This article is part of a series of portraits of people involved in some way with whales on the North Shore. Of Quebec As part of the Whale Route Documentation Project, meet these colourful characters who define the face of the region. Discover their stories that will bring you to life or relive the wonderful stories of the St. Lawrence River and its giant marine creatures! 

Laurence Pagé serves as partnering, engagement and communications officer for Parks Canada, which co-manages the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park. Originally from Tadoussac, she later left her hometown to pursue her studies in environmental science. Four and a half years ago, she returned to Tadoussac to work for Parks Canada, a true homecoming to the village where she grew up.

Her father also worked in the field of environmental conservation. A dynamic woman following in her father’s footsteps with a passion that clearly runs in the family… her love for the Marine Park and Tadoussac are blatant!

Her enthusiasm and pride are reflected in her work. Together with Sépaq, Parks Canada co-manages the Marine Park and its unparallelled natural beauty, which represents one of the first marine protected areas in the country. “The Marine Park served as a laboratory to see how we could protect marine mammals through management, which was unprecedented for Canada,” points out Laurence. And not only to protect our natural heritage, of course, but also to increase awareness of it and promote it amongst visitors and locals alike. This is an asset for a region that attracts thousands of tourists every year, she explains.

“To protect our natural heritage, but also to increase awareness of it and promote it amongst visitors and locals alike. This is an asset for a region that attracts thousands of tourists every year” – Laurence Pagé

 

“The Marine Park is unique not only for the beauty of its landscapes, but also for the presence of its marine mammals. Indeed, a broad diversity of cetaceans visits the park from May to October to feed. The famous St. Lawrence beluga, unfortunately known by many for its precarious “endangered” status, is in a way the emblem of the Marine Park and one of the drivers that led to its establishment in 1998,” she adds.

Parks Canada is responsible for creating and administering the Marine Activities in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations.

“Sort of like a highway code for the water, these regulations make it possible to ensure respect for whales by reducing our impact in their habitat. For example, throughout the Marine Park, the maximum speed allowed is 25 knots. Certain sectors are more sensitive than others, such as the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord in Tadoussac, which could be considered the hub of the Marine Park. Here, the speed limit is 15 knots, and we must also maintain our distances!” Laurence points out.

 

She also navigates in compliance with applicable regulations in the St. Lawrence and throughout the Marine Park. She has been sailing with her father ever since she was a child. Whenever she’s out on the water, it is the same spectacular landscapes that amaze her time and time again. She never tires of watching whales; au contraire, she is always surprised when she sees one! Laurence has enjoyed a multitude of amazing observations, both on the water aboard the small family sailboat, the Marie-L’eau II, and from shore.

But one observation stands out from all the others. Last summer, while accompanying a film crew in her role as communications officer, she was lucky enough to see a humpback whale less than 100 metres from shore! “The interpreters were preparing for an activity with the team, but the whale completely stole the spotlight by diving just off the cape! The animal put on quite a show, and it wasn’t the least bit expected! It dived and showed its tail at the best angle possible, and it was so close! What a treat for them, but for me as well, who never ceases to be amazed by the dynamism the St. Lawrence brings to the region!” she points out.

 

“Growing up in Tadoussac is a privilege.
We live in an exceptional natural environment.
Not to mention the whales!
A bonus that continuously adds to the ‘wow’ factor!” adds Laurence.

 

 

Queue de rorqual à bosse

 

 

 

 

Observation of the Week - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin joined the Whales Online team in the summer of 2019. With a Master’s degree in environmental science and ocean and coastal zone management, as well as a Bachelor’s degree in marine ecology, it is an honour for her to be able to learn and share stories about marine mammals and the St. Lawrence ecosystem. As founder and editor-in-chief of the Blue Organization, she believes that environmental communication and popular science are essential for the protection of our oceans and our cherished St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

Narwhal Still Present in the St. Lawrence

On August 4, a speckled back contrasts with the white backs of belugas swimming below the Pointe-Noire land observation platform…

|Observation of the Week 5/8/2020

Action in the Gaspé and the Estuary

Atlantic white-sided dolphins by the hundreds, fin whales by the dozens, acrobatic humpbacks: observers in the Gaspé have had plenty…

|Observation of the Week 30/7/2020

Let’s get loud

Have you ever heard a minke whale feeding at the surface? What a ruckus! An explosive spout is heard and,…

|Observation of the Week 23/7/2020

Cet article fait partie d’une série de portraits de gens impliqués de près ou de loin avec les baleines en Côte-Nord. Dans le cadre du projet de documentation de la Route des baleines du GREMM, partez à la rencontre de ces personnages colorés, qui définissent le visage de la région. Découvrez leurs récits qui vous ferons vivre ou revivre les histoires merveilleuses du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de ses géantes créatures marines! 

Laurence Pagé est agente aux partenariats, à l’engagement et aux communications pour Parcs Canada, l’organisme cogestionnaire du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent. Originaire de Tadoussac, elle quitte le nid familial pour ses études en science de l’environnement. Depuis maintenant 4 ans et demi, elle est de retour à Tadoussac et travaille pour Parcs Canada, véritable retour aux sources et à son village où elle a grandi.

