.5 million…

|News 19/3/2020

Slower boats, quieter boats?

In 2017, Ruth Joy and her team (ECHO) conducted a study on the correlation between speed limit reductions and noise…

|News 19/3/2020

Protéger les bélugas face à l’augmentation du trafic maritime dans l’Arctique

  • L'augmentation du trafic maritime dans l'Arctique aura un effet sur le comportement du béluga ainsi que sur la disponibilité de ses proies. © GREMM
    15 / 07 / 2018 Par Béatrice Riché - / /

    L’Arctique est en pleine transformation. La fonte de la banquise donne accès à de nouvelles routes maritimes et ouvre la porte à une augmentation des activités humaines dans la région. Comment minimiser les conséquences sur la plus grande agrégation estivale de bélugas du monde, située dans la partie ouest de la baie d’Hudson? Des chercheurs ont suivi neuf bélugas à l’aide d’émetteurs satellites, afin de visualiser comment leur habitat et les routes maritimes se chevauchent.

    Selon le rapport international SWIPASnow, Water, Ice, and Permafrost in the Arctic (en français « Neige, eau, glace et pergélisol dans l’Arctique »), publié en 2017, l’océan Arctique sera en grande partie libre de glaces pendant l’été d’ici 2030, ou même plus tôt. Dans la baie d’Hudson, la période libre de glaces a augmenté d’un peu plus d’une journée par année en moyenne depuis les années 1980.

    Des milliers de bélugas (environ 50 000, selon le dernier relevé datant de 2015) passent l’été dans la partie ouest de la baie d’Hudson, principalement dans les estuaires des fleuves Churchill, Nelson et Seal. Cette région a conséquemment été désignée comme une zone d’importance écologique et biologique (ZIEB). Les recensements suggèrent que la population de bélugas de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson est actuellement stable, mais la fonte de la banquise risque d’avoir des conséquences sur cette population, en influençant la disponibilité des proies et l’intensité du trafic maritime. Des études ont démontré que les bélugas réagissent à la présence de bateaux en modifiant leur comportement, tels leur trajectoire de nage et les sons qu’ils émettent. La pollution sonore peut réduire la période et l’efficacité de l’alimentation et masquer la communication entre individus. L’exposition chronique aux sons d’origine humaine pourrait même forcer des populations de mammifères marins à abandonner des habitats.

    Pour estimer et cartographier l’habitat utilisé par les bélugas dans cette région, des chercheurs du Washington State University et de Pêches et Océans Canada ont attaché des émetteurs satellites à neuf bélugas et ils ont suivi leurs déplacements entre juillet et octobre 2015. Ils ont superposé cette carte à la carte du trafic maritime durant cette même période.

    L’étude démontre qu’actuellement, les bélugas de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson sont minimalement exposés au trafic maritime, car l’intensité du trafic y est encore faible. Il se concentre principalement le long de routes spécifiques qui convergent vers les ports de Churchill et d’Arviat. Les endroits où le risque de rencontre entre bélugas et navires est le plus élevé se situent actuellement autour de ces deux ports et sur la route qui connecte ces derniers.

    Avec l’augmentation prévue du trafic maritime dans la région, ces zones de cohabitation entre bateaux et bélugas pourraient bientôt devenir plus intensément naviguées. « Des mesures ciblées visant à réduire les risques de collision et de dérangement dans ces zones devraient être mises en place pour minimiser les impacts potentiels sur la population », estiment les chercheurs. Bien des mesures de protection sont possibles : réduction de la vitesse des navires, exclusion volontaire ou interdiction de la navigation dans certaines zones, déplacement des routes maritimes, etc.

    Des modèles de simulation ont été développés au cours des dernières années pour tester les effets de différentes mesures de protection sur les risques de collision et de dérangement des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. De tels modèles pourraient-ils être utilisés dans l’Arctique pour évaluer les effets des projets de développement prévus et des éventuelles mesures de protection?

    Sources 

    Pirotta, E., New, L. et Marcoux, M. 2018. Modelling beluga habitat use and baseline exposure to shipping traffic to design effective protection against prospective industrialization in the Canadian Arctic, Aquatic Conservation, doi: 10.1002/aqc.2892

    Le réchauffement de l’Arctique plus rapide et plus dévastateur que prévu (Radio-Canada, 25/04/2017)

    Estimated abundance of the Western Hudson Bay beluga stock from the 2015 visual and photographic aerial survey (Pêches et Océans Canada, octobre 2017)

    Désignation de zones d’importance écologique et biologique (ZIEB) dans l’arctique canadien (novembre 2011)


    Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.