Son père travaillait aussi dans le domaine de la conservation du milieu naturel. Une relève dynamique et une passion clairement familiale; son amour pour le parc marin et Tadoussac sont flagrants!

Son enthousiasme et sa fierté se reflètent dans son travail. À Parcs Canada, on assure la gestion du parc marin conjointement avec la Sépaq pour protéger ce territoire incomparable. Il s’agit d’une des premières aires marines protégées au pays. «Le parc marin a servi de laboratoire pour voir comment on pouvait protéger les mammifères marins par la gestion, ce qui est spécial et pionnier pour le Canada», fait remarquer Laurence. Protéger le territoire, certes, mais aussi le faire découvrir et le mettre en valeur pour les visiteurs et les gens des communautés locales. C’est un atout pour la région qui attire des milliers de visiteurs chaque année, nous explique-t-elle.

« Protéger le territoire, mais aussi le faire découvrir et le mettre en valeur pour les visiteurs et les gens des communautés locales. C’est un atout pour la région qui attire des milliers de visiteurs chaque année » – Laurence Pagé

 

«Le parc marin est unique pour la beauté de ses paysages, mais est aussi reconnu pour la présence de ses mammifères marins. En effet, une grande diversité de cétacés fréquente le parc de mai à octobre pour s’alimenter. Le fameux béluga du Saint-Laurent, malheureusement connu par plusieurs pour son statut précaire “en voie de disparition”, est en quelque sorte l’emblème du parc marin et une des raisons qui a amené à sa création légale en 1998», ajoute-t-elle.

 

Parcs Canada est responsable de la création et de l’application du Règlement sur les activités en mer dans le parc marin.

«Un peu comme pour un code de la route, mais sur l’eau, la règlementation permet d’assurer le respect des baleines en réduisant notre impact dans leur territoire. Par exemple, la vitesse maximale permise est de 25 nœuds dans l’ensemble du parc marin. Certains secteurs sont plus sensibles, comme à l’embouchure du fiord à Tadoussac, qu’on pourrait voir comme le centre-ville du parc marin, où la vitesse maximale permise est de 15 nœuds, et il faut aussi respecter nos distances!», fait-elle remarquer.

Laurence navigue aussi en respect avec les règlements sur le Saint-Laurent et dans le parc marin. Elle fait de la voile depuis l’enfance avec son père. Quand elle se retrouve sur l’eau, ce sont les mêmes paysages grandioses qui l’émerveillent encore et toujours. Elle ne s’est jamais tannée de voir les baleines, au contraire, elle est toujours surprise de leur présence! Laurence a été témoin de multiples observations spectaculaires, tant sur le fleuve à bord du petit voilier familial, le Marie-L’eau II, que sur les rivages.

Une observation ressort du lot. Cet été, lorsqu’elle accompagnait une équipe de tournage au dans le cadre de son poste d’agente en communications, ils ont eu la chance de voir un rorqual à bosse à moins de 100 mètres de la rive! «Les interprètes se préparaient à faire une activité pour l’équipe, mais la baleine a complètement volé la vedette en plongeant en face du cap! Elle a fait tout un spectacle, et c’était loin d’être prévu! Elle a plongé et montré la queue, dans le meilleur angle possible, et tellement proche! Quelle belle surprise pour eux, mais aussi pour moi qui m’étonne encore et toujours du dynamisme que le fleuve amène pour la région», nous fait-elle remarquer!

«Grandir à Tadoussac, c’est un privilège.
On vit dans un milieu naturel exceptionnel.

Et que dire des baleines!

Un bonus qui vient rajouter
continuellement une couche de “wow”», ajoute Laurence!

Observations de la semaine - 30/10/2019

Anne-Marie Asselin

Anne-Marie Asselin a rejoint l’équipe de Baleines en direct comme rédactrice à l’été 2019. Avec une maitrise en environnement, gestion des océans et zones côtières, et un baccalauréat en écologie marine, c’est un honneur pour elle de pouvoir apprendre et partager les récits des mammifères marins et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Aussi fondatrice et rédactrice en chef de l’Organisation Bleue, elle croit que la communication environnementale et la vulgarisation scientifique sont essentielles à la protection de nos océans et de notre fleuve.

Articles recommandés

Les bélugas, des baleines adaptées à l’hiver

Quand on est passionné de baleines, on l’est vraiment. Depuis une quinzaine d’années, Renaud Pintiaux a tour à tour été…

|Observations de la semaine 20/2/2020

Deux rorquals à bosse au large de Pointe-des-Monts

Pointe-des-Monts, 8 février. Pas besoin du thermomètre pour savoir que l’air est glacial : une fumée de mer s’installe sur le…

|Observations de la semaine 13/2/2020

Naitre en eaux chaudes

Avant de se diriger vers la chaleur du sud, faisons un petit tour des observations dans le Saint-Laurent. Installé en…

|Observations de la semaine 6/2/2020